Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19101 – 19125
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  764  765  766  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Saddle Routing Jig
Saddle Routing Jig
5 11-14-2010
The perfect jig

After shaking and sweating, I took my courage and my Dremel in hands and cut the perfect saddle slot with this perfect jig. Easy and accurate to use even for a new comer!

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
2 11-14-2010
Great Tuners... almost

I like to try innovative new products that are hopefully an improvement over old standards. I ordered the Steinberger tuners for a '85 Jap Strat rebuild looking for tuning stability. Once installed, they strung up easily and tuned nice and smooth with good fine adjustment. Over time it was realized that the Steinbergers would drift requiring frequent retuning.

I feel that the design is really an improvement over conventional 90 degree geared tuners, however, the development process for this product is incomplete. There needs to be some tension device or resistance built into the Steinbergers to keep the threaded tuning system in position. The 40:1 mechanical advantage is almost too much (yet provides super accurate tuning) and the weight of the tuning knob overcomes the string tension. If this problem could be corrected these would be an evolutionary jump in tuner design.

I had to rate these only two stars because as a tuner they do not work as well as a conventional tuner, if this could be corrected the design would rate six stars.

After talking with StewMac customer service they allowed me to return the tuners for a refund. As usual, StewMac puts us, the customers, before sales. Thanks StewMac.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
5 11-14-2010
the perfect reference book

A culmination of The Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams Vol. 1 & 2. Everything you need to wire up just about anything you can think of.

chrisk55  Minneapolis
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 11-14-2010
Wraparound Bridge

I will be using the Pigtail and Tonepros studs/bridges on my solidbody & semi-hollow electric guitars from now on. Excellent sustain in a very attractive looking & streamlined bridge/tailpiece.

Rusch Guitars  Youngstown, NY Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-14-2010
Waverly Retrofit

I wanted to give my Martin a lift, and replacing the old machines seemed a good idea. I found the Waverly's are exactly what they are cracked up to be - smooth and accurate, and hold very well. Certainly the best machines I have ever owned - highly recommended!

Chris Pemberton  Darwin, NT, Australia
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 11-13-2010
Love It!

This will save you money if you have a drill press. With this fret press I can fret a guitar in 5 min.

Mr.Schroeder  S.D. Read my reviews (6)
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 11-13-2010
Great Switch

I wired my 3-Single Coil Strat 1) Neck+Middle Series, 2) Middle+Bridge Series, 3) Neck, 4) Middle, 5) Bridge. This emulates front and rear humbuckers in positions 1 & 2 and single coils in positions 3, 4, & 5. However, I must have spent two hours trying to figure out how to wire everything and then probably another hour to get everything wired up. Flexibility comes with a price...

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 11-13-2010
Best Tuner I've Used

This is by far the best tuner I have ever used. Comparing against Schaller M6, Grover Imperials, Grover Rotomatic, Spertzels, Klusons, etc., etc. It is the smoothest turning and has a nice fine gear ratio that makes tuning much easier.

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-13-2010
Great Product

This is a great product. I have a spray gun, but I hate all the cleaning I have to do after every coat. The aerosol is quite a bit more expensive than lacquer in a can, but it more than makes up in convenience for a hobbyist.

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
5 11-13-2010
Very Nice Tele Bridge

Much better forming and finish than the Fender replacement part, and made from a thicker gauge of metal. Priced attractively as well.

Joel  MS
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
4 11-13-2010
Excellent (if you know what your doing)

I bought a piece of the maple, and it turned out great (with some light sanding). But I'm a beginner, and I thought this would already be the right size, but I was wrong. So I would only get this fingerboard if you know what you doing! Other than that, great for the price!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
4 11-13-2010
dots

The pearl dots worked fine and were good quality. they were tight in the inlay holes and did require a slight tap to seat them.

Johnston Guitar Works  Tillamook, Oregon
Straight Router Bits
Straight Router Bits
4 11-13-2010
useful for inlays

Good small size makes them very useful for inlays, but unlike the other reviewer I'm glad they come in a 6 pack, as they tend to break on me quite often.

DavidP  Matthews, NC Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 11-13-2010
2" tape

Only place I can find copper tape this wide for shielding. That the back is also conductive makes for easy and quick work without having to solder together pieces.

DavidP  Matthews, NC Read my reviews (2)
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
1 11-13-2010
Junk

Don't buy them! I have broken of 3 of them in the same guitar!

Mr.Schroeder  S.D. Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-13-2010
The legendary tone of all the time!

If you want tones from Chuck Berry to Nirvana, Steve Vai to Slash, Steve Ray Vaughan to Metallica, AC/DC to Gun's N Roses..
Give them as a gift to your guitar and make it a real guitar.

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 11-13-2010
There is no chance to out of tune!

I put these Grover Tuners to my Les Paul copy. Former tuners are like a junk. These are keeps my guitar in tune. There is no chance to out of tune also with new strings!

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
5 11-13-2010
This is what your guitar wants!

First, make your guitar happy, in this way you will be happy. Let them make your guitar rocks!

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
5 11-12-2010
Excellent Strings

These GHS Boomers are at least as good as any other brand. Sound amazing, play effortlessly and are great value. Also they come in sealed packets so they wont go rusty if you have them lying around for years on end.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 11-12-2010
Cuts the mustard... and more.

I got in the 1/32 bit in just as I was using a Dremel bit and switched to the one from Stew Mac - the old bit is now retired. I am using this for really tiny inlay work. Now I wish they would make a 1/64. Cuts nicely into hardwoods.

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
5 11-12-2010
Top quality sanding

Quick and easy to replace sleeves top quality.

Dave Sherlock  Sydney Australia Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-12-2010
Parson Street HBs

Great sound, great value. Usually, I don't care too much for the pickups in my guitars. I take whatever my luthier recommends and that's about it. My Heritage Prospect from the Mid-90s was an exception. It's a fantastic little guitar but they shipped it with some dark sounding German pickups. It took me some years and many different pickups until I finally found the Parson Street HBs.

I chose the Alncio 2 version for both neck and bridge position and I couldn't be happier with that. To me it doesn't get any better just more expensive. The picture shows the guitar after the installation featuring the odd-colored (fitting the pickguard color) HB mounting rings from StewMac.

JCG  Hannover, Germany
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 11-12-2010
It Just Makes So Much Sense!

The jack/cup combo has always been the Tele's Achilles heel. This solution is SO simple and So logical it makes one wonder why it ain't stock on ANY new Tele-style axe. (By the way, installation takes about 63 seconds so there really ain't no excuse!)

JC Ayer  Milwaukee, WI
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-12-2010
muy muy util y practico

nuestro "perro" es perfecto para ajustar muchas piezas y partes. simplemente una maravilla!!!

Mauricio Olivares  Santiago, chile Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-12-2010
Stwe-Mac gauged nut files

After reading comments about other vendor's files not cutting cleanly and loading up with nut material I decided to go with the slightly more expensive ones from Stew-Mac.

I've now cut several nuts of different material and can say definitively that these files are everything you could want - in terms of smooth, clean, and secure cutting.

They're easy to use, easy to control, and produce an excellent result.

fpirrone  buffalo, ny
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 19101 – 19125
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  764  765  766  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce