Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19176 – 19200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  767  768  769  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 11-07-2010
Vintage bone nuts / saddles

Excellent quality. My last customer oooohed when I showed him what I intended to put on his guitar. He really oooohed when I gave him the finished instrument saying it looks like ivory. A week later I asked him how it played electrically. He said he hadn't been able to put it down long enough to plug in. Great product.

Guy Robinson  Anderson, CA Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
5 11-07-2010
Stunning

What more could you ask for. The perfect blend of blank with the more frustrating fret-slots done for you. The radius on these boards is bang on too. The wood is at just the right hydration levels and works very well with sandpapers, files and wire wool. I really couldn't have expected any more from the wood itself nor its preparation.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 11-07-2010
Got it right as always

These dots are exactly what you'd look for - good looking, perfect to spec and easy to work with. A reliable choice for any new build.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
5 11-07-2010
Nice piece of kit

These truss rods are great value, well finished and easy to work with. I'll certainly be back for more.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
1 11-07-2010
1 meg pot

My soldering skills have diminished. did I get these pots too hot? I doubt both of them. Not enough control, from 10 to 9 volume drops drastically. I expected a better controlling pot. You would think coming from a guitar part place they would have worked better. Plan on changing them soon. Might work for you.

rockbass  Saginaw, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 11-07-2010
toggle switch

Nice quality. My soldering skills have diminished,broke the ground terminal off,my fault. Worked great. I wired my Warwick Corvette Standard stereo.

rockbass  Saginaw, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Scissor Jack
Scissor Jack
5 11-07-2010
One of my favorite inventions

After I got the hang of using it, I use it for 75% of my internal brace repairs. It works great at handling the bigger brace glue-ups that need good pressure.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 11-07-2010
Great visual for customers

Ever get the customer who complains about intonation issues? Sometimes a bridge is glued on the wrong area and this tool shows exactly what's going on and will sell you on a big repair.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
4 11-07-2010
Good for bridge re-glues

I use two of these for bridge re-glues. They keep the bridge from slipping and provide clamping strength used along with regular c-clamps. They do break after a lot of use but work great for me.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 11-07-2010
No more mistakes

One of the most useful tools in my shop. No more marring the finish! Invented by Canadian, Les Schatten.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 11-07-2010
Can't get these in Canada!

I've used lacquer pens in my shop when I was in the US but couldn't get them shipped across the border when I moved to Canada. I wanted them so bad that I ordered some and brought them with me on my next trip down and back. These have so many uses, I use them several times a week.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-07-2010
Don't have a shop without them!

So useful on so many levels. I mix up a small batch of every color for lacquer touch up.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
5 11-07-2010
New to my shop and used all the time!

I bought these in August and have used them at least once a week to help with cutting slots at the bridge pin hole for better string break angle and for smoothing rough areas causing string breakage. They are so nice and way better then the older saw version that bent on me all the time.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
4 11-07-2010
Gripper Saves The Day

I run into so many stripped truss rod nuts that need the Gripper T-Rod Wrench. It is one of my most used and useful tools in my shop, which is why it wears out quicker than I would like.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 11-07-2010
Great neck

I didn't have to refinish it at all and it feels and plays well. I coupled this with their Tele semi-hollow body and some split-coil minihums.

Miles  TX
GHS Ukulele Strings
GHS Ukulele Strings
4 11-07-2010
Very good tone and value

The GHS Uke strings, used on my Stew-Mac kit ukulele give a pleasant, bright tone, without being harsh. A number of people have commented favorably on the sound produced. I am going to use them on my almost completed scratch-built uke too.

Murray MacDonald  Blenheim, New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-07-2010
Work Great

Used Stewmacs water based laquer and ColorTone Liquid Stains. Was easy to layer up. And clean up was a since. I was very impressed with the results.

Thanks for the great products.

Hammock's Customs  ID
Customer supplied image for review
Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Spring Installer
5 11-07-2010
works Great!

This was awesome to use, I would like to see the handle at a 90 degree angle to the hook on future models

sgnl2nz  Butler, PA
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 11-06-2010
This is the saw to buy

This is a very well-made tool, perfect for the job of cutting pearl. In my opinion the flex-frame design is superior to the slide-and-tighten type of frame, making blade tensioning easy and fast. I also love the size, weight, and balance of this saw.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
5 11-06-2010
Pickguard adhesive

It's easy to use and works great!

lp59pete  Evansville, IN
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 11-06-2010
Must Have.....

This is the smartest purchase of guitar tools I have made. Top quality and indispensable tools for making guitar setup enjoyable in addition to fast.

Gordo K.  Columbus, Ohio Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer
5 11-06-2010
Paint the rainbow....

These pigments mix well and provide very uniform color. They blend very well with each other to make any color you want.

Chuck Chambers  Watkinsville, GA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
5 11-06-2010
Avoid the ripples.....

This jig is much easier to use than the ones that fit the dremel. Very easy to set up and cuts a smooth channel using the StewMac router bit. I tried it with other bits and they had some tear-out. I've had none with the SM bit. I would like to recommend the addition of a counter weight to help make the router "float" and the use of different guides to use on carved top guitars that would raise the base high enough to clear the body,tight curves in the cutaway areas, and where the carved portion meets the neck.

Chuck Chambers  Watkinsville, GA Read my reviews (4)
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
5 11-06-2010
So easy an amateur can do it....

I don't have any luthier training or experience. I just have a lot of guitars and paying $200 bucks a piece to plek them was not something I wanted to do. Now I don't have to. I did purchase Mr. Erlewine's video on fretting and how to use the vise and jig, and it helped tremendously. It does have a learning curve, which should be expected with something that does something this complex.

Taking the time to understand how to use everything will reward you with an excellent playing guitar. I can level frets and set up great action on a guitar in under an hour, plus it is a fun way to make $200 an hour. I also use it to help friends and others at my church who could not afford to plek their guitars.

Thanks to Mr. Erlewine and StewMac for bringing quality products and great instruction to help guitar players care for their instruments.

Chuck Chambers  Watkinsville, GA Read my reviews (4)
Soundpost Setters
Soundpost Setters
5 11-06-2010
S-Shape

Arrived in record time!
Exactly as described here on Stewmac.com
One small thing, not quite sharp enough for my taste! But that's easily sorted!
Already done a few soundpost setting jobs with my new tool! Worth every cent!

Vlajko  Belgrade,Serbia
Displaying 19176 – 19200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  767  768  769  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce