Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19451 – 19475
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  778  779  780  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
4 10-23-2010
Fretwire

I've been using the medium fretwire and have been extremely happy with the results. Plenty of wire to do any possible dressing that might need to be done. I use the fret saw from StewMac also so the results are perfect every time.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
4 10-23-2010
Best thirty dollars ever spent.

I have a 1979 Ibanez Concord Maple Dreadnought with a solid top that was unplayable. The JLD Bridge Doctor gave me my guitar back.
The included instructions are OK but some of us have poor eyesight and need help reading the photocopied instructions included.

Bobby Wonder  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
4 10-23-2010
Great deal

Bought these to replace the stock tuners on a Hamer Echotone. They aren't top-of-the-line quality but definitely way better and more solid-feeling than the cheap tuners most entry-level guitars come with. If you're like me and hate the flimsy feeling of cheap tuning keys, these are a sensible upgrade and a great deal for what they are.

DJW  East Bay, CA
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 10-23-2010
Excellent tool!

Ordered for my violin project, worked like a charm for pegs and end button!
Very sharp item, nice handle.

Ivars  Kuldiga, Latvia
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 10-23-2010
This Kit help to eliminate 'buzz'

I had try it on my DIY guitar, all with StewMAc parts (body, neck, p.u.- ALL ) and I wasn't thinking it will be so useful.
Today the guitar is more quite and the noise is very attenuated.
Excellent Kit

Thank You StewMAc

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 10-23-2010
This is the second switch I choose

This switch is VERY useful for a strat guitar.
Thank You StewMac

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 10-23-2010
As for the humbucker !

Today I think it is a very good p.u.

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 10-23-2010
The first time

Today I think they are very very good !
Thank You StewMac

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 10-23-2010
Good

It is a good pot for the job. Thank You StewMAc. Antonello

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-23-2010
polish

Preservation polish works great, smells good and seems to clean well as well as leaving a great shine to the finish.

Guitar Guy  Naples Maine Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
2 10-23-2010
looks great at first

I love everything i have bought from stewmac but this. When i saw it i was like finally, i have been building painting and designing guitars for the last 6 years and i thought this was a god sent, but I was wrong.

I have used it on 2 guitars that after 1 year to the date began developing crack's in the clear coat. Kind of like what you would see in an Old Antique garage kept guitar or furniture. The cracks are in the clear coat they are not in the paint and they seemingly cracked out over night. For awhile i thought it was me and something i was doing (letting it dry in the spray area, not allowing enough dry time between coats)but it happened again on my latest one. It was only getting clear coated at that time the guitar wasn't even finished and the very same cracks were starting. Good thing for me i had only started on the neck and was able to start it over.

I think i would have freaked and swore off stewmac had i finished this one and had the same results.

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 10-23-2010
These are great!

I installed these in a Cort, and what a difference! The tuning is precise, and very easy to install! I'm quite happy with this purchase.

guitar guy for a church  Amherst, MA
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 10-22-2010
Great value, transformed my guitar

I have an old classical acoustic guitar, a Takamine that's always had some issues, basically since the day I got it. I'd always wondered if it were the cheap stock tuners, so I thought I'd take the gamble and replace them with the Gotoh product.

The product was a drop in replacement for my stock tuners, and I highly recommend you measure yours carefully before buying a replacement so that you're sure they'll fit.

Instead of the creaky sound and "jumpy" turning with the old tuners, these Gotoh's turn like butter. I think the gear ratio is a bit higher as well, they seem to wind the strings much faster.

The sound is as good or better than the originals. I wish I could say it made the guitar sing like a fine 10th century multimillion dollar guitar, but alas, the instrument is mediocre, but the tuners really make a big difference.

I highly recommend these. They're a pretty solid build, they look nice, and they work just great.

Not a bad price, either.

K Anderson  Moss Beach, CA Read my reviews (2)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 10-22-2010
Grover uke tuners

I just completed 4 new concert size ukes. I had used the Grovers before and had to use them again. They may not be traditional but they work better than anything I have found, plus they are so handsome.

Aaron Morris  Thomasville, N.C. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bent Herringbone Purfling
Bent Herringbone Purfling
5 10-22-2010
bent herringbone purfling

Great, saves so much time use on my 12 string also on a mate 6 string looks unreal.

surfer pete  australia
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
3 10-22-2010
crackling switch

I've used 4 of these switches (supplied in the LP kit) and they all crackled through the amp when the toggle was moved! I put this down to the fact the contacts are merely pressed as opposed to the harder "welded on" contacts found on most other brands. A bit of a weak link really.

builder john  australia
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 10-22-2010
Sight saver

At 60, my eyes can't take the strain and I needed something to make string spacing easier. This is the ticket. I should have got one of these while my eyes were good, They'd probably still be good!!

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
Seam Separation Knife
Seam Separation Knife
5 10-22-2010
Shoe Knife

Yes, I said shoe knife. I worked in a pattern shop for Chrysler in the 80's and these were handy little knifes we used to fillet and shave Styrofoam. I could not find them until I saw them at stew mac. They have a thin, flexible blade that sharpens easy and is nice for opening cracks and slicing grain repair wood.

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 10-22-2010
Versatile Pigments

I have used multiple colors of ColorTone and I have actually used it for many purposes from guitars, furniture to leather guitar straps. I love this stuff. I've mixed it with water, lacquer thinner, and alcohol and it returns the color I expect.

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
Abalone Top Dome Knob
Abalone Top Dome Knob
5 10-22-2010
Abalone Top Knobs

These great abalone top dome knobs will really make your guitar come alive. I have some USA Jackson guitars with abalone inlays on the fingerboard and headstock. Match your existing hardware with black, chrome, or gold and you get more shell to glitter and sparkle. These knobs are multi color abalone but work especially well with greens, blues, and purples.

charvel750  Jacksonville, FL USA Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 10-22-2010
Push/Pull Pots

Push pull pots can be used for many different applications. I enjoy using them to tap a humbucker into a "single coil" tone. These pots work especially well because you don't have to route or cut into your guitar to add a mini switch. If you've always wanted your Les Paul to be able to replicate a single coil sound but aren't interested in cutting up the '59 burst top (!) these pots can fit the bill nicely.

Solder the two lower lugs on the push/pull side together and then ground that to the back of the pot. Solder the two middle lugs on the push/pull side together and connect your pickup(s) series link to this. When you pull the pot up it will split the coils. Keep the pot down and it's full humbucking. The "normal" lugs work just like a regular pot.

You can also use this to phase the pickups and change the series/parallel settings. Stew Mac sells these with several nuts and washers so you can adjust the height precisely to your guitar. And if you are doing the "Jimmy Page" mod to your Les Paul, get the long shaft pots so they will fit the archtop of your guitar. Rock on!

charvel750  Jacksonville, FL USA Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
5 10-22-2010
comment upgrader une pauvre strat

J'avais envie d'upgrader cette gratte,et les potars se sont mis à craquer vraiment plus fort que d'habitude,c'était l'occase.
Au niveau son c'est vraiment bien : beaucoup de pêche,des graves ample,des aigus cristallins,pas de soufle ni crachouillis dans le selecteur de mic(contacts dorés)
les réglages de tone sont progressifs,pas de soudures à faire, seulement j'ai dû rabotter un peu le pick guard au niveau du manche pour qu'il passe sous la touche(un coup de dremmel) et c'est fait!
Alors je sais pas si ça te tente, mais saches que rapport qualité prix c'est vraiment bon à mon avis.
En plus ils m'ont livré en10jours,sympa!

Marc Ceccarelli  Strasbourg,FRANCE
Freehand Holder
Freehand Holder
5 10-22-2010
Time Saving Design

Great tool, you just made my life easier, I'll be getting extra attachments, best paint stick I've seen.

Stephen T.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 10-22-2010
satisfied

These pins look professional.I also purchased the snakwood pins to accent a birds eye maple guitar I have. Couldn't have made a better match or choice. I might also add them to my guild

brady plyler  kershaw sc. Read my reviews (2)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 10-22-2010
Great kit, great price

After reading the excellent article (on StewMac's website under "Free Information") detailing the total shielding of an electric guitar, I bought this kit to shield a project bass I was working on. The kit materials fully shielded the electronics cavity, the wiring, and both the P and J pickup cavities. It also includes a shielded ground wire for putting under the bridge. The price was great, and I didn't have to spend a lot on bulk shielding materials and have a boatload left over.

The bass now has zero hum even when plugged into "iffy" electrical situations or around a battery of lights. This kit was perfect for the job!

Sherry C  Bad Axe, MI
Displaying 19451 – 19475
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  778  779  780  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce