Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 19026 – 19050
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  761  762  763  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-19-2010
Another winner from Waverly

I put these on my '06 D-18 Authentic and they are super accurate and no backlash. I don't know if it is the size of the button, but these are not quite as smooth as the butterbean knob model I reviewed earlier. However, I will be purchasing this style again for my Martin Custom 15 to replace the worn Schallers.

SJK  Boulder, Colorado Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
5 11-19-2010
Gotoh 510 locking tuners

These tuners are the best I've seen, Extremely high quality. They are built solid and tough and look amazing too. The locking mechanism is great you just unscrew the top put the string in and your done! They stay in tune really well and are great for people who like bending strings a lot. These tuners are a must for any new guitar.

DGordonYoungLuthier  NYC , NY Read my reviews (3)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
3 11-19-2010
not as good as the regular cam clamps

These are finished nicely but they do not work as well as they should. There is way too much side to side play between the top and bottom clamps. This is a problem because it prevents the face of the clamps from lining up straight and it allows the work pieces to drift more than they would otherwise.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
5 11-19-2010
perfect

I have purchased several of the small and deep throat clamps. They are nicely made and are also very sturdy.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 11-19-2010
Not needed but wicked.

My first mounting ring had a sharp crack in an annoying spot. When I decided to replace them, I wanted to go with something uncommon. This upgrade may do nothing for your sound but its a cheap way to rekindle an old romance.

F. Gray  Alberta Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 11-19-2010
Black/w/b Pickguard Material

I bought this for a guitar I had built. The guitar had a 1-ply pickguard that I had cut before. But I wasn't satisfied with it, so I bought this pickguard material to cut a new one. I took the pickguard out, put it on the pickguard material, drew around it and cut a new pickguard using a jig saw. It worked perfectly.

The material doesn't melt when you cut it and it is thick so that I could countersink my pickguard screws. Recommended.

Gokay  Houston, TX
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 11-19-2010
The wait is over!

My "Banner Head" Gibson LG-2 lost its original tuners. The original tuners were open-geared and exact replacements could not be had with the plate footprint to match the original. At least not until now. With the relic finish bent tab 3 on a plate tuners I have an exact replacement that looks almost original and works better than I expected. They are great.

jimbo eastbay  Panama City, FL Read my reviews (2)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
2 11-19-2010
1/16" bits

These bits are nicely made. However, the width of cut exceeds .0625". So, if you are using .0625" purfling for rosettes, like I do, don't use this bit. It will leave a gap that wood swelling doesn't compensate for. Had to reject and remake a top.

The setup I used was a dremmel with the Stewmac router base and rosette circle cutter.

Sharp Guitars  New Jersey
Amp Corners
Amp Corners
5 11-19-2010
Perfect

excellent purchase

Simão  Brasil
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-19-2010
Great bang for your bucks

First of all, I picked priority mail which was 5-10 business days so I was very surprised to receive the pickups in 3 days. I've been playing for some 30+ years and I've tried a lot of p-ups and these golden age vintage p-ups can get you from smooth jazz to a rockin' and a rollin' and every thing in between. My guitar is a strat with a swamp ash body,maple neck and birdseye maple fingerboard. Not overly midrange, which I like. It's just right. Can't go wrong at these prices!

Daryl  Wahiawa,Hi.
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-18-2010
Great

Quick and easy, jack nuts, machine heads, tuneomatic bridge height, pots. One tool fits them all in all sizes. If I lose this I will replace it.

DaveR  UK Read my reviews (2)
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
4 11-18-2010
Good

Good product, especially the fine wheels. The extra fine wheels are a little too fine though, you get a better (and easier) final polish with a felt wheel and a bit of polishing compound.
I've read that you can put a groove in these wheels with a file handle but i found i just ended up with a shiny file handle. Folding a bit of 320 grit sandpaper to a nice round fret shape and shaping the wheel on that works a lot better.

DaveR  UK Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 11-18-2010
Great Value

Great quality and a great value.

Steve T.  Florence, MA.
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
5 11-18-2010
Great tone

I've fitted these to two of my own guitars and got compliments from hardened sound engineers about both of them. The signal is strong and balanced and true to the instrument's tone. They also seem to have minimal effect on the unplugged sound, especially if a simple battery clip is used rather than the bag supplied.

Ron McQuarrie  NSW Australia Read my reviews (5)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
1 11-18-2010
Cheap Screws

I'm generally happy with you, StewMac but buying anything with cheap, casted screws will eventually reflect poorly on you. I broke one off today applying very little torque with the screw going into a .1" hole. This was a grave disappointment considering this was the last operation on this instrument.

Believe me, I know how to turn a screw. Don't trust these screws. Get some quality machined brass screws for these and throw out the provided screws. I bought gold buttons, fyi.

Zlurgh  Spoakne, WA
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
5 11-18-2010
Good replacement screws

I have a washburn N4, 2006, the saddle screws that came on the Schaller are horrible. Very small hex, can't get them tight enough to really hold things down. I got these and wow what a difference, I am confident those saddles are not moving. Got the Allen wrench with them of course.

pixel  Boston, Ma
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-18-2010
Bone nut adjustments

These files made a great difference to adjusting the bone nut and saddle on a J-185 guitar - far better than trying to guess the right part of a swiss file to use - been there!

Francis M  Reading, UK
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 11-18-2010
A strong attraction..

These are the perfect tools for small and hard to access clamping jobs.

These are not toys. They will shatter if allowed to "slam" together. (Thanks, Stew-Mac for a speedy replacement.)

David A. Wiseman  Spruce Pine, NC
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines 6-In-Line
5 11-18-2010
Grover Mini Roto-Grip's Blow Sperzels away!!!

These tuners are fantastic! I purchased these and installed on my Franken Steinocaster as replacements for the Sperzel Locking tuners that were installed previously. No comparison whatsoever. If you are currently using Sperzels, replace them immediately with these, they are so much better it's ridiculous. The Sperzels are 12:1, these Grovers are 18:1,you figure it out.

The ability to fine tune with these is so much better. This is the single best mod I have done to any of my Guitars. I have non-locking Grovers on one of my other guitars and they are great too. I will use Grover's exclusively on all my guitars and in all recommendations I make to my clients.

Thanks again Stew Mac - I can always count on you folks to deliver the best products at a great price with excellent service to boot. Fanfreakintastic!

Sincerely,
Dave Grim - Owner/Builder

Dave G  Etters, PA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
4 11-18-2010
Great bits and a suggestion

I'm an amateur luthier and I bought the set of two. These bits are sharp and make very good, clean cuts. I've only had a couple of problems that are probably related to my inexperience, but could be mitigated in future versions of these bits. Specifically, stop collars would be much better than the teflon tubing to keep the bearing from running up the shank -- I overcut a pickup cavity when the 3/8" bit's bearings traveled just a little and lost contact with the template. Nothing a pickguard can't cover on this particular body, but a stop collar would be a good addition. Otherwise these are great bits!

KD  USA
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 11-18-2010
Just love it

This is the *only* way to mount a jack for a Telecaster.

Jim Grill  Yardley, PA Read my reviews (3)
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
5 11-18-2010
Fits Telecaster perfectly

I used one of these on a recent telecaster build with highly figured wood. I didn't want to hide the awesome wood with a pick guard and this worked perfectly and fit perfectly with a standard Tele neck pickup.

Jim Grill  Yardley, PA Read my reviews (3)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 11-18-2010
Good stuff

I like this glue. It makes less of a mess than super glue and provides a longer open time. It dries hard as a rock and the bond is excellent. I'll never use super glue again.

Jim Grill  Yardley, PA Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 11-18-2010
A Reassuring Read

I'm finishing my second guitar using ReRanch products. Although the ReRanch instructions are pretty good and their forum is helpful, using this book has given me a much clearer picture of the what's and why's and how's. Feeling like this second guitar will come out much better.
And, like a lot of Dan's books and videos, if you are into guitars, they make just plain entertaining reading. He and co-author DonMacRostie include history, anecdotes, and dozens of tips that only someone with their experience would know about. They are very generous about sharing their knowledge, and their love of everything guitar shines through.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 11-18-2010
Just Get It

This gauge has so many uses - set ups, locating drill holes, etc. Elegant and has different scales. You need it.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 19026 – 19050
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  761  762  763  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce