Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18951 – 18975
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  758  759  760  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 11-19-2010
Great Product

I use these templates on a regular basis. Outstanding product!

If you build guitars, I highly recommend you buy them all.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
F5 Mandolin Kit
F5 Mandolin Kit
5 11-19-2010
Another Killer Bluegrass Axe

Got a mandolin from this kit made in 2003 by luthier Doug O in Cleveland. Once again when done right it is right there with tone and volume of much more pricey pieces. This one has the signature Gibson tone IDK how he did it.

Bryan D. Cozort  Olmsted Falls, OH Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 11-19-2010
Amber Yellow - Tobacco Brown

Went on a bit orange for me diluted at normal concentration. Maybe it had something to due with my guitar top or the old finish. I tried it on some scrap spruce before hand and it looked nice. Just wear rubber gloves as it stains hands too! Tobacco brown is awesome and shows wood figure well. My pic is of my guitar's back in tobacco.

Bryan D. Cozort  Olmsted Falls, OH Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
4 11-19-2010
Killer Axe

Had my dred mahogany kit built in 2007 by luthier Jeff L in Warren. From out of the box this was a killer bluegrass axe "banjo killer" with the punch and volume of the typical old d-18. I had the braces forward shifted which may have added to the power. I have had this thing up against prewar d-18s and d-28s and it was right there with them. Now it is undergoing finish work after a hard couple years of beating around at festivals and the top is getting changed with red spruce due to accidental damage but rest assure you will NOT be disappointed in this kit if done right. Thanks STEW Mac!

Bryan D. Cozort  Olmsted Falls, OH Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
3 11-19-2010
packaging

A few weeks ago I ordered some fret wire[20'] and a mandolin tail peice it arrived a week or so later the box it was shipped in was 20"x14"x2.5" a big box for a little order which cost me another $6.00 to canada post because of the size. I think a small cardboard tube aprox 2.5" diamater would have done better at less cost to both of us. But I must say the fret wire and the tail piece are great

gtay  canada
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 11-19-2010
scratchy

These pots are good the only drawback is they need some lubricant. You can't hear it while your playing but whenever i turn them I kinda cringe. I can feel it more than anything. Overall good pot though

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-19-2010
Another winner from Waverly

I put these on my '06 D-18 Authentic and they are super accurate and no backlash. I don't know if it is the size of the button, but these are not quite as smooth as the butterbean knob model I reviewed earlier. However, I will be purchasing this style again for my Martin Custom 15 to replace the worn Schallers.

SJK  Boulder, Colorado Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
5 11-19-2010
Gotoh 510 locking tuners

These tuners are the best I've seen, Extremely high quality. They are built solid and tough and look amazing too. The locking mechanism is great you just unscrew the top put the string in and your done! They stay in tune really well and are great for people who like bending strings a lot. These tuners are a must for any new guitar.

DGordonYoungLuthier  NYC , NY Read my reviews (3)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
3 11-19-2010
not as good as the regular cam clamps

These are finished nicely but they do not work as well as they should. There is way too much side to side play between the top and bottom clamps. This is a problem because it prevents the face of the clamps from lining up straight and it allows the work pieces to drift more than they would otherwise.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
5 11-19-2010
perfect

I have purchased several of the small and deep throat clamps. They are nicely made and are also very sturdy.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 11-19-2010
Not needed but wicked.

My first mounting ring had a sharp crack in an annoying spot. When I decided to replace them, I wanted to go with something uncommon. This upgrade may do nothing for your sound but its a cheap way to rekindle an old romance.

F. Gray  Alberta Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 11-19-2010
Black/w/b Pickguard Material

I bought this for a guitar I had built. The guitar had a 1-ply pickguard that I had cut before. But I wasn't satisfied with it, so I bought this pickguard material to cut a new one. I took the pickguard out, put it on the pickguard material, drew around it and cut a new pickguard using a jig saw. It worked perfectly.

The material doesn't melt when you cut it and it is thick so that I could countersink my pickguard screws. Recommended.

Gokay  Houston, TX
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 11-19-2010
The wait is over!

My "Banner Head" Gibson LG-2 lost its original tuners. The original tuners were open-geared and exact replacements could not be had with the plate footprint to match the original. At least not until now. With the relic finish bent tab 3 on a plate tuners I have an exact replacement that looks almost original and works better than I expected. They are great.

jimbo eastbay  Panama City, FL Read my reviews (2)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
2 11-19-2010
1/16" bits

These bits are nicely made. However, the width of cut exceeds .0625". So, if you are using .0625" purfling for rosettes, like I do, don't use this bit. It will leave a gap that wood swelling doesn't compensate for. Had to reject and remake a top.

The setup I used was a dremmel with the Stewmac router base and rosette circle cutter.

Sharp Guitars  New Jersey
Amp Corners
Amp Corners
5 11-19-2010
Perfect

excellent purchase

Simão  Brasil
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-19-2010
Great bang for your bucks

First of all, I picked priority mail which was 5-10 business days so I was very surprised to receive the pickups in 3 days. I've been playing for some 30+ years and I've tried a lot of p-ups and these golden age vintage p-ups can get you from smooth jazz to a rockin' and a rollin' and every thing in between. My guitar is a strat with a swamp ash body,maple neck and birdseye maple fingerboard. Not overly midrange, which I like. It's just right. Can't go wrong at these prices!

Daryl  Wahiawa,Hi.
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 11-18-2010
Great

Quick and easy, jack nuts, machine heads, tuneomatic bridge height, pots. One tool fits them all in all sizes. If I lose this I will replace it.

DaveR  UK Read my reviews (2)
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
4 11-18-2010
Good

Good product, especially the fine wheels. The extra fine wheels are a little too fine though, you get a better (and easier) final polish with a felt wheel and a bit of polishing compound.
I've read that you can put a groove in these wheels with a file handle but i found i just ended up with a shiny file handle. Folding a bit of 320 grit sandpaper to a nice round fret shape and shaping the wheel on that works a lot better.

DaveR  UK Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 11-18-2010
Great Value

Great quality and a great value.

Steve T.  Florence, MA.
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
5 11-18-2010
Great tone

I've fitted these to two of my own guitars and got compliments from hardened sound engineers about both of them. The signal is strong and balanced and true to the instrument's tone. They also seem to have minimal effect on the unplugged sound, especially if a simple battery clip is used rather than the bag supplied.

Ron McQuarrie  NSW Australia Read my reviews (5)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
1 11-18-2010
Cheap Screws

I'm generally happy with you, StewMac but buying anything with cheap, casted screws will eventually reflect poorly on you. I broke one off today applying very little torque with the screw going into a .1" hole. This was a grave disappointment considering this was the last operation on this instrument.

Believe me, I know how to turn a screw. Don't trust these screws. Get some quality machined brass screws for these and throw out the provided screws. I bought gold buttons, fyi.

Zlurgh  Spoakne, WA
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
5 11-18-2010
Good replacement screws

I have a washburn N4, 2006, the saddle screws that came on the Schaller are horrible. Very small hex, can't get them tight enough to really hold things down. I got these and wow what a difference, I am confident those saddles are not moving. Got the Allen wrench with them of course.

pixel  Boston, Ma
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-18-2010
Bone nut adjustments

These files made a great difference to adjusting the bone nut and saddle on a J-185 guitar - far better than trying to guess the right part of a swiss file to use - been there!

Francis M  Reading, UK
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 11-18-2010
A strong attraction..

These are the perfect tools for small and hard to access clamping jobs.

These are not toys. They will shatter if allowed to "slam" together. (Thanks, Stew-Mac for a speedy replacement.)

David A. Wiseman  Spruce Pine, NC
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Mini Locking Guitar Machines 6-In-Line
5 11-18-2010
Grover Mini Roto-Grip's Blow Sperzels away!!!

These tuners are fantastic! I purchased these and installed on my Franken Steinocaster as replacements for the Sperzel Locking tuners that were installed previously. No comparison whatsoever. If you are currently using Sperzels, replace them immediately with these, they are so much better it's ridiculous. The Sperzels are 12:1, these Grovers are 18:1,you figure it out.

The ability to fine tune with these is so much better. This is the single best mod I have done to any of my Guitars. I have non-locking Grovers on one of my other guitars and they are great too. I will use Grover's exclusively on all my guitars and in all recommendations I make to my clients.

Thanks again Stew Mac - I can always count on you folks to deliver the best products at a great price with excellent service to boot. Fanfreakintastic!

Sincerely,
Dave Grim - Owner/Builder

Dave G  Etters, PA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18951 – 18975
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  758  759  760  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce