Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18751 – 18775
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  750  751  752  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 12-07-2010
Steinbergers Rock!!

I replaced the crappy banjo tuners on my '02 Gibson Firebird V. These are without a doubt, the best tuners I've ever used. I've been playing for about 22 yrs and have used just about every tuner available. The Steinbergers win hands down. I can string up my guitar, stretch the strings good and that's it. The next day, they're still in tune, unlike most tuners which take a little longer for new strings to settle in. I woulds also suggest Dan's Guitar Player Repair Guide. It's unbelievable.

Donnie Smith II  Fenwick, WV Read my reviews (4)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 12-07-2010
Great and Precise!!!

I purchased these tuners about 30 days ago, and installed them on a Nechville Banjo with a tunneled fifth string. The tuners are all placed on the Headstock, and I am extremely pleased with the outcome! The look compliments the Modern design of the instrument and make tuning a breeze. I have none of the tuning issues that are common with traditional Banjo tuners. The smooth operation and comfortable feel are greatly appreciated.

Anyone looking for an attractive and precise tuner should try these. The cost is very reasonable in comparison to conventional banjo tuners, and once you try them, you will not go back!

Corn  Clemmons, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Cherrywood Violin Bow
Cherrywood Violin Bow
4 12-06-2010
Not bad

Actually as cheap bows go, this isn't half bad, it is better than anything in a store in the student $50 range.

Oscar  Canada
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup
5 12-06-2010
Great Jazz Pickup

I installed this on an Eastman 810 CE and found it to produce a much more even sound across all of the strings than the original pickup. The tone is outstanding.

JJ Grell  WI
The Responsive Guitar
The Responsive Guitar
5 12-06-2010
A master class from a legendary luthier...

I purchased both these books and the accompanying DVD, and am pleased to say that it has been worth every penny.

The books go in-depth into the reasons why guitars are constructed as they are, including illustrations to drive home these concepts in a clear and concise way. Mr. Somogyi possesses a skilled way with words, so the read is very entertaining as well as informative.

While I am only midway through the first volume, I can say without a doubt that these books are important for any aspiring luthier.

Josh  Westminster, CO
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 12-06-2010
String spacing ruler

Made determining string spacing so simple. Can just eyeball the spacing you want and mark the nut from there. Paired with the pre-shaped nuts, making a nut is no longer a problem.

JimLam 
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 12-05-2010
Good Spring

It is not quiet SAME as my spring already attached on the guitar, it works even better! Before, I had tuning problem after the whammy use and now, i have non at ALL

Trem Spring Maniac  GA
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 12-05-2010
A must for repair shops

one of those tools that is just worth the money to have in the shop for those specific times you need it. Sure, maybe you could assemble your own, but would it really be worth taking a whole weekend when there is so much guitar playing and football watching to do?

M. Adams  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
5 12-05-2010
Fret miter box

I have been building guitars,for about 4 years now.I have been using a different method of cutting fret boards,and decided to purchase the fret miter box and SM fret saw. It is the best purchase I made. It is both, accurate and efficient.

Tom53  Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 12-05-2010
What a shine

I have several of these buffing wheels. I usually double them up to give more buffing area. They enable you to get that showroom shine. They are well constructed and last a long time.

Victor Johansen  Phoenix, Arizona Read my reviews (11)
Jack Plate for Strat
Jack Plate for Strat
5 12-05-2010
This jack was quality

I used it in a bass.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 12-05-2010
These are the best

I like these knobs because they have a small set-screw making removal quick and easy.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
5 12-05-2010
It's worth it; large quantity & excellent quality.

I made a rough cut using a Dremel that slightly melted the edges, and then used sand paper and a sharp knife to final shape.
I have plenty of excess to have on hand in the shop and the protective sticker keeps is looking new.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Bigsby B5 Vibrato
Bigsby B5 Vibrato
5 12-05-2010
Excellent Upgrade

Put this on my Gibson Firebird V and can't believe the increased sustain and improved tonality of the guitar. The Bigsby B5 is smooth as silk and makes my Firebird look awesome!

Voodoo Dex  Salina, KS Read my reviews (3)
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 12-05-2010
Excellent Upgrade

I put this bridge on my Firebird V along with the Bigsby B5 Tremelo and it works great, but even more, it sounds fantastic! The fact that each roller locks as well as the bridge itself makes for an extremely stable unit, intonation is spot on and helps the Firebird really ring like a bell!

Voodoo Dex  Salina, KS Read my reviews (3)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 12-05-2010
End pin reamer

Works well. Makes a really smooth hole. Do some for friends to get your money back.

Tom W  Texas
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
1 12-05-2010
overpriced and not really needed?

These just seem way pricey and a little under quality for a job a good pair of end nippers will do.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 12-05-2010
Quality and Service

Although this is the first time i have purchased items over the internet, i have been dealing with StewMac via fax for over 10 years. During this time i have purchased bone nuts, saddles, various frets, tuning keys, pearl and abalone dots and purflings,pickups for electric and acoustic guitars, strings, fret files, wiring kits and many other smaller items i have trouble remembering.
The quality and service i experienced over all this time is outstanding. The web shop and your magazine are very easy to use and understand. If it were not for Stewmac the two dozen instruments i have managed to make (Acoustic bass, 3 acoustic 6 strings a 12 string, 2 telecasters, 1 les paul, mandolins, dulcimers, mandolas, bazouki, and a lap steel) would never have been attempted. Thank you Stewmac for enabling me to enjoy this hobby over many years. Regards Errol

Errol  Brisbane Aust
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
2 12-05-2010
Seemed like a lot of bang for the buck.....

Hello, I'm a novice on a very limited budget. I based my purchase on the fact I could get 3 tools in 1 with the different sized burrs.
You get what you pay for and sometimes you can be pennywise and dollar foolish.
Yes you can crown frets with this tool, but the burrs don't cut very consistently. It works but not so sharp or smooth.
BTW this was my first complete fretjob and my results were good but the tools really makes a difference. Besides purchasing a diamond file I'd also suggest the tang trimmer and the radius bender or make or make your own tools.

Southbound Suarez  So.Cal.
Customer supplied image for review
L.R. Baggs iBeam Transducer
L.R. Baggs iBeam Transducer
5 12-04-2010
LR Baggs iBeam

I needed a pick up for my Maton acoustic guitar that was going to faithfully reproduce it's acoustic tones and was easy enough for an amateur luthier to install. Got all that! Installed without problem and sounds as sweet as the natural instrument.

David of Murrumbateman  Australia
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 12-04-2010
Routing for trim on an armrest bevel

Armrest bevels are cool and comfortable on a custom guitar, but it really complicates the binding and purfling.
I used figured maple binding, and a piece from the same board for the bevel patch. I attach a thin (.024) Black/White to the maple binding before shaping and gluing it on with the top purfling.
After the bevel patch is glued on, I use my dremel in the StewMac router base with a wedge that matches the angle of the bevel. The 1/32 Downcut bit is the perfect size to cut a channel along the edge of the maple patch for the thin B/W strip. The downward spiral makes a very clean cut with no "fuzz" left on the edge.
Same method can be used on the top, but I use the 1/16th Downcut bit and install a B/W/B strip to match the top purfling.

Bob Norvelle  Gilbert, Arizona
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 12-04-2010
Great Shellac

I highly recommend the ColorTone Shellac from Stewmac. It comes with a clear instruction sheet on how to mix the different "pound" mixtures. Do yourself a favor and grind up the shellac flakes as close as you can to a powder, it will take much less time to fully dissolve to its usable state. Still give it a good 24 hours and very important to give it a good stir every few minutes the first couple hours as the instructions will tell you. I used the Dewaxed Platina and it does not color the wood at all, very nice!

HaloHat  Seattle, WA USA
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Bass
3 12-04-2010
Good Quality

I bought this for my senior project for school. I built a custom bass guitar designed based off of the 1961 Fender Bass VI. I thought the design was pretty cool. So i set forth on taking the design and putting it into my own view, using this fingerboard for the neck.

TFord  RI Read my reviews (4)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
4 12-04-2010
Great Material

I bought this pickguard material, not knowing how great it is. It was just as i thought. I bought it for making a custom pickguard for a strat style body i had and it worked perfectly. Very durable, i would buy more again.

TFord  RI Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 12-04-2010
Brilliant Tool

I recently purchase the jack tool and used it about 10 ten times the first day alone snugging up amp and guitar jacks. Very handy tool. I give a solid 9.5 out of ten points

J.Hansen  Santee, Ca
Displaying 18751 – 18775
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  750  751  752  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce