Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19576 – 19600
of 20991 reviews
< 1  ...  783  784  785  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 10-10-2010
Nice Set

This is the first time I've had ball bearing guides and a template. The template squared up easily and the bearings followed it like cake. I had to route the out-side of the guitar to due to it shape, otherwise sanding was quite difficult. I wish I had also ordered the 3/8" bit with the shorter cut instead of the one I got at a hardware store.

RoweJ  Lexington,KY
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 10-10-2010
Ideal big wire

I know good quality, been buying wire from Stew-Mac for years. This is exceptional as I can get multiple level-crown services out of it.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 10-10-2010
Excellent Solution

I've been using Dunlop Straplocks for many years, and have never had a problem with them. They totally secure your instrument, and engage/disengage quickly, with less hassle than some other systems I've seen. There are no sharp edges to mar your instrument, and they can be removed and redeployed with little trouble if you change straps. In short, they perform as advertised.

StringDancer  Bloomington, IN
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
5 10-10-2010
Beginner Luthier

The kit was marvelous. Instructions were very clear (no "bad english" like other instruction manuals I have used). The quality was very high and beautiful. Parts were well manufactured and were easy to put together. I also bought the video, which was a great investment. It really went hand in hand with the written instructions.

Chad  Chicagoland
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 10-10-2010
Les Paul Custom in love with Parsons Street Humbuckers

I recently ordered three PSH's for my EPI SG Les Paul Custom to get rid of the wimpy generic tone it had. My friends thought I was losing my mind as they thought it sounded great. At the same time I ordered the SG wiring harness because I wanted a more flexible switching set-up than it comes with stock. The harness parts are all really first rate and well worth the extra if you have an EPI!

The outside pup's are now wired like a Tele 1 volume/tone with a 3 way switch. The middle pup has it's own volume/tone independently of the other two. This is great in the variety of tones available all, 1 or 2 in any combination or blend you might think of. It is really all useable, easy to figure out, and quick to use. THAT was a real improvement, but the REAL improvement are these three pup's. I went with Alnico 2's for the outside and an Alnico 5 neck for the middle (I later found out it was originally a bridge pup...it was just meant to be I suppose). These are really complex pup's that sound great no matter how I push them, even with my old Ampeg V3 combo, Princeton, Champ, Kustom, and Marshalls wow these things are unbelievable in how sweet they sound.

Mostly I play through a Blackheart 15H and now a VHT Special 6 (easy to carry) and the EPI really sings through them all. It has not given me any pause being unpotted, I haven't heard any microphonics or picked up any radio station (as I have in the past)yet. These are just wonderfully articulate pup's that allow the instrument to speak for itself. Most of my friends no longer think I am completely crazy anymore. ha ha ha...little do they know that there is an EPI 335 Dot waiting for it's own set and the two projects currently in process ( a Flying V and 12 string Tele) will undoubtedly be recipients of their own 'lil darlins'.

Would I recommend these to someone else...heck yeah they are just THAT GOOD...and it's just a riot to see peoples faces when you tell them the 'dirty little secret' of what they are and where they came from! Thank-you indeed StewMac these are a great addition to any guitarist's arsenal.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
5 10-10-2010
Luthiers best choice for guitar finish

I have purchased my spray lacquer from Stew/Mac for quite a while and it rivals the finishes used by the top guitar manufactures. It sprays so smooth that you could almost get away without sanding and buffing. A picture of a slope shoulder sunburst using the nitrocellulose finish.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Blush Eraser
Blush Eraser
5 10-10-2010
Life saver in high humidity

I sprayed this cocobola guitar in high humidity and without this blush eraser I would have had a sanding job and a respray. It turned white almost immediately after spraying. A light spaying of blush eraser cleared it all up.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-10-2010
Touch up with Colortone spray lacquer.

This spray can lacquer Is great for touch up work on new built instruments as well as repair work on older instruments. Picture of a cocobola guitar I built and had to touch up the neck heel.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
4 10-10-2010
Better than the old ones!

Worked admirably for fixing up my "not so valuable, but dearly loved" mandolin. Easy to install, fit perfectly, and they tune smoothly.

Mike S  Windsor, CO, USA
Five-Star Head
Five-Star Head
5 10-10-2010
Five Star Again

After experimenting with other heads, I once again, have to come back to the frosted Five-Star to get that loud, crisp "bark" that I prefer. Thanks Much.

Alex Nyhus  Buffalo Lake, MN Read my reviews (2)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 10-10-2010
best crowning file I've ever used

Very accurate and very fast. I use the 150 grit with the metal fingerboard protectors and then polish with finer grit sandpaper and steel wool.
The only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because the first one I got was defective. The surface started to flake off by the time I was working on my 3rd or so guitar. StewMac was great about replacing it at no cost.

Brant  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 10-10-2010
great tuners

These tuners feel very smooth. The 18:1 ratio is much appreciated. You will probably need to order 2 sets of bushings if you're replacing existing tuners.

Brant  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 10-10-2010
Good stuff

I just used the blue stain for a bass I built. Beautiful coverage. No complaints. Will definitely use again. Mixed with water, gave me the exact color I was hoping for.

RT Basses  Willow Street, PA Read my reviews (3)
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 10-10-2010
MOP & Abalone

The quality of this material is absolutely high grade. Don't think you could buy anything better suited for the job. See how I used it on the head stock of the mandolin in the photo. The flower is MOP dyed red with leather dye.

Rosa String Works  Newburg, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 10-10-2010
Don't drive yourself nuts - get this kit

This kit is well designed and saves hours and reduces waste due to errors. I used it in conjunction with the Basic Setup Kit to sort out problems on a new mandolin and am delighted with the results. The mandolin now plays so much better with a great action and improved intonation. Highly recommended and compliments to Stewmac on getting this item all the way to Scotland in record time

Tim Saul  Isle of Bute, Scotland, UK Read my reviews (2)
Router Bit for Binding
Router Bit for Binding
5 10-10-2010
Lasted more than 20 years!

I bought my first router bit like this one so long ago, I can't remember. It has to be more than 20 years. I have used it to build more than 35 instruments not to mention many other chores. So, recently I thought it was time to get another even though the old one is still fairly sharp. The new one works even better. I used it to route the binding slots on the mandolin in the photo.

Rosa String Works  Newburg, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 10-10-2010
Basic Setup Kit is a time-saving winner

First class service from Stewmac, I ordered the goods on Friday and they arrived Tuesday in the sunny West Scotland Isle of Bute.
This kit is a real winner. I have saved hours already on setups on guitars and mandolins and the instruments play so much better. Clear instructions delivered with the kit made the job so much easier.
I would highly recommend this item.

Tim Saul  Isle of Bute, Scotland, UK Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Brace Chisel
Guitar Brace Chisel
5 10-10-2010
Not Just For Braces

A great general purpose chisel. Learn to keep it razor sharp and you will use it for everything.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
5 10-10-2010
A Real Timesver

These will work great on any traditional acoustic, parlour size through dreadnought. Thickness sand and refine the shape as you please. Great for the intermediate builder that has better things to do than machine and carve braces.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 10-10-2010
The Bomb!

Skip the hammer...buy this! Flawless, idiot proof fret jobs on new fretboards. No danger of chipping the fretboard

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
4 10-10-2010
Good Tool, But Sharpen First!

Worked very well after sharpening it on a whetstone. Prior to sharpening, it was like using a putty knife. Great flexibility. Sharpen and heat with a hairdryer and your bridge will be on your workbench in short order.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Thompson Belly Reducer
Thompson Belly Reducer
1 10-10-2010
Save Your Money

Tried it three times with no noticeable difference. By the time you get it installed it has lost all heat content. The guitar I used it on is not severely bellied. If you closely inspect the bellying on a guitar you will see that it is primarily behind the bridge, not under the bridge.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
4 10-10-2010
Perhaps a little TOO accurate?

I love StewMac's acrylic routing templates. They make routing an absolute breeze. However, make sure you are spot-on with your single-coil routs: the hole you route with this particular template will hardly be bigger than the pickup itself, so if your cavity is off by even a millimeter or two you might run into alignment problems with your pickguard. Test-fit your pickguard and pickups BEFORE you finish your guitar and make sure those holes are in exactly the right spots!

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
2 10-10-2010
Fine from a distance, but...

Upon close examination, it is pretty obvious that this material is a tortoise-shell PRINT (you can see the dots from the print job), not a natural swirly mixture of differently tinted plastics). From a distance, you won't notice it, but when you press your nose to the stuff you'll spot it. The pattern is fairly fine in scale and repeats itself within the 11"x19" sheets that are sold.

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
4 10-09-2010
Ebony bridge pins with abalone dot

I have an Epiphone Masterbilt AJ-500M acoustic guitar that came with plastic bridge pins and I was looking for an upgrade. These pins are well made and fit perfectly. Very happy with my purchase.

R. Mansfield  Dickinson, Texas
Displaying 19576 – 19600
of 20991 reviews
< 1  ...  783  784  785  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce