Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19776 – 19800
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  791  792  793  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Snakewood Bridge Pins
Snakewood Bridge Pins
5 9-26-2010
Adds depth and clarity

Added these as a replacement for a maple bodied acoustic. Added sustain, some low-mids, and clarity.

Jamie  Amdover, MA Read my reviews (3)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 9-26-2010
Stewmac and Behlin Lacquer

I have been a customer here since 1994. I really like Behlin Lacquer and spray everyday usually.

Wynn Richardson  Greenwell Springs, La, USA
Customer supplied image for review
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 9-26-2010
000 Guitar Kit

I have just finished my 000 Rosewood Guitar. Put strings on it Wednesday night and played it at a gig on Saturday. It turned way beyond my exceptions, the quality on the materials and the instructions made this an achievable task with excellent results. Thank to the crew at Stewmac.

Steve Treloar  Boreen Point, Qld, Australia
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
2 9-25-2010
Thin Super Glue

The glue itself is fine, so are the other thicknesses. The thin is a lot of trouble because it seeps into the threading of the nozzles. I tried to replace the entire end, not just the cap. It was permanently glued onto the bottle so when I tried to unscrew it, it just tore the bottle apart. So each bottle I get, I only get in about 1/3 of the way and the bottle is unusable. So - the glue is fine, but the bottles aren't.

Aaron C  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
3 9-25-2010
Excellent, but

An excellent product that works like magic. But, the last ones purchased were slightly different and when soaked in water the abrasive panels lifted from the foam core and were floating in the pan of water. :(.

chris rochow  Youngstown, Ohio, USA Read my reviews (10)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 9-25-2010
Hot Humbuckers!

I purchased the overwound Golden Age Zebra neck pickup to replace the neck pickup on one of my Epiphone Les Paul Standards. I have a LOT of guitars to work with, and this one needed more juice than the standard pickups provided. All I can say is this pickup makes the guitar SMOKE. the Epiphone Les Paul was just a back up guitar for me, but with the changed pickups (I also bought a TV Jones Overwound bridge pickup) my Marshall amp screams like it should, with minimum use of distortion and no pedals! I will buy this pick up again and again and again. Cant wait to try the Golden Age overwound Humbucker for the bridge on another guitar! Great job Stew-Mac!

Joe Kralicek

Joe Kralicek  Plano Illinois Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 9-25-2010
No more mister Hammer

Only barbarians approach a guitar with a hammer. The Jaws2 is a great and easy tool giving great results especially in combination with the FretBender.

Jo  Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
4 9-25-2010
Good Value

No, these aren't high-end tuners, but are an effective and inexpensive fix/upgrade for older instruments with broken, bent, or sloppy open gear pegs. I put a 6IL set on a '68 Silvertone with great results, and have a 3+3 set on order now, for an early-70's Lyle. They'll fit 1/4" holes without drilling or reaming, though ferrules may not fit - in which case, leave the originals in place. For the price, a solid deal.

Trem Johnson  USA Read my reviews (2)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
2 9-25-2010
Cream? Mine look like cream that sat out too long

Just got a set of the "cream" plastic rings and will be sending them back. Cream color is way off the originals (too much orange) and not even matched to the cream on the Les Paul pickguard which I also bought.

nedorama  Redondo Beach, CA
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-25-2010
Its true what the others say..

I replaced my B-2 stock bridge on my Agile 2200 JR with the 1511 and man did it make a HUGE difference. It changed the tone 100% for the better ...like night and day. The B-2 bridge made the guitar sound like jumble, like static. No clarity with just an all around muddy toneless sound. The Gotoh brought a well rounded tone to the instrument with clear and crisp string individuality. You can clearly hear each string now. Thinking about putting this guy in all of my tune-o-matic bridges.
definitely recommended!!

Mikeyo  NJ
Tele Jack Installation Tool
Tele Jack Installation Tool
5 9-24-2010
Worked perfectly

The instructions are great; make sure you set it up right, install or to remove, this thing worked like a charm!
LOVE IT

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 9-24-2010
Not Pretty

These are a little ugly and clunky, but absolutely no drag on the strings. Tuning was much easier and accurate.

Mark  Harbor City, CA Read my reviews (3)
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 9-24-2010
A real time saver

Although this stuff seems to be pricey, it really saves a lot of time, not just as a quick way to get a good shield, but with a little planning, it allows you to ground everything without wires going everywhere. Also if you use a good hair bristle brush (not the throw away stiff bristle kind) one coat is plenty...just clean the brush with soap and water asap.

Dan McCulloch  California Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Mastertone Banjo Plan
Mastertone Banjo Plan
4 9-24-2010
It's ok.

Pretty much as advertised, with good detail. I was disappointed with the warning: "Drawing for reference only, use dimensions on the plan" which makes using the fingerboard as a direct template for scale length appear risky.

kn  Northern Virginia
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
5 9-24-2010
teflon fret dam

Chinese made guitars and poor quality fret material along with "green" fret boards makes these items a necessary accessory to clean up the neck for a better than factory fret job.

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 9-24-2010
fret dressing stick

A must have tool for fret dressing

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
4 9-24-2010
oval jack plate

It needs to be a bit wider.

jana guitars  Redcliff, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 9-24-2010
Nut Files

I have just gone through the process of building my first banjo. The second one is already started! although I did not have to buy many "special" tools, I'm glad I spent the money on the nut files. The strings are set perfectly with no rattle or buzz. The banjo has great tone.

bbilly21  Cary, IL
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 9-24-2010
Don't waste time with anything less!

The "best bang for the buck" LP-style TOM on the market in my opinion. Don't waste you're time using anything "less". Perhaps the only thing better is the Tone Pros locking model but check out the price difference ... substantial! Let's just hope Gotoh doesn't realize how superior their product is and raise their prices! I only wish that StewMac would carry the black version of this product.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 9-24-2010
Excellent Results!

I used this with a small brush on a rosewood fretboard that was bound and had inlays previously installed and found the stain very workable. The results were excellent and really made quite the difference in the overall appearance of the instrument.
I did find that using the small brush and minimal dye led to having to do a second coat in some areas.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
5 9-24-2010
Very useful

These have made slotting my bridges cleaner and quicker than I was able to do before. I love them.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Laskins Engraving Filler
Laskin's Engraving Filler
5 9-24-2010
Easy to apply and clean

I personally like ink better, but for ease of application and clean up it's hard to beat this!

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 9-24-2010
excellent

Nice paper. Lasts longer than you would guess.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 9-24-2010
Nice binding

Nice binding strips. Price is a little steep, but Stew-Mac's service makes up for that. Lams were fine. All in all 5 stars.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Engraving Tools
Pearl Engraving Tools
5 9-24-2010
Nice graver

I have all three. They work well and come reasonably sharp. I got a handle for it, but had to modify it a bit to make it what I like, but that's personal preference. Nice tool.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 19776 – 19800
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  791  792  793  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce