Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19051 – 19075
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  762  763  764  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 11-14-2010
good

A lot of the tools stew mac sells can be fashioned yourself for less perhaps, but some people don't have the time or setup. These get the job done.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 11-14-2010
hooray

wanna route for a humbucker? buy this.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Battery Box Template
Battery Box Template
5 11-14-2010
yip yep

Have yet to actually use this... not many battery box install jobs coming in, but i'm sure i'll love it.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 11-14-2010
yay!

these do the job well.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 11-14-2010
great

plastic routing templates... what else do you want?

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-14-2010
excellent

Great product. Levels frets quickly.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 11-14-2010
cool

Another great product, but doesn't get used very often honestly. I could live without it.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Bridge Plate Stock
Bridge Plate Stock
1 11-14-2010
Bridge plate stock

I am very unhappy with the bridge plate stock I received. It is floppy and not at all stiff, and I won't be using this in any acoustic guitar. I think that using a piece of maple this flexible would be detrimental to the structural integrity of the acoustic guitar down the road, and I wish that stew mac would be more careful with quality control on such an item. I know it is cheap, but it is also an important aspect of the acoustic guitar in my opinion. Maybe I just got a bad piece, and that's okay, but I have found way better maple bridge plate stock elsewhere.

Jonas Baker  New Haven, CT Read my reviews (2)
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 11-14-2010
excellent

Great files. i have the 3/16 and 1/4 sizes. i use them often and i am glad i own them.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 11-14-2010
much needed tool for your shop

The string action gauge is a must need tool for setting up your guitar. It takes the guesswork out of trying to figure out the height that you need at the twelfth fret to keep your strings from buzzing if your guitar neck is straight. Thanks for making my job easier.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 11-14-2010
great material

I purchased the vintage bone nuts from stewmac. because I fill they have the finest there is for looks & for tone. They make my guitar, & others that I have put them on, sound their best. Thanks for a great product.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
Fret Work Step-By-Step
Fret Work Step-By-Step
5 11-14-2010
Merry Christmas

This my second copy of a fine source of information. I loaned out my first copy over a year ago and the person (a very good friend) won't return it. I'll tell him to keep it and "Merry Christmas!"

Phil K.  Rockledge, FL Read my reviews (2)
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
5 11-14-2010
Gilles Danis

I am writing a short review of the Schaller roller bass bridge. This is the best bass bridge I have used so far, it is solid, precise and gives a good resonance to the strings because of its weight. The wheel adjustment is very useful and user friendly.

Gilles Danis  Drumheller, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 11-14-2010
A great bridge!

I've installed these roller bridges on 4 diff custom 6-string guitars and they are great. Made of high quality material (I think they are German made) with an extra base attachment should you need to increase the height of the entire bridge. The roller mechanism is a great invention and is very stable and easy to adjust. I would recommend these for any fixed bridge.

Lothar  Florida
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 11-14-2010
Great first time kit!

I've just complete my first kit and, as the instructions says: I cant' stop now, I must build a new guitar

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Saddle Routing Jig
Saddle Routing Jig
5 11-14-2010
The perfect jig

After shaking and sweating, I took my courage and my Dremel in hands and cut the perfect saddle slot with this perfect jig. Easy and accurate to use even for a new comer!

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
2 11-14-2010
Great Tuners... almost

I like to try innovative new products that are hopefully an improvement over old standards. I ordered the Steinberger tuners for a '85 Jap Strat rebuild looking for tuning stability. Once installed, they strung up easily and tuned nice and smooth with good fine adjustment. Over time it was realized that the Steinbergers would drift requiring frequent retuning.

I feel that the design is really an improvement over conventional 90 degree geared tuners, however, the development process for this product is incomplete. There needs to be some tension device or resistance built into the Steinbergers to keep the threaded tuning system in position. The 40:1 mechanical advantage is almost too much (yet provides super accurate tuning) and the weight of the tuning knob overcomes the string tension. If this problem could be corrected these would be an evolutionary jump in tuner design.

I had to rate these only two stars because as a tuner they do not work as well as a conventional tuner, if this could be corrected the design would rate six stars.

After talking with StewMac customer service they allowed me to return the tuners for a refund. As usual, StewMac puts us, the customers, before sales. Thanks StewMac.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
5 11-14-2010
the perfect reference book

A culmination of The Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams Vol. 1 & 2. Everything you need to wire up just about anything you can think of.

chrisk55  Minneapolis
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 11-14-2010
Wraparound Bridge

I will be using the Pigtail and Tonepros studs/bridges on my solidbody & semi-hollow electric guitars from now on. Excellent sustain in a very attractive looking & streamlined bridge/tailpiece.

Rusch Guitars  Youngstown, NY Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-14-2010
Waverly Retrofit

I wanted to give my Martin a lift, and replacing the old machines seemed a good idea. I found the Waverly's are exactly what they are cracked up to be - smooth and accurate, and hold very well. Certainly the best machines I have ever owned - highly recommended!

Chris Pemberton  Darwin, NT, Australia
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 11-13-2010
Love It!

This will save you money if you have a drill press. With this fret press I can fret a guitar in 5 min.

Mr.Schroeder  S.D. Read my reviews (6)
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 11-13-2010
Great Switch

I wired my 3-Single Coil Strat 1) Neck+Middle Series, 2) Middle+Bridge Series, 3) Neck, 4) Middle, 5) Bridge. This emulates front and rear humbuckers in positions 1 & 2 and single coils in positions 3, 4, & 5. However, I must have spent two hours trying to figure out how to wire everything and then probably another hour to get everything wired up. Flexibility comes with a price...

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 11-13-2010
Best Tuner I've Used

This is by far the best tuner I have ever used. Comparing against Schaller M6, Grover Imperials, Grover Rotomatic, Spertzels, Klusons, etc., etc. It is the smoothest turning and has a nice fine gear ratio that makes tuning much easier.

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-13-2010
Great Product

This is a great product. I have a spray gun, but I hate all the cleaning I have to do after every coat. The aerosol is quite a bit more expensive than lacquer in a can, but it more than makes up in convenience for a hobbyist.

Jimmy  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
5 11-13-2010
Very Nice Tele Bridge

Much better forming and finish than the Fender replacement part, and made from a thicker gauge of metal. Priced attractively as well.

Joel  MS
Displaying 19051 – 19075
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  762  763  764  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce