Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18726 – 18750
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  749  750  751  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Bass String Retainer
Bass String Retainer
5 12-03-2010
perfect

Put this on a Yamaha fretless bass, no problem.

carmine  New Jersey Read my reviews (8)
Resonator Guitar Tailpiece
Resonator Guitar Tailpiece
5 12-03-2010
Great Piece Of Tail

As per the title, all kidding aside, the steel tailpiece was a wonderful replacement to the plated brass tailpiece that is prone to breakage. In my case it was a simple installation on my spider resonator that took all of fifteen minutes and I was back to playing music. I do believe the tailpiece even helped the tone.

Great piece of tail  Chiloquin Oregon
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 12-03-2010
Great value and sound

I put the 5420 in my MIM Strat neck position and it definitely was well worth it!! Sounds sweeter than the original. I'm gonna buy the other two now!

carmine  New Jersey Read my reviews (8)
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 12-03-2010
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners

These tuners provided the perfect solution to get my old Framus Texan playing well again, without spending a lot of money. They look like the came on the guitar and perform really well. Great value; thanks stew-mac!

Jerry  Papillion, NE Read my reviews (2)
P-Bass Pickguard
P-Bass Pickguard
5 12-03-2010
Quality Pickguard

This is a really nice pickguard. It is well made and sturdy. And it fit perfectly. I highly recommend Stew Mac for your guitar parts and accessories.

Paul W  Brooklyn, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
5 12-03-2010
Really nice knobs

I bought these to put on my vintage look antique white Fender P Bass that I am putting together. They match the color perfectly. They are easy to put on and look great. I highly recommend these knobs.

Paul W  Brooklyn, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 12-03-2010
Classical Economy Tuners

I recently stumbled onto the old Bruno Ventura that I played in high school. It need a little help after spending 40 years in my mother's closet. These tuners were perfect to get her up and playing again! The peg measurements in stewmac's diagram were spot-on. Thanks again!

Jerry  Papillion, NE Read my reviews (2)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 12-03-2010
Vintage black knobs on Golden Age tuners

I fitted these to replace the standard white knobs on some "Golden Age" relic nickel tuners I recently bought for my Kalamazoo KG-14. The fit was such that no glue was needed - nice & tight so all I had to do was "squeeze" them on the shafts using a specially adapted small vice. Excellent, near perfect replacements.

Clackers  Windsor, Berkshire, England
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 12-03-2010
Archtop Bridge

This bridge was a perfect fit for an Epiphone Emperor II Joe Pass. It brightened the guitar right up. The fit to the top was great. I lined up the saddles to match the wooden bridge and placed it in the same position. Worked like a charm.

PaulJ  Washington State
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 12-02-2010
Excellent kerf

This stuff is great. It is easier and costs less than making my own.

ward  Read my reviews (6)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 12-02-2010
OK, I was wrong.

It really IS much better than using a small steel ruler! It's so very useful. I was skeptical at first, but I'm a believer now. Highly recommended.

goodwill559  Fairfield, CA Read my reviews (3)
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 12-02-2010
Even Impressed the Luthier

I was thrilled that my first attempt came out so well. I have a greater respect for the craft after building a guitar. Superb crisp tones. Wasn't 100%. Had some buzzing frets high up the neck and the bridge n saddle needed some tweaking, so I took it to a local luthier. He made the fine adjustment and said, he "was impressed with the quality of sound from a kit guitar." It's set in DADGAD and sits along side my Yairi. I play both proudly and with equal pleasure

Bill Montante  Kennesaw, GA
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
5 12-02-2010
I Like These Clamps!!

These clamps are great when you need on quickly and they really hold. My only complaint is that I didn't get them sooner.

Flankmanoman  Washington, Pa. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 12-02-2010
fret end dressing file

This file is nothing like any other file I've used for dressing frets: it's fast, safe, clean, leaves a shiny surface, allows me to dress fret ends on a banjo fingerboard (22 frets) in about 5 minutes (10 if I'm on a lazy day...) in all safety and with perfect and consistent results.

Silvio Ferretti  Genova, Italy
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 12-02-2010
Great Tuners

As with all the products I have purchased from Stew-Mac these Golden Age tuners were great,and looked great on the 1913 Style "O" Gibson Guitar I put them on..

Curt  Vienna WV. U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 12-02-2010
Overall Great Lacquer

I build my own guitars, and a big part of what I do is painting them. I have used this lacquer on two different guitars so far, and they have worked well on both. The lacquer always comes out smooth, but only if you do it right. Unless you have your own painting shop/building, you will have to use it outside.
You have to spray when the humidity is below 55%, and the temperature is between fifty and eighty degrees. Spray the lacquer about 6 inches from the object and go smoothly back and forth. Light coats work best, other wise you will notice the lacquer runs, and the only way to fix that is to sand it.

The only problem I have with it is that it has such a heavy smell that you are almost forced to use it outside, or else you will stink up the whole house!

Overall great buy, especially because it's hard to find lacquer, let alone specific lacquer for guitars!

Lindsay  Hartford, CT
TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
5 12-02-2010
These really work!

They fit most stud inserts but aren't hard to swap. Improved sustain! They look stock so no one would guess.

Gtr-Tek  Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 12-02-2010
Just right

Nice, well finished aluminium tailpiece. Fits just like the old ones do.

Gtr-Tek  Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Saddle Retainer Wire for ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridges
Saddle Retainer Wire for ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridges
5 12-02-2010
great part

Perfect part! A little part but you need it so urgent. A big thank you for StewardMac.

SwingingBull  Rheingold, Germany Read my reviews (2)
Humbucker Baseplate
Humbucker Baseplate
4 12-02-2010
Almost prefect

Great for restoration, but the holes from the polepieces should have a winding for the screws and the measurements from polepiecehole to polepiecehole is not perfect. It should be a little bit closer to the original vintage part. All in all it is a very good part. If you can develop this remarks, it will be perfect. thank you.

SwingingBull  Rheingold, Germany Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 12-02-2010
Excellent Machines - Art & Function in one

As always, great service from Stew Mac. These tuners replaced the (not so great/pretty sloppy) stock tuners on my PRS SE Custom Semi-hollow. HUGE IMPROVEMENT! Aside from being kind of artsy-cool-looking, the Gotoh 510 machines are dead-on accurate and hold tune perfectly. I've used other brands on other guitars - these have become my preferred tuning machine.

Will H  Pitsburgh, PA
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 12-02-2010
pick ups

Golden Age pick-ups are the best. I'm a Epiphone fan and for $120.00 you can make them sound like a $2600.00 Gibson. Now whats wrong with that?

Ivan Walker  Coker,Al.
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 12-02-2010
Spray booth in a can!

These aerosol lacquers are excellent. Anyone without access to a full-on spray outfit should consider this a viable alternative for everything from touch-up to complete instrument finishing. Follow the directions on heating the cans for best results.

Rob Sharer  Raleigh, NC Read my reviews (2)
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
5 12-02-2010
Learn the technique!

This is a well-made, highly functional version of a tool we have used for years in the shop. The non-stick ends are a considerable upgrade from my home-made examples!

In response to the complaints about ease of use, this is not a do-it-for-you tool. Learning dexterity inside the box is part of getting your brace repair thing together. This tool does an excellent job, once you've acquired the technique of one-handed manipulation in a tight space. It's a big part of the trade!

Rob Sharer  Raleigh, NC Read my reviews (2)
Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin
Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin
4 12-02-2010
Nice Wood

I'm very pleased with the quality of this Spruce. You guys will definitely be selling to me more as the years go by! Thanks for the excellent service, too! -S.G. Martin

S.G. Martin  Warren, Michigan U.S.A.
Displaying 18726 – 18750
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  749  750  751  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce