Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18976 – 19000
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  759  760  761  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-22-2010
Awesome

Easy to use, durable, fits ANY nut and neck. Great idea, wonderful tool. Thank you.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
3 11-22-2010
Long shaft pots

These are very hard-to-find pots, so I must thank Stewmac for them. Hardly overpriced

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 11-22-2010
Best slotting files available

Maybe these files are slightly overpriced, but what else will do their work?

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-22-2010
Good tool

Handy and efficient file. Cutting surface planŠµ is absolutely flat (of course I don't mean surface itself), that is essential for fret leveling. This tool saved A LOT of my time and abrasive papers.

It leaves some unwanted scratches on frets, but you need only minor grinding (i use 320 abrasive paper) to eliminate them.

i wish i had the same tool but extended length - like 9 or 10 inches.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 11-22-2010
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT DESIGN

I installed these tuners months ago and I am still blown away by them. I have waited to find a downfall, but remain impressed. I will have these on every stringed instrument I own.

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-22-2010
You should own these

If you own a guitar, then these should be in your toolbox. They work so quickly, it's like cheating

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
3 11-22-2010
impressed at first, but wait there's more

I thought I was buying something that would last, but within weeks the bridge started to actually rust. Not just tarnish, but actual oxidization. The bar will not stay in the bridge without placing one wrap of tape around the end of the trem bar to keep it from falling into the floor.

Setting the intonation is probably the worst feature. It is accomplished with a small thumbscrew that sets parallel to the body of the guitar. You will grind your fingertips raw screwing this thing in and out. After you unlock the saddle and get it adjusted, locking it back in place takes it out of adjustment and it's back to unscrewing the thumbscrew again.

For $117 I expected more. I will be undoubtedly replacing this bridge in the future, it will have to work for now. Poorly designed and cheap materials

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Hipshot Tremsetter
Hipshot Tremsetter
1 11-22-2010
not worth $40

I tried this and quickly found that if you spend a couple of buck on new springs and adjust them properly, then you are better off. If you plan on Steve Vai'ing your bridge, then drop the money on a proper bridge made for dive-bombing. It is cheaply made and poorly designed. At best there are $3 worth of parts. It is not worth it

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-21-2010
Great nitro lacquer!!

Stewmacs aerosol guitar lacquer is one of the best I've used and I really like the price. The only problem I had was with the cans nozzle. I got occasional "spit" splatters from one can out of three. Otherwise I'm very happy with this product. Seems to dry faster, harder and more glossy than others I've tried.

Pat H.  Southern, NH, USA Read my reviews (4)
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
5 11-21-2010
Bridge Fitting Jig

If you want your F5 to sound the best it can, this tool is the very best start for installing a high quality bridge!!!
Next thing you know all your pals want you to set up their mando bridges.
Garry Greenland - Nepean Ontario

Garry Greenland  Nepean Ontario Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 11-21-2010
Five Star Pegs

The best planets available!!!!

Garry Greenland  Nepean Ontario Read my reviews (2)
Laminated Wood Purfling
Laminated Wood Purfling
5 11-21-2010
very versatile purfling

I'm a furniture maker who occasionally builds reproduction pieces. I recently used your purfling to outline the central patera on a Federal period card table I built. The b/w purfling was the perfect thickness to highlight the birdseye maple oval.

mario rodriguez  United states Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 11-21-2010
Terrific blade . . .

We use this blade in our shop to slot fretboards for all our custom guitars and basses. It is installed on our vintage 1967 Craftsman 9" radial arm saw. This is a fantastic investment as no extra "stiffeners" are needed as with the competitions blade. We've slotted many boards and it still cuts perfect slots. We recommend this blade for all serious builders and repair persons.

Vegas GuitarsCustomShop  Las Vegas, NV
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
1 11-21-2010
Difficult trem bar

This is the fourth time I've ordered a Floyd Rose Trem bar, and the Fouth time it's been the wrong one. Don't suppose it's your fault, but for pete's sake... how many different ones are there? On the string lock blocks, kudos,,, thank you

rkymtndrlr  Casper
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 11-21-2010
500k mini pot

Good quality pot, but hard to solder on the case for the ground wires. Tried several Weller pro soldering station, & different types of solder.

Michael McIntosh  West Salem, OR
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
4 11-21-2010
Deadly blows

This is an excellent hammer in the right hands. Minimum force is needed to seat new or reseat lifting frets. A word of caution... The brass head can easily damage frets and put dents in the fingerboard unless great care is taken. A few light taps is safer than a forceful hit.

Dieter Billinger  Toronot Canada Read my reviews (7)
Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
5 11-21-2010
Truss Rod set - GREAT

Stew Mac is great, period, but everyone knows that! Anyway, this Truss Rod set is great if you have multiple guitars and basses so you have all the options as you know, one truss rod wrench will not do it for all guitars. Definitely worth it - one shot deal. Thanks guys.

JimFuge  NY
Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
4 11-21-2010
Great tool!

One of the most annoying parts about swapping humbuckers is getting the springs back in. This tool saved me from fishing around to see where that spring just popped off to. Thank you!

e_black  Atlanta Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
5 11-21-2010
Brilliant Service

First time I have used StewMac; Order placed Monday, goods arrived in UK on Wednesday. Saved money on the pickup even with freight and tax, and arrived sooner than if I had placed order with UK supplier - Recommended. Now fitted to my Garrison Acoustic, which sounds as wanted - natural acoustic sound.

Gerry  North Wales, UK
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 11-20-2010
This thing is awesome

It's got a strange name, but IT WORKS GREAT. The best cleaner I've used yet.

SJP Guitars  Long Island, NY
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
5 11-20-2010
What great tuners!

The only downside to these tuners is that they weren't available 10 or 15 years ago. Everything in its time. I use the Waverly style relic nickel tuners as original equipment on the Roberts Minstrel model. These tuners have that whole vintage vibe in spades. Everything was done right witht these tuners and what a reasonable price for these wonderfully authentic tuners. My compliments to StewMac. I use these on new customs, the Minstrel models and for restorations!

Daniel Roberts  Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 11-20-2010
Good Investment

Simple, easy to use, good results. What a tool set ought to be.

yakbass  SE Connecticut
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 11-20-2010
Great product with many other uses

Great for what it is designed for but I use the pull off handle for many other tasks. It powers my home made fret bender, I use it for screwing using hex head screw bits and also hex head drill bits for gentle hand drilling.

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Quarter-round Fret File
Quarter-round Fret File
4 11-20-2010
Effective

Very good results for rounding fret ends, does the job with on a couple of passes.

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
4 11-20-2010
Throw the hammer away!

Even my wife likes this tool, mainly because she hears less bad language comparing to using a hammer. Great tool with a great result each time. Only suggestion would be a knurled screw rather than needing an Allen key as that is just one more thing to lose!

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 18976 – 19000
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  759  760  761  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce