Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18926 – 18950
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  757  758  759  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 11-24-2010
Solid Tuning Knobs

Like these tuning knobs a lot! Got a DIY guitar kit a few months ago. The tuning machine that came with the kit does not keep in tune. So bought these and tried it on. Very solid and keep the instrument in tune very well. Highly recommended for those who is looking for a hardware upgrade.

CJy  Australia
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 11-24-2010
Essential Fretting Kit- "That which does not kill you...."

Despite fear & trepidation, I embarked on the mission of a partial refret job. I did my homework & read Don's revised fretwork manual.
It went very well, and I am pleased with the results. Not sure if I'm ready to do it for anybody else yet, but I now know it's do-able!

seesquare  Yakima, WA
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 11-24-2010
Great Stuff

I found the same product in an electronic store, and the geek told me it was the best on the market. I used it and I agree. Great stuff.

Froggy  California
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
4 11-24-2010
Nice, but could be improved

The neck relief gauge I found to be a little tricky. It's rather subjective as to weather you have it straight over the fret when measuring maybe a wider base would be better. Both of them I felt the gauge should go the other direction in reference to zero.the manual should include recommended settings for different instruments. I like having a number reference that I can compare. All in All these are nice tools to have, and I found them to be very helpful...

SteveO  Mad Town
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 11-24-2010
A must have for your acoustic!

A truly great invention for the acoustic guitar. It gives the guitar added strength where they need it most and enhances the sound. A great bargain. I believe Breedlove guitars uses these on their guitars. A winner!

JD  MA
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
4 11-24-2010
Simple solution

This is a good cheap fix for the wonky wrap-around tailpiece on my 2001 Melody Maker. It's a straight drop-in, and corrects most of the intonation issues. It doesn't fix everything though. The right strings seem to be essential - for instance, a wound G string appears to be a must. I'll also end up replacing the nut.
My only complaint about this bridge is that the material is fairly soft. It's very easy to mar it while setting the intonation. Still, I consider this to be money well spent. And it looks pretty good too.

cclawsonco  Denver
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 11-24-2010
Awesome!!!

The Parsons Street P-90 is a great pickup, so much so, that now I'll have to change the other pickup in my guitar just to make justice for the P-90. Awesome product!!!

JoseGlez  Mexico Read my reviews (2)
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 11-24-2010
pigtail bridge

I have used other wraparound bridges and have always had the same problem stringing the guitar up. The string hole is in two parts, the tone pros is a very good bridge but suffers from this problem. The Pigtail has a continuous hole from one side to the other and is very easy to string up.
Tonewise it is superior to any other wraparound bridge I have used.

wwr custom guitars  scotland uk
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 11-24-2010
Precision Router Base

I like it, it's not that easy to set and can come loose but better than anything else I have seen. Proper engineering job.

RA  UK Read my reviews (2)
Precision Router Edge Guide
Precision Router Edge Guide
4 11-24-2010
Precision Router Edge Guide

It's a nicely made thing, not easy to set but good to use. I see the issue about flat things being ok and curves not, but it does what it looks like it does.

RA  UK Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-24-2010
tools

Here i can find all that i need and from France,the shipping is fast and excellent,thanks St.Mc Do.!

slapypiero  France Read my reviews (2)
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
4 11-24-2010
Rather slimmer than previous necks from Stewmac

I've seen three (and used two)12 fret necks from Stewmac. The first ( received three years ago) I sent back because of the way the diamond seemed off center. (In reality I probably could have adjusted my carving to accommodate that.) The replacement was fine and worked well.
I ordered and received the third neck about three weeks ago and I felt it was a lot slimmer that either of the other two. I like to leave a little extra wood in these necks but will not be able to leave as much in this neck because it is already so slim. I'm sure it will be ok but I'd rather remove any extra wood myself.

Timothy  Carrboro
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 11-24-2010
These are amazing!

I used the Polishing Papers to polish a bone nut. I cut off a little 2" x 3" piece (1" x 3" would work too) of each grit paper, worked progressively through them all. Not even halfway through, the nut really started to shine. I was in awe by the time I finished. These will last a long time, they're inexpensive, and definitely worth buying. Quality product!

Craig  Columbus, Ohio USA Read my reviews (2)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 11-24-2010
Great Radius Blocks

Well there's no guess work here, You just select the Block for the radius you wish to have on the fretboard put on a piece of sand paper, sand the board and it comes out radiused. What more could you want. Great product at a good price. Excellent!!!!!

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Dreadnought Curly Maple Back/Side Set
Dreadnought Curly Maple Back/Side Set
4 11-24-2010
Great value!

Although the grain is a little wider than the most desirable Curly Maple, the sets I received are very attractive and will be used for high line instruments

kencierp  Litchfield MI 49252
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 11-24-2010
Fretting Hammer

Nice hammer. I tried it out on a banjo fret job and it works great! I would recommend this to anyone

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
5 11-23-2010
a dynamite mini router bit.

I bought this bit to cut new channels, or clean old channels, on gibson style guitars. It works perfectly on fingerboards or bodies for that purpose. The tiny mark left by the pilot tip comes out in finish sanding. Cutting binding channels is a job for a Dremmel sized tool, not an industrial router, so I'd like to see more of these type bits. I'd especially like to see a piloted bit for the "stepped" laminated bindings seen on customs. Especially if one is building or restoring one of those bound headstocks.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-23-2010
WOW....!!!!!!!

I'd like to thank you for my last order which included an es-175 trapeze a parson st alnico 2 neck pickup and a micro bead pad selection.
> I own an es-175 copy that had been made by the takamine factory as a prototype that never went into production. I was never happy with the feel or sound of the guitar but I knew it had been very well built. I used the micro bead pads to take the over polished lacquer down and to polish out the rough edges on the neck and fretboard. I change the pickup and .......WOW!!!!!! not only has the trapeze given it a better acoustic quality and more sustain the micro bead pad polishing has given it a look that resembles 50 years of polishing and the neck feels amazing. Here's the best bit, the pickup is truly stunning. I've often heard people describe tone as sweet, this pickup for me is not only sweet it's much much more. The high tones are so smooth until you dig in and then it has this cutting vintage blues tone, layoff and you get the sweetest of jazz tones. I can hear the plectrum momentarily scrape across the flat wounds on the lower strings to produce this almost breath like quality just before the sound opens out. A truly beautiful and inspiring tone, that I would be happy to put on any guitar and I've owned some amazing guitars in my 30 years of playing which have included some of the best hand wound pickups in the world.
Archtops that have been made by the likes of Dick knight, the luthier to Pete Townsend , George Harrison and Paul McCartney.... This humble guitar has now become my pride and joy and has inspired me to reach for greater things.
It's also worth mentioning that the previous owner had put one of your ebony bridges on it as well, fantastic, I think I speak for most when I say thank you so much for providing such incredible quality at an attainable price for the not so rich.
Yours
Lance Thomas

tommyUK  ENGLAND
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
1 11-23-2010
Heartbroken

I made a rosewood Martin guitar kit 12 years ago and finished it with Clear Gloss spray Lacquer. I was very pleased with the results. This time, I figured I'd put the Clear Satin spray Lacquer on my second homemade guitar, made out of some beautiful rosewood I bought in Nepal.

I sprayed on two cans of base coat and four cans of satin finish, about 15 coats in all. I did all the spraying in my garage in the evenings, temperatures in the 70's to 80's and dry conditions. I sanded between every third coat, and before the final coat as per instructions. It seemed like I was breaking through during sanding even after multiple coats, but I blamed this on my ham-fisted sanding technique.

In the end, it came out great, at first. I only waited 3 days before putting on the tuning machines, and it the finish cracked underneath as I tightened the machines. I blamed that on my impatience. The rest of the guitar looked awesome, like a pro finish. I set it up and played it, delighted.

Now, 8 weeks later, the guitar looks like it's been treated badly for a decade. I've kept it in a humidified case and taken it out only to play, sitting around on a couch (no live gigs or abuse.) The slightest trauma leaves a ding, including dropping a credit card sideways from a height of 1 inch. Cracks have started to form in the finish the way they do on "vintage" instruments. The finish looks just like my grandma's 50 year old classical guitar, that's sat in her living room on a stand for decades.

I'm starting over and sanding all the finish off. I haven't decided what I'll do now, maybe I'll try tru-oil or a brush-on lacquer.

Maybe spray finish is best done by the pros in a booth with an airbrush. Maybe my coats were too thin and I should have sprayed on a few more cans' worth. I'm very disappointed with this outcome.

Rich Davis  Los Angeles, CA
Customer supplied image for review
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 11-23-2010
Very Surprising final product

When I first received these papers I didn't think they would do anything. I didn't feel any grit on them but after using them to polish a repair I had made in a finish they worked great.

Myron McVeigh  Keokuk , IA Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 11-23-2010
Well worth it

I highly recommend the clear lacquer for touch ups, it blends in and levels nicely and, polishes to a great shine as well.

Myron McVeigh  Keokuk , IA Read my reviews (2)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
3 11-23-2010
not really happy ....

Sorry but I find the nut anchorage to the bar not enough resistant.
Others truss double action rod are more resistant in that zone

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 11-23-2010
The ONLY one frets!

I done several guitars in my life and i try all brands of frets , these Frets are the best on the market. I never find anything wrong. It bends easily and is hard enough to dress fine without glue or other stuff from 4 to 13 strings necks !

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 11-23-2010
never more fear !!

I't a really amazing tool !
Never more fear if you must work on a really expensive instrument, is precise and easy to use and in a few minutes you can do a perfect job.
Not only a JACK reamer, have very many other use
Thanks stewmac

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 11-23-2010
three pickup toggleswitch

This switch can be used for other things then just the 3 pickup selector. Take a look at Stewmac's pic of the comparison to other switches

LWhite  LosAngeles, CA
Displaying 18926 – 18950
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  757  758  759  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce