Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19176 – 19200
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  767  768  769  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
5 11-10-2010
Excellent!

That Fret File is fantastic !!!

Bartek  Poland Read my reviews (3)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
2 11-09-2010
Better screws would be great

I could have give them 5 stars if the screw wouldn't broke when I installed them on the guitar!!

I had to dig all around the screw and refill the hole... Not very funny, especially when you just finish your project!

I would pay one more dollar if they could give better screws with their strap buttons...

Tomy  Becancour, Qc, Canada Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
4 11-09-2010
String Tree Installation

Suggest drilling pilot holes for screw installation. Maple neck wood is harder than the screws!

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 11-09-2010
Best tuners I tried so far

They can also be reversed!!!!
Very solid, very precise. Five stars!

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
3 11-09-2010
Good looking but...

These rings look great but the sharp corners hurt my hand...

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
5 11-09-2010
One of the best vibrato bridges around

I used it on a 25.5" guitar and, paired with Sperzels, it's perfect. One of the best.

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Top-Loading Hardtail Bridge
Top-Loading Hardtail Bridge
4 11-09-2010
Cheap but good!

OK, there are probably better bridges around, but I once used this bridge attracted by its low price for a cheap and fast project and the result was fine! This bridge does its job.
You need to do some routing under the bridge in order to accommodate the end balls of the string but it's a nice and good working design.

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 11-09-2010
Not only for fingerboards!

When I don't need a special scale I usually buy slotted fingerboards. However, I use ebony blanks to build the ultimate pickup covers (see pic): ebony is easy to work, glues up well and does not wear out with use!

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 11-09-2010
Just what you would expect

Hard maple of good quality, well planed, perfect for bolt-on guitars.

Gabriele Palma  Genova, Italy Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
1 11-08-2010
Ringing Buzz

Bought one of these bridges for a '59 Les Paul project trying to recreate the nice solid transfer of string vibration that my 50th anniversary has. BIG MISTAKE! This bridge produces a harsh, ringing buzz/rattle that I could attribute to the sloppy fit of the saddles/screws where they fit in the bridge. Replaced this one with the Gotoh bridge and no ringing buzz or rattling.

Ryan K  Calgary, Canada Read my reviews (7)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 11-08-2010
Great Locking Tuners

An amazing set of locking tuners, keeps it in tune and the buttons turn like a dream!

Swish Guitars  Pittsford New York Read my reviews (2)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 11-08-2010
Action gauge

Very easy to use and read. I find myself looking for things to measure. I should have bought it sooner.

John Cross  Devon, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 11-08-2010
Love it

I had always struggled with setting the action at the nut. After using this tool the first time, I kicked myself for not getting it sooner. Makes the job faster, easier and gets rid of the guesswork.

John Cross  Devon, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 11-08-2010
Very nice saw

I just cut my first fretboard using this saw and it went much smoother than I was expecting. 5-7 easy strokes to get to the slot depth. I'm quite impressed.

John Cross  Devon, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 11-08-2010
Addicted

Recently I found myself looking for something more to buy from stewmac, because I was running out of pipettes...

Gitarmaker Terje Nylund  Norway
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-08-2010
Very Efficient File!

I have always use regular rat-tail metal files in the past to level frets. After buying and using the 6" file from Stewmac, I will only use my new file. It handled a challenging fret job with ease. It cuts quickly, so go slowly!

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-08-2010
Stellar Abalone!

I was very nervous about working with abalone for the first time and buying it sight-unseen. I was very impressed with the quality and figure of this shell as well as its workability.

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 11-08-2010
Great Wire!

I gave myself a difficult challenge of fretting a cello which required bass-type frets to adhere to a small radius. This wire conformed well to the fingerboard and produced better-than-hoped-for results.

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 11-08-2010
Great book!

I've found this book really great, full of useful info and describing all the process from general ideas to practical details. It is focused mostly on nitro lacquer finishes though, and I am starting to think about French polishing shellac technique, so I will have to buy also your DVD focused on this :-). Your web is really The Source of professional info about lutherie, great job, many thanks!!!

Yarek  Prague, Czech rep. Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Blend Pots
Alpha Blend Pots
1 11-07-2010
DEFECTIVE POTS

I ordered two of these blend pots at separate times. I really like Stew-Mac, but both had a defective lower element. This is the only product that I have not been totally satisfied with.

DAVID SEIBERT  everett, wa Read my reviews (2)
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
4 11-07-2010
Almost Perfect

This is a high quality kit, the only thing that would make it better would be vintage pushback wire instead of rubber insulated stuff because the insulation melts easily. But on a good note, these pots are very nice and turn so smoothly without crackling. I recommend this and the conductive tape to make your strat style guitar sound better.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 11-07-2010
no more NOISE!

I recently rewired my squire with a wiring kit, the vintage pushback wire and this conductive copper tape from stewmac, and it's amazing how much better it sounds. There's no noise anymore. I recommend the 3/4 inch stuff.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 11-07-2010
Beyond Expectation

I bought this to rewire my guitar and I was amazed at how much easier it is to solder than the regular rubber insulated wire. You don't have to worry about melting the insulation, and there's no striping so there's less to cleanup. In combination with a wiring kit this made my squier sound more like a fender. I will only rewire with the pushback wire from now on.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 11-07-2010
Shop staple

I've done it old school and I've done it with this tool. There is no going back.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 11-07-2010
Shop staple

If you know how to remove frets, you will find that this tool works wonderfully. It's a permanent part of my fretting tool collection.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 19176 – 19200
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  767  768  769  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce