Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19226 – 19250
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  769  770  771  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 11-06-2010
OptiVISOR Rocks!

A little dorky looking, but I wouldn't give them up for anything. Man, they make detail work much easier to see. Highly recommend them to everyone.

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
4 11-06-2010
Erlewine Neck Jig

Extremely useful and fairly well designed. I don't care too much for the Dial Indicator mounts. They need to be designed a little better. Tedious to adjust and the bent studs are awkward. I would suggest a more precision method, similar to the support studs/pushrods.

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
4 11-05-2010
Essential Fretting Kit

Good starting point for your fretting efforts. Stew-Mac should consider adding the fret side dressing file to the kit.

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 11-05-2010
Stikit Gold Paper Self-Adhesives

Quality product. Using with wood radius blocks and love the results. Durable, stays put, yet doesn't leave obnoxious residue on my sanding blocks

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 11-05-2010
Basic Setup Kit a Must!

Everything you need to go from "feels right" to "is right"

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 11-05-2010
So far so good

I purchased these GDK's mainly because they were exact drop-in replacements for the originals (made in China?) in my Blueridge BR-160 in which the back casing came off one of them. In fact, they were the ONLY direct replacements whereby the dimensions (screw holes/peg hole dia.)were the same. I had also used Grovers for replacement on my Gibby J-45 a long time ago and they have held up well over the years. So I felt pretty good about these also.

So far so good but only time will tell. I also think they look better than the original chrome/silver buttons. Overall, they seem very well made.

Woody  Austin, TX
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 11-05-2010
wow this is great!!!!

Just got this router base and i already love it!! I'm using a rotozip with a flex shaft to attach to this base. it makes it feel more like the Foredom set up. Just add one washer under the screw on end piece and the router base. It gives you more power and less chatter!!!

wow this is great!!  indiana pa.
Router Bit for Binding
Router Bit for Binding
5 11-05-2010
A sharp performer

In conjunction with the Precision Router and Edge Guide the #4032 produces a really sharp ledge for the binding. I needed to do no clean-up by hand at all. The most difficult part is summoning the courage for the first cut!

Murray MacDonald  Blenheim, New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Edge Guide
Precision Router Edge Guide
5 11-05-2010
A treat to use!

As I am making ukuleles with a flat front and only a very slightly curved back, the edge guide, combined with the Stew-Mac #4032 router bit, produced a beautifully sharp ledge for the binding, and for a reasonable price. The most difficult part is plucking up the courage to make the first cut!

Murray MacDonald  Blenheim, New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 11-05-2010
Lap Steel

Used on a lap steel guitar I built and the fit was perfect

Andy Herrick  Helendale, CA
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 11-05-2010
Behlen Nitrocellulose Laquer

I finished a vintage mandolin and it turned out great. It was my first time finishing an instrument. I just followed the directions on the can and what a wonderful finish!!!

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-05-2010
Color Tone Stains

Great stain. Vintage Amber is a A wonderful color for vintage guitars and mandolins

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 11-05-2010
Great time saving tool

I understand the benefits of stepped pegholes for modern style tuners (tuner stability and more accurate tuning) and had been drilling stepped pegholes with standard twist bits. This can be a little tricky and time consuming.

To use the rear peghole reamer I drilled the pilot hole with a 5/16" brad point bit to make a clean accurate pilot hole and followed up with the peghole reamer running at 760 rpm (the lowest speed available) in my drill press. The results were six clean, accurate stepped pegholes in a maple peghead in less than five minutes.

This is a great tool at the right price that works as described giving very good results in a very short time. Thanks StewMac!

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
5 11-05-2010
mmm... curves!

Carved my first arch top front and back. European spruce and mahogany. Twas a pleasure. Once sharpened and set, it worked slicker than snot off a rooster bill. I was apprehensive about attacking the spruce because of the cost, but the plane worked so well that i am very proud of the job I was able to do.

Luke Skywalker  Cairo, Egypt Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
5 11-05-2010
I love this kit!

I was never happy with my fret finish until I tried these. I use one set for frets and the other for finishes. If you haven't tried these yet I would say give them a shot!

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 11-05-2010
Fingerboard Guards

These little guards are great for touch up and buffing your frets.

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-05-2010
Very easy

Very easy to use, PERFECT color. The only problem for me was insuring uniform sanding on the guitar neck prior to application. I have a more "relic-ed" look now due to some sanding errors, but the color is FANTASTIC

Rob P  Indianapolis,IN
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 11-05-2010
Stew-Mac is the best

Got a large order, not just this fret wire, and couldn't be happier. One item came in a box that the delivery company damaged and a small set screw was very bent. Mentioned it on e-mail to Stew-Mac and it seems it was here before I even got up from the computer! This kind of customer service is unheard of and VERY appreciated.

Blind Armadillo Guitars  Venice, FL
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-05-2010
Good quality, PRICED RIGHT

I have to rebuke the other reviewers who thought the price was too high: I've bought cheaper elsewhere, and got crap. These are great quality. You get what you pay for friends.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
5 11-05-2010
String bender paradise

I've only used the rosewood versions on several custom built guitars. All of my clients have completely loved them. No fretting out on big bends. It's one of my 'secret weapons' on my custom builds.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
4 11-05-2010
Almost perfect

I had to do a little final hand shaping of the pickguard opening, but still pretty good.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-05-2010
Don't know what I did without it.

What can I say? Simple is better, and this tool works perfectly.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 11-05-2010
Finger saver!

What a great little devise. Makes the final nut slot cutting a breeze. Works like a charm.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
5 11-04-2010
Great kit!!

I love this kit! I was amazed by the rotary switch on the PRS but after making my own and realizing how hard it is to switch positions while needing to switch fast on stage. I'm going to go with the 5 way blade switch that does the same coil tapping as this rotary. On the other side, Yes, the tone needs to be grounded. If you shielded your Control cavities like they need to be, the tone grounds itself against the shield paint and the kit sounds 10x better.

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
Mahogany Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
Mahogany Back and Side Set for Dreadnought Guitar
5 11-04-2010
High quality

Great quality, great color, nice grain and matched well. This is 4th mahogany (#8 total) and the previous 7 were of equally high quality. Thanks SMD for your quality products.

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19226 – 19250
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  769  770  771  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce