Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19076 – 19100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  763  764  765  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 11-13-2010
There is no chance to out of tune!

I put these Grover Tuners to my Les Paul copy. Former tuners are like a junk. These are keeps my guitar in tune. There is no chance to out of tune also with new strings!

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
5 11-13-2010
This is what your guitar wants!

First, make your guitar happy, in this way you will be happy. Let them make your guitar rocks!

Ali Tolga Ayrim  Istanbul, TURKEY Read my reviews (3)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
5 11-12-2010
Excellent Strings

These GHS Boomers are at least as good as any other brand. Sound amazing, play effortlessly and are great value. Also they come in sealed packets so they wont go rusty if you have them lying around for years on end.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 11-12-2010
Cuts the mustard... and more.

I got in the 1/32 bit in just as I was using a Dremel bit and switched to the one from Stew Mac - the old bit is now retired. I am using this for really tiny inlay work. Now I wish they would make a 1/64. Cuts nicely into hardwoods.

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
5 11-12-2010
Top quality sanding

Quick and easy to replace sleeves top quality.

Dave Sherlock  Sydney Australia Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-12-2010
Parson Street HBs

Great sound, great value. Usually, I don't care too much for the pickups in my guitars. I take whatever my luthier recommends and that's about it. My Heritage Prospect from the Mid-90s was an exception. It's a fantastic little guitar but they shipped it with some dark sounding German pickups. It took me some years and many different pickups until I finally found the Parson Street HBs.

I chose the Alncio 2 version for both neck and bridge position and I couldn't be happier with that. To me it doesn't get any better just more expensive. The picture shows the guitar after the installation featuring the odd-colored (fitting the pickguard color) HB mounting rings from StewMac.

JCG  Hannover, Germany
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 11-12-2010
It Just Makes So Much Sense!

The jack/cup combo has always been the Tele's Achilles heel. This solution is SO simple and So logical it makes one wonder why it ain't stock on ANY new Tele-style axe. (By the way, installation takes about 63 seconds so there really ain't no excuse!)

JC Ayer  Milwaukee, WI
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-12-2010
muy muy util y practico

nuestro "perro" es perfecto para ajustar muchas piezas y partes. simplemente una maravilla!!!

Mauricio Olivares  Santiago, chile Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-12-2010
Stwe-Mac gauged nut files

After reading comments about other vendor's files not cutting cleanly and loading up with nut material I decided to go with the slightly more expensive ones from Stew-Mac.

I've now cut several nuts of different material and can say definitively that these files are everything you could want - in terms of smooth, clean, and secure cutting.

They're easy to use, easy to control, and produce an excellent result.

fpirrone  buffalo, ny
Customer supplied image for review
Inspection Mirror
Inspection Mirror
4 11-12-2010
Great tool, but a little delicate

I got one of these to install a pickup in a parlor guitar, and it worked very well. I used it for many non-musical-instrument jobs as well. The weld holding the mirror to the shaft is weak, and it broke after a few years of use, but I think that's my fault; I tossed it in a box when moving. I'll buy another the next time I have to install a pickup.

neilfein  Highland Park, NJ
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 11-12-2010
Perfect ....!!!!

Another perfect tool for the children of stewmac that make our life easier ..... Thank stewmac .......!!!!!

georges  athens-Greece Read my reviews (2)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 11-12-2010
Bone is Better...

I prefer bone over plastic. Personally I think they have improved the sound on both of my Martin guitars. They are also less likely to "wallow out" or become crooked. In switching to new pins, make sure they are seated into the holes properly - if you have to ream the holes don't go wild. (...just a little at a time until you get there!)

The pin shouldn't extend out of the bridge any more than necessary and all six should be the same height. If it needs modification, and you aren't comfortable doing it, seek out the help of a qualified repairman!

If you're looking to bring your guitar up to it's highest potential this is the best way to start - make it has bone pins AND a bone nut and bone saddle.

Robert S.  NC
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 11-12-2010
vintage knobs

Beautiful stuff. Had to widen the holes a bit though but with care it worked fine.

vanspronssen  alphen, Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 11-12-2010
Amazing!

I have been replacing tuning machines for friends and clients for the better part of a decade. This tool makes the process fly by with incredible accuracy. I also love how it protects the rest of the headstock from accidental damage with its guide. This tool, like beer, is proof of heaven on earth!

Jeremy Hartwell  Boston MA
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-12-2010
Quality standard

I have tried several different products & I find that I prefer your. It may even come from the same factory for all I know it just seems to work for me .

mike g  lebanon nh
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-12-2010
Ebony Button Waverlys

Excellent tuner with a great platform for inlay!

David Nichols  Malone, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 11-12-2010
Very impressed

Just installed the Parsons Street P-90 in a lap steel I built. Sounds great clean and just freakin nasty with some overdrive. Very happy customer here.

WDMX  Oregon
Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
5 11-12-2010
Truss Rod Wrench Set

I already had a hodgepodge of truss rod wrenches as required for my repair business but I did need a few sizes that I did not already have. So I bit the bullet so-to-speak and ordered Stew-Mac's excellent truss rod wrench set.

These wrenches are excellent in all respects. The quality should last a life time and the designs clearly were well thought out as well.

I knew in advance that some of the sizes may not get very much use however there is an expectation when in the repair business that one is tooled-up for the job. Stew-Mac's truss wrench set is a fast and easy way to cover the bases and be prepared to adjust nearly any truss rod that comes my way.

Thanks Stew-Mac!

Lenawee Lutherie  Tecumseh Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-12-2010
Improved Stew-Mac Nut Files

I had the opportunity to demo Stew-Mac's new and improved nut files and I was so very impressed that I did not hesitate to purchase replacements for some of my older files.

The new nut files have a much more uniform and aggressive cutting pattern when viewed under magnification. As such the cut is more predictable, uniform, and in my opinion easier as well.

I also have a full suite of Grobet files which prior to trying Stew-Mac's new and improved nut files had been my favorite. Not anymore though - once again Stew-Mac comes through with an excellent tool at a very competitive price.

Thanks Stew-Mac!

Lenawee Lutherie  Tecumseh Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 11-12-2010
essential fretting kit

Fantastic tools, the book is good, as it puts you in the driving seat and lets you decide the tools you are more comfortable with and how you want to work. Will be making further purchases from stewmac.com well done!!!!

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
4 11-11-2010
Felt like shop class

All the info is there but get the book and the dvd's. I read the book first, felt like something was missing. Then I watched the DVD's and it all made sense. It was very helpful to watch Benedetto actually build a guitar from start to finish, explaining what he's about to do in detail before demonstrating it. He's honest, funny and I am glad he wrote the book and filmed the DVD's to share his knowledge with us all.

My only problem is it's a little overpriced and the 9-1/2 hours of film contains a lot of footage that can be fast forwarded through. It's VHS footage thrown onto some DVD's. Thank God for chapter selection. One day I might edit the videos so I can watch it in half the time.

Bradley  canada Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 11-11-2010
Magnet Repair Kit

Great idea, I have used these magnets to hold re-inforcing material when repairing split tops and backs and sides on acoustic guitars. I had made wooden handles for the magnets I had bought previously, but the brass handles are less bulky and will not split.

Charles Roy Mitchell  Port Lincoln South Australia Read my reviews (2)
Paua Abalone Purfling
Paua Abalone Purfling
5 11-11-2010
Paua Abalone Purfling

I am very pleased with the quality and color of the shell.

Charles Roy Mitchell  Port Lincoln South Australia Read my reviews (2)
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
5 11-11-2010
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge

I love the aesthetics of this bridge but I am really pleased with the quality of construction, too. A really great product.

Carlotta Guitars  Ann Arbor, MI
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
4 11-11-2010
Perfect pegs

My first instrument build, an Appalachian dulcimer using Tasmanian timbers and your dulcimer pegs are perfect. It's great to be able to get the RIGHT gear - hard to find down-under.

TasLuthier  Tasmania Australia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 19076 – 19100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  763  764  765  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce