Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18801 – 18825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  752  753  754  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 11-30-2010
What did I do before?

I just received this and have fretted two necks. This tool has been absolutely essential! I think it is an expensive one but the quality is there. You can use this very easily on a fully fretted strung fretboard which is extremely helpful in set up.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
1 11-30-2010
Cheap Screws

I have had issues with any screws lately from Stew Mac. I have no idea what they are made out of but everyone of them has either stripped on the top or broken clean in half when attempting to tighten down even after providing a guide hole. Very frustrating. I go elsewhere for anything with a screw and have not had the same problem.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
4 11-30-2010
Good Second Removal Knife

In reading the other review I never thought of sharpening and or heating it. That may have helped. I do quite a bit of fingerboard replacements and my first choice is actually a Behr Spatula. It is thick enough so you can provide some power behind it. This one seems a little thin for that but is good for getting the separation started and edges. Have not had an opportunity to try it on an acoustic bridge.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
4 11-30-2010
Nice file with useable handle

I was using just a plain file in the past but the wooden handle has me spoiled, keeps your hands far away from the sharp ends. Would not be hard to make. The only issue I had is after 6mos of minimal use the file separated from the handle. I could have just re glued the file to the handle but in looking at it, not enough glue was applied in the first place (IMHO). I did contact Stew Mac and they replaced the filed right away. Other than that it is my go to file for the fret edges.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 11-30-2010
Nuts about this vice!

I've been using mine to make between 10-15 saddles & nuts a day for the last 5 years and it's still working perfectly! Thanks STEWMAC

TREEROOT  Towcester, Northampton, U.K.
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 11-30-2010
Really recommended

Very smooth and the guitar stays in tune perfectly. They also look very nice. The perfect tuners for acoustic guitars

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Precision Router Edge Guide
Precision Router Edge Guide
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, OZ

This took me from novice fiddler to very confident guitar builder. So nice and easy to use, mandatory tool for binding !!
Thanks Stewmac
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Binding Laminator
Binding Laminator
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, Oz

I first thought...I can make one, but after much frustration I bought one. Now I wonder why it took so long. Takes me from novice to near perfect
Thanks great tool...again
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
4 11-30-2010
arbor press

It is very good

Sergio Prozzo  Italy Read my reviews (2)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, OZ

THIS makes me accurate, every time. Great thanks very much, perfect for any guitar builder at any level
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Inlay Tracing Scribe
Inlay Tracing Scribe
5 11-30-2010
Chris Pedersen, OZ

This is another highly useful tool from Stew-Mac. So accurate, I find lots of handy uses for it. So happy I bought it.
Tzen

tzen  newcastle australia Read my reviews (5)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 11-30-2010
great gauges!!

Wow, these understring radius gauges are great! No more guessing, bang on bridge AND pup adjustments! Setup my Strat, 330/Rickenbacker AND my 5122 Gretsch. Thanks for the fast and courteous delivery too.

Harry  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
5 11-29-2010
My New Favorite Guitar Lube!

Tri-Flow has become my new favorite guitar lube!
I've been using it for all kinds of things...tuners, bridge parts, nut slots, trem arms...everything!
Previously, light oil, graphite, white lube, etc...now I just use this stuff.
Handy dandy applicator too...love it!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
4 11-29-2010
Makes Frets Shiny!

This stuff works great for doing a final polishing on frets!
I still use oil[s] for rosewood & ebony fretboards post Gorgo tho, which combined with Gorgo, really makes the fingerboard look great, and the frets feel smooth too!
On a maple FB, I follow up with a good cleaner/polish, as Gorgo can leave a bit of residue behind.

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Dan Erlewines Neck Resets
Dan Erlewine's Neck Resets
5 11-29-2010
Great Learning tool

In my opinion this is the best and easiest to understand DVD on the area of neck resets. It has helped me through about half a dozen resets, the latest as a Martin D20-12 string. Brian Galloup is a great teacher and covers all the bases to help you through it. Great product. Thanks Dan!!

Big Mike Griffin  LaVergne TN Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
Golden Age Pickups for Jazz Bass
5 11-29-2010
Golden Age Pickup for Jazz Bass

Great pups, especially in series wiring. Rich, thick sound. It's my bass with these pups.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 11-29-2010
sorry for the last review

Okay, I know that in my last review, I posted a comment saying "overly-complicated", but I started messing with them, and eventually figured it out, so I apologize greatly for what I said.

But after I got them working, they were great!! But I thought I could just use 3 of these and use just regular clamps for the rest of the fingerboard. I was horribly wrong, the regular clamps put dents in the fingerboard, which were really hard to sand out and may force me into starting all over again!!!
So if you want to buy these for an electric guitar neck, but at least 5 or 6 of them. And sorry for the other review stew-mac. Looks like you showed me!!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
5 11-29-2010
Amazing Book!

The title of this book is simply not enough! The section on evaluating a guitar made me look at my guitars in a completely different light. I learned a huge amount of knowledge in only the first 25 pages!! If you are more of an electric guy like me, get this book. You'll NEVER pay for another guitar set-up in your life. It even comes with your own set of radius gauges. Dan Erlewine is a true guitar grand-master!

Aaron Schmidt  Spruce Grove, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 11-29-2010
An Absolutely -=*MUST*=- Own!!

Hands down, the most comprehensive repair book there is in my humble opinion! The information, details, tips, tricks, and pictures are indispensable and completely invaluable!! I just began to fix and tinker with my own guitars and this book has saved me in a number of situations. Buy this book!

Aaron Schmidt  Spruce Grove, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 11-29-2010
Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers are excellent! They yield even, clear tone across all the strings.

Mark B.  Colorado
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 11-29-2010
Fret End Dressing File

Before I got the StewMac dressing file, I was using small rat tail or rifler files. They barely work, usually leaving a scratch /file mark on the fretboard. The dressing file has a safe edge on the bottom, and leaves no marks. Quickly, easily, takes burrs out and leaves a smooth end. A good buy considering the job it does and it should last many years.

R Guess  North Florida Read my reviews (16)
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
5 11-29-2010
Quality Knobs

I was at first a little worried about these knobs being my first purchase from stewmac, I was not sure how good the craftsmanship would be. I have purchased other accessories like these in the past from other places and they have been just terrible. But these knobs are very well made, seem to be heavy duty and free from flaws. Thanks!

Shucky  Napoleon, OH
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 11-29-2010
Great tool!

Accurate string spacing! Great tool!

stepuc  italy Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Side Set
Archtop Side Set
5 11-28-2010
Perfect addition for this 1st archtop

Great looking maple sides to go with the top and back I have had here for over 5 years. FINALLY got the archtop project going again and these sides will be a great match to the back and neck I have. Beautifully figured and sanded, almost perfectly ready to go into the side bender

Albert L  New Jersey USA Read my reviews (2)
Neck Joint Router Bits
Neck Joint Router Bits
4 11-28-2010
Great Tool

The cutters are really very nice. I had a bit of trouble though using them with the router templates. By the time I had them deep enough to follow the template on the bearing, I had accidentally cut one edge of the plexi template since the bearing had not yet met the required depth. After a few planned out adjustments I can compensate but I think I am going to go to a router guide instead of the cutter guided bearing

Albert L  New Jersey USA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 18801 – 18825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  752  753  754  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce