Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19101 – 19125
of 20996 reviews
< 1  ...  764  765  766  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 11-12-2010
essential fretting kit

Fantastic tools, the book is good, as it puts you in the driving seat and lets you decide the tools you are more comfortable with and how you want to work. Will be making further purchases from stewmac.com well done!!!!

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
4 11-11-2010
Felt like shop class

All the info is there but get the book and the dvd's. I read the book first, felt like something was missing. Then I watched the DVD's and it all made sense. It was very helpful to watch Benedetto actually build a guitar from start to finish, explaining what he's about to do in detail before demonstrating it. He's honest, funny and I am glad he wrote the book and filmed the DVD's to share his knowledge with us all.

My only problem is it's a little overpriced and the 9-1/2 hours of film contains a lot of footage that can be fast forwarded through. It's VHS footage thrown onto some DVD's. Thank God for chapter selection. One day I might edit the videos so I can watch it in half the time.

Bradley  canada Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 11-11-2010
Magnet Repair Kit

Great idea, I have used these magnets to hold re-inforcing material when repairing split tops and backs and sides on acoustic guitars. I had made wooden handles for the magnets I had bought previously, but the brass handles are less bulky and will not split.

Charles Roy Mitchell  Port Lincoln South Australia Read my reviews (2)
Paua Abalone Purfling
Paua Abalone Purfling
5 11-11-2010
Paua Abalone Purfling

I am very pleased with the quality and color of the shell.

Charles Roy Mitchell  Port Lincoln South Australia Read my reviews (2)
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
5 11-11-2010
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge

I love the aesthetics of this bridge but I am really pleased with the quality of construction, too. A really great product.

Carlotta Guitars  Ann Arbor, MI
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
4 11-11-2010
Perfect pegs

My first instrument build, an Appalachian dulcimer using Tasmanian timbers and your dulcimer pegs are perfect. It's great to be able to get the RIGHT gear - hard to find down-under.

TasLuthier  Tasmania Australia Read my reviews (3)
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
2 11-11-2010
Nut Slotting gauge

My story happened words by words like Bobby. The only way to get good readings is to put the guitar in playing position so the gravity does not affect the plunger. And even with that, the repeatability is mediocre. You have to do the reading a couple of time to be sure it's good. The indicator is not made for that type of precision, it would be way better if it was digital.

Nick  Quebec, QC, Canada
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 11-11-2010
Yes, lousy screws.

Drill a LARGE pilot hole for these. A normal-sized pilot hole is not enough. These screws WILL break off in your headstock. My perfect guitar is now messed-up because of these cheap screws.

SD  USA Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 11-11-2010
medium fretwire 0152

Dan is right on with the 152 fretwire. Right height and width and similar to what Gibson and Fender are currently using. Refretted my Gibson Tennessean with .100/.052 and fret was too high and that extra .008 width matters(more railroad track feel). Took the height down to .048 which helped. Used the 152 on '63 Epi Casino. Perfect height and feel.

My next project is my Gibson Chet atkins CE in which I will install the 152 wire. Thanx Dan.Just a note of interest. I was going to have a neck set done on my CE(sitar,chorus effect)until I realized it needed new higher frets(frets are .030 or less). Read an article on the web and the fellow made it clear why nylon string gits need higher fretwire than acoustics. The nylon gives(presses in toward the fingerboard)when fretted and with a low fret you are pressing on wood and not metal(poor string contact) therefore buzzing and such. LOVE those 152 frets. Dan thanx again!

tyguy  Tennessee
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 11-11-2010
Super Switch

The Stew Mac Super Switch is now installed in my '72 Tele Thinline Reissue with two Dimarzio Super Distortion humbuckers. Because the Super Switch is very similar to the discontinued Dimarzio 5-way switch, my guitar tech first wired it using the Dimarzio diagram. But instead of having bridge and neck split coils wired in parallel, I had it changed for the bridge and neck coils to work independently like a Strat. The result is terrific. By the way, I had a custom white pearl pick guard made by a 3rd party, and with chrome Dimarzio pickups, the guitar looks like it could be a stock version.

Mike H  Marietta, GA
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 11-11-2010
Must-have with a Bigsby

I recently purchased an Epiphone Wildkat, which comes with a Bigsby from the factory. Everything about the guitar drew me to it, and once I had it in my hand a few things came to surface immediately. The first was that this was, indeed, what I had been looking for in a hollow body guitar. The second was that the bridge was woefully inadequate. I suddenly knew why everyone complains about guitars not staying in tune with a Bigsby in play.

My local tech recommended a roller bridge, and I ultimately settled on the Schaller. It has done wonders for the Wildkat, both increasing the sustain of the guitar (thanks to greater mass) and completely eliminating the need for constant tuning. I can't imagine playing the guitar without this bridge.

It is worth noting that the Schaller is NOT a direct drop-in replacement for the Wildkat's factory bridge. ***CHECK ALL YOUR MEASUREMENTS BEFORE BUYING*** With a little cleverness and reckless abandon, I was able to install it (without using a single tool), but not everyone may be so lucky. It really is best to plan ahead and know things will work.

In short, I wouldn't trade this bridge for any other.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
Binding Router Bearings
Binding Router Bearings
3 11-11-2010
Be careful ...

The new thicker bearings are improved over the old ones, providing better reach below the purfling channel and a smoother surface for less burning. Be careful, though, as Stew Mac's method of sizing has recently changed. These have proven to be good quality bearings. I've only worn out two.

Jeff Fortenbery  Cincinnati, OH Read my reviews (5)
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
3 11-11-2010
Economy tuners

Needed some inexpensive tuners to replace those failing on an older Fender 12-string. Seem to work well, but the buttons are larger than needed for this arrangement--close together, but still not touching.

Howard  Virginia
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 11-11-2010
Color Tone Stains

I love this stuff. What an improvement from the old powder that was so difficult to dissolve. I use it for everything. I have done some nice touch up match, as well as very nice sun burst work.

Elaine Filion  Austin, Texas Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
4 11-11-2010
luv stew mac

Part was exactly what i wanted, does exactly what its supposed to do and is excellently engineered and built. I would suggest buying some locking tailpiece studs at the same time though.

mattallica  australia
Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
5 11-11-2010
Super sander

Great piece of gear, great price, thanks Stewmac. I can see so many applications for it, should have bought one years ago!

Dave Sherlock  Sydney Australia Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
4 11-11-2010
ok- but

This does work but I'm not quite as happy as the other reviewers. Its expensive- and it takes lots of time and pains to be sure it's lined up correctly. The final job turned out just as it should so I'm not complaining but the reviews didn't prepare me for the tediousness required. If you need to drill the locating holes this is the only thing I've seen that will do it.

Steve G.  Columbia TN
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-10-2010
You can't go wrong with Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are simply awesome. I put them into my personal LP style Warmoth guitar thinking I would eventually swap them out for something better. After 4 years they are still in there and I love the sound. I recommend them to a client that wanted new pickups in his PRS custom 24. I replaced the PRS pickups with the Golden Age humbuckers. He can't stop talking about them. His PRS is now his main guitar for gigging out.

Bucky  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Rotary Switches
Rotary Switches
5 11-10-2010
Installing three 6-position, 4 pole Rotary Switches

I installed a Seymour Duncan P-Rail pick-up in the middle position of a Strat and wired it to a 6-position Rotary Switch. The neck and bridge P-ups are wired to another 6-position Rotary switch and the output leads of those two switches are wired to yet another 6-position Rotary switch. This enables every combination possible (though some are redundant /useless).

The switches work great and the wiring was fun to do. Not hard at all like some reviews I read before diving in. If you can work a soldering iron, there should be no problem. One thing to point out is that I did this for recording sounds; to avoid filtering or EQing. In my case, with three switches, it takes a bit of time to dial in the sounds; Too much fiddling. But most folks wont use three in a scheme so it would be fine for live use.

boolaboolaman  New Orleans
Customer supplied image for review
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 11-10-2010
Preval Spray Unit

This is an amazing product. Aside from the incredible price, the spray bomb lasts far longer than I expected. The lacquer jar has measurement marks on the side, making it simple to prepare the mix. I will definitely be buying more of these as I cannot justify a professional spray system.

RichardBest  Canada
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
5 11-10-2010
Great Tuners, but not on a nylon string

I have a very rare Fender Nylon String telecaster. The tuning slips a bit on the higher strings so I wanted to try some locking tuners. To see if it would help. Overall they worked, but the high E string still didn't keep tuning well and then kept snapping because of where the tuners grip the String.

I had the old Grover locking tuners on an old musicman, that grip over a wider surface area, they might have worked, but these didn't. I'm still yet to try some high quality strings, but I'm doubtful.

That said, these are still great tuners and I'm very interested in replacing my Grover tuners on another guitar because I bought there.

James David Low  Hong Kong
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
2 11-10-2010
Good Idea poor quality

They will work but not the quality I expected. Hard to use inside body with one hand.

D Tripp  Argyle NY
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 11-10-2010
Offset Diamond File

This file works great, but it's a little more aggressive than what I had hoped. I'll be adding the finer one to the tool kit, and will most likely be the one I reach for most often.

Allen McFarlen  Australia
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 11-10-2010
Tuner Bushing Press

This little beauty takes all of the sweat out of removing/replacing bushings in vintage instruments or freshly finished headstocks.

Puba Musical Instruments  Le Claire, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 11-10-2010
Peghead Bushing Reamers

A "must have" for any repair shop. Makes repairing or making new holes a snap.

Puba Musical Instruments  Le Claire, Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 19101 – 19125
of 20996 reviews
< 1  ...  764  765  766  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce