Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18851 – 18875
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  754  755  756  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, OZ

THIS makes me accurate, every time. Great thanks very much, perfect for any guitar builder at any level
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Inlay Tracing Scribe
Inlay Tracing Scribe
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, OZ

This is another highly useful tool from Stew-Mac. So accurate, I find lots of handy uses for it. So happy I bought it.
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-30-2010
great gauges!!

Wow, these understring radius gauges are great! No more guessing, bang on bridge AND pup adjustments! Setup my Strat, 330/Rickenbacker AND my 5122 Gretsch. Thanks for the fast and courteous delivery too.

Harry  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
5 11-29-2010
My New Favorite Guitar Lube!

Tri-Flow has become my new favorite guitar lube!
I've been using it for all kinds of things...tuners, bridge parts, nut slots, trem arms...everything!
Previously, light oil, graphite, white lube, etc...now I just use this stuff.
Handy dandy applicator too...love it!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
4 11-29-2010
Makes Frets Shiny!

This stuff works great for doing a final polishing on frets!
I still use oil[s] for rosewood & ebony fretboards post Gorgo tho, which combined with Gorgo, really makes the fingerboard look great, and the frets feel smooth too!
On a maple FB, I follow up with a good cleaner/polish, as Gorgo can leave a bit of residue behind.

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Dan Erlewines Neck Resets
Dan Erlewine's Neck Resets
5 11-29-2010
Great Learning tool

In my opinion this is the best and easiest to understand DVD on the area of neck resets. It has helped me through about half a dozen resets, the latest as a Martin D20-12 string. Brian Galloup is a great teacher and covers all the bases to help you through it. Great product. Thanks Dan!!

Big Mike Griffin  LaVergne TN Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
5 11-29-2010
Golden Age Pickup for Jazz Bass

Great pups, especially in series wiring. Rich, thick sound. It's my bass with these pups.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 11-29-2010
sorry for the last review

Okay, I know that in my last review, I posted a comment saying "overly-complicated", but I started messing with them, and eventually figured it out, so I apologize greatly for what I said.

But after I got them working, they were great!! But I thought I could just use 3 of these and use just regular clamps for the rest of the fingerboard. I was horribly wrong, the regular clamps put dents in the fingerboard, which were really hard to sand out and may force me into starting all over again!!!
So if you want to buy these for an electric guitar neck, but at least 5 or 6 of them. And sorry for the other review stew-mac. Looks like you showed me!!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
5 11-29-2010
Amazing Book!

The title of this book is simply not enough! The section on evaluating a guitar made me look at my guitars in a completely different light. I learned a huge amount of knowledge in only the first 25 pages!! If you are more of an electric guy like me, get this book. You'll NEVER pay for another guitar set-up in your life. It even comes with your own set of radius gauges. Dan Erlewine is a true guitar grand-master!

Aaron Schmidt  Spruce Grove, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 11-29-2010
An Absolutely -=*MUST*=- Own!!

Hands down, the most comprehensive repair book there is in my humble opinion! The information, details, tips, tricks, and pictures are indispensable and completely invaluable!! I just began to fix and tinker with my own guitars and this book has saved me in a number of situations. Buy this book!

Aaron Schmidt  Spruce Grove, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-29-2010
Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are excellent! They yield even, clear tone across all the strings.

Mark B.  Colorado
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 11-29-2010
Fret End Dressing File

Before I got the StewMac dressing file, I was using small rat tail or rifler files. They barely work, usually leaving a scratch /file mark on the fretboard. The dressing file has a safe edge on the bottom, and leaves no marks. Quickly, easily, takes burrs out and leaves a smooth end. A good buy considering the job it does and it should last many years.

R Guess  North Florida Read my reviews (16)
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
5 11-29-2010
Quality Knobs

I was at first a little worried about these knobs being my first purchase from stewmac, I was not sure how good the craftsmanship would be. I have purchased other accessories like these in the past from other places and they have been just terrible. But these knobs are very well made, seem to be heavy duty and free from flaws. Thanks!

Shucky  Napoleon, OH
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-29-2010
Great tool!

Accurate string spacing! Great tool!

stepuc  italy Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Side Set
Archtop Side Set
5 11-28-2010
Perfect addition for this 1st archtop

Great looking maple sides to go with the top and back I have had here for over 5 years. FINALLY got the archtop project going again and these sides will be a great match to the back and neck I have. Beautifully figured and sanded, almost perfectly ready to go into the side bender

Albert L  New Jersey USA Read my reviews (2)
Neck Joint Router Bits
Neck Joint Router Bits
4 11-28-2010
Great Tool

The cutters are really very nice. I had a bit of trouble though using them with the router templates. By the time I had them deep enough to follow the template on the bearing, I had accidentally cut one edge of the plexi template since the bearing had not yet met the required depth. After a few planned out adjustments I can compensate but I think I am going to go to a router guide instead of the cutter guided bearing

Albert L  New Jersey USA Read my reviews (2)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-28-2010
Great product and price!

I have used these dots as well as those from other supply companies. Are these a little more expensive? Yes. Are these perfectly flat and round? Yes! The extra money is worth it for the ease of installation and time saved sanding!

Vaughn  Auburn, AL
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 11-28-2010
Shims!

These templates are all great, but shim it up first and make sure you have two bearings.

GuitarGuru  NJ Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 11-28-2010
De-clouder of "cloudy" finishes on vintage inst.

I bought the set of Micro-Mesh finishing pads to try to take out a hair line scratch on an es-125 I recently purchased. It worked so well that I sanded the whole guitar starting with the middle of the " pack " and finishing with the finest grit. Incredible!! It not only took out the scratch but lifted the old dirty sheen that I couldn't remove no matter what. It not only will remove fine scratches, with a little elbow grease, but restored the beautiful luster and shine to this 45 yr. old relic. Fantastic! Will need another set for the rest of my collection. Outstanding product from an outstanding supplier.

Gitarzan  Va. Bch., Va
Gibson Truss Rod Nut
Gibson® Truss Rod Nut
3 11-28-2010
Working the nut

Certainly well machined with good dimensional tolerances. The only regrettable thing is the flat height is a little too low thus it caused these issues; certain truss rods are pretty stubborn and turning it can be a tricky thing, also the space surrounding the truss rod nut can be tight. All these make turning the nut difficult. I bought half a dozen and I rounded one. After some materials around the truss rod are removed, another truss rod nut was refitted and it is staying on well now.
Perhaps, it can be made from steel so that it would not get rounded by the socket wrench as easy as brass made ones. In all fairness, if the truss rod is well installed and the space surrounding it is adequate, the truss rod nut is good to work with.

aDAM cHAN  Singapore
GHS Bass Boomers
GHS Bass Boomers
5 11-28-2010
Great Strings

As good, or better than any other Bass strings. Great price, and sealed packs for longer life.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 11-28-2010
archtop mounting rings

Good quality bezels, hope to add a bit of mass and sustain to an archtop. If you folks decide to carry the wooden mounting rings again I'll order them in a heartbeat (they were discontinued when I ordered these...)

ed bartlett  edmonds Wa
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 11-27-2010
Amazing product

I bought an old, used audio mixer. Several pots were VERY noisy and several channels worked intermittently. Cleaned all XLR inputs with Deoxit and shot it down the shafts on the noisy pots. After just a few turns of the pots, I could actually FEEL them turning easier.

When I powered it up, everything worked perfectly!! Absolutely amazing!!

jimirb  Brandon, SD
Customer supplied image for review
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 11-27-2010
Very good glue for wood working!!!

So far my project guitar has held together perfectly with this glue. So strong that just to test it out one day I glued together some scrap maple, let it fully set and bent the piece til it broke... the joint still held!!! The wood broke just above the joint!!! Highly recommended!!!

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 11-27-2010
Its great

I bought this for a couple of my projects and has worked great except one problem is the screws on the depth stop keep coming loose so i just put some plumbing tap on it and has worked great


a definite buy!

Kyle  Utah
Displaying 18851 – 18875
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  754  755  756  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce