Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18776 – 18800
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  751  752  753  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 12-01-2010
Loyal customer for 32 years!

I have used your previous generation Router Base on my instruments. I am impressed always with the quality of your products and I am looking forward to the precision improvements engineered for the new base. This is a sample of my work which I know will be incredibly easier to inlay now with my new base!

Tom Erickson  Livingston, NJ 07039
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 12-01-2010
The Beam

I've found this tool to be very helpful in clamping down on all the frets after a glue in fret job. It's also great to radius a finger board. I have a 12"R, 20"R and 16"R and plan to get them all.

Flankmanoman  Washington, Pa. Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 12-01-2010
Golden Age Tele bridge PU.

I put one of these in a Fender Esquire for my daughter, and was really impressed. Compares favorably with the SD Vintage for Broadcaster pu I have in my Telecaster, and at one third of the price! Fantastic value!!

Rune S-L  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (2)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
1 12-01-2010
Weld-On Cement, didn't work at all in my case

Tried it with a short strip of binding on a banjo, running from the nut to the 5th-string peg. I applied the cement to the surfaces of the neck and the binding, and then, to secure the binding to the neck, I used a band of inner tube rubber, about 5/8'' wide or so, wrapping it very tight like a bandage, over the neck + the binding strip. I left the bound neck overnight. When I removed the rubber band, just before noon on the other day,the biding came off as if there was no gluing effect at all - as if the cement was just water.
The amount of pressure created by the inner tube rubber band method, is quite enormous. So even if clamps provide even more pressure and should have been the way to go, some gluing effect should have been noticed. But there was none at all.

Yigal Zan  Albuquerque, NM, USA
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
5 12-01-2010
Banjo Peg

The banjo peg you sent is wonderful
I also enjoyed the free informative guitar parts magazine you sent with it.

Roofer  Vancouver Canada
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 12-01-2010
Perfect

What's not to like? With a little judicious slotting and some eyeballed compensation, I now have a battered old Martin DX1 with the same string spacing at the bridge as my OM-28V.

frailnail  Alpine, UT Read my reviews (2)
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
5 12-01-2010
The best I've found.

This incredibly affordable mic brings the actual sound of my Martin D-18GE to the audience. Without one of these, you might as well accompany yourself on a Les Paul. And from Stewmac, it got here FAST.

frailnail  Alpine, UT Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 12-01-2010
Gotoh Tuners

I had made a mistake when a place a order for a wrong part. The correction of the error was made by stewmac team with the biggest professionalism and efficiency possible and due that I got the correct part very fast. I am extremely happy with the attendance and product quality. Thank You!

Paulo Santo  Brazil
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
4 12-01-2010
Great tuners, wish you buy singles instead of a set....

I bought these to replace some really cheap tuners on an electric ukulele with headstock dimensions similar to an electric guitar. I guess I have a spare for each side now. What are the odds I'll have to actually use one? Wish I could have bought singles. I know it's an oddball situation but any experienced tech knows all about those. Great tuners otherwise.

Kage 1974  Stratford, WI
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 12-01-2010
The ONLY tuners I use!

Waverly's are the only tuners I use on my custom guitars. For me, nothing beats them.

Brock Poling - Poling Guitars  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
5 12-01-2010
high quality material for custom pickguard

This was my first attempt in applying a custom guard to an acoustic. I bought the sheet as I had no template for the Larrivee parlor's guard. Drawing and cutting out some drafts using some acetate sheets with plain paper really helped create the template. The result was beyond my expectations. Beveling the edge with sandpaper as seen in the video was easy.

Gabe K  Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 12-01-2010
Excellent!

I have a Highway 1 Tele, nice guitar, horrible bridge. I ordered this bridge as a replacement. I was surprised at the heavy construction. Had to drill the pickup holes a tad for the stock mounting screws and did indeed see brass. This bridge feels VERY solid, was a direct fit, a 20 minute install including drilling. A huge improvement in sound and intonation. Very pleased indeed.

heinz  Alton,Il Read my reviews (9)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
5 12-01-2010
Pickguard Adhesive Heaven

This stuff is absolutely great for making your own pick-guards or for re-gluing your old ones! No mess or problems of any type either! If you want to get things done right, an Exacto type of knife is mandatory. I made a pick-guard for my ukulele and this adhesive worked perfectly on it!

señorv6  Carollton, Texas
Customer supplied image for review
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 12-01-2010
Consistently great

I have used these carbon fiber rods for years. They are always consistent and the service is spectacular.

Brock Poling - Poling Guitars  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
4 12-01-2010
7 cordes + frettes en biais ...

désolé, je ne parle pas anglais...

ory  france
Customer supplied image for review
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
5 12-01-2010
Solid Contender

These are a nice solid replacement. I bought several sets to keep in stock to replace old pitted saddles. A perfect fit for my old T-60's!

heinz  Alton,Il Read my reviews (9)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 12-01-2010
Stop searching for the right screw

These are the perfect screws for mounting pickups and back cover plates. If you have ever searched for the "last screw", or have salvaged screws from other guitars just to finish a project, you will know what I am talking about.
I highly recommend these screws!

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
Hipshot Baby Grand Bridge
5 11-30-2010
great product

I refinished a late 80's vintage Epiphone guitar and used every part and the electronics from stew mac. I am very pleased with this bridge and the construction material. Great alignment and great look for a once tremolo sporting guitar.

mxdunn  pinnacle nc
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
4 11-30-2010
Corner bench Vice

Great vice, I have used it again and again without issue. I love the turn crank. Just two complaints that keep it from a 5, price and it would be nice to be able to replace the pads inside the vise with both replacement and different material linings... I do a lot of french polishing and gluing...

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
5 11-30-2010
Simple and elegant.

I installed this on an Epiphone Dot. I'm fairly new to repairing my own guitars, but even I have to say it was ridiculously easy! The only problem I had was that my strap horn wouldn't fit in the slot, so I ground the edges of the strap horn. The vibrato works beautifully, and dare I say that the guitar actually stays in tune even with excessive use. Yes, I dare. I'm going to buy a gold one in the future for my les paul. I love my Bigsby!

scotty2hotty  hamilton
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 11-30-2010
Versatile Value

I have been using these 3-axis bridges for years. First, they fit right into the Gibson USA bridge studs, so it is a transparent change-over.
Initially, the reason I bought this bridge was to custom space the string gap for easier playing or to better line-up with the pick-up screws.
A second benefit is that the "rollers" do not pinch the strings, nor are there any saddle burrs, so you get no string pinching = no string breakage!
Also, this would be a good bridge to use with a Bigsby vibrato set-up. The way that the elevation screws fit-up with the body of the bridge allows a lot of surface area contact.
Recently, I acquired an Gibson SG thru E-bay that had a bad alignment set-up between the stop bar to the nut (the stop bar was slightly off-center)and the high E string was too far in-board, the bass E string too close to the edge of the neck. Switching from the Nashville bridge to this bridge resolved all of this potential problem in a heart-beat.
I really love this product, I have 8 of them so far. This is money well-spent!

citadel264  Mt. Prospect, IL
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 11-30-2010
Excellent Tool

Like other reviewers don't know how I was doing it before but this is obviously a better method. Easily locates high frets. I use this as I seat the frets and then do a leveling with a 24 inch aluminum sanding bar then as I polish I use it again to check the frets as I go through. A little pricey but I don't see having to ever buy another one... They seem very sturdy.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
4 11-30-2010
Good Boards

I have used the ebony and rosewood boards here and from a competitor. For the most part the boards have been great, much easier IMHO than doing your own.

Personally I enjoy the streaks in the ebony and would never dye it but that is obviously my preference.

The only issue I have had is I did have a fretboard with a crack in it that they did replace. The boards have also been fairly dry but once oiled seem to respond with no issues.

Be nice if they offered a planing or thickness service since I don't have that ability at my home shop. I have to use a planer attached to a drill press to thickness properly. Since I do all custom inlay I can only take so much off the top.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 11-30-2010
EXCELLENT! PART 2

In my review before, I said that STEWMAC sent me the wrong screws. I emailed them about the problem, and not even 2 hours later they called me explaining that the screws for the neck pickup are to be drilled into the wood not through the pickguard. STEWMAC is excellent in their products, especially these pickups, and they have EXCELLENT customer service! BUY THESE NOW!!!!!!!!!!

Johnny Harpo  Reno, Nevada Read my reviews (2)
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
1 11-30-2010
Reverse Mahogany Kerfing

I tried the reverse mahogany kerfing on my last guitar and while it turned out OK, it was extremely difficult to work with. It cracked all over the place and bunched up on the tight curve at the waist. I've used the standard basswood on most of my other guitars and will continue to do so.

Dave in Bainbridge  Bainbridge, PA
Displaying 18776 – 18800
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  751  752  753  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce