Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19701 – 19725
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  788  789  790  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 10-04-2010
Works Great

Used this product for the final polish with swirl remover and the guitar looks amazing!. Achieved a very good mirror finish. I used wool for the higher grit compounds. The combination worked great. I would definitely consider getting more of these for other compounds after this test.

Fly  California
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 10-04-2010
Great tuners

These mini tuners have been my top choice for many years. I've used them on most of my guitars. I especially like to couple them with ebony knobs. Just the right size and weight, precise and stable. I must admit though that the walls of the threaded bushing seems to have gone thinner in the last few years. Still, great machine heads.

Laplante Guitars  Kingston, ON, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
GHS Phosphor Bronze Strings
GHS Phosphor Bronze Strings
5 10-04-2010
GHS guitar strings

Glad I have a place like stew-mac to order quality musical things from. Completely satisfied. Thank you !

Jeff Rector  Newark, Ohio
String Lifter
String Lifter
1 10-03-2010
The Verdict is Still Out

Well not really. Guilty was the charge. This little contraption failed on a number of accounts. the handle is too small to control the spring tension of the lifted guitar string. And the pressure of the plastic "barrel" that the fretboard had to endure while the string was lifted up and out of the way left noticeable dings in the both ebony and rosewood fingerboards.

fever4reverb  Gainesville,Florida Read my reviews (2)
Uncarved Guitar Braces
Uncarved Guitar Braces
5 10-03-2010
Great Quality

I found these billets very useful. They're a good size so there is minimum waste, they machine well (good straight grain) and they're easy to work with hand tools(chisels etc)again because of the good grain and moisture content.

Legra Guitars  U.K.
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 10-03-2010
Instant Gratification

If you'd like to change your tone and volume for the better, these things did just that for two of my best acoustic guitars. My old plastic bridge pins had been bent back and were, quite frankly, going soft. I had a little trouble installing the new bone pins in that they had to be shaved down (exacto knife stroking up and down around the length of the pin), with the blade scraping sideways. This alteration is only needed if the new bone pin will not seat all the way down in its hole. I also had to "curl" the ball end of the string slightly as there is no give to the bone. THIS is where the magic is! The bone absorbs absolutely no string vibration. The string vibration is therefore transferred directly to the bridge and saddle. Thus...Instant Gratification!

fever4reverb  Gainesville,Florida Read my reviews (2)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
5 10-03-2010
Abalone Side Dots

I've used these dots on a number of my projects and will continue as long as StuMac keeps selling them. They are the perfect size every time.

barcusbasses  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Soundhole Screens
Soundhole Screens
5 10-03-2010
Nice

Great screens, nice chrome, well made. Highly recommended

jeffreyz75  Warminster,pa Read my reviews (6)
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
5 10-03-2010
Great Bridge

Its a great bridge. Good construction.

jeffreyz75  Warminster,pa Read my reviews (6)
Battery Box
Battery Box
5 10-03-2010
Easy Access

These are a must for active electronics. I installed the 3576 on my Fender Jazz bass special for my 18 volt set up and the 3577 on my Gretch Jr. bass for my 9 volt set up. Now I have easy access to changing the batteries and they're out of the control cavities where they were causing shortages and knocking things loose from being jammed in such tight places.

Will Kolbert  Chicago, IL.
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 10-03-2010
Pearl Dots

Very uniform size and shape. Plenty of thickness to allow for sanding flush with fret board. Great "grain" pattern.

Pearl dots  Lamont, FL
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 10-03-2010
Very good

OK. I bought the medium/wide file for my recent job, since i didn't want to spend money for fret dressing. The file works great. Only downside is that there is no mark for which side is which.

Aleksander  NJ, USA Read my reviews (4)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
4 10-03-2010
Sweet tuners!!!

I plan on ordering a set for my project after playing a guitar that a friend had installed these on. they look sweet and keep in tune like none other. My only complaint is I'm building a 7 string so I gotta get two sets argh!!! It really chaps my rear to know that I'm putting $200 into it and have 12 tuners when all i need is 7, why cant they sell them individually!!!

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 10-02-2010
Stainless Active Rod only

A couple of days after unwrapping, I noticed a little surface rust on the passive rod. I didn't notice the wording in the product description "stainless steel active rod" I'm not sure how this will effect the rods performance over time.I plan to use it anyway, looks like it would be super easy to replace if any problems arise. Just keep in mind that only the active rod is stainless if you think the rust could be an issue.

Ballew  Tennessee Read my reviews (2)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Bass
Unslotted Fingerboard for Bass
5 10-02-2010
Nice!

Due to the lack of a grading system, I was worried about ordering this blank.

The blank I received was very black and accurately thickness sanded. I just had to square the ends.

Thanks guys.

Ballew  Tennessee Read my reviews (2)
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 10-02-2010
Gotoh Compact Bass Single Tuners

Perfect! I needed a 5 string bass set and bought the set of 4 and just added the single tuner. You can make any configuration with a combination of 2 on a side / 4 on a side and a single left or right tuner - good stuff.

ed dowling  sedona Read my reviews (6)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 10-02-2010
4491 and 4490 Fret Files

The single most important tool that I have from Stewmac for fretted instrument work. This is the one - I tried the one with 3 interchangeable burrs and it does not compare. You must have this file to do fret work the right way.

ed dowling  sedona Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 10-02-2010
Great tuner

These are great tuners! I really like quality feeling and the slightly higher 18:1 ratio. One of my standard tuners.

Runesson guitars  Winterthur, Switzerland
Customer supplied image for review

4" Radius Blocks Essential Set
5 10-02-2010
4" Radius Block

I like to glue my frets in, so I use the 4" radius blocks as clamping caul. I use both the 12" and 16" radius. The blocks are maple and stand up to clamping pressure very well. The frets in the guitar and bass (pictured) were glued using the 12" radius block. Gary Stevens

Gary Stevens  Las Cruces, NM Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
3 10-02-2010
Pre-cut Fret Board on 21 Fret Tele Neck

If you plan on using the "one-size fits all" Fender scale fret board for a Tele-style, 21 fret neck, think again. Just like a Tele neck won't fit a Strat neck pocket, a Strat fingerboard can't be cut down to fit a Tele. When cut to the proper length to maintain the required 25-1/2" scale length, one fret slot remains just short of the end of the fret board. A Tele style neck requires a fret board without the extra, 22nd fret slot - Not a problem with a 22 fret neck, but renders this pre-cut fretboard unusable on a 21 fret neck.

Strat41  San Dimas, CA Read my reviews (2)
Mandolin Tailpiece
Mandolin Tailpiece
5 10-02-2010
spot on replacement

Perfect shiny new tailpiece to replace any old or damaged gibson style unit. Be warned the cover is very blank and shiny.

mandobob  Whidbey Island Read my reviews (2)
Adjustable Archtop Mandolin Bridge
Adjustable Archtop Mandolin Bridge
5 10-02-2010
bridge work

This is an excellent quality replacement bridge at a great price. The arch in saddle is pretty flat so it did take a lot of shaping to get a good fit. Much more and I would have run out of saddle.

mandobob  Whidbey Island Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
4 10-02-2010
Work Great, but Be Cautioned...

These clamps work really well - but they can work TOO well. Don't over tighten them or they will dent the edge of the fretboard. Might be a good idea to spread the pressure out at that point with some sort of wooden strip.

JeffB  Amelia, OH Read my reviews (2)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 10-02-2010
I'm giving my other electronic tuner away

This thing has spoiled me now with perfect tuning. I had seen my local luthier/repairman using the $200 version in his shop for setting intonation, and when I saw that Stew Mac had this one, I had to have it. It's easy to learn to use, and really makes the difference--and to have this ability in a clip-on version is heaven. With my other clip-on tuner, I could finish tuning and then would have to tweak it further using my ears--not now. Thank you Stew Mac!

Greg  Columbia, SC Read my reviews (9)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-02-2010
Better than expected

Okay, I had recently gotten a sweet Heritage guitar (still made on Parsons Street, by the way), and wanted to replace the stock Schaller pickups, just as a lot of us do. I first went with a set of "handwound" pickups from someone else--and when they arrived they were funky--out of phase or something. Anyhow, I needed something else quickly for a recording project I am starting, so I came across these and ordered a set. Just installed them this week and let me tell you, they are the real deal! I'm still tweaking the height and pole-piece adjustments, but am in love with these already. Clear, warm, punchy, smooth. . .they have it all.

Greg  Columbia, SC Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 19701 – 19725
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  788  789  790  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce