Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19326 – 19350
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  773  774  775  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
4 10-31-2010
ok

Don't have that new string brightness but they are good for the price

sprucedog  canada Read my reviews (4)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 10-31-2010
Great improvement on a tele

These things are dead reliable, and work amazingly well. I wish they came in chrome.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
5 10-31-2010
Nice bridge

These are nice bridges, but Stew Mac needs to make another available option: traditional ashtray bridge with comp. saddles. That way you wouldn't have to buy an extra set of saddles.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 10-31-2010
Can cover up mistakes

I bought this epoxy so I could glue in the inlays I made for my ebony finger board. Well, this was my first time doing it and i was a little careless and my hands slipped making the cavity much larger than it needed to be. I glued in the inlay and after the epoxy dried and the inlay was sanded flush the mistake isn't even noticeable. (I used the slow setting black by the way)

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 10-31-2010
Does its job

This bit cuts a perfect channel for hot r truss rods to fit in. Probably because that is what it is made to do. Either way the bit is very sharp and cuts through mahogany with ease.

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 10-31-2010
Buffing Wheels

These buffing wheels will produce a mirror finish especially with the Menzerna compounds. I rigged a "Rube Goldberg" buffer and these buffing wheels are First Class!

Bill Porter  Wadesboro, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Menzerna Compounds
Menzerna Compounds
5 10-31-2010
Bufffing Compound

It has been over 32 years since using bar type buffing compounds and that was the Lea brand. I rate this product Excellent. My banjo neck and resonator buffed/polished out to a mirror finish.

Bill Porter  Wadesboro, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 10-31-2010
Sperzel Rocks

I use 3L and 3R Sperzel's on all my guitars, Genius design, fast string changing, a must have for the professional player!

Licea Guitars  New York City
Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
4 10-31-2010
Fingerboard Stain

The stain is fine - does what it's supposed to do. But the stain is in a flexible plastic bottle. After I used it, I recapped the bottle and picked it up along with a few other tools. To my surprise, the black stain came out of the bottle around the cap and got all over my hands and dripped on my bench. Thankfully my project wasn't affected but I ended up with quite a mess. If you get this dye, handle it carefully, or transfer it to a glass jar.

Glen  Dunedin, Florida
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
5 10-31-2010
Great clamp

These clamps are easy to use. However, you may need some of the larger clamps to get to the middle of the top.

Rex Shurtleff  Pagosa Springs, CO Read my reviews (3)
The Intonator
The Intonator
4 10-31-2010
Intonation setup with intonator

A little while ago I bought an "intonator" because I thought the idea was great. I've used it a number of times now, however, I think there's some things to note about using it... from my perspective of course.
1) I found that using it with the software called AP tuner was best as I was able to get "octaves" within 3 cents which I thought acceptable.
2) As I tightened the high E at one point, I noticed that the intonator was pivoting and the low E end was moving back. I stopped this by anchoring the intonator behind a piece of wood at either end outside of the adjusting knobs of the intonator.
3) At first I was laying the guitar flat and supporting the neck but I found that even this was altering the position of the octave according to the intonator. I suppose that in choosing a "tolerance" of 3 cents I should have know! Anyways, I now use the intonator in playing position and get more stable results.
4) Instead of using the small fiddly bushes, I raised the string guides with feeler gauges and measured the distance from a clamped straight edge in front of the bridge with digital calipers. I felt that that gave me more accuracy than trusting a pencil to be at 90 degrees.

Lisa  Houten, the Netherlands
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 10-31-2010
Sore Fingers

I was getting sore fingers from playing my strat as the fret ends were sticking out slightly. The Diamond Fret leveler did the job in no time flat (sorry about the pun) and I'm back to enjoying my strat again!

Retiarius  UK
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
5 10-31-2010
Pickguard Blanks

Large enough for several pickguards and easily cut to any shape. Shipped super fast ordered on Friday morning had it on Saturday.

hardtyme  Ohio, USA Read my reviews (3)
Herringbone Rosette
Herringbone Rosette
5 10-31-2010
Rosette

Super fast shipping, great quality and unbelievable price. Will use Stew-Mac for all my guitar needs.

hardtyme  Ohio, USA Read my reviews (3)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 10-31-2010
A "Must Have" Item

These are perfect for working with CA (Super Glue). The small tip makes it easy to direct the right quantity of glue to the right place. Great for gluing loose fret ends. A "must have" item for guitar repair.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 10-31-2010
Understring Radius Gauges

On obtient avec les Understring Radius Gauges un arcs exactement du même radius que la touche,formidable.

Daniel G.

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 10-31-2010
Aluminium Radius-sanding Beam

Cet outil est merveilleux car pour niveler soit les frets ou la touche d'une guitare il touche a toute la surface et on obtient un meilleur résultat et une touche bien droite ou un nivelage de frets bien droit, ces merveilleux.

Daniel G.

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 10-31-2010
Fret Press Caul

J'aime beaucoup,parce que les frets sont bien assit sur le manche quand on les pauses et quand on nivelles les frets ils sont beaucoup plus égales.

Daniel G.

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 10-31-2010
Great tool!

I got it today and with no practice whatsoever I installed all frets for a new guitar in less than 20 minutes. It's fool-proof, accurate and very easy to use. I'll never sit frets without this again.

Paulo  Seattle, WA
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 10-30-2010
My First Guitar

I recently purchased a kit Double Neck. I purchased Color Tone, Fender Creme, and Clear Coat+Polishing compound. I was amazed at the ease of spray, and all the helpful tips that Stew-Mac gave me. For a first time my guitar turned out almost flawless.

guitarzana1  Nortonville, Ky
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 10-30-2010
Tuners

These are amazing tuners, they are a bit ugly but they took an old guitar that had never had any real stability (would regularly stray rather badly within songs) and have transformed into a rock solid monster, even with the addition of a Bigsby afterward.

Trent Ward  Seminole, TX
Larry Robinsons Inlay Techniques
Larry Robinson's Inlay Techniques
5 10-30-2010
Looking over the shoulder of a master

This 3-DVD set is wonderful, like being at Robinson's bench and looking over his shoulder as he executes simple and elaborate inlays. The information is presented clearly, with Robinson providing valuable commentary that extends beyond mere "how-to" instructions. His dry humor is also included. Using the info from these DVD's, I was able to execute a script logo inlay into my peghead that belies the fact that this was my first advanced inlay. Many thanks, Larry!

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 10-30-2010
Great pickups!

Explaining good sound is like explaining color for someone who's been blind all his life. Which words can you use? All I know is that my new Golden Age pickups separates the sound of each string. The sound is clear and defined. The guitar now has a wide specter of sounds from biting clear to a warm jazzy sound – and everything in between. I have a 2005 Gibson Les Paul Standard, but my Hohner HS35, witch is very well made – except for the pickups, is now right up there with it!

KaiJo  Hedmark, Norway
Customer supplied image for review
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 10-30-2010
Many thanks from Russia.

Many thanks from Russia. Kit the magnificent! Packing reliable. Very sympathetic people work in StewMac. Thanks Larry!
To start to build guitars without Kit - in vain to waste time. Really many tools are not necessary. For those who continues to doubt. Or those at whom else are not present professional tools. For example is not present Go-bar Clamping System. Do not despair! Take my decision on a photo.
Order to itself Kit and have pleasure. You will stick together it even on kitchen!

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
5 10-30-2010
Great upgrade bridge

If you like vintage look in your strat and you wish a better intonation this bridge is a must!!

max  Firenze, Italy
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19326 – 19350
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  773  774  775  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce