Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19251 – 19275
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  770  771  772  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 11-05-2010
Lap Steel

Used on a lap steel guitar I built and the fit was perfect

Andy Herrick  Helendale, CA
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 11-05-2010
Behlen Nitrocellulose Laquer

I finished a vintage mandolin and it turned out great. It was my first time finishing an instrument. I just followed the directions on the can and what a wonderful finish!!!

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-05-2010
Color Tone Stains

Great stain. Vintage Amber is a A wonderful color for vintage guitars and mandolins

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 11-05-2010
Great time saving tool

I understand the benefits of stepped pegholes for modern style tuners (tuner stability and more accurate tuning) and had been drilling stepped pegholes with standard twist bits. This can be a little tricky and time consuming.

To use the rear peghole reamer I drilled the pilot hole with a 5/16" brad point bit to make a clean accurate pilot hole and followed up with the peghole reamer running at 760 rpm (the lowest speed available) in my drill press. The results were six clean, accurate stepped pegholes in a maple peghead in less than five minutes.

This is a great tool at the right price that works as described giving very good results in a very short time. Thanks StewMac!

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
5 11-05-2010
mmm... curves!

Carved my first arch top front and back. European spruce and mahogany. Twas a pleasure. Once sharpened and set, it worked slicker than snot off a rooster bill. I was apprehensive about attacking the spruce because of the cost, but the plane worked so well that i am very proud of the job I was able to do.

Luke Skywalker  Cairo, Egypt Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
5 11-05-2010
I love this kit!

I was never happy with my fret finish until I tried these. I use one set for frets and the other for finishes. If you haven't tried these yet I would say give them a shot!

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 11-05-2010
Fingerboard Guards

These little guards are great for touch up and buffing your frets.

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-05-2010
Very easy

Very easy to use, PERFECT color. The only problem for me was insuring uniform sanding on the guitar neck prior to application. I have a more "relic-ed" look now due to some sanding errors, but the color is FANTASTIC

Rob P  Indianapolis,IN
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 11-05-2010
Stew-Mac is the best

Got a large order, not just this fret wire, and couldn't be happier. One item came in a box that the delivery company damaged and a small set screw was very bent. Mentioned it on e-mail to Stew-Mac and it seems it was here before I even got up from the computer! This kind of customer service is unheard of and VERY appreciated.

Blind Armadillo Guitars  Venice, FL
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-05-2010
Good quality, PRICED RIGHT

I have to rebuke the other reviewers who thought the price was too high: I've bought cheaper elsewhere, and got crap. These are great quality. You get what you pay for friends.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
5 11-05-2010
String bender paradise

I've only used the rosewood versions on several custom built guitars. All of my clients have completely loved them. No fretting out on big bends. It's one of my 'secret weapons' on my custom builds.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
4 11-05-2010
Almost perfect

I had to do a little final hand shaping of the pickguard opening, but still pretty good.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-05-2010
Don't know what I did without it.

What can I say? Simple is better, and this tool works perfectly.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 11-05-2010
Finger saver!

What a great little devise. Makes the final nut slot cutting a breeze. Works like a charm.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
5 11-04-2010
Great kit!!

I love this kit! I was amazed by the rotary switch on the PRS but after making my own and realizing how hard it is to switch positions while needing to switch fast on stage. I'm going to go with the 5 way blade switch that does the same coil tapping as this rotary. On the other side, Yes, the tone needs to be grounded. If you shielded your Control cavities like they need to be, the tone grounds itself against the shield paint and the kit sounds 10x better.

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
Mahogany Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
Mahogany Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
5 11-04-2010
High quality

Great quality, great color, nice grain and matched well. This is 4th mahogany (#8 total) and the previous 7 were of equally high quality. Thanks SMD for your quality products.

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
4 11-04-2010
not suitable for some archtops

Just a note to inform that the notched straight edge does not work for some archtops that have longer scales. Measure first and check the fine print.

Ian  Toronto Canada Read my reviews (3)
Needle Files
Needle Files
5 11-04-2010
Handy and priced right

I'm using them more than I imagined I would. Work great.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 11-04-2010
Makes for fast work

Laying out scales accurately is time consuming. This eliminates that job. Fast and easy (with the fret saw and miter box). A worthwhile purchase.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 11-04-2010
Should have got it sooner

I spent way more time improvising than in doing it right with this saw and miter box. It saves time and money and makes a much better fretboard.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
2 11-04-2010
1920's style bushings

These bushings did not fit over 1/4" tuner posts without my going at them with a reamer. There must have been some irregularities or burrs on the inside,they worked eventually, but I didn't expect to have to alter them in order for them to work.

Also- on the top side, the rim is pretty narrow, which doesn't necessarily hide marks left by previous bushings with broader rims. If there had been any other gold bushings available (with a broader rim) I probably would have ordered them instead. I'm puzzled as to why Stew-Mac doesn't carry a few different types.

otterly2k  philadelphia, pa Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-04-2010
Absolute best" Bang for the Buck" Pickup

I have owned so many guitars in almost 50 years of playing that I can't remember all of them but once I put these Golden Age Parsons Street humbuckers in my Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beauty I was flat out amazed.

I have used Imperials, Fralins, Holmes, Duncan and many others in LP's before but I have to say that these Parson Street PUPS are as smooth, warm, articulate, balanced and crystal clear of tone as any of the previous ones mentioned.

I used an Alnico 2 in the neck and an Alnico 5 at the bridge. Combined they are perfect for rhythm playing and the A2 at the neck is superb for playing the blues. The A5 at the bridge is punchy and defined in Overdrive or Distortion modes and clean and punchy in the clean mode. So after the addition of these excellent Parson Street pickups and the master craftsmanship that Mike Forrester of Forrester Kustoms did in making this Epi LP in to a player as good as any "Real Deal" Gibson I have ever owned. This guitar has become my front line instrument for performances and studio work alike.

Ed Mili  Edgewood, Maryland Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
5 11-04-2010
Great Finish

Amazing finish, easy to apply, and perfect for guitar necks. Apparently it's very easy to repair as well. Also thins out well in a 50/50 mix with mineral spirits, and work great as a sealer coat.

Kp gits  Naugatuck, CT
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 11-04-2010
Basic tool kit a must!

A must for anyone wishing to save time and frustration on set-ups!

JohnnyV  Yucca Valley, CA
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
4 11-04-2010
Nice necks - not perfect

Nicely made neck. The 10mm machine head holes are little big - even with the larger 3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushings. I remove the extra fret and cut the end flush for Telecaster style guitar body. Truss rod at heel not a problem. I would like to see this available unfinished so it doesn't have to be sanded down to raw wood for staining after cutting my custom head stock design.

Victrocity  Victoria, BC, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 19251 – 19275
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  770  771  772  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce