Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19626 – 19650
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  785  786  787  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
1 10-08-2010
Not quite right

I found two issues with these pickup surrounds:
1) The cream color does not match the Les Paul pickguard I bought from StewMac. These are almost pink in comparison.
2) The base is flat, which means it doesn't fit nicely on a properly carved Les Paul top. A major reason for replacing the flat base originals was because they had cracked due to being bent over the carved top.

I can create a curve myself to match the carving, but the color is still 'wrong'.

Simon Allaway  Chesterton, IN
Control Plate for Tele
Control Plate for Tele
5 10-08-2010
Solid product

Great plate. Solid and heavy. I've used the chrome, black, and gold on various teles without a problem.

Roller  Milwaukee, WI USA Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Trim Blanks
Guitar Trim Blanks
5 10-08-2010
Easy as pie!

If you take your time measuring, and laying out your template for the end trim, these blanks work great.

Roller  Milwaukee, WI USA Read my reviews (3)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 10-08-2010
Great time saver

I now install the electrosockets in every tele-type guitar I build. It has eliminated the drag of installing the old style cup plates.

Roller  Milwaukee, WI USA Read my reviews (3)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-08-2010
This Stuff Works Great!!!

On a recent project I restored and refinished a vintage Epiphone Accu-bass. After the final polishing of the lacquer it appeared to be completed, but since a friend had recommended Restoration Polish I gave it a try. It made a world of difference, even on my new finish, bringing out the final luster. This is an economical product as well; a tiny bit goes a long way. I'll be using this product on all my projects going forward. Thanks Stew-Mac!

Restorer  Swannanoa, NC Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
5 10-08-2010
Go ahead ... It's Easy

Recently I restored a vintage Epiphone Accu-Bass that had had a lot of hard use. I replaced the PUPs with Stew-Mac EMG's and found that the original wiring was simply shot. The wiring was rotten and falling apart. I replaced the wiring, pots and input jack with the Stew-Mac Wiring Kit for P-bass. Now the bass has new pups, new wiring, new pots and a new jack. There is more than enough of every type of wiring to complete the job neatly and professionally. My restored bass now looks and sounds great. I would recommend doing this whenever replacing pups or restoring any vintage ax. Knowing the electronics are brand new instills confidence that your instrument won't fail at a critical moment.

Restorer  Swannanoa, NC Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 10-08-2010
Nice Finishing Touch

Recently I restored an old Epiphone Accu-Bass and replaced the strap buttons as a finishing touch. The old mounting screws had stripped out. The solution? A bamboo skewer cut to length and slathered with ordinary wood glue and inserted into the old pilot hole, followed by a new pilot hole, followed by installation of the new buttons. Result? Shiny new strap buttons with a nice, tight fit. I also used some of the Stew-Mac felt washers. They make a great addition in combo with the strap buttons. The new buttons are tight and grip my guitar-strap perfectly. I'll never worry about them coming loose and having my bass hit the floor. Thanks, Stew-Mac!!!

Restorer  Swannanoa, NC Read my reviews (5)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 10-08-2010
Inexpensive Finishing Touch

Recently I restored an old Epiphone Accu-Bass and replaced the strap buttons as a finishing touch. The old mounting screws had stripped out. The solution? A bamboo skewer cut to length and slathered with ordinary wood glue and inserted into the old pilot hole, followed by a new pilot hole, followed by installation of the new buttons. Result? Shiny new strap buttons with a nice, tight fit. I also used some of the Stew-Mac felt washers. They make a great addition in combo with the strap buttons. The new buttons are tight and grip my guitar-strap perfectly. I'll never worry about them coming loose and having my bass hit the floor. Thanks, Stew-Mac!!!

Restorer  Swannanoa, NC Read my reviews (5)
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
4 10-08-2010
Excellent alternative to plastic

I've been using these pickup rings on our guitars for a while now. I've had no issues with fit using Seymour Duncan or Amalfitano pickups. We love using these as an alternative to plastic rings and will continue to use them when requested.

Delaney Guitars  Atlanta, GA.
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 10-08-2010
Glad I didn't wait.

I have only fretted one bound board without this tool. I hope I never have to do it again. This tool works perfect and is very easy to use. I can't find anything to complain about.

Dick Hutchings  Warwick, RI
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 10-08-2010
Great Product With Minor Quirks.

As in all the other reviews, I can't stress enough how helpful the OptiVisor has become to me. BUT! Pay attention to the focal length of the lenses. I purchased the 2X and it is very annoying to have to keep a 10 inch distance from your work in order to focus. The best choice for me is the 1.5X so you can hold your head a more normal distance away and still have great magnification. Lenses are crystal clear and mainly free of distortion so eye strain isn't too great after long periods of use. I have another issue in regards to lens removal. Once they are pinned on (especially with the LED lights)forget about removing the plastic pins. I had to snip the ends off and then use 6-32 machine screws to reassemble everything. This works quite well and would make changes simpler in the future if needed. Hope this info helps. Best Regards.

Jerry Stachowiak  Buffalo, NY
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 10-08-2010
The ONLY tape to use.

To do it right the first time use this tape. Just take your time and follow the instructions. I like the 2", cut it to any size.

Kenpo Don  Truth or Consequences, NM
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-08-2010
Parsons St pickups

I recently purchased one of your Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers, they sound and play just like my Les Paul's, "excellent"! I love PAF Pickups. They perform how you play, play soft and they're soft, attack hard and they respond aggressively. 5 stars to Golden Age, for producing a great Pickup for the price. I will be certainly buying a few more, for some of my other Guitars.

trentasaurus  queensland, australia
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 10-08-2010
Great wish I had bought them years ago...

The nut seating files from Stew Mac are the greatest leap forward in nut seating technology since the chisel.

Restorationad  Morrisville Read my reviews (2)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
3 10-08-2010
A few stars short of great.

Last night I used the new Stew Mac Fret/Fingerboard Leveler. It was not very exciting it worked, but no better than the Stew Mac Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam.
The bad: Not worth the money. One of the large flat surfaces should have been milled.
The good: It's heavy, long, and pretty flat. 320 grit sandpaper leaves fewer marks than the extra-fine diamond sharpening stones or my files.
Still not satisfied maybe it is time for a Plek Machine.

Restorationad  Morrisville Read my reviews (2)
NoJak Endpin
NoJak Endpin
4 10-08-2010
noJak Endpin

Like the previous reviewer said, I needed to sand the outer sleeve, more than a bit. Overall it was a great idea to develop this kind of device, which helped my situation perfectly! thanks

seem  rome, italy
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
1 10-08-2010
Economic pickups

I've tried the split-P bass pickup.
Moderate output, not well defined sound referring all the frequencies (bass, mid-high). I'm sure that I'll not purchase another one.

stepuc  italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 10-08-2010
Grovers

Installed on friends mandolin spacing was direct replacement and they work great. Well made.

Rob Eggers  Leavenworth, WA Read my reviews (2)
Replacement Neck for Fender Bass
Replacement Neck for Fender Bass
4 10-07-2010
FenderĀ® replacement bass neck

FenderĀ® PrecisionĀ® neck made by Mighty Mite appears to be well-made. The fret ends will need some beveling, but frets seem to be well-seated. Instructions for installing the neck are supplied and are well-written.

PeteBass  Belleville, WI Read my reviews (2)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 10-07-2010
Chrome dome knobs

I purchased these to complete a solid-body bass I'm building. They're nice, heavy basic knobs that will look great on the bass when it's done.

PeteBass  Belleville, WI Read my reviews (2)
Pearloid/w/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Pearloid/w/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 10-07-2010
Pearloid Pick guard material

This material was great! The pearl was better looking than that on most Fender's I've seen. It was easy to work with, and as usual shipping was quick and packaged well. The price scares most people, but remember if you don't mess up there is enough material to cut two "Strat" sized guards

Ricky Hendrix  Russellville Arkansas Read my reviews (8)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 10-07-2010
Got my baby back!

I salvaged a '96 Epiphone PR160 ebony black beauty from a flea market and spent many, many hours restoring it - repaired neck, refinished, refret, new pick guard, bone nut and saddle, brass bridge pins, etc. I only got to play it for a couple of months when, one night, I was wailing on some AC-DC (don't ask) and the bridge and body just popped. I was just sick.
I'd heard about the Bridge Doctor, but was skeptical. After I installed it, the body and bridge are not only back to normal, but I swear the tonal quality is even better. I got my baby back! I plan on doing the same with an old Lyle hummingbird soon. This thing is great!

Fingerpickengood  Charlotte Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 10-07-2010
Countless uses

These things come in handy for so many projects, although I use them mostly for magnetizing pickups. I like to also screw one to my bench top and use it to hold tools.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 10-07-2010
Neat little tool

Love this thing. I use it a lot when winding pickups to verify magnetic polarity, as well as for odd jobs like determining which coil to cut for hum canceling when combined with a single coil.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-07-2010
Accurate PAF sound for a fair price

I put a set of these in a dual-humbucker Strat. I am really pleased with them, both in terms of sound and construction quality. I went with an Alnico V set and they are clear with just enough brightness to give "bite", but still warm and fat like a PAF should be. They really shine when overdriving a tube amp; my silverface Champ sounds like a monster with these things flogging the preamp.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Displaying 19626 – 19650
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  785  786  787  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce