Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19276 – 19300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  771  772  773  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 11-01-2010
Scraper Burnisher

I often question my sanity when spending money on stuff like this - after all, 'it's just a stick with a nail through it'. But after trying it I found that I like it...a LOT!

Nielsen Custom Guitars  Duluth, MN
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-01-2010
Beautiful shell, easy to work with...

The range of sizes I bought are very high quality and beyond expectations for color. The pieces were uniform in size and perfectly round making installation simple, with very little filling.

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Tortoise/m/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 11-01-2010
A Classy Look

I just put a Tortoise Pickguard on my Thinline Tele, and plan to put one on another build. I use Stew-Mac pickguard material on ALL my Teles, and always get raves from my fellow musicians and guitar lovers. It's simply the BEST you can use!

Mark Easton  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-01-2010
The Only Lacquer

I've used Stewart-MacDonald Lacquer on several projects. It not only is the best protection I've used on guitar bodies and necks, but always looks GREAT! I will NOT use anything else!!!

Mark Easton  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
4 11-01-2010
Great item

Perfect replacements.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 11-01-2010
Fret Cutter

As i live in New Zealand it can be difficult to get the proper tools to do a job,so it has been a delight to discover you range of tools and the fret cutter has been a life saver so i will certainly be looking at others in the near future.

Bill064  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
4 10-31-2010
great

works great but a little pricey

sprucedog  canada Read my reviews (4)
Single-coil Pickup Height Spring
Single-coil Pickup Height Spring
5 10-31-2010
great

works great

sprucedog  canada Read my reviews (4)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 10-31-2010
great

worked awesome

sprucedog  canada Read my reviews (4)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
4 10-31-2010
ok

Don't have that new string brightness but they are good for the price

sprucedog  canada Read my reviews (4)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 10-31-2010
Great improvement on a tele

These things are dead reliable, and work amazingly well. I wish they came in chrome.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
5 10-31-2010
Nice bridge

These are nice bridges, but Stew Mac needs to make another available option: traditional ashtray bridge with comp. saddles. That way you wouldn't have to buy an extra set of saddles.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 10-31-2010
Can cover up mistakes

I bought this epoxy so I could glue in the inlays I made for my ebony finger board. Well, this was my first time doing it and i was a little careless and my hands slipped making the cavity much larger than it needed to be. I glued in the inlay and after the epoxy dried and the inlay was sanded flush the mistake isn't even noticeable. (I used the slow setting black by the way)

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 10-31-2010
Does its job

This bit cuts a perfect channel for hot r truss rods to fit in. Probably because that is what it is made to do. Either way the bit is very sharp and cuts through mahogany with ease.

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 10-31-2010
Buffing Wheels

These buffing wheels will produce a mirror finish especially with the Menzerna compounds. I rigged a "Rube Goldberg" buffer and these buffing wheels are First Class!

Bill Porter  Wadesboro, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Menzerna Compounds
Menzerna Compounds
5 10-31-2010
Bufffing Compound

It has been over 32 years since using bar type buffing compounds and that was the Lea brand. I rate this product Excellent. My banjo neck and resonator buffed/polished out to a mirror finish.

Bill Porter  Wadesboro, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 10-31-2010
Sperzel Rocks

I use 3L and 3R Sperzel's on all my guitars, Genius design, fast string changing, a must have for the professional player!

Licea Guitars  New York City
Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
4 10-31-2010
Fingerboard Stain

The stain is fine - does what it's supposed to do. But the stain is in a flexible plastic bottle. After I used it, I recapped the bottle and picked it up along with a few other tools. To my surprise, the black stain came out of the bottle around the cap and got all over my hands and dripped on my bench. Thankfully my project wasn't affected but I ended up with quite a mess. If you get this dye, handle it carefully, or transfer it to a glass jar.

Glen  Dunedin, Florida
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
5 10-31-2010
Great clamp

These clamps are easy to use. However, you may need some of the larger clamps to get to the middle of the top.

Rex Shurtleff  Pagosa Springs, CO Read my reviews (3)
The Intonator
The Intonator
4 10-31-2010
Intonation setup with intonator

A little while ago I bought an "intonator" because I thought the idea was great. I've used it a number of times now, however, I think there's some things to note about using it... from my perspective of course.
1) I found that using it with the software called AP tuner was best as I was able to get "octaves" within 3 cents which I thought acceptable.
2) As I tightened the high E at one point, I noticed that the intonator was pivoting and the low E end was moving back. I stopped this by anchoring the intonator behind a piece of wood at either end outside of the adjusting knobs of the intonator.
3) At first I was laying the guitar flat and supporting the neck but I found that even this was altering the position of the octave according to the intonator. I suppose that in choosing a "tolerance" of 3 cents I should have know! Anyways, I now use the intonator in playing position and get more stable results.
4) Instead of using the small fiddly bushes, I raised the string guides with feeler gauges and measured the distance from a clamped straight edge in front of the bridge with digital calipers. I felt that that gave me more accuracy than trusting a pencil to be at 90 degrees.

Lisa  Houten, the Netherlands
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 10-31-2010
Sore Fingers

I was getting sore fingers from playing my strat as the fret ends were sticking out slightly. The Diamond Fret leveler did the job in no time flat (sorry about the pun) and I'm back to enjoying my strat again!

Retiarius  UK
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
5 10-31-2010
Pickguard Blanks

Large enough for several pickguards and easily cut to any shape. Shipped super fast ordered on Friday morning had it on Saturday.

hardtyme  Ohio, USA Read my reviews (3)
Herringbone Rosette
Herringbone Rosette
5 10-31-2010
Rosette

Super fast shipping, great quality and unbelievable price. Will use Stew-Mac for all my guitar needs.

hardtyme  Ohio, USA Read my reviews (3)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 10-31-2010
A "Must Have" Item

These are perfect for working with CA (Super Glue). The small tip makes it easy to direct the right quantity of glue to the right place. Great for gluing loose fret ends. A "must have" item for guitar repair.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 10-31-2010
Understring Radius Gauges

On obtient avec les Understring Radius Gauges un arcs exactement du même radius que la touche,formidable.

Daniel G.

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 19276 – 19300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  771  772  773  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce