Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18976 – 19000
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  759  760  761  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 11-18-2010
Good stuff

I like this glue. It makes less of a mess than super glue and provides a longer open time. It dries hard as a rock and the bond is excellent. I'll never use super glue again.

Jim Grill  Yardley, PA Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 11-18-2010
A Reassuring Read

I'm finishing my second guitar using ReRanch products. Although the ReRanch instructions are pretty good and their forum is helpful, using this book has given me a much clearer picture of the what's and why's and how's. Feeling like this second guitar will come out much better.
And, like a lot of Dan's books and videos, if you are into guitars, they make just plain entertaining reading. He and co-author DonMacRostie include history, anecdotes, and dozens of tips that only someone with their experience would know about. They are very generous about sharing their knowledge, and their love of everything guitar shines through.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 11-18-2010
Just Get It

This gauge has so many uses - set ups, locating drill holes, etc. Elegant and has different scales. You need it.

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
5 11-18-2010
Great (and inexpensive) Upgrade

These tuners are stable and have a great gear ratio. They will improve the tuning performance of any inexpensive (or cheap) electric. Manufacturers - why not charge us ten bucks extra and put these tuners on your lower priced guitars?

Jukebox John  Shutesbury, MA Read my reviews (8)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 11-18-2010
Bone pins

Very nice, very precise pins. Besides being so well made and attractive, they are less expensive than the ones offered by many others.
Very good buy.

LJ  Crete, IL Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 11-18-2010
String Action Gauge

While a bit smaller than I expected, this is a very nice and very useful tool. I can see using this in many ways regularly. The size may be a benefit, too, because it is pocket or wallet size and it would be very easy to take it along when buying or evaluating a guitar.

LJ  Crete, IL Read my reviews (4)
Thickness Caliper
Thickness Caliper
5 11-18-2010
Much more doing the job.

I have constructed my own calipers for measuring thickness from top, etc. But recently I decided to buy one from StewMac. I’m glad I did, for this beauty is so much more doing the job. The photo shows the top of my recent project; it’s thickness is exactly 3mm.

Dick Visser  Netherlands Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 11-18-2010
Works like a charm

Haven't found a better pot

Radu  Romania
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-18-2010
You want to pay more?....why?...really?

I was obsessing about getting a bridge Humbucker for my 1990 Strat Plus (thank you swimming pool rout). Bridge single coils just are to weak/thin sounding for me. At first I drooled at all the Boutique buckers out there. However, I just can't pull the trigger at $175.00 or more a pup. The more i researched what makes a great pickup the more i realized that Stew-mac had what I was looking for at a price that makes all these "builders" lose sleep.

I now have it installed and it's just what I wanted. This is as good or better than any other pickup you can buy. I am quite happy with my purchase and proud of myself for not being taken in on hype like i have been in the past. Pickups are coils/bobbins/windings/etc etc not voodoo magic or secret knowledge or some Robo cop winding machine.

melodic1  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
5 11-18-2010
Bridge pin Hole Reamer

Cuts very nicely and perfect angle for my pins. Having spent money for high quality bridge, pins, bone saddle and nut, sound transfer was important to me. The reamer allows perfect fit for the pins. Pricey but there is no substitute. I also used it to ream hole for my end pin.

Ron Helmer  Freeland, Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 11-18-2010
Conversion Bushings - a Lifesaver...well, a Worksaver anyway!

These have already saved me many hours of work! I recently restored my #7 guitar (from 1974), which had been refitted with Schallers. I wanted to install new Gold Grover Sta-tites, and these made it a simple task instead of an ordeal. I will order these in quantity!

SteinyGuitars  Beaverton/Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
3 11-18-2010
Golden Age Tuners - Flawed Perfection

These are beautiful, precise tuners (which I WILL use on my handmade guitars) that have one noticeable flaw: they need to be 1/8" longer on the upper end. I recently replaced the original tuners on a 1960's Brazilian D-35S with a set of these. But they were not long enough to cover the outline and screw hole of the original tuners on the upper ends. I used them anyway, and told the customer that I could touch it up in the future, if he wanted. Otherwise, they would earn 5 stars, but only 3 1/2 for now...

SteinyGuitars  Beaverton/Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 11-17-2010
How on Earth did I get along without this??

This terrific little gem has saved me at least thre hours labor in the first week I have had it. I had been doing the undercutting by hand forever thinking this tool was a gimmick. WRONG. NEVER AGAIN. Thanks Stew Mac!

Scott "scOOter" Davis  St. Petersburg, FL Read my reviews (2)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 11-17-2010
I love these

So may uses but usually I use a fresh pipette when I mix liquid dyes.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
2 11-17-2010
This stuff doesn't set

The thin is ok but the medium doesn't set as well as other superglues. It seems likes its old as soon as I get it sometimes.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
Pearl Inlay Book
Pearl Inlay Book
2 11-17-2010
Pearl Inlay a basic guide

The Pearl Inlay book is a basic guide to inlay and engraving. Some of the ideas presented are not the best or the easiest. I was a bit disappointed.

Bevan Wulfenstein  Provo, Utah
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 11-17-2010
great product

I have seen Gotoh at the best available tuners since the 70s. I am very pleased that they still make an affordable high end product. These heads are my standard for many instruments where I want the heads close together. I wish Stewmac would stock a lighter, plastic button version of the 503 that I could use on my mandolins.

DanielBrauchli  Tasmania, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 11-17-2010
very useful

You have to be careful with the cutting edge which is more of a scraper than a drill, but this is a brilliant device that I will be using from now on.

DanielBrauchli  Tasmania, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
4 11-17-2010
Tuner buttons

Ordered Pearloid replacement tuner buttons to put on my Taylor GS to replace the stock gold buttons. Dressed the instrument up a bit. Price was a bit higher than others after checking. Ordering was easy and delivery was prompt.

Cal Aultman  Hill City, Minnesota
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 11-17-2010
bone

I build limited numbers of parlour guitars and irish bouzoukis; I only use natural materials, solid woods etc. and will consider nothing but natural bone for nuts and saddles. The material I get from Stewmac is of outstanding quality.

Rob van Leuven  Eindhoven, Netherlands (EU)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 11-17-2010
Pearl Dots

I recently used these pearl dots on a guitar with a bloodwood fretboard. They install easily and show up very well against a darker wood. Great stuff.

Tom Drinkwater  Oakland, Maine Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 11-17-2010
Bring in the reinforcements

I use Stewmacs carbon fiber neck rods in most of my guitars. It allows me to make a very thin yet stiff neck. Carbon fiber doesn't add any weight to the neck as well which is essential for maintaining the proper balance that a comfortable instrument must have.

Tom Drinkwater  Oakland, Maine Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 11-17-2010
Very useful tool

Sand paper is often considered a disposable item but I prefer to think of it as a tool. Stewmac Stikit Gold is one of my most used tools in the shop. I use it for everything from leveling fretboards to removing milling marks from a freshly milled bridge plate. It's adhesive backing allows for the sand paper to be placed and repositioned on surfaces like melamine, marble, plastics, laminates and wood for all kinds of different uses. I recommend removing it soon after your done though because it can get tougher to remove as the adhesive sets. I recommend this item to anyone involved in woodworking.

Tom Drinkwater  Oakland, Maine Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 11-17-2010
GREAT PRODUCT AS ALWAYS

I RECENTLY PURCHASED ONE OF THESE BONE NUTS TO REBUILD AN OLD 1913 GIBSON STLYE "O" GUITAR..THIS AS ALL OF YOUR PRODUCTS I PURCHASED FOR THIS PROJECT HAVE BEEN 5 STAR ALL THE WAY

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
3 11-17-2010
Wire

I bought this and it is what it is. However, like everything else it cost twice as much as it should. In a pinch buy this. If you have some time, there are other places that are much cheaper.

Steve Rocks  Detroit
Displaying 18976 – 19000
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  759  760  761  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce