Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19701 – 19725
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  788  789  790  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 10-07-2010
Got my baby back!

I salvaged a '96 Epiphone PR160 ebony black beauty from a flea market and spent many, many hours restoring it - repaired neck, refinished, refret, new pick guard, bone nut and saddle, brass bridge pins, etc. I only got to play it for a couple of months when, one night, I was wailing on some AC-DC (don't ask) and the bridge and body just popped. I was just sick.
I'd heard about the Bridge Doctor, but was skeptical. After I installed it, the body and bridge are not only back to normal, but I swear the tonal quality is even better. I got my baby back! I plan on doing the same with an old Lyle hummingbird soon. This thing is great!

Fingerpickengood  Charlotte Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 10-07-2010
Countless uses

These things come in handy for so many projects, although I use them mostly for magnetizing pickups. I like to also screw one to my bench top and use it to hold tools.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 10-07-2010
Neat little tool

Love this thing. I use it a lot when winding pickups to verify magnetic polarity, as well as for odd jobs like determining which coil to cut for hum canceling when combined with a single coil.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-07-2010
Accurate PAF sound for a fair price

I put a set of these in a dual-humbucker Strat. I am really pleased with them, both in terms of sound and construction quality. I went with an Alnico V set and they are clear with just enough brightness to give "bite", but still warm and fat like a PAF should be. They really shine when overdriving a tube amp; my silverface Champ sounds like a monster with these things flogging the preamp.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
4 10-07-2010
Indispensable!

This is a must-have time-saving tool for the working pro tech/luthier. The only caveat is that at the narrow end of the scale, the center-to-center E-to-E tick marks for a 6 string is 1.328", and some (very very few!) necks have narrower nuts that the scale can't handle. Still, the best spacing tool around for nuts and saddles.

Fret Tech  NJ
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 10-07-2010
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Strat Bridge

WOW! I can't say enough good things about this bridge. It replaced the standard 6 hole Fender tremolo. It has increased sustain and resonance, given me MUCH more intonation flexibility. Stays in tune/intonation better and because the saddles lock down to the baseplate, I don't have to re-intonate with every string change. The stock bridge required this because of all the slop in the saddles. Excellent performing and very comfortable bridge and it doesn't look out of place. Also, the trem arm has adjustable tension and it simply pulls out/pushes into the bridge block. No more screwing/unscrewing to put it back in the case, nor stripping of the threads. I could go on. This is simply the most effective and noticeable upgrade I could perform for about a hundred bucks, making a guitar I very much love a whole lot better.

Brian Tost  Kettle Falls, WA
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 10-07-2010
Beyond Essential

Impossible Without! A friend said "Get It" and this book's WAY more than I ever imagined. Dan's got a gift from the real "Guitar God" & his ability to share the gift amazes me. The only way you won't be more than satisfied with this book is if you can't read!

Samuel  Mobile
Customer supplied image for review
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 10-07-2010
Intonation at last

My old Gibson with the trapeze bar bridge was corroded and no individual string adjustment for Intonation.
This bridge plus a new tail piece allowed me to fix that.
I had to sand about 1/16ths inch off the bottom for the correct string height and it works great.

Pvee  maineville, Oh.
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
5 10-07-2010
String Tree Roller Style

I love these. Makes for a nice custom look and easy tuning.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
4 10-07-2010
Neck Pocket Routing Template

This work great as long as you take note of the instructions. I suggest using a router bushing, like that which you'd use routing hing butts, rather than the Ball Bearing Router Bits. Then you get a nice tight fit on your neck to body joint. Other than that it works just fine. The center line is extremely helpful it getting the correct line-up.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 10-07-2010
Strap Buttons

Hey, what can I say. They work. Been buying them for years from Stew Mac with never a problem.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
3PDT Stomp Switch
3PDT Stomp Switch
5 10-07-2010
Great switch!

Every other site I've found that sells 3PDT's sells the same cheap, blue, Taiwanese switch. Thank you StewMac for being more concerned about quality than price. Put this bad boy in there a couple months ago and it's still holding strong. Worth every single bit of the extra money! Buy it!

Brian Wattier  Mobile, AL
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 10-07-2010
nice

Provides a secure and good looking finishing touch

Dave L  Slatington Pa.
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 10-07-2010
Indispensable

Great stuff for making temporary jigs or sticking parts to jigs. The applications are endless and the thinness of the tape is an enormous plus. Highly recommended.

Bob Webster  Gig Harbor, WA
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Telecaster
5 10-07-2010
Best Option for Me

I have a '78 Hofner (Strat Body) that needed an upgrade. One of the pots was wobbly and both were functioning poorly. After reviewing what was available, the Tele Wiring Kit fit my needs best. Since I had single coil pickups I wanted to use the 250K pots from this kit. Also, I did not use the 3way switch as mine was a 4way with chicken head knob. The included wiring diagram got me pointed in the right direction and was very helpful. I also made a close examination of everything under the pickguard before any dis-assembly. If it was more complex, I would have drawn a schematic to be sure I knew where everything belonged. Once I got everything in place, I placed the pickguard into the body cavity but did not screw it down. I had to test it now and was quite nervous at this point. In the long run, everything worked as it should have. I am quite pleased with the results, no static or dropouts and a smooth action in both knobs. Thanks for having enough variety in your wiring kits to allow me to do this upgrade.

Harry Bendtsen  Albuquerque, NM
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 10-07-2010
Strength With No Stretch

As a furniture maker I use this tape to clamp or hold almost anything I'm gluing. If you can't get a clamp on it- tape it! It is the only tape I've ever used that does not stretch, unlike masking tape that stretches over time. I could not get by without this tape.

Ron Young  Chattanooga, TN Read my reviews (2)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 10-07-2010
A size for every inlay string

I'm a furniture maker and have been using these inlay bits for several years. They do a great job cutting the grooves for string inlay. With all the sizes offered I can always find the exact width bit to match my stringing.

Ron Young  Chattanooga, TN Read my reviews (2)
Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard
Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard
5 10-06-2010
Outstanding Pickguard!

I purchased one of the Tortoloid Dreadnought Pickguards as a replacement for the original pickguard on my Martin Dreadnought. The fit was perfect. The new Tortoloid Pickguard looks fantastic on my guitar.

Grover  Alabama, USA
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-06-2010
Good Stuff

From a can ? It is unbelievable the way this stuff works, it has a wide spray on the nozzle that works just as well as a sprayer. "If the sprayed goes down, keep a can of this around" Once again my shop smells like a Les Paul, Thanks StewMac ! I will be back.

Curtis M  Columbus Ohio USA
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 10-06-2010
Perfect replacement saddles

These are very good replacement parts for a floyd rose ( Genuine or Not). Good silver chrome saddles and no problem installing them, as the original ones.
Fast shipping, everything's ok =)
thank you

Ernesto  Switzerland
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
5 10-06-2010
Playing my new guitar in the white

These bolts allowed me to secure the bridge and string up my new guitar before finishing. This ensures that any changes required for tone can be done before the finishing. Only problem is, once strung up you don't want to stop playing the guitar.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
5 10-06-2010
The right tool for the job

Making my first 6 string guitar and having made the bridge my self I wanted to have the right tool for reaming these very important pin holes. This is the perfect tool for the 5 degree pins. My new bone pins fit perfectly in the reamed holes.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 10-06-2010
Finally bought it

This had been on my wish list for years so I finally decided to get it. I have a vise like it for my drill press but I did not a way to make the special plates for the jaws. This vise is perfect for the job and of very fine quality.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 10-06-2010
My new guitar bridge pins

Making my first 6 string I decided that I wanted the best pins available. These are excellent in appearance and fit the tapered holes perfectly. I made the right choice.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
5 10-06-2010
Excellent Tuners

Very good quality.It looks very elegant and classic. I suggest to everybody.

Orhan Ummetler  Kyrenia,Cyprus Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19701 – 19725
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  788  789  790  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce