Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19426 – 19450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  777  778  779  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 10-22-2010
Sight saver

At 60, my eyes can't take the strain and I needed something to make string spacing easier. This is the ticket. I should have got one of these while my eyes were good, They'd probably still be good!!

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
Seam Separation Knife
Seam Separation Knife
5 10-22-2010
Shoe Knife

Yes, I said shoe knife. I worked in a pattern shop for Chrysler in the 80's and these were handy little knifes we used to fillet and shave Styrofoam. I could not find them until I saw them at stew mac. They have a thin, flexible blade that sharpens easy and is nice for opening cracks and slicing grain repair wood.

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 10-22-2010
Versatile Pigments

I have used multiple colors of ColorTone and I have actually used it for many purposes from guitars, furniture to leather guitar straps. I love this stuff. I've mixed it with water, lacquer thinner, and alcohol and it returns the color I expect.

Bigriver Guitars  Read my reviews (3)
Abalone Top Dome Knob
Abalone Top Dome Knob
5 10-22-2010
Abalone Top Knobs

These great abalone top dome knobs will really make your guitar come alive. I have some USA Jackson guitars with abalone inlays on the fingerboard and headstock. Match your existing hardware with black, chrome, or gold and you get more shell to glitter and sparkle. These knobs are multi color abalone but work especially well with greens, blues, and purples.

charvel750  Jacksonville, FL USA Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 10-22-2010
Push/Pull Pots

Push pull pots can be used for many different applications. I enjoy using them to tap a humbucker into a "single coil" tone. These pots work especially well because you don't have to route or cut into your guitar to add a mini switch. If you've always wanted your Les Paul to be able to replicate a single coil sound but aren't interested in cutting up the '59 burst top (!) these pots can fit the bill nicely.

Solder the two lower lugs on the push/pull side together and then ground that to the back of the pot. Solder the two middle lugs on the push/pull side together and connect your pickup(s) series link to this. When you pull the pot up it will split the coils. Keep the pot down and it's full humbucking. The "normal" lugs work just like a regular pot.

You can also use this to phase the pickups and change the series/parallel settings. Stew Mac sells these with several nuts and washers so you can adjust the height precisely to your guitar. And if you are doing the "Jimmy Page" mod to your Les Paul, get the long shaft pots so they will fit the archtop of your guitar. Rock on!

charvel750  Jacksonville, FL USA Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
5 10-22-2010
comment upgrader une pauvre strat

J'avais envie d'upgrader cette gratte,et les potars se sont mis à craquer vraiment plus fort que d'habitude,c'était l'occase.
Au niveau son c'est vraiment bien : beaucoup de pêche,des graves ample,des aigus cristallins,pas de soufle ni crachouillis dans le selecteur de mic(contacts dorés)
les réglages de tone sont progressifs,pas de soudures à faire, seulement j'ai dû rabotter un peu le pick guard au niveau du manche pour qu'il passe sous la touche(un coup de dremmel) et c'est fait!
Alors je sais pas si ça te tente, mais saches que rapport qualité prix c'est vraiment bon à mon avis.
En plus ils m'ont livré en10jours,sympa!

Marc Ceccarelli  Strasbourg,FRANCE
Freehand Holder
Freehand Holder
5 10-22-2010
Time Saving Design

Great tool, you just made my life easier, I'll be getting extra attachments, best paint stick I've seen.

Stephen T.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 10-22-2010
satisfied

These pins look professional.I also purchased the snakwood pins to accent a birds eye maple guitar I have. Couldn't have made a better match or choice. I might also add them to my guild

brady plyler  kershaw sc. Read my reviews (2)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 10-22-2010
Great kit, great price

After reading the excellent article (on StewMac's website under "Free Information") detailing the total shielding of an electric guitar, I bought this kit to shield a project bass I was working on. The kit materials fully shielded the electronics cavity, the wiring, and both the P and J pickup cavities. It also includes a shielded ground wire for putting under the bridge. The price was great, and I didn't have to spend a lot on bulk shielding materials and have a boatload left over.

The bass now has zero hum even when plugged into "iffy" electrical situations or around a battery of lights. This kit was perfect for the job!

Sherry C  Bad Axe, MI
Tapered Router Bit
Tapered Router Bit
5 10-22-2010
"git-er-done" with these Tapered Router Bits!

These tapered router bits are excellent quality, and they are the only thing that is small enough to be used to clean a fret slot or route it to .023" to prepare it for the fretwire. I have tried to enlarge fret slots by using other methods, but these bits get the job done effectively!

I have found that there is no other tool that is small enough to fit into a fret slot to route it larger, and especially one that cuts as good as this. Also, the fact that they are made of carbide material, they make a nice clean cut and last a long time! I used the Tapered router bits to enlarge the fret slots on the guitar in the picture. Although, it's difficult to see the actual results.

John's guitarshop  Rochester, MN
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Grooved Tension Hoops
Five-Star Grooved Tension Hoops
5 10-22-2010
Grooved Tension Hoop

I build approximately 100 instruments a year and use Stew Mac tension hoops. Shipping is prompt and quick - about two days for me. Occasionally I have had a problem with the chrome plating flaking off in a spot or two and, each time, I have only to call and a replacement is sent immediately along with return postage for the defective hoop. This a dependable source for good quality hoops and good service.

Jumahl  Upper Marlboro, MD
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 10-22-2010
EXCELLENT UPGRADE FOR THAT SPECIAL GUITAR

The Waverly Guitar Machines make a beautiful upgrade for an existing tuner, or a really classy statement for a new guitar. These took my Martin, a step further in class. The snakewood is a great match for the guitar. These also hold tune so much better than the less expensive tuners.

Sometimes it is true that you get what you pay for. Stew-Mac stands behind these tuners, and they offer great support in choice and installation. This is a winning selection.

hkmls5  New Jersey Read my reviews (2)
File Cleaning Brush
File Cleaning Brush
3 10-22-2010
Small Brush

Well, I must say the quality of this brush is quite nice, but for the may I payed, I was expecting a bigger brush. It's about 42mm long

Guilherme Brederode  Lisboa, Portugal Read my reviews (11)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 10-22-2010
Pretty Good Tool

Just got my endpin jack reamer, and I'm very satisfied. It may seem an expensive tool, but due to it's quality, it worth every payed cent.
StewMac makes the best guitar tech tools in the world

Guilherme Brederode  Lisboa, Portugal Read my reviews (11)
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
3 10-21-2010
Not worth the money.

It's a decent bridge, but too expensive for what it is worth. The bridge itself is $90, but to equip it you need the proper bushings/studs, which are about $40 more off of pigtail's website. A bridge that adds up to over $130 is too much.

The screws strip way too easily. And the e-clips are very easy to lose. Even with no pressure on it, it's not very durable. VERY easy to break.

It's a decent bridge for replacing a non-adjustable wraparound bridge, but that's it. If you're looking forward to just slapping it on there, your studs are most likely not sized correctly and cause the bridge to bend forward with the pull of the strings. It may just not be the bridge for me, but in my honest opinion, this is not worth the money and I've fully inspected the product I bought and just wanted to inform others. I will never buy another one of these ever again.

Jeremy  Georgia, USA
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 10-21-2010
Kudos, StewMac..and Gotoh!

I needed to replace a broken tuner on my A/E bass. StewMac had just what I needed and as always, ordering and delivery were fast and easy. The Gotoh tuner was a breeze to install and is a vast improvement over the existing tuners, I'll be ordering three more today.

Craig A  Port St. Lucie, FL
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
5 10-21-2010
Fishman Thinline

I have installed several of these Fishman Thinlines for customers of mine who want a lot of pickup without breaking the bank. All of them were pleased with the result and loved the way it sounds. They are easy to install and would recommend them to anyone looking for a good passive pickup.

Michael Sumser  Frazier Park,Ca. Read my reviews (2)
Neck Mounting Ferrules
Neck Mounting Ferrules
3 10-21-2010
Okay

They are good for wood screws and the finish is great quality plating, but I am in search of ferrules for machine screws and the head angle doesn't match. :(

Really great ferrules for wood screw neck joints, though!

mikeyswood  Cincinnati
Cream Pickguard Material
Cream Pickguard Material
5 10-20-2010
flexible and easy to work with

I loved the sheer flexibility and ease of use of this material. I used a jigsaw with a skinny blade, and this let me go any which way without breaking. I "beveled" the edges with my mouse sander, and it looked great, no scratches to speak of. No complaints on the color either

Adam B  Montreal, QC, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
4 10-20-2010
Not a bad nut.

These are great: sand down to height and drop straight in, which makes them easy for a novice to use and makes them difficult to get wrong. They are also easy to profile to a nice rounded shape, to avoid nasty sharp edges.

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Tremolo Bridge Mounting Screws
Tremolo Bridge Mounting Screws
4 10-20-2010
Excellent replacement

It is what it is. A screw! Although the screw head seems to be made of a harder material than the stock fender ones, which I replaced due to the head becoming stripped out. Excellent replacement.

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-20-2010
It's True. No Sh#t.

These are really such nice pickups. HUGE step up from my Epiphone Les Paul stock pickups. The stock Neck p'up read ~11k on my multimeter and the G.A. Humbucker read ~9k. Stock Epi Bridge p'up was ~17k, while the G.A. Bridge Humbucker read~11k. Much clearer tones, and the mud is GONE. Combined with a complete re-wire, CTS pots, switchcraft input jack and toggle, and Mojo Dijon caps, the difference is truly astonishing.

The deeper strings have much better clarity and differentiation between notes when strummed together or arpeggiated, whereas before, it was just mush. When cranked, these pickups howl for days and days. But they can also clean up beautifully, especially in the middle position: bell-like tones.

Really, for the money, you cannot do better. I'm just glad i soldered everything together correctly!

NickityNick  Whitefish, Montana
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 10-20-2010
We use these in the shop...

I used to use the regular 3-in-1 crowning file for my fret jobs. Guys at Teye Guitars turned me on to this one. Cuts down on the time need to re-crown and polish the frets. Doesn't leave chatter marks that you have to sand out later. Worth the money for sure, great value.

Isaac B.  Austin, TX 78725 Read my reviews (6)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 10-20-2010
Gripper - Yes!

A fine product - helped fix a 5 year problem with a tele neck. Was able to get truss rod nut moving and neck adjusted - overcame nut being frozen and allen threads almost stripped.

Highest recommendation.

Slauson Slim  Yolo County Read my reviews (2)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
5 10-20-2010
Lokstraps

Inexpensive, effective and best of all no mods to guitars.

Highly recommended.

Slauson Slim  Yolo County Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 19426 – 19450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  777  778  779  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce