Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19601 – 19625
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  784  785  786  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Thompson Belly Reducer
Thompson Belly Reducer
1 10-10-2010
Save Your Money

Tried it three times with no noticeable difference. By the time you get it installed it has lost all heat content. The guitar I used it on is not severely bellied. If you closely inspect the bellying on a guitar you will see that it is primarily behind the bridge, not under the bridge.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
4 10-10-2010
Perhaps a little TOO accurate?

I love StewMac's acrylic routing templates. They make routing an absolute breeze. However, make sure you are spot-on with your single-coil routs: the hole you route with this particular template will hardly be bigger than the pickup itself, so if your cavity is off by even a millimeter or two you might run into alignment problems with your pickguard. Test-fit your pickguard and pickups BEFORE you finish your guitar and make sure those holes are in exactly the right spots!

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
2 10-10-2010
Fine from a distance, but...

Upon close examination, it is pretty obvious that this material is a tortoise-shell PRINT (you can see the dots from the print job), not a natural swirly mixture of differently tinted plastics). From a distance, you won't notice it, but when you press your nose to the stuff you'll spot it. The pattern is fairly fine in scale and repeats itself within the 11"x19" sheets that are sold.

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
4 10-09-2010
Ebony bridge pins with abalone dot

I have an Epiphone Masterbilt AJ-500M acoustic guitar that came with plastic bridge pins and I was looking for an upgrade. These pins are well made and fit perfectly. Very happy with my purchase.

R. Mansfield  Dickinson, Texas
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 10-09-2010
Amber tint is nice, but a bit too yellow

I used the amber tint on a neck and although it looks good, I wish it wasn't quite so yellow.

peskypesky  NYC
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 10-09-2010
Neat Switch

I've used the E-model and S-model Megaswitches on my guitars, I love em'!
These have the best feel of any switch I've tried on the market right now.
The switching options on the E-model when used with 2 humbuckers are my personal favorites.

N. Tonseth  Methow, WA. Read my reviews (4)
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 10-09-2010
Buy Diamonds!

I own, and have used both the steel toothed, and diamond fret radius files.
I'm buying only diamond files now. They are worth every penny extra you have to pay for them. I've been using the diamond offset file for 10 years now, and it still works great!

N. Tonseth  Methow, WA. Read my reviews (4)
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
5 10-09-2010
Very Cool Tool!

If you have battery operated guitar/music stuff,(that's all of us right?!!) you NEED this! It works on most equipment. It's small, so it fits great in your guitar/pedal-board case.
I use this all the time. It also works on 1.5 volt batteries. Great value! Buy one, you'll like it!

N. Tonseth  Methow, WA. Read my reviews (4)
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 10-09-2010
Micro finishing papers

I had bought a used guitar from a seller on Ebay and was bothered by the used stamped into the headstock rear. I decided to inlay a Brown Pelican into the used stamp to cover it and needed finishing paper for the engraved portion of the wings. I also decided to make a Tor-tis pickguard from a sheet that had some flaws on it, and needed to smooth the surface. The micro paper preformed flawlessly for my needs and the job turned out great.

Stratfanatic  Summerville, S.C. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
3 10-09-2010
Strap Locks

Over-all average quality. The machining/casting isn't as clean as the Schaller strap locks. The plating is already wearing of the mounting buttons.(less than two months use) This might be because I bought the black locks.
These work just fine with my other Schaller strap lock equipped guitars (the Grover strap locks clip right into the Schaller buttons!)

N. Tonseth  Methow, WA. Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 10-09-2010
DeArmond Starfire Bass Replacements

Perfect drop in replacement on a DeArmond Starfire Bass. I was glad I did not have to do any mods to the headstock - even the screw hole placement matched up.

Supa V  Toronto
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 10-09-2010
Perfect!

This fret wire is great.

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
3 10-09-2010
Flimsy but does the job.

Does a fair job to the fret ends but feels a bit tacky.

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 10-09-2010
Big Bulky Blocks of Brass

Perfect blocks of brass to get those frets home.

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
5 10-09-2010
Great Caul.

Ace lightweight tool that does the job perfectly.

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Strat Pickguard
Strat Pickguard
5 10-09-2010
Great pickguard.

Very good guard.
The Gilmourized guitar looks ace!
Cheers!

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 10-09-2010
Brilliant!

Great cutter.
A lot of weight behind it.

Rich.  UK Read my reviews (6)
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines 6-In-Line
5 10-09-2010
High Quality, Precise and easy string changes

These are easy to fit and use and are of a high quality. 18:1 gear ratio is what I always look for in a tuner.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
3 10-09-2010
optiVISOR

The optiVISOR works great. Next time I wouldn't spend the money on the light. It doesn't add much to an already well lit workplace.

Geohen  USA
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
5 10-09-2010
You wouldn't use cheap tools...

This is really nice sandpaper. One thing that isn't mentioned in the description is that the paper itself is much higher quality than the typical hardware store variety. It makes a big difference to not have creasing and flaking of the grit. I was very impressed with this product, definitely not a frivolous purchase.

A Taylor  Chicago Read my reviews (2)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 10-09-2010
very handy

A nice piece of steel, very handy.

A Taylor  Chicago Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 10-09-2010
nice bridge!

I put the bridge on an ASAT Classic, it took me 30 minutes to install, with no modifications to the guitar. Other than not having to deal with the "box" edges of a vintage style bridge anymore, a side benefit was a great tonal improvement, I am impressed!

blackcat  midwest
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 10-09-2010
worth every penny

I had been using a Sears router base, but this is so small yet substantial. No way could I do the ledge on my control cavity with the Sears, this was too easy - even for me!

Egemo  Las Vegas, NV
Customer supplied image for review
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
4 10-08-2010
A bit of style..for a inexpensive price

Tailpiece gives my mando kit that look of style for an inexpensive price. People have commented about mando asking where I got bought it from, and are amazed when they discover its kit built. All because tailpiece gives it a professional look. GO FOR IT.

Bill from Puyallup  Puyallup WA Read my reviews (8)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
3 10-08-2010
It don't fit.......Tweak it til it does

I thought I was saving money when purchasing economy tuning machines for my kit built Flatiron mandolin. However, when I installed them they were seriously misaligned and wouldn't fit into one set of peg holes. Tweaking the holes until they fit, I found they were still binding a bit, but I figured the bushings would eliminate any binding and left them alone. When I installed the strings, however, the binding got worse with 1st string of A string duo, and it only got worse with tension. My advise is spend the extra money and purchase a quality set of tuning machines, it'll be worth it in the long run.

Bill from Puyallup  Puyallup WA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 19601 – 19625
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  784  785  786  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce