Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19801 – 19825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  792  793  794  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-25-2010
Its true what the others say..

I replaced my B-2 stock bridge on my Agile 2200 JR with the 1511 and man did it make a HUGE difference. It changed the tone 100% for the better ...like night and day. The B-2 bridge made the guitar sound like jumble, like static. No clarity with just an all around muddy toneless sound. The Gotoh brought a well rounded tone to the instrument with clear and crisp string individuality. You can clearly hear each string now. Thinking about putting this guy in all of my tune-o-matic bridges.
definitely recommended!!

Mikeyo  NJ
Tele Jack Installation Tool
Tele Jack Installation Tool
5 9-24-2010
Worked perfectly

The instructions are great; make sure you set it up right, install or to remove, this thing worked like a charm!
LOVE IT

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 9-24-2010
Not Pretty

These are a little ugly and clunky, but absolutely no drag on the strings. Tuning was much easier and accurate.

Mark  Harbor City, CA Read my reviews (3)
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 9-24-2010
A real time saver

Although this stuff seems to be pricey, it really saves a lot of time, not just as a quick way to get a good shield, but with a little planning, it allows you to ground everything without wires going everywhere. Also if you use a good hair bristle brush (not the throw away stiff bristle kind) one coat is plenty...just clean the brush with soap and water asap.

Dan McCulloch  California Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Mastertone Banjo Plan
Mastertone Banjo Plan
4 9-24-2010
It's ok.

Pretty much as advertised, with good detail. I was disappointed with the warning: "Drawing for reference only, use dimensions on the plan" which makes using the fingerboard as a direct template for scale length appear risky.

kn  Northern Virginia
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
5 9-24-2010
teflon fret dam

Chinese made guitars and poor quality fret material along with "green" fret boards makes these items a necessary accessory to clean up the neck for a better than factory fret job.

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 9-24-2010
fret dressing stick

A must have tool for fret dressing

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
4 9-24-2010
oval jack plate

It needs to be a bit wider.

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 9-24-2010
Nut Files

I have just gone through the process of building my first banjo. The second one is already started! although I did not have to buy many "special" tools, I'm glad I spent the money on the nut files. The strings are set perfectly with no rattle or buzz. The banjo has great tone.

bbilly21  Cary, IL
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-24-2010
Don't waste time with anything less!

The "best bang for the buck" LP-style TOM on the market in my opinion. Don't waste you're time using anything "less". Perhaps the only thing better is the Tone Pros locking model but check out the price difference ... substantial! Let's just hope Gotoh doesn't realize how superior their product is and raise their prices! I only wish that StewMac would carry the black version of this product.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 9-24-2010
Excellent Results!

I used this with a small brush on a rosewood fretboard that was bound and had inlays previously installed and found the stain very workable. The results were excellent and really made quite the difference in the overall appearance of the instrument.
I did find that using the small brush and minimal dye led to having to do a second coat in some areas.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
5 9-24-2010
Very useful

These have made slotting my bridges cleaner and quicker than I was able to do before. I love them.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Laskins Engraving Filler
Laskin's Engraving Filler
5 9-24-2010
Easy to apply and clean

I personally like ink better, but for ease of application and clean up it's hard to beat this!

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 9-24-2010
excellent

Nice paper. Lasts longer than you would guess.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 9-24-2010
Nice binding

Nice binding strips. Price is a little steep, but Stew-Mac's service makes up for that. Lams were fine. All in all 5 stars.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Engraving Tools
Pearl Engraving Tools
5 9-24-2010
Nice graver

I have all three. They work well and come reasonably sharp. I got a handle for it, but had to modify it a bit to make it what I like, but that's personal preference. Nice tool.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
3 9-24-2010
Eh....

I like D'Addarios much better, but as far as a string goes they work well. Personal preference I say, but these are not my favorite.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
SAE Mounting Nuts
SAE Mounting Nuts
5 9-24-2010
I'm not nuts....

But these are nice nuts. I needed a bunch for a project and these fit the bill nicely. Not the really thick nuts, but they work well.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 9-24-2010
It is what it is.

Humbucker mounting screw. Works well.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Inlay Filler Colors
Inlay Filler Colors
5 9-24-2010
it's black!

I use this in epoxy to fill gaps in inlay on ebony as well as other gap filling/hiding needs. Much better than the "black" superglue (that is more grey than black).

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
4 9-24-2010
Very nice for the money

They aren't Waverlys or comparable high end tuner, but if you want a solid tuner for a price that will not break the bank then these will function great.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 9-24-2010
Perfect

Polished perfect, looks great, functions perfectly. What's not to love?

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 9-24-2010
It's a plastic rod

It's exactly what you would expect. A .0625 plastic rod. I like this smaller size vastly better than the 3/32nds ones. They look more elegant in the petite size to me.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
5 9-24-2010
Excellent Euro style tuner

These seem to be models after Alessi tuners. They are VERY smooth, and precise. Look great (to me), and were a breeze to install. The grain on the buttons does run parallel to the shaft, but they turn soo easy I doubt it will be an issue. One of the smoothest tuners I've ever used. I wish they had a nickel plated version, or a gold plated for solid peghead, but for now I'm liking the "metallic" color.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
5 9-24-2010
Gibson 165 Repair.

The first time that I used this tool was when a long time customer brought in his 165 with a broken truss rod. I had known the guy for years and never seen the guitar! Literally, my hands had been on all the rest of his guitar collection?!? He had the thing in the closet for years knowing that the broken truss rod would be a King's ransom to repair. I told'em, "Don't worry. I have just the thing." I bought the tool and it took me longer to read the instructions than it did to perform the repair! I never even took the strings off his guitar!!! 15 Minutes of tool time, and it was DONE! That old chore that we charged $600 for and required refrets and finish work is now no sweat. I have a very happy customer and his vintage 165 is back on the gig. Thanks to your team for developing this beauty of a tool. Denny Kopp

Kopp String Instruments  Catawba Island, Ohio Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 19801 – 19825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  792  793  794  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce