Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19276 – 19300
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  771  772  773  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 11-04-2010
smooth as silk

Always wanted a tele but finding an inexpensive one that is left handed is a problem. Purchased a LH Stagg Tele. A good guitar but needed some upgrading. Got the 1951-RB Black, individual right-side tuners to replace the cheap Pings. Very smooth, and even with no string, the post were tight with no wobble. A very high quality product that did nothing but enhance this guitar.

Steve Trivoli  Garden Grove Ca
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
5 11-04-2010
Wiring Without Worry

Stew-Mac's videos are always done with the inexperienced tech in mind. Therefore, the step-by-step instructions are clear and concise leaving very little room for mistake. Includes list of every tool needed. Worth every penny of your investment -- and with just one installation, they pay for themselves.

J.McC
Laurel, Mississippi

Jimmy McC  Laurel, MS
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
4 11-04-2010
nice and black

I bought an ebony peghead veneer and it did the trick!

Mark Milne  Zurich Read my reviews (2)
Metal Cap Bell Knob
Metal Cap Bell Knob
5 11-04-2010
Beautiful

Put them on '60s jaguar style guitar, look fantastic!

wander  NW IL
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
4 11-04-2010
Fender savior

My buddy gave up on his P Bass and parked it with a dud pickup. I put in a golden age for for virtually peanuts and it blew both of us away. He literally couldn't believe the value for money. I could!--Been there- done that. thanks

Ian Saint  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Allen Wrench for Floyd Rose
Allen Wrench for Floyd Rose
5 11-03-2010
Can't go wrong with a new wrench

A guitarist should always have a few of these on hand for action adjustment, locking tuners, and floating tremolo style bridges. These can handle high stress without stripping the tool.

AnthonyP  Bakersfield Read my reviews (2)
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
5 11-03-2010
Illuminating

This dvd defines a very dark area in the soundboard voicing & construction and improves on it. Highly recommended.

Mike Chapman  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
4 11-03-2010
nice quality, little high price

These are real nice quality and set of a maple neck great! but just a little expensive for what u get

Ryan uk  england Read my reviews (3)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 11-03-2010
Fret Press Caul

Works Great in my drill press. Presses fret with no problem. Makes fretting a much easier job. Worth the price with the inserts.

David Robinson  Denton, Maryland
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
5 11-03-2010
Color tone pigments work great

I recently had a request for a pink stained guitar. It was a big request, there were no white stains.
I tried several things but nothing worked.
Then I tried the waterbase Color Tone Pigment. It blended great with a water base stain, it was perfect.
It took some work to get the curly maple tinted. I discovered that when you put pink on a piece of wood you get Orange because of the yellow in the wood.
Well with a little creative effort I was able to pull it off.
Now because of Stew Mac's water base Colortone Pigment I will be able to present a beautiful guitar.
It also produced a beautiful black for the back and neck.

Thanks Stew Mac.
Mike Ward

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
5 11-03-2010
Great product

This lacquer is by far the best I've ever used. It sprays on great whether thinned or straight out of the can. It flows out beautifully and buffs to a high gloss shine.

Paul Gagnon, L'Esperance Guitars  Sanford, N.C,
Customer supplied image for review
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 11-03-2010
3M Flexible Polishing Paper

This stuff is amazing, it polishes frets with very little elbow grease and it lasts a long time. Just cut it to any size you need and don't throw it away after the fist use as it has plenty of useful life in it. I've polished the frets on two guitars with one half inch strip of pink that is the width of the paper and it's still going strong.

CadillacBass  Freehold, NJ Read my reviews (3)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 11-03-2010
Fret Rocker

This is the easiest way to locate a high fret. When you place it across 3 frets the high fret will show up instantly.

CadillacBass  Freehold, NJ Read my reviews (3)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 11-03-2010
Diamond Fret Files

They work great!!! They cut very smooth making finishing the fret easy. I got 150 & 300 grit. I use the 150 to take down the high spot & finish off with the 300 grit. Then polish with 600 paper.

CadillacBass  Freehold, NJ Read my reviews (3)
Battery Box
Battery Box
3 11-03-2010
Battery box 3577

it`s not a bad box, but i found mine hard to open and close, however it did work like it`s suppose to.

Buzz  Canada
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
4 11-03-2010
Nice, but....

I agree with Lance in Ohio about the thumb wheel.

As soon as I took mine out of the box and tried to open the jaws the thumb wheel broke off.

Its just a poor design.

Caliper can be used without it so its OK but just be careful of that if you buy one.

Other than that these calipers are great and specialized for guitar work so what can you do i guess.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
1 11-03-2010
Didn't fit

This for some reason did not fit in the normal position as the pick guard - the result? I went ahead and drilled a hole near the next of the guitar to make it fit. Something about the spacing of the pickups wouldn't allow this to fit correctly? it was strange.

All in all i made it work, and it works. now.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 11-03-2010
Works great, looks great

I purchased the silver - and it looks great. Also functions great, I installed this in conjunction with a bigsby b7 on my les paul, and to be honest i'm not having any tuning issues outside the norm.

Excellent buy and easy to install.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
1 11-03-2010
Not for arch tops - apparently

These were not sculpted for archtops at ALL - They're straight plastic on the bottom. In short - I couldn't use them for a Les paul at all. weak.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-03-2010
Night and day difference..

I have an Epi Les Paul. I like the neck and the weight better than the current Gibson's I can reach. The electronics were awful. Parson Streets, new wiring, caps, pots, switch and jack, a complete setup, and this axe is in a different category of good. These Parson Streets are simply the best PAFs out there.

Highway1  Dayton, OH
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
5 11-03-2010
Hex truss wrench

I bought this to adjust a Rickenbacker 320.
The wrench is well made for the job and is a quality piece. Very much recommended, and cheaper than what Rickenbacker charges for essentially the same item.

Eli Nelson  sf, ca
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-03-2010
Thank You and Well Done

I would like to say thank you for your prompt and sincere service when I purchased The set of radius gauges. They save me time and money. I will be purchasing products as I need them in future. Thank you Stew Mac. Well done. Doug Wall

Doug  Kelowna, BC. Canada
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
1 11-03-2010
Refret tool and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool

My task was to deepen fret slots in an ebony bound ebony fret board on a classical guitar, after planing down the fretboard. I found the Refret Saw was totally useless. It just jammed in the existing slots and could not be moved, no matter how much force was applied.

I accomplished the job by scraping the fret slots with the Fret Slot Cleaning tool, but it was a laborious 6-hour job, and wore out both of the blades that come with the tool. StewMac needs to sell replacement blades. The Slot Cleaning Tool also tended to jam, and then suddenly slip, damaging the binding in several places. A carefully guided Dremel with the right size end mill might be a better tool for this job.

RSE  Canada
Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass
Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass
5 11-03-2010
oh my God - it's full of stars!!

Just excellent! At last kit for bass guitars. Easy to work with and when you start properly end result is great.

edis  Croatia
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 11-03-2010
Great Springs

Replacing the stock springs with these made a dramatic improvement in the performance of my Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster.

Richard Norman  Oak Harbor, WA
Displaying 19276 – 19300
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  771  772  773  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce