Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18701 – 18725
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  748  749  750  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 12-09-2010
Shine Shine Shine

Just simply awesome stuff!

Heifer1  Rogers, AR Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
3 12-09-2010
Spitting Spray

The spray nozzle needs better technology to eliminate spitting. Just finished a guitar body and it left a crater the size of a dime. Shaking the can as directed does not work. Other than that great toner that gives even color.

Heifer1  Rogers, AR Read my reviews (2)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 12-09-2010
Great file!

Until buying this file (300 grit) I had never crowned a fret. I found it very easy to use and, when combined with polishing the frets with 400, 600 and 1500 grit black wet/dry sandpaper, my frets were super smooth. Bends are much, much easier --- even on my PRS that is only a year old. I noticed that after the crowning and polishing that all my guitars have more of a ring to them. I've since done five other guitars for people and each one notices better sustain and more of a ring from their guitars.

I highly recommend this easy-to-use and (to me) indispensable tool!

TAC  Toronto
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 12-09-2010
Great part for a great price

I have ordered two Schaller Floyd Rose tremolo bars from StewMac, and both work great. I purchased both because the original bars had a slight bit of play when screwed into the arm holders. Interestingly enough, both original bars were from Original Floyd Rose trems, so it was strange that I had those problems in the first place. The Schaller replacements removed all the wobble. Thanks, StewMac!

Spitfire75  Southern California
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 12-09-2010
Just what the ol' LP needed

I have a stripped Les Paul studio that needed some dressing up, and this baby did the trick. While the installation was a bit tricky, the free telephone tech support talked me off the ledge and I had the switch plate installed in just under 4 hours (not including the trip to the emergency room). My workhorse LP now looks better, sounds better, and I think it has even improved my playing! (Watch out, Steve Lukather!) Now I can't wait to play out with this looker, and once the skin grafts heal completely I'll be rockin' out in style. Thanks, StewMac!

JW  Athens, OH
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
5 12-09-2010
Perfect solution!

I searched for weeks because I had one saddle on my LP STD that had corroded. These were a perfect fit and easy to notch and setup. Every bit as good as the Gibson parts they replaced!

flarocks  port charlotte, fla.
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 12-09-2010
Wide fretwire 0150

Very good.

Fabiano shumurani  Angra dos reis -Brasil
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
5 12-09-2010
Great product

I used this to build my custom guitar and it worked excellent. I am very pleased with the results

Thomas Miller  Saint Clair, MO
Customer supplied image for review
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 12-09-2010
Best jacks around

Of all the Jacks available, I find that these are always a winner. I buy these by the dozen. I've seen these installed as STD on James Tyler electrics and other boutique brands, so they must be good!

Ramsay Phillips  Dubai, UAE Read my reviews (3)
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
5 12-09-2010
Unique, beautiful knobs.

This is a very unique knob with delicate line texture that can't find anywhere else! I put it on my D.I.Y Telecaster, it's looks very decent a elegant!

Alan Lee  Hong Kong
Customer supplied image for review
Output Jack Wrench
Output Jack Wrench
5 12-08-2010
mmoorecarpentry

I recently repaired (for the umpteenth time)a strap post output jack that I installed in my Epiphone El Dorado in early 80's- a Martin passive bridge saddle pickup. The nut on the inside of the body of the guitar has always been infuriating to tighten up each time I changed my strings, and the strap continually loosened it up, causing downtime for the guitar between repairs. I screwed an output jack wrench to a short length of wood dowel cut on a slight angle. With the wrench slightly angled forward I was able to fit it in the body and still turn it with a firm grip quite comfortably compared to my many previously unsuccessful attempts. Thanks for the trade tips! Mike

mmoorecarpentry  Foxboro,MA
Customer supplied image for review
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 12-08-2010
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives

Improved my ability to sand

MKlotz  Fultonville NY
Humbucker Baseplate
Humbucker Baseplate
4 12-08-2010
Base Plate

Would be nice to have a humbucker base plate with screw holes on both sides, so it could be made like a TV Jones pickup. Other than that it works great.

T. C. Tyler  Portland, OR Read my reviews (6)
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
5 12-08-2010
cuts fast

This file is just great!
I worked for long time with the medium file,and since I got this one, my work become faster and easier.

Yair guitars  ISRAEL , HAIFA , Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 12-08-2010
saving time tool

Very good tool. Cuts easily and smooth. It is a time saving tool.
I use it for frets only.

Yair guitars  ISRAEL , HAIFA , Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 12-08-2010
Decent for the money

They work fine, and had the exact shaft length that I needed. They are a bit noisy though, which gives it a cheap feel. It would have been nice if Stew-Mac offered a higher-quality version of the same part.

Greg C  Clarkston, MI
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
5 12-08-2010
Just right

Good quality were else you going to find it

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 12-08-2010
Vintage in a can

Excellent just make sure to warm the can and keep them inside if it freezes outside or in your garage

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Vintage-Style String Retainer
Vintage-Style String Retainer
5 12-08-2010
Perfect

top notch

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
4 12-08-2010
Stick stuff

very good quality but had to buy enough to last a life time

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 12-08-2010
Many thanks from Russia 2.

It makes me happy to look at it.
Working process is heavenly gift.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 12-08-2010
High quality, predictable performance.

I have a 5- or 6-year-old, dual-humbucker Fender whose volume and tone pots started scratching at an early age. These 500k-ohm potentiometers soldered in without any undue troubles. They're smooth and silent. I highly recommend them.

AOlmstead  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
3PDT Stomp Switch
3PDT Stomp Switch
5 12-08-2010
Good

This was a great switch. Good Price too!

Evan Bovee  Springfield, MO
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 12-08-2010
Franklin Titebond Glue

Magnificent glue. Very fast. Sometimes it happens inconveniently. I add at portion gluing some drops of the cooled down boiled water when it is necessary to prolong time. It appears it it is possible to buy and in Russia! The small bottle on a photo is bought in Russia. Deliveries in my region happen are changeable however. It is much more reliable to buy at StewMac. Here this glue is always.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
5 12-08-2010
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer

These reamers are fine tools! It is possible to have from them an additional benefit.
For example to insert qualitatively any lonely file into a handle. Process them an input in handle preparation. Use epoxy for file fixing. On a photo ready handles are painted by a grey waterproof paint.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18701 – 18725
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  748  749  750  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce