Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18826 – 18850
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  753  754  755  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 11-28-2010
Great product and price!

I have used these dots as well as those from other supply companies. Are these a little more expensive? Yes. Are these perfectly flat and round? Yes! The extra money is worth it for the ease of installation and time saved sanding!

Vaughn  Auburn, AL
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 11-28-2010
Shims!

These templates are all great, but shim it up first and make sure you have two bearings.

GuitarGuru  NJ Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 11-28-2010
De-clouder of "cloudy" finishes on vintage inst.

I bought the set of Micro-Mesh finishing pads to try to take out a hair line scratch on an es-125 I recently purchased. It worked so well that I sanded the whole guitar starting with the middle of the " pack " and finishing with the finest grit. Incredible!! It not only took out the scratch but lifted the old dirty sheen that I couldn't remove no matter what. It not only will remove fine scratches, with a little elbow grease, but restored the beautiful luster and shine to this 45 yr. old relic. Fantastic! Will need another set for the rest of my collection. Outstanding product from an outstanding supplier.

Gitarzan  Va. Bch., Va
Gibson Truss Rod Nut
Gibson® Truss Rod Nut
3 11-28-2010
Working the nut

Certainly well machined with good dimensional tolerances. The only regrettable thing is the flat height is a little too low thus it caused these issues; certain truss rods are pretty stubborn and turning it can be a tricky thing, also the space surrounding the truss rod nut can be tight. All these make turning the nut difficult. I bought half a dozen and I rounded one. After some materials around the truss rod are removed, another truss rod nut was refitted and it is staying on well now.
Perhaps, it can be made from steel so that it would not get rounded by the socket wrench as easy as brass made ones. In all fairness, if the truss rod is well installed and the space surrounding it is adequate, the truss rod nut is good to work with.

aDAM cHAN  Singapore
GHS Bass Boomers
GHS Bass Boomers
5 11-28-2010
Great Strings

As good, or better than any other Bass strings. Great price, and sealed packs for longer life.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 11-28-2010
archtop mounting rings

Good quality bezels, hope to add a bit of mass and sustain to an archtop. If you folks decide to carry the wooden mounting rings again I'll order them in a heartbeat (they were discontinued when I ordered these...)

ed bartlett  edmonds Wa
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 11-27-2010
Amazing product

I bought an old, used audio mixer. Several pots were VERY noisy and several channels worked intermittently. Cleaned all XLR inputs with Deoxit and shot it down the shafts on the noisy pots. After just a few turns of the pots, I could actually FEEL them turning easier.

When I powered it up, everything worked perfectly!! Absolutely amazing!!

jimirb  Brandon, SD
Customer supplied image for review
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 11-27-2010
Very good glue for wood working!!!

So far my project guitar has held together perfectly with this glue. So strong that just to test it out one day I glued together some scrap maple, let it fully set and bent the piece til it broke... the joint still held!!! The wood broke just above the joint!!! Highly recommended!!!

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 11-27-2010
Its great

I bought this for a couple of my projects and has worked great except one problem is the screws on the depth stop keep coming loose so i just put some plumbing tap on it and has worked great


a definite buy!

Kyle  Utah
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer
5 11-27-2010
Les Paul Headstock Repair

Color Tone products are quick and easy to use. I used a combination of Pigment,and Stain to make this red grain filler.

Kaminski Stringed Instruments and Amplification  Swoyersville, Pa
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
5 11-27-2010
Opaque Super Glue

The black is the only one I've used. It seems to have worked just fine.

packetpass  NY
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
3 11-27-2010
Room for improvement . . .

The dimensions are very accurate and consistent. That's the good news.

Bad news is if you're planning on mitering the purflings - good luck finding 10/20/10 w/b/w material anywhere. I make my own, but it's a pain to do so. I wish they'd either change trim to 10/10/10 OR offer 10/20/10 purfling (without bindings) as a complimentary product.

Jeff Fortenbery  Cincinnati, OH Read my reviews (5)
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
5 11-27-2010
Easy to use with beautiful results!

What else is there to say?

kingkatt  Cincinnati, OH
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
4 11-26-2010
Top Braces

Got them in the mail today and look nice. Appear perfectly scalloped and shaped, clean cut and smooth, ready to stiffen up my new top next week. Can't wait to see how she sounds after the fact.

Bryan D. Cozort  Olmsted Falls, OH Read my reviews (4)
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 11-26-2010
Can go either way

Just thought I'd add a second picture showing a Lap Steel guitar that I used these tuners on a solid head stock. They look and work great either way.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 11-26-2010
Megaswitch E-Model

I'm very happy with how this switch worked out. I used the 2-humbucker configuration. It was easy to wire-up, without involving the jumper wires required in a 24-connection type switch.
I would gladly purchase others in the future.

Richard Ardrey  Portland, Oregon Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 11-26-2010
3/4" wide conductive copper tape

This was just enough to shield an Ibanez RG. With 3/16" overlap, I was able to cover: 2 Humbucker routs, rear control compartment, control compartment cover; input jack recess, and a strip to retain the bridge ground under the plate.
After seeing the way it looked when finished, I kind of wish copper plated hardware were available.

Richard Ardrey  Portland, Oregon Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 11-26-2010
Nice Hot Bridge Pickup

I bought this (and the standard wind) for an Epiphone G-400 SG. The original pickups, whilst not bad, tended toward the muddy end, lacking definition.

The pickup fit the rout and mounting ring perfectly, and the resulting sound when the guitar was buttoned up and re-strung is thick, yet with definition. It responds (at lower amp gains) extremely well to pick attack, and is very expressive. Backing off the volume brings a little sparkle back into the sound, just as it should. It does have a thicker sound than its standard-wind neck equivalent, but that was expected.

Just one caveat for those who might have the same guitar: the cable channel from the bridge pickup rout to the control cavity on my guitar was too small for the cables of two pickups to pass through. The hole had to be reamed out before they would pass through. That's the fault of the guitar, not the pickups.

I am *very* happy with this pickup - it's made the guitar fun to play again :).

John Laidlaw  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-26-2010
Real Humbucker Sound

I bought this (and the overwound) for an Epiphone G-400 SG. The original pickups, whilst not bad, tended toward the muddy end, lacking definition.

The pickup fit the rout and mounting ring perfectly, and the resulting sound when the guitar was buttoned up and re-strung is thick, yet with definition. Backing off the volume brings a little sparkle back into the sound, just as it should.

Just one caveat for those who might have the same guitar: the cable channel from the bridge pickup rout to the control cavity on my guitar was too small for the cables of two pickups to pass through. The hole had to be reamed out before they would pass through. That's the fault of the guitar, not the pickups.

I am *very* happy with this pickup - it's made the guitar fun to play again :).

John Laidlaw  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
3 11-26-2010
Not for guitars

I bought these machines as direct replacements for a '31 KayKraft. They were notchy when I first put them on, and it has only gotten worse over the last 3 weeks. Only buy the Waverlys if they are going on a guitar. These can not handle the extra string pressure. A friend has 9 guitars with Waverlys on them, and he has never had a problem. I wish he had told me.

Kerry Krishna  Prince George BC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 11-26-2010
Fret Cutter

It is a very useful tool that I recommend to people who work refretting, and very useful to remove the buttons and cut.

8" Wooden Radius-sanding Blocks  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
5 11-26-2010
Always around!

Yep, they're great, and not just for polishing frets or removing the nasty "sanded" marks left by the guitar strap where it rotates on the guitar body, behind its button.

I used to keep one of these in every guitar case I have, and when lending my own guitars to playing friends now and then, they always returned without it, I couldn't understand why.

I found out, friends learned my secret: these sticks are unbeatable at curing fingernails, too, after cutting or re-shaping, to smooth the edges and even buffing them to a gloss, if at all needed.

Always around, never without!

Daniele  Italy
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 11-26-2010
8" Wooden Radius Block

I used this excellent product to give to my radius maple fingerboard of a guitar Fender.

8" Wooden Radius-sanding Blocks  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
String-thru Top Ferrules
String-thru Top Ferrules
5 11-26-2010
Other Uses

Perfect for using as reinforcing inserts for string through acoustic bridges!

Nick Benjamin, Benjamin Guitars.  UK
Replacement Tuner Screws
Replacement Tuner Screws
5 11-26-2010
Just what I needed.

I needed these screws to complete restoration of a 1965 Rickenbacker. They were perfect.

Ml in Philadelphia  Philadelphia, PA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 18826 – 18850
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  753  754  755  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce