Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19826 – 19850
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  793  794  795  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Go-bars
Go-bars
5 9-21-2010
Go bars

Your rectangular go bars are far better than the round ones which rotate and twist. LR

Randolph Guitars  Welch,OK Read my reviews (2)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
4 9-21-2010
Quality Files, But Maybe Different Application?

These are great files, but I found even the fine one a bit too aggressive for delicate nut and saddle shaping. Starting with a pre-radiused saddle, a couple of passes with one of these files removed almost too much material.
Perhaps better used if you're fabricating from scratch out of a block of bone, although I usually do that kind of rough-shaping with a Dremel. I'll find something to use these files for, but I think I prefer something like a diamond abrasive stick for the finer points of nut/saddle shaping.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 9-21-2010
Simple Idea that Works Well

Another tool that does exactly the job it's designed for, and does it well. Very handy.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 9-21-2010
Useful Tool

Does exactly what it's supposed to do, and well made (durable). It is a bit pricey for a ruler, so if you're just doing one nut it's probably not worth it. But if you have a dozen to do, it will pay for itself in the time saved. Works for spacing strings on bridge saddles, too. I agree with the first reviewer, though -- when you start applying it to OEM nuts, it's hard to resist wanting to readjust most of them. :-)

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 9-21-2010
These screws changed my life.

Before I found these screws I was wasting my life, wandering aimlessly through a dark wilderness of loose pickguards and electronics covers. I was in despair, with nothing to loosen or tighten until I found these screws. Now that I bought these screws I have self-confidence, nice teeth and girls really like me. Thanks StewMac!!! These screws are awesome!!!

DavidM 
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 9-21-2010
Gauged Saws

A really handy set of gauged saws which allows for accurate initial cutting of nut slots and more! Highly recommended.

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 9-21-2010
Fret Dressing Stick

I bought four of these fret dressing sticks and loaded them with 240/320/400/600 grit belts. I then used a marker pen to label each stick clearly - not only does this speed the process when dressing frets, it also means you don't have to change belts. Another great product from Stew Mac!

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
5 9-21-2010
Fret Beveling File

The accuracy and speed at which I can now bevel the ends of new frets astounded me! Easy to use and another quality product from Stew Mac.

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 9-21-2010
Essential Nut-Making Tool Kit

Another example of a Stew Mac product which makes life so much easier. I've been using a hobby vice and cheaper files before I invested in this kit. Why did I bother? I wish I'd bought this kit months ago!

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 9-21-2010
Great tuners for unique guitars

I used an earlier incarnation of these on a guitar I built for a client a year or so ago. They stay in tune great, tune easily and accurately, and they look killer (and come on, isn't that what Rock music is all about?) My only complaint with the ones I have is the knob on top (for locking the string down) didn't allow for enough of a grip. This new design fixes that issue (though perhaps it doesn't look as cool. Great product. Just be sure when designing a new headstock you take into account that the string leaves the center of the post as opposed to wrapping around it.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 9-21-2010
Fits Like a Glove

The metric M8 x 1.25 tailpiece fits my Korean made 2001 Epiphone Les Paul perfectly and brightens the tone quite dramatically. The gold finish will last much longer than the original hardware.

Paul Young  Northern California Read my reviews (3)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 9-21-2010
Rosewood Fretboard

I have used several of these Rosewood boards. Excellent in every way. Very high quality product. I would recommend this to anyone.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
5 9-21-2010
Micarta

Micarta is the only material I will use for nut making. Sounds like bone but does not crack or flake. Easy to work and slot. Has long wear life and works excellent with tremolo's and vibrato's. I have used both bone and micarta for years, but I will only use micarta now. I can't give it a higher recommendation.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Quarter-round Fret File
Quarter-round Fret File
5 9-21-2010
Great Fret File!!

This is a fantastic fret file. It can be used not only to crown frets but also to round off the sharp edges of the fret ends. I have dressed many guitars now with this file and it is as sharp as when it was new. I have also had NO problems with marring any fretboards with it. It WILL NOT cut into the fretboard unless you really try to mess things up. Very easy to use and very comfortable in your hand.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 9-21-2010
Fret Pressing

This tool is excellent. I have a 6 foot tall drill press and it pressed the frets in with little effort. Even a medium sized drill press will work fine. This tool is worth every penny.

Eric J. Pratt  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-20-2010
Waverly Tuners- Simply the best

I have been a musician for 43 years. IMHO, if you play a high end acoustic guitar there is only (1) choice in tuning machines. That choice is Waverly, pure and simple. If you are OK with mediocre, then they are probably not for you. But, If your finest instrument deserves the best, choose Waverly Tuning Machines. YOU WILL BE VERY PLEASED.

Scguno  Magic Valley, USA
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 9-20-2010
It really works!

I was really skeptical at first that the ToneRite was just a gimmick, but thought I’d give it a try and am I ever glad that I did. First of all it’s really easy to use, just place the ToneRite over the strings near the bridge, turn it on and forget for a few days.
After using it on a Martin HD-28, I must say that I’m really impressed! Not only is it louder, but the tone improvement is really amazing! I can hardly wait to use it on my other acoustic guitars. If you love acoustic guitars then you owe it to yourself and your guitar to get one of these devices. You won’t regret it!

C Hall  Grand Forks, ND
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
Grover Champion Friction Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 9-20-2010
Banjo tuners on an ukulele.

I installed these tuning pegs on an ukulele with a thicker (1/2") peghead and 11/32" diameter pegholes. The tuning pegs fit perfectly, work smoothly and , after proper adjustment, hold tuning very well. In my opinion, the vintage, traditional look of the pegs make my ukulele look great.

UkiWay  Santa Rosa, CA
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
5 9-20-2010
Great Find/Excellent Choice

I installed the tortoise pick guard on my two most recently constructed D Model guitars. They look great!!!! I had searched for tortoise pick guards and most that looked decent were pricey. These are very reasonably priced and look great which inturn add to the value of my guitars but keep the price down so more people can afford to purchase and play them. Thanks Stemac. I can always count on you to find and supply the right products.

Gary Clardy  Burns, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 9-20-2010
Blank Bone nuts- My first guitar nut

The bone was easier to work with than I had anticipated. My first nut I ever made was with StewMac blanks. I bought 3 blanks in case I made a mistakes I'd have extra to continue the work. I also used the StewMac nut slot ruler to measure string spacing. All worked out great.

Jr Bynum  Lutherville MD
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-20-2010
Waverly Tuners - Oval Knobs

I've replaced the original machines on my Martin 000 without any problems and it works and looks great. Thanks for this good suggestion.

C. Meyer  Austria
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 9-20-2010
Very handy little tool.

I bought this tool to install Schaller and sperzel tuners into new necks that I've made. So far used it for two sets of schaller's and it works great.
I found the easiest way to line up the tool was to use a square running along the top edge of the headstock where the tuner buttons are located. Then push the other edge flush up against the back of the jig. This will ensure your tuners are mounted exactly parallel to the top edge of your headstock.
Highly recommend this tool if you plan to install tuners of this variety, it is quite expensive but will last for a long time!

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 9-19-2010
ESP Multi Spanner

I really dig this little thing. It really saves me a ton of hassle. I strongly recommend it.

Jeff Thomas  Florida
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 9-19-2010
ohhhhhh yeah

Bought the set...23 for the bridge, 21, and 20. Put them in a nice, old Mexi Strat that has a perfect feeling maple neck. I really liked the p.u.s before, but holy crap they really, really sing now. I can keep the tone high and get a really throaty tone with some overdrive, some nice, chimey 60's sounds, and an aggressive overdrive from the bridge. Really great buy for the price.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
4 9-19-2010
work well

they do what they say. Especially if you have a classic you don't want to put strap locks on. Like Ben said, a bit of tape on it can really make them not come loose.

kurt  Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 19826 – 19850
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  793  794  795  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce