Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19476 – 19500
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  779  780  781  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Feeler Gauges
Feeler Gauges
5 10-17-2010
Feeler Gauges

Its e good Tool!!!

Beat Stüssi  Baar, Switzerland Read my reviews (2)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
3 10-17-2010
Fragile

This is an ok caliper. It is nice that it does all of the special measurements. However, the thumb wheel is only held in with a plastic loop and if you have the caliper locked an try to measure with it the thumb wheel will break off. So make sure your locking knob is loose before trying to measure anything.

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
StewMac responds

That is a good point about loosening the lock before turning the thumbwheel. But, if you ever have any issues with a product such as this, please let us know. We’ll gladly correct the problem for you right away.

Inspection Mirror
Inspection Mirror
5 10-17-2010
Every player should own one

This is really handy for anything from changing strings (getting the ball ends seated properly), to inspecting your pickup inside, to any work you might want to do on your acoustic (or even inspecting to see if you need to have a luthier work on it).

This mirror and a flashlight will allow you to get as well-acquainted with the inside of your beloved acoustic as you are with the outside. If you are doing a lot of work reaching through the hole, you'll have to either come up with a system for holding it, grow a third hand, make a friend, or look into the folding mirror sold by Stew Mac. But for quick inspection, this inspection mirror is what the doctor ordered.

Fingerpicker  Reno, NV Read my reviews (2)
Metal Cap Bell Knob
Metal Cap Bell Knob
5 10-17-2010
A great looking replacement

I wanted a nice looking set of knobs that work well with push/pull pots .They worked out perfectly.

Jack  San Bernardino, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Digital Humidity Gauge
Digital Humidity Gauge
5 10-17-2010
Very handy

I've tinkered with different methods of humidifying guitars, but was never sure whether I was under or over humidifying. Over the first few weeks owning this, I have tested out each case, room, closet etc. So now I know exactly how well my efforts to humidify are or are not working.

This tool gives you an instant reading in any room, in a case, etc. I live in a desert (10% humidity during most of the year, 30% on the few days it is actually raining), so I've learned that there's really no such thing as too much humidity in my cases. If you live somewhere where you must adjust your habits between humid summers and dry heated winters, this will be very helpful as well.

Fingerpicker  Reno, NV Read my reviews (2)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-17-2010
The real deal

There comes a time when you just have to put aside the household polishes and use the proper polish on a fine guitar. I wont use anything else from now on.

Jack  San Bernardino, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 10-17-2010
Not all pots are created equal

You can spend a lot more for audio taper pots but considering the price and speedy delivery these split shaft pots are just fine.

Jack  San Bernardino, Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 10-17-2010
Astounding routing!

I've just used the routing jig to make two rosettes today. A bit shy on the the first one, but the jig's so easy and accurate to use, that the second rosette went twice as fast as the first one! Great StewMac tool!

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
4 10-17-2010
Got you covered

I liked my pick guard because it looks as good as an original piece on my Telecaster. What else could one ask for!

Johnsky  Kent Lakes, New York.
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
4 10-17-2010
Shiny frets

These are great, the shine you get is brilliant but make sure you don't have the Dremel to fast as they get very hot. Be careful with the file to put the groove in, they will polish the teeth off. If they came with a groove already in they would achieve excellent rating.

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 10-17-2010
Bone for tone

Using bone for nuts and a bridge saddles is the quickest and surest way
To achieve strong, durable and long lasting components. If you're after the truest tone from any instrument, cheap or expensive, then bone is THE way to go. Bone is totally predictable to work with, too. It shapes easily in minutes with the basic tools. There is no guess work. The finished shaped pieces may be quickly polished to a high gloss for a truly professional look.
I use bone for ALL replacement nuts and saddles in my workshop. Plastic pieces are convenient but just don't cut it.

Warren Targett  Bateau Bay NSW Australia Read my reviews (6)
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
3 10-17-2010
I use black slow

I used black slow setting for gluing in necks onto a body

Southwulf  Parkersburg, WV
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-16-2010
I am speechless!

I've been trying for over 40 years to get my guitars to look this good!

Dug  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-16-2010
Love it!!!

I bought a Golden Age bridge humbucker and installed it last week in my Les Paul. It has a very sweet clear tone, and compliments my Seth Lover neck pickup very nicely. I prefer to blend the tones between bridge and neck pickups rather than use them each exclusively. These almost put me in mind of the SD JB Humbuckers- with their punchy mids.
Considering they are half the price, this was a great deal. I like the switch PU's now and then just to cop a different sound without buying a new guitar. I have a feeling these Golden Age will be staying in place in this Les Paul for quite a while.

Kazwell  St. Louis, MO
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-16-2010
Tinted Amber Lacquer helps 'age' and touch up old necks

I use the Stew Mac tinted Amber lacquer quite a bit in my shop. When the job's small, and I don't want to mix up a tinted batch of lacquer for a minor touch up, I reach for the Amber Tint Lacquer cans. With some patience and some knowledge, you can really do a great job on 'aged' Fender necks, or simply touching up an old guitar's finish that has darkened due to age. You control the amount of shading by the number of passes you make with the spray can,pretty foolproof.

Will Kelly  Cary, North Carolina
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
4 10-16-2010
Good, but...

This is an incredibly useful tool, but it would be even better it were twice as thick, then you wouldn't have to raise it up on various contraptions.
Also, would be good if there was one for a Telecaster, and another one that gives you the 4-5 degree angle needed for a tune-o-matic bridge...

Rhythm Shack  UK
Customer supplied image for review
Alder Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
3 10-16-2010
Alder blank

I've got a block glued of 3 pieces of different density. Blank is glued very uncarefully, there is a space between 2 parts 0,5 mm. It appeared after I removed 5 mm of thickness. Please, take more attention to quality control.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 10-15-2010
Hand wound humbucker

I really like these pick up kits. By winding the pick up's myself I can create the tones that I want. Gibson PAF or over wound hot, mix and match magnet wire for even more creative tones. Thank you stew mac for the wonderful kits. They are a money saver and a money maker.

T. C. Tyler  Portland, OR Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 10-15-2010
Stunning

Great job on the Parsons St. P-90! I was a bit skeptical on quality-vs-price of the pickup. Don't be fooled! These pickup's are amazing. Definitely glad i bought one for my project P-90 Esquire.

Darcy  Yorkton Sk, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-15-2010
Great Pickup

Does everything it says it does, woke my Les Paul right up! The amount of pup you get for the dollar you pay is incredible! I installed this along with a Golden Age Overwound in the bridge and they are a great combination. I play everything from blues, jazz, country, rock and some metal and these pups cover everything nicely!

Walkerblues  Kailua, HI
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 10-15-2010
Double-edge crowning file

Great file. Maybe the handle could be bigger and the corners of the file beneath the handle not so sharp. It's a little painful.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 10-15-2010
fret end dressing file

Very good file for smoothing the fret edges. For me maybe a bit little, difficult to hold in my hand.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 10-15-2010
Excellent tool

Nice little tool. Helps me to tap frets into smaller slots!

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 10-15-2010
Very good fretwire 152

Very good fretwire. Did a refret on a acoustic guitar.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
5 10-15-2010
ESSENTIAL!!!

At first I didn't like the design of the caliper. I felt it was a bit hard to use. Well then I learned how to use it lol! I have to say this is an essential piece to a luthiers workshop. If you're meticulous in detail & accuracy than get this tool. It's not intending for the tech who 'eyes' all his measurements. I actually use this to also measure cutouts as well.

E.A.  Brooklyn, NY
Displaying 19476 – 19500
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  779  780  781  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce