Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19501 – 19525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  780  781  782  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-16-2010
I am speechless!

I've been trying for over 40 years to get my guitars to look this good!

Dug  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-16-2010
Love it!!!

I bought a Golden Age bridge humbucker and installed it last week in my Les Paul. It has a very sweet clear tone, and compliments my Seth Lover neck pickup very nicely. I prefer to blend the tones between bridge and neck pickups rather than use them each exclusively. These almost put me in mind of the SD JB Humbuckers- with their punchy mids.
Considering they are half the price, this was a great deal. I like the switch PU's now and then just to cop a different sound without buying a new guitar. I have a feeling these Golden Age will be staying in place in this Les Paul for quite a while.

Kazwell  St. Louis, MO
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-16-2010
Tinted Amber Lacquer helps 'age' and touch up old necks

I use the Stew Mac tinted Amber lacquer quite a bit in my shop. When the job's small, and I don't want to mix up a tinted batch of lacquer for a minor touch up, I reach for the Amber Tint Lacquer cans. With some patience and some knowledge, you can really do a great job on 'aged' Fender necks, or simply touching up an old guitar's finish that has darkened due to age. You control the amount of shading by the number of passes you make with the spray can,pretty foolproof.

Will Kelly  Cary, North Carolina
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
4 10-16-2010
Good, but...

This is an incredibly useful tool, but it would be even better it were twice as thick, then you wouldn't have to raise it up on various contraptions.
Also, would be good if there was one for a Telecaster, and another one that gives you the 4-5 degree angle needed for a tune-o-matic bridge...

Rhythm Shack  UK
Customer supplied image for review
Alder Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
3 10-16-2010
Alder blank

I've got a block glued of 3 pieces of different density. Blank is glued very uncarefully, there is a space between 2 parts 0,5 mm. It appeared after I removed 5 mm of thickness. Please, take more attention to quality control.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 10-15-2010
Hand wound humbucker

I really like these pick up kits. By winding the pick up's myself I can create the tones that I want. Gibson PAF or over wound hot, mix and match magnet wire for even more creative tones. Thank you stew mac for the wonderful kits. They are a money saver and a money maker.

T. C. Tyler  Portland, OR Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 10-15-2010
Stunning

Great job on the Parsons St. P-90! I was a bit skeptical on quality-vs-price of the pickup. Don't be fooled! These pickup's are amazing. Definitely glad i bought one for my project P-90 Esquire.

Darcy  Yorkton Sk, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-15-2010
Great Pickup

Does everything it says it does, woke my Les Paul right up! The amount of pup you get for the dollar you pay is incredible! I installed this along with a Golden Age Overwound in the bridge and they are a great combination. I play everything from blues, jazz, country, rock and some metal and these pups cover everything nicely!

Walkerblues  Kailua, HI
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 10-15-2010
Double-edge crowning file

Great file. Maybe the handle could be bigger and the corners of the file beneath the handle not so sharp. It's a little painful.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 10-15-2010
fret end dressing file

Very good file for smoothing the fret edges. For me maybe a bit little, difficult to hold in my hand.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 10-15-2010
Excellent tool

Nice little tool. Helps me to tap frets into smaller slots!

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 10-15-2010
Very good fretwire 152

Very good fretwire. Did a refret on a acoustic guitar.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
5 10-15-2010
ESSENTIAL!!!

At first I didn't like the design of the caliper. I felt it was a bit hard to use. Well then I learned how to use it lol! I have to say this is an essential piece to a luthiers workshop. If you're meticulous in detail & accuracy than get this tool. It's not intending for the tech who 'eyes' all his measurements. I actually use this to also measure cutouts as well.

E.A.  Brooklyn, NY
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 10-15-2010
Makes rosettes easy.

A real joy to use. Highly recommend it. Far better than the stock circle cutter that comes in the dremel tool set.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
3 10-15-2010
Saddles only

I bought just saddles only, but my Tele intonation is not so perfect yet. Anyway the quality of the product is at the top.

Rubber Soul  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 10-15-2010
Really pleased.

This is a great product.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
5 10-15-2010
Gotoh, the best one

The definitive solution when you have tuning problems. Buy them!

Rubber Soul  Italy Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
5 10-15-2010
really good

The Lr. Baggs it's simple the best company in acoustic amplification.
The Element gives your guitar the natural sound, at difference with other similar systems that give a sound that's different and unreal.
This is the best choice.

germano Fusco  italy Read my reviews (2)
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
3 10-15-2010
Alright, but rather basic.

I was hoping for a bit more, truthfully. Basic oil finish, simple bindings, little to no advice on voicing the top. While it was nice to see a guitar made from start to finish, I don't think you could make a nice guitar following this video set alone.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
6mm Tremolo Arm
6mm Tremolo Arm
5 10-15-2010
Good Stuff

Standard 6MM Tremelo Arm. New condition - nicely chromed - great original replacement.

visoundguy  WI
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 10-15-2010
Nice looking

This was my first order's best item, the colours are as good as you'll ever see, can't wait to look at them on the finished guitar.

Clemente  Canneto Pavese, Italy
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 10-15-2010
Best straplock on the market.

If they're good enough for Springsteen, they good enough for me. I don't use anything else. A must for any working musician. Never worry about losing a guitar again.

JMahon  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 10-15-2010
Love these tuners!

I can't imagine using anything else on my guitars. 20 years and counting!

JMahon  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 10-15-2010
Best bridge on the market

I've been using these bridges for 20 years. I would be lost if StewMac stopped carrying them.

JMahon  Indiana Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
5 10-14-2010
A MUST have!!

While I agree with Chris Cordel, I had to drill the hole larger to fit the Duncan's screw. These are a real time saver!! A definite "Must Have" tool!!

chris rochow  Youngstown, Ohio, USA Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 19501 – 19525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  780  781  782  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce