Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19401 – 19425
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  776  777  778  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 10-28-2010
Economy Tuners

A friend brought me his student classical guitar purchased in Mexico, but he had ruined the tuners with steel strings! Your spec sheet confirmed that they should fit, and when they arrived, they were a perfect fit. Ten minutes later, the guitar was good as new. I straightened my friend out on nylon strings, too! Thanks much

Paul Taylor  Manassas, VA
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 10-28-2010
Great quality

Beautiful wood, slotted perfectly,
you can't go wrong with these...

Luca  Italy
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 10-28-2010
I am stuck on super glue!!

I use a ton of the super glue in my shop! and the accelerator is the best stuff since bottled beer!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 10-28-2010
I couldn't survive without this!!

I build a bunch and I sell kits. I make a lot of fingerboards and necks and with the fretting blade I can knock out 30-40 fingerboards in a day. Then I am set and no cramps from hand cutting!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 10-28-2010
back away from the sandpaper!!

I had no idea how useful and easy a scraper was to use, and now how essential it is in the tools I use everyday. You can spend a ton of time sanding or breeze through the task with a sharp scraper!! I use one every time I make a neck!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bell Knob
Bell Knob
2 10-27-2010
Black bell knobs

I had some trouble fitting these knobs on the pot shafts of my Les Paul Custom. Actually had to route the inside out some to be able to press fit them onto the guitar. The knobs required some black paint to cover the inside and look nice after installed.

Rob Millette  Florence, MS
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
2 10-27-2010
Almost essential

When you look inside the included book it will list all the tools you need to do the job. Sadly a lot of essential tools are not included. Straight edge, radius blocks and a few more tools would be nice.

Mickey Springer  Hollywood,CA Read my reviews (4)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 10-27-2010
Accept no substitute.

Title says it all!

RjG  Woodland Park, NJ Read my reviews (2)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 10-27-2010
Archtop necessity

After a couple of 'uh oh's'. Used this on my Gretsch G5120 to prevent any chance of a guitar cable incident taking out the jack and a chunk of the guitar with it. Jack plate's radiused profile was a perfect contour fit. Before drilling and mounting, I used a long cocktail straw taped to a liquid superglue dispenser to soak and 'fossilize' the bare wood area surrounding the original jack hole. Thread the straw through the 'f' hole to get to the area and soak the wood out to an inch or so radius. Also purchased a quality Switchcraft jack to replace the cheesy OEM.

RjG  Woodland Park, NJ Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 10-27-2010
Another shop necessity!

These are great! They work well especially on those tight spaces,like slotted peg heads! Very versatile!

Scott Unger  Plato,Mo. USA
Spruce Tone Bar Wood
Spruce Tone Bar Wood
5 10-27-2010
Dr. Michael D Mortensen

Easy to work with , tap tuning is a must to get great sound out of your instrument.

Dr. Michael D Mortensen DC  Fort Bragg, ca. 95437 Read my reviews (5)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 10-27-2010
white binding

This was easy to use, and worked as they said it would. BE CAREFUL it is highly flammable, as I was sanding using my dremel a small pile of dust built up with some of the binding material and caught fire. I blew it out, but this is some really good binding. I used rubber bands to hold it in place as the glue cured

Dr. Michael D Mortensen DC  Fort Bragg, ca. 95437 Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
5 10-27-2010
Time Saver

I recently purchased the 10.5mm conversion bushings to install tuning machines into a neck with larger post holes. The job was done in minutes. A customer came in yesterday and described how his tech had to dowel the holes and re-drill. These bushings are a great product and I keep a couple sizes in stock all the time.

Larry, Thermionic Engineering  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (2)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 10-27-2010
Switchcraft Jack

Great product. Used it re-wire a foot switch to remove the hard wired cable.

Jeff Smith  Alpena, MI
Switch Knobs for Strat
Switch Knobs for Strat
5 10-27-2010
Strat Switch Knob

Love them , used them all the time. Jack Sicklerville,NJ

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 10-27-2010
Optivisor with light

I just turn 48 today and have been working on guitars my whole life. I love Stew-Mac’s online site, very easy to use. I’m older and my eyes are going. I got this Optivisor with light. and OMG I can see everything. Just don’t drive with them. Soldering, looking for cracks, I walk around the whole basement with them. They’re that good. I should of got these a long time ago. Get them you will not regret it. Worth every penny

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
3 10-27-2010
Not what they used to be...

The quality has changed on these, been ordering them for many years and recently have gotten several that had UNREAL amounts of backlash in them. Like it was some real low dollar model. These have always been the standard of high quality machines but for mini's The Gotoh are the top quality now.

The full size model seems to be the same great quality but I'm afraid I can't suggest these mini's for my customers any more. Stew-Mac was very quick to replace the three bad ones in a set, we'll see how those are when I get the customer back in to replace them.

Mill Creek Audio  Rydal, PA Read my reviews (4)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 10-27-2010
One Handy Little Dude!

Now this is so handy. Make sure to get some felt or a thick patch of cloth to put between this and the lacquer finish when using it. I had looked at this for a while, and recently when doing some Les Paul adjustments, "BINGO!, I got just the thing to do this with". Glad I had just bought one. So simple looking, but worth 10 times the coin that I paid for it.

guitrailer guitars  Onward, IN Read my reviews (3)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 10-27-2010
Great tools

Made short work of setting up a guitar. All the tools are high quality and made the job much easier. I especially like the Fret Rocker. it helped identify what had to be done quickly and easily.

Jeff deVries  Ottawa, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
4 10-27-2010
Everything You Need

I've used this kit on two different P-Bass refurb projects with great results both times.

wildbill96  Grove City, OH Read my reviews (2)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
4 10-27-2010
Nice Knobs, Clean Look

These knobs were exactly what I needed for my MIM P-Bass refurb project. Would like to see them also offered in a version without set screws.

wildbill96  Grove City, OH Read my reviews (2)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 10-26-2010
A GREAT Tool!

This little tool is really handy for all sorts of things...tightening jacks & pots, adjusting T.O.M. bridges, pulling off control knobs, and much more.
I use it every day!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 10-26-2010
Frank Ford, You're A Genius!

This clever tool combined with the ESP spanner wrench is just the ticket for tightening all those guitars from "across the pond" whose out jacks just spin when attempting to tighten up, usually resulting in breaking a connection.
This saves me headaches every day!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
4 10-26-2010
Good quality, good price

You get a lot for your money with these tuners: Precision, quality, value, they look cool and they're not too heavy. What more can you ask for at this price?

Roger Garren  Maryland Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 10-26-2010
Double-edge Fret File Medium/Wide

Don't let the price scare you away because this file worth the money you are paying for it. The teeth are spaced very nicely together giving you a smooth cut unlike some other files. I like the handle very much it doesn't slip from my sweaty hands. Handle could be a tad longer but its no big issue

mike2036  Australia Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 19401 – 19425
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  776  777  778  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce