Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19626 – 19650
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  785  786  787  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
1 10-11-2010
too much orange

I picked up set in cream and the color is way off, like other reviews said too much orange. Also if your dropping in new pups remember to get matching screws too as the screws in that new box of pups may be different size/color than the stock. ;)

brad12s  Denver, CO
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 10-11-2010
Good value

These tuners were just what I needed at a good price. They turned an old, cheap, unplayable Harmony mandolin into an old, cheap, PLAYABLE mandolin.

The mandolin was given to me in the 1970s by a friend who had obtained it in a barter of some kind and then didn't want it. It had become unplayable because the original tuners would bind and you'd need pliers to turn them.

I recommend using the dimensions provided here by Stew-Mac to carefully measure and plan your installation. Though the dimensions were very close, I figured out that I had to enlarge and shift the holes in the headstock a bit, so I was prepared for that. I used a Dremel tool to take care of that.

After that, installation was a breeze. The tuners are easy to rotate, easy to tune to the right pitch, and they stay in pitch. They ain't Waverly's but were perfect to restore playability to this instrument which is now in the hands of a happy 10-year-old!

Peter C  Los Altos, CA, USA
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 10-11-2010
Excellent

works perfect and fast

lycker  cagliari, Sardinia, Italy Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-11-2010
Parsons Street Single Conductor for Epi

Put one of these Alnico 5 single-conductor babies in the neck of my Epi Dot: night and day difference. Bridge pup is already on it's way. If you own an Epi and you probably do if you're reading this - you owe it to yourself to make this investment. Hey you bought the thing because it looks like a Gibson, why not make it sound like a Gibson too (and the stock Epi pups sure don't!) Even with my feeble soldering skills installation was simple enough. Don't be put off by the braid - just make sure you tin it first before attaching to the volume pot. One thing that surprised me was that the wire exited the case in the top left corner as opposed to the bottom right which would make more sense for a neck pickup, however in re-reading the description it does state "Old PAFs weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models"

Blues Jr.  CT
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 10-11-2010
Fast and Accurate

These are excellent tools if you are serious about the quality of repairs/production. The fretboard and frets are arguably the most important part of a guitar when it comes to playability and these beams make short work of getting that right. These are pricey, so the difficult part is choosing which radius beam will pay for itself the quickest. I settled on the 9.5" beam and plan to get more if the price comes down ;-)

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
4 10-11-2010
Tele replacement neck

Is it possible to give a 4.85 star rating? I usually build my own maple necks from scratch, and I'm very fussy. The fretting and shaping is perfect. A bit thinner and narrow-er than my spec's, but my names not 'Leo'. When sealed; re-finished; & bolted to my custom bodies, these necks allowed me to turn around new projects faster than ever.

RichardK  Katoomba, NSW Australia
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 10-10-2010
Only way to do a full "nib" bind fret job.

I like the diversity of sizes offered, most imports are a little different so I need to stock 'em all.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
White Pickguard Material
White Pickguard Material
5 10-10-2010
Great quality

Great for accent or one off projects, dressed up a Zakk LP with it, made all the plastic parts for a "Tuxedo" black and white 335. Came out great!

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 10-10-2010
Always have a few set aside

Replacement is very common. Much better to have a few and pull off an on the spot repair, usually replace the oxidized jack along with it.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 10-10-2010
Versatile "hidden" switching

I use them mostly as simple coil cuts, although series/parallel is my choice for a humbucker if I can convince the player of it's merits. Most of my own guitars are set up S/P because it gets clean and stays humbucking. Good quality too.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 10-10-2010
Nice Set

This is the first time I've had ball bearing guides and a template. The template squared up easily and the bearings followed it like cake. I had to route the out-side of the guitar to due to it shape, otherwise sanding was quite difficult. I wish I had also ordered the 3/8" bit with the shorter cut instead of the one I got at a hardware store.

RoweJ  Lexington,KY
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 10-10-2010
Ideal big wire

I know good quality, been buying wire from Stew-Mac for years. This is exceptional as I can get multiple level-crown services out of it.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 10-10-2010
Excellent Solution

I've been using Dunlop Straplocks for many years, and have never had a problem with them. They totally secure your instrument, and engage/disengage quickly, with less hassle than some other systems I've seen. There are no sharp edges to mar your instrument, and they can be removed and redeployed with little trouble if you change straps. In short, they perform as advertised.

StringDancer  Bloomington, IN
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
5 10-10-2010
Beginner Luthier

The kit was marvelous. Instructions were very clear (no "bad english" like other instruction manuals I have used). The quality was very high and beautiful. Parts were well manufactured and were easy to put together. I also bought the video, which was a great investment. It really went hand in hand with the written instructions.

Chad  Chicagoland
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-10-2010
Les Paul Custom in love with Parsons Street Humbuckers

I recently ordered three PSH's for my EPI SG Les Paul Custom to get rid of the wimpy generic tone it had. My friends thought I was losing my mind as they thought it sounded great. At the same time I ordered the SG wiring harness because I wanted a more flexible switching set-up than it comes with stock. The harness parts are all really first rate and well worth the extra if you have an EPI!

The outside pup's are now wired like a Tele 1 volume/tone with a 3 way switch. The middle pup has it's own volume/tone independently of the other two. This is great in the variety of tones available all, 1 or 2 in any combination or blend you might think of. It is really all useable, easy to figure out, and quick to use. THAT was a real improvement, but the REAL improvement are these three pup's. I went with Alnico 2's for the outside and an Alnico 5 neck for the middle (I later found out it was originally a bridge pup...it was just meant to be I suppose). These are really complex pup's that sound great no matter how I push them, even with my old Ampeg V3 combo, Princeton, Champ, Kustom, and Marshalls wow these things are unbelievable in how sweet they sound.

Mostly I play through a Blackheart 15H and now a VHT Special 6 (easy to carry) and the EPI really sings through them all. It has not given me any pause being unpotted, I haven't heard any microphonics or picked up any radio station (as I have in the past)yet. These are just wonderfully articulate pup's that allow the instrument to speak for itself. Most of my friends no longer think I am completely crazy anymore. ha ha ha...little do they know that there is an EPI 335 Dot waiting for it's own set and the two projects currently in process ( a Flying V and 12 string Tele) will undoubtedly be recipients of their own 'lil darlins'.

Would I recommend these to someone else...heck yeah they are just THAT GOOD...and it's just a riot to see peoples faces when you tell them the 'dirty little secret' of what they are and where they came from! Thank-you indeed StewMac these are a great addition to any guitarist's arsenal.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
5 10-10-2010
Luthiers best choice for guitar finish

I have purchased my spray lacquer from Stew/Mac for quite a while and it rivals the finishes used by the top guitar manufactures. It sprays so smooth that you could almost get away without sanding and buffing. A picture of a slope shoulder sunburst using the nitrocellulose finish.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Blush Eraser
Blush Eraser
5 10-10-2010
Life saver in high humidity

I sprayed this cocobola guitar in high humidity and without this blush eraser I would have had a sanding job and a respray. It turned white almost immediately after spraying. A light spaying of blush eraser cleared it all up.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-10-2010
Touch up with Colortone spray lacquer.

This spray can lacquer Is great for touch up work on new built instruments as well as repair work on older instruments. Picture of a cocobola guitar I built and had to touch up the neck heel.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 10-10-2010
Better than the old ones!

Worked admirably for fixing up my "not so valuable, but dearly loved" mandolin. Easy to install, fit perfectly, and they tune smoothly.

Mike S  Windsor, CO, USA
Five-Star Head
Five-Star Head
5 10-10-2010
Five Star Again

After experimenting with other heads, I once again, have to come back to the frosted Five-Star to get that loud, crisp "bark" that I prefer. Thanks Much.

Alex Nyhus  Buffalo Lake, MN Read my reviews (2)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 10-10-2010
best crowning file I've ever used

Very accurate and very fast. I use the 150 grit with the metal fingerboard protectors and then polish with finer grit sandpaper and steel wool.
The only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because the first one I got was defective. The surface started to flake off by the time I was working on my 3rd or so guitar. StewMac was great about replacing it at no cost.

Brant  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 10-10-2010
great tuners

These tuners feel very smooth. The 18:1 ratio is much appreciated. You will probably need to order 2 sets of bushings if you're replacing existing tuners.

Brant  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 10-10-2010
Good stuff

I just used the blue stain for a bass I built. Beautiful coverage. No complaints. Will definitely use again. Mixed with water, gave me the exact color I was hoping for.

RT Basses  Willow Street, PA Read my reviews (3)
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 10-10-2010
MOP & Abalone

The quality of this material is absolutely high grade. Don't think you could buy anything better suited for the job. See how I used it on the head stock of the mandolin in the photo. The flower is MOP dyed red with leather dye.

Rosa String Works  Newburg, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 10-10-2010
Don't drive yourself nuts - get this kit

This kit is well designed and saves hours and reduces waste due to errors. I used it in conjunction with the Basic Setup Kit to sort out problems on a new mandolin and am delighted with the results. The mandolin now plays so much better with a great action and improved intonation. Highly recommended and compliments to Stewmac on getting this item all the way to Scotland in record time

Tim Saul  Isle of Bute, Scotland, UK Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 19626 – 19650
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  785  786  787  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce