Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19151 – 19175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  766  767  768  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-08-2010
Stellar Abalone!

I was very nervous about working with abalone for the first time and buying it sight-unseen. I was very impressed with the quality and figure of this shell as well as its workability.

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 11-08-2010
Great Wire!

I gave myself a difficult challenge of fretting a cello which required bass-type frets to adhere to a small radius. This wire conformed well to the fingerboard and produced better-than-hoped-for results.

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 11-08-2010
Great book!

I've found this book really great, full of useful info and describing all the process from general ideas to practical details. It is focused mostly on nitro lacquer finishes though, and I am starting to think about French polishing shellac technique, so I will have to buy also your DVD focused on this :-). Your web is really The Source of professional info about lutherie, great job, many thanks!!!

Yarek  Prague, Czech rep. Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Blend Pots
Alpha Blend Pots
1 11-07-2010
DEFECTIVE POTS

I ordered two of these blend pots at separate times. I really like Stew-Mac, but both had a defective lower element. This is the only product that I have not been totally satisfied with.

DAVID SEIBERT  everett, wa Read my reviews (2)
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
4 11-07-2010
Almost Perfect

This is a high quality kit, the only thing that would make it better would be vintage pushback wire instead of rubber insulated stuff because the insulation melts easily. But on a good note, these pots are very nice and turn so smoothly without crackling. I recommend this and the conductive tape to make your strat style guitar sound better.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 11-07-2010
no more NOISE!

I recently rewired my squire with a wiring kit, the vintage pushback wire and this conductive copper tape from stewmac, and it's amazing how much better it sounds. There's no noise anymore. I recommend the 3/4 inch stuff.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 11-07-2010
Beyond Expectation

I bought this to rewire my guitar and I was amazed at how much easier it is to solder than the regular rubber insulated wire. You don't have to worry about melting the insulation, and there's no striping so there's less to cleanup. In combination with a wiring kit this made my squier sound more like a fender. I will only rewire with the pushback wire from now on.

cjkokes  Pleasant Hill, IA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 11-07-2010
Shop staple

I've done it old school and I've done it with this tool. There is no going back.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 11-07-2010
Shop staple

If you know how to remove frets, you will find that this tool works wonderfully. It's a permanent part of my fretting tool collection.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
4 11-07-2010
Shop staple

I use this tool in my batch of fretting tools I can't do without.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 11-07-2010
Great for a small shop

I do a small number of fretboards from scratch. This tool works so nicely. Don't try to cut your fret slots without a product like this.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 11-07-2010
This tool changed my life

I used to do fret crowning old school with the three corner file. It was so time consuming. When I got the diamond fret file it more then cut my time in half and did a 100% better job in accuracy.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 11-07-2010
My favorite fret leveling tool

This is a great tool for getting the bulk of the frets level because of its weight. I barely apply any pressure and it does all the work. A staple in my shop.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 11-07-2010
Accurate fingerboard reading

Sometimes when you put a straightedge over the frets the frets tell you something different. Since I've been using this Notched Straightedge it has helped me with numerous fret jobs because IT TELLS YOU WHAT THE FINGERBOARD IS DOING. Love it.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 11-07-2010
Super useful

Awesome little guys. Perfectly priced, unlike the Gibson ones which cost 30 dollars for a set. Going to be buying some more for my Les Paul Custom

C.D  Can
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
5 11-07-2010
nice

Love the brush in the can keeps it off my hands

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 11-07-2010
what can I say

Wood to wood hey you know

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
4 11-07-2010
good

Was good for me and my class

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
5 11-07-2010
Braces

For such a small extra cost these are a real time saver. Highly recommended.

JKeating  UK
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 11-07-2010
The very best dreadnought kit available!

After opening the box I was immediately surprised by the quality of its contents. Each part was as if I hand selected it myself. Not one single flaw! The instructional DVD was the best and very informative. The finished product looks and sounds as good as any guitar hanging in any shop I have encountered. This will be the beginning of many more guitar builds!! Thank you Stew Mac!!!

Dickie Lee  U.K.
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
1 11-07-2010
Wears too quickly and is soft

I can personally wear through a set of frets on my banjo in a year if I use this fretwire. I like all the sizes that you have, but your supplier is making fret wire WAY to soft. Of course, the customers have to keep returning - but I don't think that getting repeat customers from fretwire that wears out so quickly is a boost for my business.

I have refretted instruments with 25 years of playing on them before they came into my shop, but 2 years after the refret with this wire, the instrument is back! I've heard all the arguments about tooling wear and tonal differences, but I don’t belie it is anything but the manufacturer of your fretwire being cheap, in my opinion.

Richie Dotson

Richie Dotson  Chesterfield, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
5 11-07-2010
Macarta Nuts

The best and easiest to work with, and they sound great. The older they get, the better they sound.

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 11-07-2010
Great book.

I love everything about this book. It is easy to read, use as a reference,and best of all, Dan autographed it for me! Thanks, Dan, you are my mentor!

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 11-07-2010
Frets that are the best!

I see that every part I buy from you fits very well, but these little frets saved me so much time on my recent mandolin repair that I had time to play it for a while and enjoy my work! Kudos, you guys are the best!

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
Battery Box
Battery Box
1 11-07-2010
battery box

Although my customer still wanted it, I refused to cut a hole in his acoustic guitar so he could reach the battery without removing the strings. The main reason I refused was it's not polarized. I made no profit there.

Guy Robinson  Anderson, CA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 19151 – 19175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  766  767  768  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce