Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18901 – 18925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  756  757  758  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Piloted Router Bit for Binding
Piloted Router Bit for Binding
5 11-23-2010
a dynamite mini router bit.

I bought this bit to cut new channels, or clean old channels, on gibson style guitars. It works perfectly on fingerboards or bodies for that purpose. The tiny mark left by the pilot tip comes out in finish sanding. Cutting binding channels is a job for a Dremmel sized tool, not an industrial router, so I'd like to see more of these type bits. I'd especially like to see a piloted bit for the "stepped" laminated bindings seen on customs. Especially if one is building or restoring one of those bound headstocks.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-23-2010
WOW....!!!!!!!

I'd like to thank you for my last order which included an es-175 trapeze a parson st alnico 2 neck pickup and a micro bead pad selection.
> I own an es-175 copy that had been made by the takamine factory as a prototype that never went into production. I was never happy with the feel or sound of the guitar but I knew it had been very well built. I used the micro bead pads to take the over polished lacquer down and to polish out the rough edges on the neck and fretboard. I change the pickup and .......WOW!!!!!! not only has the trapeze given it a better acoustic quality and more sustain the micro bead pad polishing has given it a look that resembles 50 years of polishing and the neck feels amazing. Here's the best bit, the pickup is truly stunning. I've often heard people describe tone as sweet, this pickup for me is not only sweet it's much much more. The high tones are so smooth until you dig in and then it has this cutting vintage blues tone, layoff and you get the sweetest of jazz tones. I can hear the plectrum momentarily scrape across the flat wounds on the lower strings to produce this almost breath like quality just before the sound opens out. A truly beautiful and inspiring tone, that I would be happy to put on any guitar and I've owned some amazing guitars in my 30 years of playing which have included some of the best hand wound pickups in the world.
Archtops that have been made by the likes of Dick knight, the luthier to Pete Townsend , George Harrison and Paul McCartney.... This humble guitar has now become my pride and joy and has inspired me to reach for greater things.
It's also worth mentioning that the previous owner had put one of your ebony bridges on it as well, fantastic, I think I speak for most when I say thank you so much for providing such incredible quality at an attainable price for the not so rich.
Yours
Lance Thomas

tommyUK  ENGLAND
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
1 11-23-2010
Heartbroken

I made a rosewood Martin guitar kit 12 years ago and finished it with Clear Gloss spray Lacquer. I was very pleased with the results. This time, I figured I'd put the Clear Satin spray Lacquer on my second homemade guitar, made out of some beautiful rosewood I bought in Nepal.

I sprayed on two cans of base coat and four cans of satin finish, about 15 coats in all. I did all the spraying in my garage in the evenings, temperatures in the 70's to 80's and dry conditions. I sanded between every third coat, and before the final coat as per instructions. It seemed like I was breaking through during sanding even after multiple coats, but I blamed this on my ham-fisted sanding technique.

In the end, it came out great, at first. I only waited 3 days before putting on the tuning machines, and it the finish cracked underneath as I tightened the machines. I blamed that on my impatience. The rest of the guitar looked awesome, like a pro finish. I set it up and played it, delighted.

Now, 8 weeks later, the guitar looks like it's been treated badly for a decade. I've kept it in a humidified case and taken it out only to play, sitting around on a couch (no live gigs or abuse.) The slightest trauma leaves a ding, including dropping a credit card sideways from a height of 1 inch. Cracks have started to form in the finish the way they do on "vintage" instruments. The finish looks just like my grandma's 50 year old classical guitar, that's sat in her living room on a stand for decades.

I'm starting over and sanding all the finish off. I haven't decided what I'll do now, maybe I'll try tru-oil or a brush-on lacquer.

Maybe spray finish is best done by the pros in a booth with an airbrush. Maybe my coats were too thin and I should have sprayed on a few more cans' worth. I'm very disappointed with this outcome.

Rich Davis  Los Angeles, CA
Customer supplied image for review
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 11-23-2010
Very Surprising final product

When I first received these papers I didn't think they would do anything. I didn't feel any grit on them but after using them to polish a repair I had made in a finish they worked great.

Myron McVeigh  Keokuk , IA Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
5 11-23-2010
Well worth it

I highly recommend the clear lacquer for touch ups, it blends in and levels nicely and, polishes to a great shine as well.

Myron McVeigh  Keokuk , IA Read my reviews (2)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
3 11-23-2010
not really happy ....

Sorry but I find the nut anchorage to the bar not enough resistant.
Others truss double action rod are more resistant in that zone

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 11-23-2010
The ONLY one frets!

I done several guitars in my life and i try all brands of frets , these Frets are the best on the market. I never find anything wrong. It bends easily and is hard enough to dress fine without glue or other stuff from 4 to 13 strings necks !

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 11-23-2010
never more fear !!

I't a really amazing tool !
Never more fear if you must work on a really expensive instrument, is precise and easy to use and in a few minutes you can do a perfect job.
Not only a JACK reamer, have very many other use
Thanks stewmac

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
Right-angle Metric Toggle Switch
5 11-23-2010
three pickup toggleswitch

This switch can be used for other things then just the 3 pickup selector. Take a look at Stewmac's pic of the comparison to other switches

LWhite  LosAngeles, CA
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-22-2010
Amazing!

I bought the Vintage Amber for a fretboard project, and it turned out........Unreal. I thought Aerosol cans were for cheap painting. I guess I thought wrong! An absolute Stew Mac WIN!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Making a Concert Classical Guitar
Making a Concert Classical Guitar
5 11-22-2010
Perfect Guitar Building Guide

This dvd set guides you through every stage of classical guitar making including the solera. The stages are neatly and clearly presented and provide an excellent resource for all levels of guitar builders. This dvd set is a sound investment and well worth the money, thoroughly recommended.

A. Roberts  UK
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 11-22-2010
Router Bits

Associated with True Channel Binding Routing Jig and you got a Dream Team

alain Touboul  France Read my reviews (2)
Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
5 11-22-2010
Great Sander

I discovered this tool and I can't imagine now how it could be absent in my tools box

alain Touboul  France Read my reviews (2)
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 11-22-2010
Suprisingly control and consistent distribution of spray

I use these often. The Jars are Glass and of good quality. They are a better option than Spray Cans or Cheap-o, hobby store Airbrush rigs. The LP standard in the Photo is an 03' Gibson Ebony Standard. Refin'd by me using two preval spray rigs-one for amber the other for a lightened Cherry red.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 11-22-2010
I've used Both the RW and the EB..

When I find a supply of suitable wood I will make up a few boards from scratch, but i cant do it any cheaper or better than buying these boards from Stew Mac. Outstanding product.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
2 11-22-2010
Overly complicated

These things are good for people who know how to work them. I tried to get them to work, and 2 of my 3 broke. And when I got the 3rd one on, it wouldn't tighten as much as I needed

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Saddles
4 11-22-2010
awesome string saddles but with a surprise

I was building a custom Tele copy in black'n'gold. Since my bridge's saddles weren't good enough I've ordered this set.
My guitar was already assembled when the saddle set arrived so i put it on and tested just out of the box.
The tone became warmer and better. Sustain seemed to double! I've noticed a buzz coming out of amp and it appeared that the grounding was broken, because saddles are made of graphite and the strings are not on the ground (graphite doesn't conduct electricity).
Be aware of this before installing this set.
Cheers,
Vasiliy.

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
Flush-mount Output Jack
Flush-mount Output Jack
5 11-22-2010
quite inexpensive and good quality jack

My client asked for a jack replacement on a Warwick Streamer with some active pickups installed. Since good flush-mount output jacks are unavailable here I've ordered it from Stewmac online shop.
The jack is easy to solder and install so it was a quick job for me.
It's been past two months and the jack doesn't seem to have any loose or some scratchy disconnection noise in it.
So buy this stuff. It's reliable!

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 11-22-2010
Peterson again!

I have been using a Peterson Strobostomp for a couple of years, but needed an equally accurate clip-on device, so that I wouldn't have to carry around the stomp when I just wanted to go "light" with my acoustic guitar. I got it!

Equally accurate thanks to the same "strobo method" of tuning, folds nicely in the box inside the guitar case, very sensitive yet isolated enough(I frequently tune-up with it sitting right next to a drummer playing), rugged, easy to operate, visible in any conditions. You can safely rely on it to substitute for ear tuning in noisy, live situations. It is really worth the money spent! Thanks Stewmac!

Balazs Tarnai  Hungary
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-22-2010
Awesome

Easy to use, durable, fits ANY nut and neck. Great idea, wonderful tool. Thank you.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
3 11-22-2010
Long shaft pots

These are very hard-to-find pots, so I must thank Stewmac for them. Hardly overpriced

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
4 11-22-2010
Best slotting files available

Maybe these files are slightly overpriced, but what else will do their work?

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-22-2010
Good tool

Handy and efficient file. Cutting surface planŠµ is absolutely flat (of course I don't mean surface itself), that is essential for fret leveling. This tool saved A LOT of my time and abrasive papers.

It leaves some unwanted scratches on frets, but you need only minor grinding (i use 320 abrasive paper) to eliminate them.

i wish i had the same tool but extended length - like 9 or 10 inches.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 11-22-2010
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT DESIGN

I installed these tuners months ago and I am still blown away by them. I have waited to find a downfall, but remain impressed. I will have these on every stringed instrument I own.

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-22-2010
You should own these

If you own a guitar, then these should be in your toolbox. They work so quickly, it's like cheating

bossy meat creature  charleston, wv Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 18901 – 18925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  756  757  758  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce