Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19251 – 19275
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  770  771  772  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
1 11-03-2010
Didn't fit

This for some reason did not fit in the normal position as the pick guard - the result? I went ahead and drilled a hole near the next of the guitar to make it fit. Something about the spacing of the pickups wouldn't allow this to fit correctly? it was strange.

All in all i made it work, and it works. now.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 11-03-2010
Works great, looks great

I purchased the silver - and it looks great. Also functions great, I installed this in conjunction with a bigsby b7 on my les paul, and to be honest i'm not having any tuning issues outside the norm.

Excellent buy and easy to install.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
1 11-03-2010
Not for arch tops - apparently

These were not sculpted for archtops at ALL - They're straight plastic on the bottom. In short - I couldn't use them for a Les paul at all. weak.

CurtisB  Austin, Tx, USA Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-03-2010
Night and day difference..

I have an Epi Les Paul. I like the neck and the weight better than the current Gibson's I can reach. The electronics were awful. Parson Streets, new wiring, caps, pots, switch and jack, a complete setup, and this axe is in a different category of good. These Parson Streets are simply the best PAFs out there.

Highway1  Dayton, OH
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
5 11-03-2010
Hex truss wrench

I bought this to adjust a Rickenbacker 320.
The wrench is well made for the job and is a quality piece. Very much recommended, and cheaper than what Rickenbacker charges for essentially the same item.

Eli Nelson  sf, ca
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-03-2010
Thank You and Well Done

I would like to say thank you for your prompt and sincere service when I purchased The set of radius gauges. They save me time and money. I will be purchasing products as I need them in future. Thank you Stew Mac. Well done. Doug Wall

Doug  Kelowna, BC. Canada
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
1 11-03-2010
Refret tool and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool

My task was to deepen fret slots in an ebony bound ebony fret board on a classical guitar, after planing down the fretboard. I found the Refret Saw was totally useless. It just jammed in the existing slots and could not be moved, no matter how much force was applied.

I accomplished the job by scraping the fret slots with the Fret Slot Cleaning tool, but it was a laborious 6-hour job, and wore out both of the blades that come with the tool. StewMac needs to sell replacement blades. The Slot Cleaning Tool also tended to jam, and then suddenly slip, damaging the binding in several places. A carefully guided Dremel with the right size end mill might be a better tool for this job.

RSE  Canada
Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass
Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass
5 11-03-2010
oh my God - it's full of stars!!

Just excellent! At last kit for bass guitars. Easy to work with and when you start properly end result is great.

edis  Croatia
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 11-03-2010
Great Springs

Replacing the stock springs with these made a dramatic improvement in the performance of my Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster.

Richard Norman  Oak Harbor, WA
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-03-2010
Lacquer

The aerosol lacquer worked very well, though it took a lot of cans.

Kent Edwards 
Vega-style Banjo Armrest
Vega-style Banjo Armrest
5 11-03-2010
Easy to install

This worked great on my Deering Goodtime. It took about 5 minutes to install and looks and works great.

Brandon C.  Muncie, IN
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
5 11-03-2010
Works well

Very pleased. My binding channels came out perfect.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
5 11-03-2010
Restoration tuners

I stumbled across a very early Harmony guitar at a flea market that was destined to be just another wall decoration. It was falling apart and someone over the years had replaced the original tuners with whatever they could find.

One horizontal set on one side and verticals on the other and completely worn out. After using several of your Trade Secret tips I was able to re glue the body and loose braces. The neck was straight but the frets were worn down to the board. So I jacked up the nut and turned it into an acoustic slide guitar. I installed a set of your vertical restoration tuners with cream buttons. Now the guitar not only looks period correct but stays in tune too!

Thanks for helping me make a $10 dollar flea market find into a great slide player.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Resonator Cone
Resonator Cone
5 11-03-2010
That's nice!

very good cones!!! Excellent quatily!!!
I use to make a resonator violas (brazilian 10 strings guitar) and resonator guitars...

Luciano Queiroz  Assis, SP, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
5 11-03-2010
good choice!!!!!!!

It's a good choice for a Brazilian 10 strings guitar and other instruments too. Nowadays I always use this tuners.

Luciano Queiroz  Assis, SP, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 11-02-2010
Perfect

I use it everyday at the workshop for 4 years now. It fits any tuner. A drop of lube at the handle joint and it's ready. Far better than a lot of other stringwinders I tried.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
4 11-02-2010
US/metric scale

Just a tiny hint: It would be helpful for StewMac customers based in Europe if the assembly instructions were given in centimeters as well as in inches. All the best, Mat

MatRulski  Warsaw, Poland
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
5 11-01-2010
Great!

These seem to be identical to the tuners used by G&L and also by Sandberg. They are fantastic quality and would even be good value at twice the price!!! I also like the adjustable tension feature.

DLB  Ireland Read my reviews (2)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 11-01-2010
nice

I purchased 80 pieces of Cocobolo binding (without trim). Nearly all of them had beautiful grain and color. There were only a few pieces that I might have returned because of quality or color but not enough to make it worth shipping them back. The ones I received mostly looked very much like the ones in the picture.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Gibson Truss Rod Nut
Gibson® Truss Rod Nut
5 11-01-2010
details make the difference

These are my favorite truss rod nuts. In fact I have yet to come across any others that I like.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 11-01-2010
Expensive but very nice

I purchased one 16" radius sanding beam and I am pleased with the quality. I might have purchased a few more if they were not so expensive.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 11-01-2010
Nice tools

I have purchased two of these in different scale lengths and they both are very well. I am very picky about my tools and these met my expectations. Made of steel they are heavy, durable and in general they have a quality fit and finish.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
4 11-01-2010
Golden Age P-Bass Pickups

I recently purchased a set of the Golden Age P-Bass pickups for a bass guitar restoration project I have been working on. The pickups are very good and definitely worth the price paid.

Peter  Edmonton, Alberta Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 11-01-2010
The Pressure Is On

These are great clamps. I am the proud owner of 15 of them. I use 5 per fretboard when I am gluing the fretboard to the neck and use a wood cam clamp at the heel and fretboard. This requires making sure the neck is absolutely straight before the glue and fretboard is applied. With 15, I can do 3 neck/fretboards at a time. The clamps make me more effective and consistent in getting good accurate necks. I love these clamps. Thanks Stewmac.

Gary Clardy  Burns, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Soundhole Clamps
Soundhole Clamps
5 11-01-2010
soundhole clams

While i can't get too gooshy about a clamp, these are good, honest, well made tools. These should last a lifetime, providing they don't burn up in a fire like my last set....

david judd  El cajon, ca.
Displaying 19251 – 19275
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  770  771  772  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce