Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19126 – 19150
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  765  766  767  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
4 11-07-2010
good

Was good for me and my class

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
5 11-07-2010
Braces

For such a small extra cost these are a real time saver. Highly recommended.

JKeating  UK
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 11-07-2010
The very best dreadnought kit available!

After opening the box I was immediately surprised by the quality of its contents. Each part was as if I hand selected it myself. Not one single flaw! The instructional DVD was the best and very informative. The finished product looks and sounds as good as any guitar hanging in any shop I have encountered. This will be the beginning of many more guitar builds!! Thank you Stew Mac!!!

Dickie Lee  U.K.
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
1 11-07-2010
Wears too quickly and is soft

I can personally wear through a set of frets on my banjo in a year if I use this fretwire. I like all the sizes that you have, but your supplier is making fret wire WAY to soft. Of course, the customers have to keep returning - but I don't think that getting repeat customers from fretwire that wears out so quickly is a boost for my business.

I have refretted instruments with 25 years of playing on them before they came into my shop, but 2 years after the refret with this wire, the instrument is back! I've heard all the arguments about tooling wear and tonal differences, but I don’t belie it is anything but the manufacturer of your fretwire being cheap, in my opinion.

Richie Dotson

Richie Dotson  Chesterfield, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
5 11-07-2010
Macarta Nuts

The best and easiest to work with, and they sound great. The older they get, the better they sound.

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 11-07-2010
Great book.

I love everything about this book. It is easy to read, use as a reference,and best of all, Dan autographed it for me! Thanks, Dan, you are my mentor!

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 11-07-2010
Frets that are the best!

I see that every part I buy from you fits very well, but these little frets saved me so much time on my recent mandolin repair that I had time to play it for a while and enjoy my work! Kudos, you guys are the best!

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
Battery Box
Battery Box
1 11-07-2010
battery box

Although my customer still wanted it, I refused to cut a hole in his acoustic guitar so he could reach the battery without removing the strings. The main reason I refused was it's not polarized. I made no profit there.

Guy Robinson  Anderson, CA Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 11-07-2010
Vintage bone nuts / saddles

Excellent quality. My last customer oooohed when I showed him what I intended to put on his guitar. He really oooohed when I gave him the finished instrument saying it looks like ivory. A week later I asked him how it played electrically. He said he hadn't been able to put it down long enough to plug in. Great product.

Guy Robinson  Anderson, CA Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
5 11-07-2010
Stunning

What more could you ask for. The perfect blend of blank with the more frustrating fret-slots done for you. The radius on these boards is bang on too. The wood is at just the right hydration levels and works very well with sandpapers, files and wire wool. I really couldn't have expected any more from the wood itself nor its preparation.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 11-07-2010
Got it right as always

These dots are exactly what you'd look for - good looking, perfect to spec and easy to work with. A reliable choice for any new build.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
5 11-07-2010
Nice piece of kit

These truss rods are great value, well finished and easy to work with. I'll certainly be back for more.

Tom from Ireland  IRE Read my reviews (3)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
1 11-07-2010
1 meg pot

My soldering skills have diminished. did I get these pots too hot? I doubt both of them. Not enough control, from 10 to 9 volume drops drastically. I expected a better controlling pot. You would think coming from a guitar part place they would have worked better. Plan on changing them soon. Might work for you.

rockbass  Saginaw, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 11-07-2010
toggle switch

Nice quality. My soldering skills have diminished,broke the ground terminal off,my fault. Worked great. I wired my Warwick Corvette Standard stereo.

rockbass  Saginaw, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Scissor Jack
Scissor Jack
5 11-07-2010
One of my favorite inventions

After I got the hang of using it, I use it for 75% of my internal brace repairs. It works great at handling the bigger brace glue-ups that need good pressure.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 11-07-2010
Great visual for customers

Ever get the customer who complains about intonation issues? Sometimes a bridge is glued on the wrong area and this tool shows exactly what's going on and will sell you on a big repair.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
4 11-07-2010
Good for bridge re-glues

I use two of these for bridge re-glues. They keep the bridge from slipping and provide clamping strength used along with regular c-clamps. They do break after a lot of use but work great for me.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 11-07-2010
No more mistakes

One of the most useful tools in my shop. No more marring the finish! Invented by Canadian, Les Schatten.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 11-07-2010
Can't get these in Canada!

I've used lacquer pens in my shop when I was in the US but couldn't get them shipped across the border when I moved to Canada. I wanted them so bad that I ordered some and brought them with me on my next trip down and back. These have so many uses, I use them several times a week.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-07-2010
Don't have a shop without them!

So useful on so many levels. I mix up a small batch of every color for lacquer touch up.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
5 11-07-2010
New to my shop and used all the time!

I bought these in August and have used them at least once a week to help with cutting slots at the bridge pin hole for better string break angle and for smoothing rough areas causing string breakage. They are so nice and way better then the older saw version that bent on me all the time.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
4 11-07-2010
Gripper Saves The Day

I run into so many stripped truss rod nuts that need the Gripper T-Rod Wrench. It is one of my most used and useful tools in my shop, which is why it wears out quicker than I would like.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 11-07-2010
Great neck

I didn't have to refinish it at all and it feels and plays well. I coupled this with their Tele semi-hollow body and some split-coil minihums.

Miles  TX
GHS Ukulele Strings
GHS Ukulele Strings
4 11-07-2010
Very good tone and value

The GHS Uke strings, used on my Stew-Mac kit ukulele give a pleasant, bright tone, without being harsh. A number of people have commented favorably on the sound produced. I am going to use them on my almost completed scratch-built uke too.

Murray MacDonald  Blenheim, New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-07-2010
Work Great

Used Stewmacs water based laquer and ColorTone Liquid Stains. Was easy to layer up. And clean up was a since. I was very impressed with the results.

Thanks for the great products.

Hammock's Customs  ID
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19126 – 19150
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  765  766  767  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce