Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19376 – 19400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  775  776  777  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 10-26-2010
ToneRite

I knew this would make a difference especially on new instruments. Once I finish a new guitar I am always concerned about the "break in" period for the players. Being able to put this on for a week before giving to the customer is a great option to help maximize response. My own personal 12 string is only a year old and it did wonders for the overall tone and string definition.
You will not be disappointed if you use this on your new or even older instruments.

Greg Decoteau  Londonderry NH
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Custom
5 10-26-2010
Inlay kit for Les Paul

Is good quality and perfect shape Inlay. The price is nice in compare with others suppliers. I´m surprise with the shipping time.

Megafaidel  Venezuela
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood
5 10-26-2010
Beautiful tonewood

I have used the Cedar in the past. This is the first time for the Spruce.
Both are beautiful, with the straightest of grain.
Either one would be a great choice.
Again, I am very pleased with the material and the results.

thunderclap  Bella Vista, Ar Read my reviews (2)
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 10-26-2010
Perfect scrapers

This tool is amazing. It does exactly what it is meant to do, and it does it easily and quickly. Foolproof results -- perfect scrapers.

thunderclap  Bella Vista, Ar Read my reviews (2)
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 10-26-2010
Another tool you just gotta have!

If you do any nut work at all, you need one of these files. Buy one of these and you'll never ruin another slot by hitting it with the edge of a standard file. This simple file keeps the edge of your work square and clean while allowing you to clean a Fender style nut slot or straighten out a Gibson style nut platform that was been abused.

JRE Productions  Plainfield, IL USA Read my reviews (5)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 10-26-2010
Small tool..big value

I chuckled when I saw how small this tool was. Then the first day I used it, I found it was a great bang for the buck. I was able to locate a fret slot that had a slightly shallow area to it. This allowed me to resolve the issue BEFORE I pressed the fret into place. It saved me time and most importantly it saved me any damage from removing a new fret to resolve an unforeseen issue.

JRE Productions  Plainfield, IL USA Read my reviews (5)
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 10-26-2010
Works every time!

As simple of a product as this is, it always does the trick. It installs easy and it looks great raw, under an oil finish and under Nitro. I even occasionally use them for face dots on the fingerboard when a small size is required.

JRE Productions  Plainfield, IL USA Read my reviews (5)
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
5 10-26-2010
Good flatwork

Nice die cut flatwork. Works for its purpose.

Aaron C  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 10-26-2010
no more hum

The conductive copper tape is just the ticket for screening out extraneous hum from my single-coil guitar. I considered using ordinary baking foil, but I went for the professional option, and I'm glad I did. The copper tape applies easily, and effectively cancels noise. In addition, it looks so good, it's a pity it can't be seen beneath the pickguard!

Mark Lisicki  London, England
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
1 10-26-2010
Disappointing

These tuners are too low end for my needs. I should have returned them.I found the posts were not very accurately sited. Too much work was required to get them to fit.

philj200  Sea Cliff, NY
L-Shoe Bracket
L-Shoe Bracket
5 10-26-2010
Bracket

Complete as advertised. The bracket was close to the Gold Tone hardware I was matching and looks great.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 10-26-2010
Scraper Blades are go!

Used these for final shaping of a laminated pickguard for restoration. Experimented first to get the feel. Very good and there are countless uses for the 3 different blades. Easy to sharpen.

PToneGuitars  Melbourne, Australia
Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
4 10-26-2010
Nice machined surfaces

I have used three of these tops in the past month. The first two I ordered before the grading was introduced, so I asked for good figure which I received. The grading (3A to 5A)was introduced while my third order was being processed, so I was sent a 3A set. I was a bit disappointed as I would have been prepared to upgrade to 5A if I had been advised.

The first two sets I assume are equivalent to 5A and are eye popping. The 3A set has partial figuring which is still beautiful but not eye popping. The machined faces were flawless, I assume these are drum sanded to thickness.

I have ordered figured tops from other suppliers where they have planed the maple tops which results in the wood gouging due to the irregular grain. My Stewmac tops did not have these problems.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 10-25-2010
Money saver and education tool !

I have always went to a music store to have my guitars set up, because I didn't have the proper tools. Stew Mac has now allowed me to afford my own tools and do my own work, by myself. I set up a 1985 Strat by following on line instructions and experimenting with the guitar and tools for about an hour. I am happy and pleased with my purchase from Stew Mac and would suggest any guitar player who is getting into building get a set of gauges for them selves. Jim Nash

James P. Nash  New York
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 10-25-2010
Excellent stuff.

This stuff worked great. I used the medium with a foam rotary pad, and it gave a professional finish.

Pat  Cumberland, MD Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-25-2010
Good stuff.

Short of the black lacquer that I have shot using a sprayer on piano jobs, this works really well,especially for a spray can. The finished product is a hard, glossy finish that takes polishing extremely well.

Pat  Cumberland, MD Read my reviews (5)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
2 10-25-2010
Be careful when installing

The screws are weak; they won't take too much force and will break easily, leaving you with a problem.

Overdriven  Quebec, Canada
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
4 10-25-2010
excellent pin

I had to buy more until I found the appropriate size for my 12 string guitar

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Control Plate for Tele
Control Plate for Tele
5 10-25-2010
Nice plate

Good and acceptable material thickness, good gloss, compatible with standard telecaster .. Recommended

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
4 10-25-2010
fulfills its function

It's very thin .. but as an alternative for low-end, fulfills its function.
Not good for quality guitars ..

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 10-25-2010
Great for Beginners!!!!

Being new to guitar building and finishing I don't have a lot of experience spraying lacquer. The Behlen lacquer seems to be very user-friendly. I use an HVLP gun I purchased from Lowe's and it is easy to get a smooth layer using it full strength to build or thinned down to 1 part lacquer and 3 parts thinner to use as a smooth or blend coat. Mixes well with pigments and stain and polishes extremely well. Dries very clear, even during the summer here in GA where humidity seems to be above 100% without using much retarder.

Chuck Chambers  Watkinsville, GA Read my reviews (4)
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 10-25-2010
magic tape!!

It's an item that has many uses .. I recommend it to all work for good adhesion x 2

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
SAE Lock Washers
SAE Lock Washers
5 10-25-2010
essential complement!!

Helped me hold the Switchcraft jack and CTS pots.
very good!

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Flush-fit Guitar String Ferrules
Flush-fit Guitar String Ferrules
5 10-25-2010
quality bushings

Wide measurement improves sustain

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
SAE Mounting Nuts
SAE Mounting Nuts
5 10-25-2010
Quality nuts

Fits well in the pot

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 19376 – 19400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  775  776  777  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce