Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18851 – 18875
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  754  755  756  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 11-26-2010
5+

Really nice tool. Operative search problem frets. I like it

Shade  Moscow. Ru Read my reviews (3)
Flametop Guitar Body
Flametop Guitar Body
5 11-26-2010
Another build

I chose the tobacco burst as a replacement for my incredibly ugly GK-ready Fender Strat. Check out the new pearloid pickguard as well...

Thomas Revheim  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Flametop Guitar Body
Flametop Guitar Body
5 11-26-2010
Beautiful!!

I've made 3 guitars with these bodies, and they all turned out great. The Cherry and tobacco bursts are perfect, but the blue burst was too dark to my taste.

Thomas Revheim  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 11-26-2010
Add that finishing touch

This product is a fantastic final step for me when I dress up guitars for sale. It brings a beautiful luster and polish to the board and frets.

MIke Gordon  Australia Read my reviews (4)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-26-2010
Excellent

Wish i would have came up with this tool it works sufficiently. Its a must when it comes to making a guitar nut

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 11-26-2010
Amazing

Very well written book. Thank You for it. Will put up photos of the candy red Strat I built for my sisters friends dad

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 11-26-2010
perfect

Exactly what I needed. Works for more than just nut slotting. awesome tool

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
Switch Mounting Screws
Switch Mounting Screws
5 11-26-2010
What I expected

Screws are screws but, these worked for my strat i built. Good work Stewmac

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 11-25-2010
big sound

I replaced the bridge pickup on my Epiphone lespaul with this overwound pickup and it sounds fantastic. Powerful and full of tone.

louis  Quebec Read my reviews (2)
4 Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks
5 11-25-2010
old guitar like new

I used the sanding block on my Vantage 418t and the worn frets are now back on level. Very easy to use. It gave my guitar a new life

louis  Quebec Read my reviews (2)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 11-25-2010
The Best Instrument Glue I have used

Easy to apply, covers well, cleans up quickly, drys quickly, holds like concrete...I highly recommend it!

Mishka11  Bristol, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 11-25-2010
No Brainer Finish

Easy to use, no spitting, great coverage, fast drying time, great product. I highly recommend it.

Mishka11  Bristol, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
Battery Box
Battery Box
2 11-25-2010
Disappointing Quality

I bought this battery box to put in my first build. The pictures looked promising, as did the reviews. I was extremely disappointed when I got it though. Quality was poor, the plastic was cheap, and was much harder to open than it should be. Definitely not worth the money, at all.

Nick R  IL Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Square-end
5 11-25-2010
Awesome Tuners!

I bought these tuners awhile back and I must say I was very impressed! I have an old funky Checkmate acoustic guitar that needed new tuners as one of the knobs broke off and couldn't be fixed. These tuners not only fit perfect but they looked better than the originals and really fit the age of this old guitar. Thanks Stewart-MacDonald for selling such a great product.

Marc 
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
4 11-25-2010
big improvement

Had stopped playing my Gibson A2 (1918)because the original tuners were worn out. New tuners work well and apparently went on the instrument with no trouble. Metal work actually duller than old tuners but cream pegs are nice. Worth it!

don baldwin  springfield oregon
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 11-25-2010
Inexpensive, but not cheap

I've used these tuners on a few instruments now and have nothing but good things to say about them. They turn smoothly, hold the string tension well, and have a nice fit and finish. That's all I require.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh 510 Bridge & Tailpiece
Gotoh 510 Bridge & Tailpiece
5 11-25-2010
The absolute best T.O.M. design to date!

I've used this Gotoh 510 locking bridge on quite a few guitars thus far. Most recently on a '05 Ibanez IC400 Iceman. You simply cannot beat the solid tonal response you get from the strings with one of these. The improvement in sustain is also very dramatic. I've never used the tailpiece though, so I cannot say anything about that.

Tracy  USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
3 11-25-2010
The Fret Arbor Press

This is a great method of installing new frets and while the arbor and the other accessories of excellent quality. The build quality of the Press itself is not up to Stewmacs normal high standard.

GrahamL  Australia
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 11-25-2010
Perfect Replacement

I picked up a 91 Epiphone EBM-4 at a flea market and it needed new tuners. After going to every guitar shop I know of in 3 different cities, I wasn't able to find any Gold replacement tuners for my bass. So I just ordered them from StewMac and 2 weeks later, I now have them installed and they work even better than the originals!

CJ  Mississauga, Canada
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 11-25-2010
Great tool!!!!!!!

I was using the run of the mill cutter when a friend of mine who is a great guitar tech told me how much better this tool is. I caved and bought it. OH MY GOD!!! What a difference. It makes everything you have to do, following snipping the frets 10 times easier. It gives a clean cut right to the board. Great tool. Trust me, this is not a waste of money.

Flavio  New York
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 11-25-2010
Best press ever

I don't think it could be better than this, in a small shop like mine!

Zeca Salgueiro  Brazil
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 11-25-2010
Classic Tones For a Classic Price

Hello Everyone: I recently acquired A parsons street humbucker and an overwound humbucker from a friend who couldn't finish a started project. I installed the pickups in a ESP Grassroots les paul, I used a stew mac wiring kit and orange drop capacitors, well let's say the tone is pure classic, the parsons street humbucker sounds like what a PAF should sound like. It sounds like a boutique pickup with out the boutique price.

With the overwound pickup in the bridge position it has that nice "BURST" tone you hear in the late 50's les pauls. I am playing them through a marshall jcm 900 and it has that classic tone. With this setup it sounds like Joe Walsh or the Led Man Jimmy Page. I really want to thank the gang at stew mac for bringing an affordable option to our guitars, especially in this economy at the moment.
Thanks again

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
5 11-25-2010
solid control, tiny package

This is the first set of controls that really stays out of the way on modern jazz guitars. You could probably use it in a custom flat top sound hole arrangement, as well. I wouldn't be surprised to find someone using it on a violin (under the chin rest?)or on a mandolin, either. The single control wiring diagram could be clearer, but the double wiring diagram is spot on. The tone control is fully functional and doesn't just attenuate the total sound. Worth the price since it ads to the total quality of a custom instrument.

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
4 11-25-2010
Worked Great

Good quality. The choice of coarse or fine on same file allows you to remove bulk of wood quicker and then use the fine side for more precise work.

JSarge  Attleboro, MA Read my reviews (4)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 11-25-2010
Notched Straightedge for Guitar

Another ingeniously simple tool, it has helped make my fretwork faster and higher quality. It has paid for itself many times over.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Displaying 18851 – 18875
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  754  755  756  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce