Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19026 – 19050
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  761  762  763  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 11-16-2010
Good product

I bought an ebony. Very good quality product, and almost black.

Aleksander  NJ, USA Read my reviews (4)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 11-16-2010
Natural Wood Bindings Ebony

I adore these black strips! There is no equal! Simply order them and StewMac delivers them to you, now I know it.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 11-16-2010
Very nice hardtail bridge w/huge adjustability

This is a very well made fixed hardtail bridge. The biggest plus for this item is the designed-in adjustability. It has the largest intonation range of any bridge I have used so far. If string height is a problem the included spacer gives more than enough height adjustment beyond just the saddle screws. String spacing is adjustable also.

Once the saddles are set up for intonation and string action use the eccentric screw to lock the saddles in place. I have not found a better fixed bridge with this many features. The only improvement for this item has already be made by Schaller, where the strings can be anchored from underneath the bridge for more string pressure on the saddles. However, I have not found this upgraded version to be available in the States.

Generally, this is a very solid, well designed piece of equipment for your build. So far I have one in black and one in chrome, both look and sound great and I will use this item for more hardtail builds.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-16-2010
one of the best tools I own

I have used the ESP Multi Spanner countless times since buying it. It's the most efficient and practical way to work with TOM bridges and all of the nuts in your guitars.

Maxwell  Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
5 11-16-2010
Replacement Archtop Bridge in Ebony

High quality and great value for money purchase. Bought two of these to experiment in making my own bridge-based pick up to preserve the original look of my K. Yairi RP1 archtop guitar. Only one slight downside is that the ebony is just slightly lighter in color than the original, but not a major issue.

Raymond Prendergast  Scotland
Customer supplied image for review
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
4 11-15-2010
All Telecasters Should Have These

I was reluctantly considering selling my Squier CV 50's Tele. I loved its tone, but it almost always sounded out of tune to me. I decided to gamble on a set of these saddles, and I am glad I did. The intonation is MUCH improved and the added sustain is a bonus. These changed a "just-OK" guitar into a keeper.

hotsauce57  Ohio
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 11-15-2010
Ball Bearing Router Bits

This latest set replaces those which I purchased quite a number of years ago. They work just fine on all types of cavities when used in conjunction with the cavity routing templates I recently bought, as well as those other odd ones I've had to make in the past. Next time I order I'll have to get some extra bearings just in case I need to go a little deeper some time.

Laurie Bell  Brooklyn,Melbourne,Australia
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 11-15-2010
Very decent wire

If you are using it on your first guitar, you will be impressed. I am still using it on my 16th+ guitar. A definite buy.

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 11-15-2010
This is the right tool for this job.

There is only one way to get the frets rounded after you level them off.

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 11-15-2010
Saves time when gluing frets

The Caul is heavily-constructed steel. The inserts hold in place with a tiny set screw. I tried one or two inserts until I found the right one to do the job. The curved groove in the end of the insert fit perfectly over the fret face. This is a Pro piece of equipment for your shop!

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 11-15-2010
Definite Must-Buy

I really wondered about the quality of this template. That is, until I opened the box. Heavy and perfectly spaced, this template will not let you down.

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 11-15-2010
Excellent!!!!!!

Recently bought both of these pickups and installed them into my Mexi Tele, to great success! Such sweet golden delicious tone! Only one problem they sent me the wrong screws for the neck, but i took care of that myself.

Johnny Harpo  Reno, Nevada Read my reviews (2)
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
Electric Guitar & Bass Design
5 11-15-2010
A box of surprises

When people talk about "guitar design" they refer to the shape of the body. But this book relates those shapes to a "classic" or a "radical" character based on its geometry; it tells you about ergonomics, about the metaphor it embodies (!), about the originality and inspiration in a world over-saturated with strats and paulas. And that's only the first 3 or 4 chapters.
I am a musician, not a luthier, so even if it is well written in plain English, I believe the technical depth of the rest of the book will be enjoyed mostly by guitarmakers, not guitarists. I really liked the interviews with professional designers at the end, though.
Nice edition, original and recommended.

Ibanez Forever  Flensburg, Germany
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 11-14-2010
great

Not many places to find this particular switch apparently, since not many people need a right angle 3 pickup switch. Had an sg custom come through and stew mac saved the day.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for 12-String Slotted Peghead Guitar
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for 12-String Slotted Peghead Guitar
5 11-14-2010
excellent

These look beautiful. Very high quality. Ended up not needing them for the job but I'm sure they would function well. Saving them for something nice.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 11-14-2010
cool

I bought the coarse version (can't imagine what i would need 800 or 1800 grit fret levelers for... (anyone?). I made a handle for it and epoxied it on because there is no way you're gonna use this comfortably without some way to grip it. Very useful for light leveling jobs and i use it to clean up the marks the fret leveling file leaves behind.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Bridge Clamping Caul
Bridge Clamping Caul
4 11-14-2010
good but...

The idea and execution are excellent but this doesn't work well on every guitar. Some bridge designs/shapes don't work with this. Useful sometimes but not the miracle i was hoping for.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Pickguard Bevel Cutter
Pickguard Bevel Cutter
5 11-14-2010
great

quality router bit for sure

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 11-14-2010
great

These work great. Useful for grabbing and lifting acoustic saddles and fender style nuts as well.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
4 11-14-2010
good

A lot of the tools stew mac sells can be fashioned yourself for less perhaps, but some people don't have the time or setup. These get the job done.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 11-14-2010
hooray

wanna route for a humbucker? buy this.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Battery Box Template
Battery Box Template
5 11-14-2010
yip yep

Have yet to actually use this... not many battery box install jobs coming in, but i'm sure i'll love it.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 11-14-2010
yay!

these do the job well.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 11-14-2010
great

plastic routing templates... what else do you want?

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-14-2010
excellent

Great product. Levels frets quickly.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 19026 – 19050
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  761  762  763  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce