Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18876 – 18900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  755  756  757  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-25-2010
Understring radius gauges

Ingeniously simple, this tool is a money maker for any tech. They almost take the thought out of setting bridge action. These help you do better work, faster.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
5 11-25-2010
Fingerboard leveler, 6"

Excellent tool for leveling inlays. Leaves an almost perfect surface, and doesn't "dig in" and scuff up the surrounding wood, like so many other files will.
I have yet to find a better tool for this job.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 11-25-2010
8" Wooden Radius-sanding Blocks

Good product, does exactly what it's supposed to. Doesn't get a whole lot of use in my shop, as I mostly build and dress with a compound radius. Mostly I use them for shaping the tops of nuts and saddles, where they shine.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
4 11-25-2010
Saddles for Floyd Rose tremolo

Good quality product overall, my only criticism is that they're cast, not machined. Mostly I have used these to replace old cast saddles that have broken, I have to wonder if I'm going to be replacing these again in another decade...

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Spray Gun Cleaning Kit
Spray Gun Cleaning Kit
5 11-25-2010
Spray gun cleaning kit

A very handy kit to have, much better than fooling with the wrong tools, like trying to clean your spray tip with an old toothbrush: we've all been guilty of that at some time or other.
A surprisingly necessary, yet often forgotten tool. No shop should be without!

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
5 11-25-2010
1868 - Black Tusq XL Unslotted for Gibson

Excellent quality product that is not just an equally performing substitute for bone for guitars that require a different aesthetic, but actually a superior product. Cuts fast, polishes well, and works as advertised: it really does stop strings binding.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 11-24-2010
Ultimate acoustic guitar tuners

Had a set of Waverly Vintage Oval tuners installed on my Martin OOO-MMV. Very precise, beautifully made, and finished out her classic look. Have Waverly's on my HD-28 as well. None better. Alas...if I could only sing in tune.

Hopewell  Oregon
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 11-24-2010
Made quick work of my nut

This was my first nut job, these tools made it flawless & easy.

Jake M  Long Beach, NY Read my reviews (2)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
4 11-24-2010
A good solution for a good price

I had to replace a broken bridge on a cheap archtop. This bridge solved the problem and vastly improved the tone, for a low price. It needed to be sanded down about 1 mm, but it worked fine. Thanks, StewMac! Mike Hart

covert gitarist  Woodstock, CT
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 11-24-2010
Solid Tuning Knobs

Like these tuning knobs a lot! Got a DIY guitar kit a few months ago. The tuning machine that came with the kit does not keep in tune. So bought these and tried it on. Very solid and keep the instrument in tune very well. Highly recommended for those who is looking for a hardware upgrade.

CJy  Australia
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 11-24-2010
Essential Fretting Kit- "That which does not kill you...."

Despite fear & trepidation, I embarked on the mission of a partial refret job. I did my homework & read Don's revised fretwork manual.
It went very well, and I am pleased with the results. Not sure if I'm ready to do it for anybody else yet, but I now know it's do-able!

seesquare  Yakima, WA
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 11-24-2010
Great Stuff

I found the same product in an electronic store, and the geek told me it was the best on the market. I used it and I agree. Great stuff.

Froggy  California
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
4 11-24-2010
Nice, but could be improved

The neck relief gauge I found to be a little tricky. It's rather subjective as to weather you have it straight over the fret when measuring maybe a wider base would be better. Both of them I felt the gauge should go the other direction in reference to zero.the manual should include recommended settings for different instruments. I like having a number reference that I can compare. All in All these are nice tools to have, and I found them to be very helpful...

SteveO  Mad Town
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 11-24-2010
A must have for your acoustic!

A truly great invention for the acoustic guitar. It gives the guitar added strength where they need it most and enhances the sound. A great bargain. I believe Breedlove guitars uses these on their guitars. A winner!

JD  MA
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
4 11-24-2010
Simple solution

This is a good cheap fix for the wonky wrap-around tailpiece on my 2001 Melody Maker. It's a straight drop-in, and corrects most of the intonation issues. It doesn't fix everything though. The right strings seem to be essential - for instance, a wound G string appears to be a must. I'll also end up replacing the nut.
My only complaint about this bridge is that the material is fairly soft. It's very easy to mar it while setting the intonation. Still, I consider this to be money well spent. And it looks pretty good too.

cclawsonco  Denver
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 11-24-2010
Awesome!!!

The Parsons Street P-90 is a great pickup, so much so, that now I'll have to change the other pickup in my guitar just to make justice for the P-90. Awesome product!!!

JoseGlez  Mexico Read my reviews (2)
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 11-24-2010
pigtail bridge

I have used other wraparound bridges and have always had the same problem stringing the guitar up. The string hole is in two parts, the tone pros is a very good bridge but suffers from this problem. The Pigtail has a continuous hole from one side to the other and is very easy to string up.
Tonewise it is superior to any other wraparound bridge I have used.

wwr custom guitars  scotland uk
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 11-24-2010
Precision Router Base

I like it, it's not that easy to set and can come loose but better than anything else I have seen. Proper engineering job.

RA  UK Read my reviews (2)
Precision Router Edge Guide
Precision Router Edge Guide
4 11-24-2010
Precision Router Edge Guide

It's a nicely made thing, not easy to set but good to use. I see the issue about flat things being ok and curves not, but it does what it looks like it does.

RA  UK Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 11-24-2010
tools

Here i can find all that i need and from France,the shipping is fast and excellent,thanks St.Mc Do.!

slapypiero  France Read my reviews (2)
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
4 11-24-2010
Rather slimmer than previous necks from Stewmac

I've seen three (and used two)12 fret necks from Stewmac. The first ( received three years ago) I sent back because of the way the diamond seemed off center. (In reality I probably could have adjusted my carving to accommodate that.) The replacement was fine and worked well.
I ordered and received the third neck about three weeks ago and I felt it was a lot slimmer that either of the other two. I like to leave a little extra wood in these necks but will not be able to leave as much in this neck because it is already so slim. I'm sure it will be ok but I'd rather remove any extra wood myself.

Timothy  Carrboro
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 11-24-2010
These are amazing!

I used the Polishing Papers to polish a bone nut. I cut off a little 2" x 3" piece (1" x 3" would work too) of each grit paper, worked progressively through them all. Not even halfway through, the nut really started to shine. I was in awe by the time I finished. These will last a long time, they're inexpensive, and definitely worth buying. Quality product!

Craig  Columbus, Ohio USA Read my reviews (2)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 11-24-2010
Great Radius Blocks

Well there's no guess work here, You just select the Block for the radius you wish to have on the fretboard put on a piece of sand paper, sand the board and it comes out radiused. What more could you want. Great product at a good price. Excellent!!!!!

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Dreadnought Curly Maple Back/Side Set
Dreadnought Curly Maple Back/Side Set
4 11-24-2010
Great value!

Although the grain is a little wider than the most desirable Curly Maple, the sets I received are very attractive and will be used for high line instruments

kencierp  Litchfield MI 49252
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 11-24-2010
Fretting Hammer

Nice hammer. I tried it out on a banjo fret job and it works great! I would recommend this to anyone

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 18876 – 18900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  755  756  757  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce