Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19801 – 19825
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  792  793  794  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
5 9-27-2010
Locked N Loaded

Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines; Rotomatic. These are fine locking tuners. I agree that they are a little tricky to get set up in the right position for string loading, But; when compared to threading, wrapping and winding conventional tuners so what.
I have literally changed all my tuners to locking on 20 of my guitars. I leave the vintage alone of course. I cannot see any reason past nostalgia or preserving a vintage not to use locking tuners. They are faster and string stretch you get from wrapped/wound tuners is minimized. I have at least one pair of each manufacturers locking tuner made and these are my favorite. The thumb screw type (especially on the small thumb screws) are hard to tighten properly for me and hurt my fingers, so the auto's or Rotomatic are great.

uncleknubs  Portland, OR.
Customer supplied image for review
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 9-27-2010
Micro-Mesh finishing pads.

I love these things!
With sandpaper it was much too easy to take too much off on the edges of the headstock. Being spongy and flexible, not to mention very forgiving and uniform grit sizes, I don't have that problem.
I just finished painted/finishing a Gretsch hollowbody and moving through the grits, the shine just got better and better.
What a great product.

jhguitars  Tampa, FL
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 9-27-2010
Great little tool

I've been looking at this tool for some time. I purchased it when the acrylic tube was added. Pulling studs and knobs is effortless without any damage. Recommended.

Mike Crocker (C-Rocker Guitars)  Capitola CA Read my reviews (4)
Hipshot Tremsetter
Hipshot Tremsetter
5 9-27-2010
Simply Great!

It's great, My tremolo word very nice. It's a Jackson JT-580 trem, and work like an original Floyd Rose. I recommend this item especially to tremolo lovers guys.

Angel Barrón  Mazatlán, México
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
3 9-27-2010
dimensions not well thought out

I have used these on several strats, but have just had to accept the fact that you have to leave the pickups bare, with NO COVERS. The pickup mounting screw hole is so close to the center that the mounting screw head actually gouges into the plastic cover. (look at their pic- it's right at the edge of the opening, and you know how big the head is on a strat pickup screw)

Come to think of it, the holes aren't well spaced for use with pickups made from stewmac's single coil kit either. The holes on the pickup are spaced farther apart than the holes on this mounting ring, and they do not line up, so your screws end up pointing outward in order to thread in. these would be great if they'd move those screw holes out a little bit. That would solve both the problems I have had with them.

phil  colorado
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 9-27-2010
No More Plastic

I put these on my latest project,an Explorer copy. Perfect fit. Nice finish on all exposed sides. This is now the loudest guitar I own. Oh, and the price was right too!

2old2bbroke  Kansas City,Mo.
Customer supplied image for review
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
5 9-27-2010
Review of the Amber Elite banjo head by Hank Volk

Ive been making and setting up banjos for a long time and have used many types of heads on open back rims from real calf & goat skin, fiber type heads and plastic/Mylar heads. The Amber Elite really lives up to its name. It truly is an Elite head. It is thin and super strong with low elasticity. You will truly get the very best response from your open back banjo with this type of head. It also has very positive aesthetic appeal in that the translucency and the color lend to a very traditional look. I use them almost exclusively on my open back rims. If you want a nice response with a super nice pop when you brush the strings then you will be more than satisfied with an Amber Elite head. They are the ideal head for use in traditional old time styles in particular frailing and drop thumb styles.

Hank Volk  Brookville, IN
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Glue Pot
Electric Glue Pot
5 9-27-2010
Good pot

I bought one of these back in the 70's and it still works great.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
4 9-27-2010
Good price!

A good kit for standard setup. The wiring sheet is handy, with wiring options. Well worth the money!

clarmo  Dalecarlia, Sweden. Read my reviews (2)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
4 9-27-2010
Good!

If you´re looking for copies of vintage fender knobs, don't buy these!
They´re slightly smaller, but they work alright for me on my tele-project.
The finish is great and it's a sturdy die cast item.

clarmo  Dalecarlia, Sweden. Read my reviews (2)
Side Bending Strap
Side Bending Strap
5 9-27-2010
Great Addition!!

The side bending straps really do make bending sides a bit easier! I have recently used them on some really tricky highly figured Brazilian Rosewood, and feel that they just give that extra bit of help when more pressure needs to be applied

Saul L Childs  London, England
Banjo Resonator Hardware
Banjo Resonator Hardware
5 9-26-2010
Banjo resonator hardware

Beautiful piece, nice finish, would buy again

moparcolt  Huntsburg,ohio
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 9-26-2010
Fret Pressing Boogie

Love em. Can't live with out em.
Can't wait for the next tool to come out. Used on Mega Head Mando #2
Terry From down in the Swamp, Odessa FLA

James Bernard  Odessa,FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 9-26-2010
Handy

These are quick, easy and solid. I just wish they were listed under 'hardware' instead of 'electronics' so I wouldn't have missed them on my last order.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
1 9-26-2010
Not up to Stew Mac Standards

I recently purchases a few tortoise, black and clear pickguards. The Tortoise guards are nice, but the black and clear guards are junk. Save your money. I threw mine away. They're clearly not up to standards. They're soft, scratch easily, and they're thin. But what do you expect for less than $4?

xmptle  NY
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Black Pearl Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Black Pearl Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 9-26-2010
Tuning stability and looks

Everyone knows how stable Waverly's are and the tuning stability they provide - these fit that bill perfectly. Added them to a Martin 000-18GE with pearly inlay markers and the Waverly Black Pearls were a spot on match. Very pleasing to the eye.

Jamie  Amdover, MA Read my reviews (3)
Snakewood Bridge Pins
Snakewood Bridge Pins
5 9-26-2010
Adds depth and clarity

Added these as a replacement for a maple bodied acoustic. Added sustain, some low-mids, and clarity.

Jamie  Amdover, MA Read my reviews (3)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 9-26-2010
Stewmac and Behlin Lacquer

I have been a customer here since 1994. I really like Behlin Lacquer and spray everyday usually.

Wynn Richardson  Greenwell Springs, La, USA
Customer supplied image for review
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 9-26-2010
000 Guitar Kit

I have just finished my 000 Rosewood Guitar. Put strings on it Wednesday night and played it at a gig on Saturday. It turned way beyond my exceptions, the quality on the materials and the instructions made this an achievable task with excellent results. Thank to the crew at Stewmac.

Steve Treloar  Boreen Point, Qld, Australia
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
2 9-25-2010
Thin Super Glue

The glue itself is fine, so are the other thicknesses. The thin is a lot of trouble because it seeps into the threading of the nozzles. I tried to replace the entire end, not just the cap. It was permanently glued onto the bottle so when I tried to unscrew it, it just tore the bottle apart. So each bottle I get, I only get in about 1/3 of the way and the bottle is unusable. So - the glue is fine, but the bottles aren't.

Aaron C  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
3 9-25-2010
Excellent, but

An excellent product that works like magic. But, the last ones purchased were slightly different and when soaked in water the abrasive panels lifted from the foam core and were floating in the pan of water. :(.

chris rochow  Youngstown, Ohio, USA Read my reviews (10)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 9-25-2010
Hot Humbuckers!

I purchased the overwound Golden Age Zebra neck pickup to replace the neck pickup on one of my Epiphone Les Paul Standards. I have a LOT of guitars to work with, and this one needed more juice than the standard pickups provided. All I can say is this pickup makes the guitar SMOKE. the Epiphone Les Paul was just a back up guitar for me, but with the changed pickups (I also bought a TV Jones Overwound bridge pickup) my Marshall amp screams like it should, with minimum use of distortion and no pedals! I will buy this pick up again and again and again. Cant wait to try the Golden Age overwound Humbucker for the bridge on another guitar! Great job Stew-Mac!

Joe Kralicek

Joe Kralicek  Plano Illinois Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 9-25-2010
No more mister Hammer

Only barbarians approach a guitar with a hammer. The Jaws2 is a great and easy tool giving great results especially in combination with the FretBender.

Jo  Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
4 9-25-2010
Good Value

No, these aren't high-end tuners, but are an effective and inexpensive fix/upgrade for older instruments with broken, bent, or sloppy open gear pegs. I put a 6IL set on a '68 Silvertone with great results, and have a 3+3 set on order now, for an early-70's Lyle. They'll fit 1/4" holes without drilling or reaming, though ferrules may not fit - in which case, leave the originals in place. For the price, a solid deal.

Trem Johnson  USA Read my reviews (2)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
2 9-25-2010
Cream? Mine look like cream that sat out too long

Just got a set of the "cream" plastic rings and will be sending them back. Cream color is way off the originals (too much orange) and not even matched to the cream on the Les Paul pickguard which I also bought.

nedorama  Redondo Beach, CA
Displaying 19801 – 19825
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  792  793  794  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce