Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19151 – 19175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  766  767  768  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
5 11-11-2010
Super sander

Great piece of gear, great price, thanks Stewmac. I can see so many applications for it, should have bought one years ago!

Dave Sherlock  Sydney Australia Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
4 11-11-2010
ok- but

This does work but I'm not quite as happy as the other reviewers. Its expensive- and it takes lots of time and pains to be sure it's lined up correctly. The final job turned out just as it should so I'm not complaining but the reviews didn't prepare me for the tediousness required. If you need to drill the locating holes this is the only thing I've seen that will do it.

Steve G.  Columbia TN
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-10-2010
You can't go wrong with Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are simply awesome. I put them into my personal LP style Warmoth guitar thinking I would eventually swap them out for something better. After 4 years they are still in there and I love the sound. I recommend them to a client that wanted new pickups in his PRS custom 24. I replaced the PRS pickups with the Golden Age humbuckers. He can't stop talking about them. His PRS is now his main guitar for gigging out.

Bucky  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Rotary Switches
Rotary Switches
5 11-10-2010
Installing three 6-position, 4 pole Rotary Switches

I installed a Seymour Duncan P-Rail pick-up in the middle position of a Strat and wired it to a 6-position Rotary Switch. The neck and bridge P-ups are wired to another 6-position Rotary switch and the output leads of those two switches are wired to yet another 6-position Rotary switch. This enables every combination possible (though some are redundant /useless).

The switches work great and the wiring was fun to do. Not hard at all like some reviews I read before diving in. If you can work a soldering iron, there should be no problem. One thing to point out is that I did this for recording sounds; to avoid filtering or EQing. In my case, with three switches, it takes a bit of time to dial in the sounds; Too much fiddling. But most folks wont use three in a scheme so it would be fine for live use.

boolaboolaman  New Orleans
Customer supplied image for review
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 11-10-2010
Preval Spray Unit

This is an amazing product. Aside from the incredible price, the spray bomb lasts far longer than I expected. The lacquer jar has measurement marks on the side, making it simple to prepare the mix. I will definitely be buying more of these as I cannot justify a professional spray system.

RichardBest  Canada
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 11-10-2010
Great Tuners, but not on a nylon string

I have a very rare Fender Nylon String telecaster. The tuning slips a bit on the higher strings so I wanted to try some locking tuners. To see if it would help. Overall they worked, but the high E string still didn't keep tuning well and then kept snapping because of where the tuners grip the String.

I had the old Grover locking tuners on an old musicman, that grip over a wider surface area, they might have worked, but these didn't. I'm still yet to try some high quality strings, but I'm doubtful.

That said, these are still great tuners and I'm very interested in replacing my Grover tuners on another guitar because I bought there.

James David Low  Hong Kong
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
2 11-10-2010
Good Idea poor quality

They will work but not the quality I expected. Hard to use inside body with one hand.

D Tripp  Argyle NY
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 11-10-2010
Offset Diamond File

This file works great, but it's a little more aggressive than what I had hoped. I'll be adding the finer one to the tool kit, and will most likely be the one I reach for most often.

Allen McFarlen  Australia
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 11-10-2010
Tuner Bushing Press

This little beauty takes all of the sweat out of removing/replacing bushings in vintage instruments or freshly finished headstocks.

Puba Musical Instruments  Le Claire, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 11-10-2010
Peghead Bushing Reamers

A "must have" for any repair shop. Makes repairing or making new holes a snap.

Puba Musical Instruments  Le Claire, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
3 11-10-2010
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks

I bought these to replace a worn out set of Schaller strap locks which I have had on all of my guitars from the early 80's.
Although they appear to be identical to the Schaller's upon my very first gig with them the pin and spring went flying.
Although a quick fix, I was very lucky my bass player has good eyes to locate the tiny pieces and lucky I did not drop my new build.

Ray joe Stone  Akron/Canton Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5-String Compensated Banjo Bridge
5-String Compensated Banjo Bridge
4 11-10-2010
compensated 5 string bridge

I had to shave down the height a little so the action wasn't too high - but then had an immediate improvement when using a capo.

roger the potter  devonuk
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
5 11-10-2010
Just the job

Very good bit for doing those awkward ledges on small instruments or in confined areas.

Steve Hall  London UK Read my reviews (3)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 11-10-2010
Top bit

Usual high quality router bit from StewMac. Surgically sharp. Be warned!

Steve Hall  London UK Read my reviews (3)
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
4 11-10-2010
fiddle kit

The kit is very complete. The only part which i believe could have been clarified more was the thickness of the top and bottom. As it comes they are too thick by several thousands. Unless this is corrected the fiddle will not sound as good as it could. Other than that is sounds great and is well worth the price, and is a great experience for someone who is new to building fiddle's

donnar56  globe, AZ USA Read my reviews (2)
Adapter Collet
Adapter Collet
2 11-10-2010
Adapter Collet

I have always thought it would be a good idea to be able to use my smaller router bits with a stronger motor. The Dremel is fine for most things but sometimes you just need a little more power. The adapter is just what I was looking for. While it works fine the reason I only give it a FAIR is because I was surprised that the slotting on one side of the collet was far from straight. While this doesn't stop it from working it is poor quality and not up to the usual high standard I have come to expect from StewMac.

Steve Hall  London UK Read my reviews (3)
Beard Resonator Cone for Spider Bridge
Beard Resonator Cone for Spider Bridge
5 11-10-2010
Unsurpassed Tone and Bass

My cheap roundneck resonator import just turned into a higher profile guitar thanks to the Beard Cone. When the set up is done and strings are back on place, the difference is already noticeable: The sound is bassier and high notes on the 12th fret and beyond sound clearer. The full power of the cone will be achieved as the guitar is played throughout the upcoming weeks and the cone fits more and more the structure of the guitar. It already sounds good, it will get even better. Let down: The cone is very thin and fragile. Its easily bendable. Use caution setting up your guitar. It may not fit your guitar for some minor inches - in my case 0,07 inches/2 mm. Again, use caution and steady hands, and trim around the cone to obtain a shape that fits inside your guitar without forcing it, otherwise it will bend. Overall: It is worth for the difference of sound you obtain in your resonator guitar and get it closer to a real Beard or National.

Francisco Fidalgo  Portugal
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
4 11-10-2010
Does the Job

Up to this point, I have used McFaddens, but with McFaddens now being pretty much unavailable, I tried the Behlen. It doesn't seem to build quite as quickly as the McFaddens, but it does cure quickly and cures crystal clear. I shoot my finish through an HVLP gun, and I get good results with the product as it comes from the can. Overall, I was satisfied and will continue to use the Behlen.

Everett  Alachua, Florida Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro Chisels
Micro Chisels
5 11-10-2010
The Right Tool

I was struggling with a chisel that was too big and making a mess of things. These small chisels were the right tool for the job. Nice wooden handle, easy to grip.

maaark38  San Clemente, CA Read my reviews (2)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 11-10-2010
Excellent

Very precision instrument, very adjustable. Much better than the Dremel router base

Greg Helton  Rainsville Al.
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 11-10-2010
Works

Bought this paint for a noisy bass that had been getting on my nerves. Had a guy put three coats on the cavity and its quiet as a mouse now. Little pricey(everything is for me) but gets the job done.

abMasT  Spartanburg, SC
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 11-10-2010
StewMac Epoxy

I've used this product for five years with excellent results. I like the slow setting time which allows for proper alignment of parts for clamping. I haven't noticed any shrinkage with it and it never has de-laminated.

AC Custom Guitars  Coastal Carolina
Customer supplied image for review
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 11-10-2010
Coarse, 325-grit - GREAT!

It is very good choice! My frets are excellent!

Bartek  Poland Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Bench Rest
Guitar Bench Rest
5 11-10-2010
Another great product from Stewmac!

I do a lot of refinish work & have been using towels that slide around my work area & don't provide a good solid base to work without worry that I may damage my current project if it slides off my towels. This Guitar Bench Rest fixed all of that & offers a near perfect angle for viewing & working on my projects.

I love the fact that the Neck Rest not only serves as the Cap to it's container when not in use but it also opens up to hold some of my often used tools such as wire clippers, needle nose pliers, some brief work notes & a string winder! I would recommend this product to any serious Luthier that needs good protection, easy access to their projects & all at a cost that's more than reasonable. Of course Stew Mac shipping times & rates are incredibly quick & reasonable as always.

Last  USA
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-10-2010
Great!

It is fantastic! Very good choice!

Bartek  Poland Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 19151 – 19175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  766  767  768  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce