Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19351 – 19375
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  774  775  776  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-30-2010
Recommended

I used several of the ColorTone products to refinish a Les Paul Custom, and I'm happy with the results. They went on easily, gave good coverage, and dried nice and hard. I'll be using ColorTone more in the future.

Jim Haught  Germantown, Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 10-30-2010
Tremendous tool !!!

These are an invaluable help in the workshop. They take all of the guess work out and let you get to work. Stew Mac you did it again. Fantastic!!!!

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Standard
Mother-of-Pearl Inlay Set for Gibson® Les Paul® Standard
5 10-30-2010
Perfect Inlays

I am so pleased with these LP style inlays. Accurate size, look great, plenty of room to work with. Can't wait to put them on the project I'm currently working on. As always Stew Mac is top notch. Thanks for being there for us rookies.

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 10-30-2010
Great Fretboard!!!

It don't get better than this if you are just learning like me. This is the way to go, pre-slotted, pre-radiused, Beautiful color with enough meat on it to sand to the thickness you want to make it vintage accurate or leave it as is for a thicker fretboard. Great for the novice or the pro. Excellent

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 10-30-2010
MOP Blanks

Very nice figuring, easy to cut.

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 10-30-2010
Just buy it..

"The poor man always pays twice"... I bought Dremel's brand of this tool and thought I would save a buck or 2 and you should see the hack job the plastic router base did to my nice wood! After I returned it, I decided to buy the Stew Mac Router Base and the first words that come to mind is : ACCURACY.. ..QUALITY.. ..DURABILITY and oh yeah .. PRECISE ENGINEERING! Awesome product - worth every cent!

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Gibson J-45 Guitar Plans
Gibson® J-45® Guitar Plans
4 10-30-2010
Well drawn plans, but...

Good set of plans with great detail.

The only item missing is the shape of the sides prior to bending - included in the Dreadnought and OOO kit plans - you can guess using the dimensions given, but would be really useful to have this to enable tracing directly onto the wood.

csharpa  UK
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 10-30-2010
Quality!

This is making my life easier because it is built well!

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 10-30-2010
great relic conversion bushings!

Beautiful, simple and effective!

bobby chipman  austin, TX
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 10-30-2010
Good value saws

If you keep'em oiled, and reserved to lightweight jobs, as they're intended to, they'll last a lifetime. I like these saws for nut and saddle work. I can cut gauged notches for each string.
Veneer cutting and straight precision cuts, like neck joints are easily done with these saws.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
3 10-30-2010
Very useful tool

The fret rocker is a small and useful tool. I see myself using it all the time, and mostly not as a fret tool. As it is made from hard metal, I use it as a leveler, right angle, glue scraper and more. Why not the five star rating: It is a little bit pricey, And has poor magnetic properties:

I tried to use the rocker as a baseplate with rare earth magnets, for bridge repair, but looks like the metal alloy used in the rocker is not that attracted to magnets like plain steel.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
4 10-30-2010
Carbon rods for neck

The rods are very light, yet stiff, ideal for the flamenco guitar. I wanted to build a very narrow and light neck, with a thin fretboard, for a balanced instrument weighing under 3 pounds. The rods are hard enough to keep the neck from arching.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 10-30-2010
Chris Pedersen Newcastle Australia

As always, another great tool from stew-mac, makes me an expert without fuzz. Thanks TEAM STEW

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 10-29-2010
.083" Black Pickguard Material

The material is great. I worked it by hand because I don't have a router. Cut out the design with a coping saw, hand sanded/rasped down to final shape, beveled with sandpaper. I scratched it up pretty bad but sanded the surface with 400 grit all the way to 1000 grit paper. Then I used a trick that we watchmakers use: Brasso. We use it to take the scratches out of plastic watch crystals. Rub, rub, rub. The pickguard looks like it was factory made.

Mike7  Texas
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 10-29-2010
Perfect.

Just what I needed. I dont understand why people say strings last longer on other types of saddles when strings need to be changed every 2 months or so anyway. These saddles don't snap strings and they hold in place even when doing the most extreme dive bombing. Don't get any other fancy pants saddles for floyd rose because you are wasting your money.

AnthonyP  Bakersfield Read my reviews (2)
Hipshot 5-String Bass Bridge
Hipshot 5-String Bass Bridge
5 10-29-2010
Nice!

I bought the gold bride for my first build and it is a nice piece of equipment, but I'm mad that I had to pay $120 for it! The only other frustration, which was minor, was the fact that when you tighten the screw for the string spacing, it pulls the spacer in the same direction that you tighten the screw. This was a MAJOR setback...like 5 minutes. Overall a great product.

J. Allen  Colorado
Customer supplied image for review
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
5 10-29-2010
High Quality Saddles

Very high quality saddles. I did have to return them for another set, as I did not order correctly. I was impressed by the item quality, and also with the willingness of Stewmac to provide a refund. The replacement saddles were of high quality also!

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-29-2010
Excellent finish

This product went on very nicely and dried to a beautiful sheen. I'll be back for more of the Color Tone Guitar Lacquer products.

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 10-29-2010
Improved Output Jack

Very good quality item - made a big difference in the connections for my telecaster build. Highly recommend this part to others.

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
4 10-29-2010
Worked well for me

The string trees worked well for my application - maintained good string tension and position.

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
5 10-29-2010
Great For Natural Wood Finish

I gave my custom - build 7 total coats of this fantastic oil. What a sweet finish! The guitar top is pecan over alder. The neck is 100% pecan.

adrian z  debary fl Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
5 10-29-2010
Tusq XL Nut

Once I filed down the bottom of the nut to be smooth so that it fit flush against the neck, the fit was perfect - nice and tight. Nice also to have string grooves precut. Tone and sustain for open string sounds are just great. Great value for the money!

adrian z  debary fl Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 10-29-2010
Fret Rocker

This is a precision tool if I have ever seen one. It lets me tweak frets down to the smallest fraction. I find it to be one of the most valuable tools that I have in my shop. No more dead or buzzing frets!

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 10-29-2010
Spacing Rule

The String Spacing Rule came with good instuctions and is a very easy tool to use. I found that it speeds up the whole process of making new nuts. Now I don't have to guess or eyeball where I want string placement. Great tool!

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 10-29-2010
Outstanding

These rasps are superior to the standard hardware store tools that I used when learning neck carving in school. They cut fast and with excellent control. I am so glad that I decided to get a set for my shop!

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 19351 – 19375
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  774  775  776  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce