Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19451 – 19475
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  778  779  780  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 10-20-2010
Vintage bone is the best!

These vintage bone nut blanks are easy to shape, have nice density for good energy transfer and have the perfect color. They polish to a fantastic luster.

Buckaroo Banzai  Perkasie, PA
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 10-20-2010
Industrial revolution

Bought the fret saw blade and dedicated an old 50's Detla/Milwaukee table top saw into a dedicated fretting saw. Built a jig for the fingerboard and wow...into the 21st century!

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 10-20-2010
Great Tuners-Great Price

Absolutely solid. Higher gear ratio at a lower price. Can't beat these for value; my first choice for mid-priced instrument builds and repairs.

LWood  Millbury, MA Read my reviews (2)
Ebony Mandolin Endpin
Ebony Mandolin Endpin
5 10-20-2010
Perfect replacement

Bought for my snakehead, it fits and looks right.

f5mando  USA Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
4 10-20-2010
What took so long?

I got these for my snakehead, and they're a prefect fit. They look right, and don't load extra weight to the peg head. A flat-head, black screw for the drive cog would have made these perfect. I needed these twenty years ago. Why did it take until now to get a worm-under-gear configured replacement? My next wish is for the F-style tuners like this. I wouldn't use anything else if these were available.

f5mando  USA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
4 10-20-2010
Not perfect but consistently good

Bindings I received were consistent in color and grain, well matched. As with any wood binding, there is some short grain in places, but the overall quality is higher than I have gotten from several other suppliers.

Fred Hocker  Stockholm, Sweden Read my reviews (9)
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
5 10-20-2010
Outstanding

Had this installed on my custom Beckwith Strings "Baltimore" during construction. Definitely not my first UB pickup but definitely the best. The power is more than I've seen in any other preamped UB and the sound is totally natural.

I've had no problems with the pot mounting and found it to be very strong. Love the battery mounting: light and easily accessible with no springs or boxes or covers to break/loose. Battery life is long but should be checked (wet tongue to both contacts...feel the buzz!) during string changes. Jack is strong and firm and holds the strap well. Forget other brands with eq, effects and filters. Install this pickup system and do all that at the pa/box/amp.

gbeckwith  Yokosuka, Japan
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-19-2010
Your go-to lacquer

Having tried different products over the last decade, I remember what I liked about the ColorTone clear. It cures thin (which is good), hard and gives a great shine in the end. But I agree it's too bad the nozzle doesn't match the quality of the contents.

Randy  Indianapolis Read my reviews (5)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 10-19-2010
So solid

This is an amazing piece of equipment. I almost purchased a cheaper version of this vise and I am glad I purchased this one. So solid. I saw it's potential even before I closed the jaws for the first time.

Jay Rosenblatt  West orange, NJ
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 10-19-2010
Tension springs added to a repair.

I have to say that the, Tension Springs that i had purchased recently. Three of them were needed. Perfect!! Thank You..

David J.  CA Read my reviews (2)
Spring Cavity Cover
Spring Cavity Cover
3 10-19-2010
Fender cavity cover, back

The spring cavity cover that i purchased was for Fender guitars. However it was a bit shy on the width. The length was okay. The holes didn't line up, and the middle 2 holes, the left side was completely different by about 3/4 in. So i chose 1 of the corner holes, lower right and put a screw in that one. I then tilted the entire cover to the left, marked and drilled 5 new holes. Very strange.

David J.  CA Read my reviews (2)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 10-19-2010
Behlen nitrocellulose

Man, this stuff is a must have for around the shop. It does throw off a heavy odor so watch out!! Great lacquer though!!!

John Rossman  Cumming, Georgia Read my reviews (5)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 10-19-2010
Ivoroid bridge pins

I really like these. What a difference in sound. I put these in a J200. I will be getting more...

John Rossman  Cumming, Georgia Read my reviews (5)
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
5 10-19-2010
Excellent for Active guitars

I have used this on active pickup powered guitars, its great!!

Cask Thomson  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 10-19-2010
Awesome

Added so much class to my guitar, They are of good quality and really do make a difference on the guitar. So much better than plastic rubbish

They are a little heavy but it wont be noticeable or affect the weight of the guitar

Cask Thomson  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 10-18-2010
Grained Ivoroid Bridge Pins

Great quality. Nice color for vintage replacements.

loeldean  Corvallis, Oregon
Toggle Switch Knob
Toggle Switch Knob
3 10-18-2010
Toggle Knob

Ordered a metric toggle knob for my 1972 Sekova Les Paul copy. Apparently they used a lot smaller knobs than Les Paul as I had to sand it down to height and ended up gluing it on as it would not thread on. Works fine with the modifications. Wouldn't be an issue if I had replaced the 3 way toggle, but it was cheaper to replace a missing knob.

MTkid  Utah
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 10-18-2010
Fine switch

This switch is made well, fits perfectly, and works great. I always expect the best from Stew Mac and I am not disappointed.

22 string bass  Seattle
Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Spring Installer
5 10-18-2010
Tremolo Spring Installer

I've used the tremolo spring installer in the past and it has worked quite well. Today I was amazed by the quality of this little tool. I was doing a brake job on my truck and couldn't get a very heavy spring to go back on. I decided to try the Stew Mac Tremolo Spring Installer knowing that I would probably destroy it, or at least bend it out of shape in the process and have to buy a new one. To my surprise I was able to pull the heavy spring into place without ANY damage to the tool. Keep up the good work Stew Mac! (And no, I don't usually use my Luthier tools on my truck).

Frank K.  Melbourne, Florida
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
4 10-18-2010
great for frets. only frets.

This tool is fantastic for cutting the fret ends off and any other cutting of fret material. But I made the mistake of cutting thicker brass nails, and my fret cutter did not survive that. Which is the only reason this product doesn't get 5 stars from me.

Florian Vorreiter Lutherie  Manitoba, Canada
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 10-18-2010
French curve

Excellent scraper! Excellent quality!
Irreplaceable for some musical instruments.

Sergy  Aktobe, kz Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 10-18-2010
Best clip on tuner I've ever used or owned!

The new Peterson StroboClip is by far the Best clip on tuner I've ever used or owned! Despite the fact that it was backordered for months, it certainly was well worth the wait!

First of all, it comes immaculately packaged in an cool aluminum box. The clip itself is great in that it literally can be tilted and angled into just about every conceivable position you will need to be able to see the display clearly.

I already own the Strobo Flip, and the Strobo Clip is just as accurate as the larger home unit.

Most incredibly, this little unit has Sweetened tunings for even MORE instruments than the StroboFlip--including Ukulele, Mandolin, etc!

Overall, I don't believe you can go wrong with this amazing clip...I'm going to order a 2nd one as a backup and an extra to give to my friends as a gift!!

Loon Ranger  Holmdel, NJ
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 10-18-2010
Finest Quality, Perfect Function

My new Collings had been specked by the dealer with small-button Waverly's which I just didn't care for. So I got some nickel vintage ones to swap 'em. Amazing packaging like jewelry - they deserve an un-boxing video. Detailed clear instructions, exploded drawings and dimensions were provided in the box and on Stew Mac's website. Because I was replacing existing Waverly's, no new holes or bushing changes were required. Word of caution: even though the vintage bushings have a hex- border, unlike Gotohs there is no nut--it is decorative only. So don't try to unscrew it to get the tuner out Takes longer to write about than do: Unstring, remove two wood screws that secure the tuner plate to back of headstock, out with the old, in with the new, done. As for how they work; I tune with iPhone Peterson strobe app which shows fractions of a cent and Waverly's nail it every time--smooth and precise. Look right and work right.

Warren Anderson  San Antonio, TX
The Guitar Hanger
The Guitar Hanger
4 10-18-2010
Good for what it's designed for

The pros: 1)Gets guitars out of view of everyone unless you want them to see them. 2)Can keep all your guitars in one place out of the case in a humidified room but still have easy access.
3)Good way to Hide your collection

CON: 1)All guitars do not hang the same so it is not a way to DISPLAY your guitars. Some hang at a bit of an angle and if you have them too close to each other, will bang into each other taking guitars in and out. 2)Hanger is just a bit too big for a Telecaster Headstock My teles eventually end up resting on the low E tuning key which I DO NOT LIKE.

All in all these are a very cool design. I found that as much as I'd like to keep my guitars on display it is not always wise to do so. Now I have created a "SAFE" area to keep my guitars. Humidified and out of sight out of mind sort of thing. All In all I am very pleased with my purchase.

SNS Pro Audio  Nashville TN
Customer supplied image for review
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 10-17-2010
String Action Gauge

Thus one can examine the action simply with each stringed instrument! Very much helpful!

Beat Stüssi  Baar, Switzerland Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 19451 – 19475
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  778  779  780  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce