Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19401 – 19425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  776  777  778  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 10-25-2010
The Mega switch

I got the product promptly and had good instructions. Worked perfect.

Master Mix  Marianna Fl
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 10-25-2010
essential!

Easy to place in any position and very good shielding

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 10-25-2010
saving measure

Impossible to find elsewhere ... problem solved

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 10-25-2010
good tool!

Excellent cut, better than those found in the market

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 10-25-2010
Perfect!!!

Used this on my Gibson R7 Les Paul Goldtop to install some Grover Rotomatic Tuners. Took a huge leap of faith reaming it, but it is perfect. Just take your time, be sure to be extremely careful, and everything will work out fine.

Do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DRILL YOUR GUITAR! Buy this reamer, and do it right. I have seen horror stories (chipped, cracked, and split necks) from people who have drilled their pegholes instead of reaming them. This is the only way to go... Just make sure you take your time. Use a level and make sure that the weight of the guitar is even.

When you're finished you will be glad you took my advice. By the way, it's great to know that if I ever put the stock Gibson Deluxe tuners back on that it would be covered up and look stock/original. Also, it got here the next day, the shipping is amazing!

Micah Kesselring  South Bloomingville, OH Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 10-24-2010
fingerboard guards

Hi Stewart, this fretboard guard are wonderful to protect the fingerboard,just to do individual frets. In this way you don't have to cover the whole fretboard. Unless you have to level all the frets. Thanks

searchd so long  canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 10-24-2010
the stick

Hi again Stewart, my review this time is the stick. These are beautiful and good to work with. When you have only a few frets just to touch up dents or to shape a nut,what a beautiful job it does. Thanks a whole lot.

searchd so long  canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
5 10-24-2010
Made my job easy

After the finishing was completed and I took off the tape from the face were the bridge had previously been bolted on I used these pins to locate the bridge in the the reamed holes for gluing the bridge on. Worked perfectly and no problem with them sticking in the bridge.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 10-24-2010
Better than my OEM saddles!

I own a $2800.00 custom charvel with an original Floyd Rose. I am a perfectionist so it is rare that anything I buy meets or exceeds my expectations. But, I just had to say that these saddles have met my expectations and I am completely satisfied with my purchase. By the way, these saddles are designed slightly different than original Floyds...these are better!!!

Warrensroad  USA
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
4 10-23-2010
Fretwire

I've been using the medium fretwire and have been extremely happy with the results. Plenty of wire to do any possible dressing that might need to be done. I use the fret saw from StewMac also so the results are perfect every time.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
4 10-23-2010
Best thirty dollars ever spent.

I have a 1979 Ibanez Concord Maple Dreadnought with a solid top that was unplayable. The JLD Bridge Doctor gave me my guitar back.
The included instructions are OK but some of us have poor eyesight and need help reading the photocopied instructions included.

Bobby Wonder  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
4 10-23-2010
Great deal

Bought these to replace the stock tuners on a Hamer Echotone. They aren't top-of-the-line quality but definitely way better and more solid-feeling than the cheap tuners most entry-level guitars come with. If you're like me and hate the flimsy feeling of cheap tuning keys, these are a sensible upgrade and a great deal for what they are.

DJW  East Bay, CA
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 10-23-2010
Excellent tool!

Ordered for my violin project, worked like a charm for pegs and end button!
Very sharp item, nice handle.

Ivars  Kuldiga, Latvia
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 10-23-2010
This Kit help to eliminate 'buzz'

I had try it on my DIY guitar, all with StewMAc parts (body, neck, p.u.- ALL ) and I wasn't thinking it will be so useful.
Today the guitar is more quite and the noise is very attenuated.
Excellent Kit

Thank You StewMAc

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 10-23-2010
This is the second switch I choose

This switch is VERY useful for a strat guitar.
Thank You StewMac

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 10-23-2010
As for the humbucker !

Today I think it is a very good p.u.

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 10-23-2010
The first time

Today I think they are very very good !
Thank You StewMac

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 10-23-2010
Good

It is a good pot for the job. Thank You StewMAc. Antonello

Antonello  Trieste ITALY Read my reviews (5)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 10-23-2010
polish

Preservation polish works great, smells good and seems to clean well as well as leaving a great shine to the finish.

Guitar Guy  Naples Maine Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
2 10-23-2010
looks great at first

I love everything i have bought from stewmac but this. When i saw it i was like finally, i have been building painting and designing guitars for the last 6 years and i thought this was a god sent, but I was wrong.

I have used it on 2 guitars that after 1 year to the date began developing crack's in the clear coat. Kind of like what you would see in an Old Antique garage kept guitar or furniture. The cracks are in the clear coat they are not in the paint and they seemingly cracked out over night. For awhile i thought it was me and something i was doing (letting it dry in the spray area, not allowing enough dry time between coats)but it happened again on my latest one. It was only getting clear coated at that time the guitar wasn't even finished and the very same cracks were starting. Good thing for me i had only started on the neck and was able to start it over.

I think i would have freaked and swore off stewmac had i finished this one and had the same results.

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 10-23-2010
These are great!

I installed these in a Cort, and what a difference! The tuning is precise, and very easy to install! I'm quite happy with this purchase.

guitar guy for a church  Amherst, MA
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 10-22-2010
Great value, transformed my guitar

I have an old classical acoustic guitar, a Takamine that's always had some issues, basically since the day I got it. I'd always wondered if it were the cheap stock tuners, so I thought I'd take the gamble and replace them with the Gotoh product.

The product was a drop in replacement for my stock tuners, and I highly recommend you measure yours carefully before buying a replacement so that you're sure they'll fit.

Instead of the creaky sound and "jumpy" turning with the old tuners, these Gotoh's turn like butter. I think the gear ratio is a bit higher as well, they seem to wind the strings much faster.

The sound is as good or better than the originals. I wish I could say it made the guitar sing like a fine 10th century multimillion dollar guitar, but alas, the instrument is mediocre, but the tuners really make a big difference.

I highly recommend these. They're a pretty solid build, they look nice, and they work just great.

Not a bad price, either.

K Anderson  Moss Beach, CA Read my reviews (2)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 10-22-2010
Grover uke tuners

I just completed 4 new concert size ukes. I had used the Grovers before and had to use them again. They may not be traditional but they work better than anything I have found, plus they are so handsome.

Aaron Morris  Thomasville, N.C. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bent Herringbone Purfling
Bent Herringbone Purfling
5 10-22-2010
bent herringbone purfling

Great, saves so much time use on my 12 string also on a mate 6 string looks unreal.

surfer pete  australia
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
3 10-22-2010
crackling switch

I've used 4 of these switches (supplied in the LP kit) and they all crackled through the amp when the toggle was moved! I put this down to the fact the contacts are merely pressed as opposed to the harder "welded on" contacts found on most other brands. A bit of a weak link really.

builder john  australia
Displaying 19401 – 19425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  776  777  778  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce