Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18676 – 18700
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  747  748  749  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 12-09-2010
Best jacks around

Of all the Jacks available, I find that these are always a winner. I buy these by the dozen. I've seen these installed as STD on James Tyler electrics and other boutique brands, so they must be good!

Ramsay Phillips  Dubai, UAE Read my reviews (3)
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
5 12-09-2010
Unique, beautiful knobs.

This is a very unique knob with delicate line texture that can't find anywhere else! I put it on my D.I.Y Telecaster, it's looks very decent a elegant!

Alan Lee  Hong Kong
Customer supplied image for review
Output Jack Wrench
Output Jack Wrench
5 12-08-2010
mmoorecarpentry

I recently repaired (for the umpteenth time)a strap post output jack that I installed in my Epiphone El Dorado in early 80's- a Martin passive bridge saddle pickup. The nut on the inside of the body of the guitar has always been infuriating to tighten up each time I changed my strings, and the strap continually loosened it up, causing downtime for the guitar between repairs. I screwed an output jack wrench to a short length of wood dowel cut on a slight angle. With the wrench slightly angled forward I was able to fit it in the body and still turn it with a firm grip quite comfortably compared to my many previously unsuccessful attempts. Thanks for the trade tips! Mike

mmoorecarpentry  Foxboro,MA
Customer supplied image for review
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 12-08-2010
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives

Improved my ability to sand

MKlotz  Fultonville NY
Humbucker Baseplate
Humbucker Baseplate
4 12-08-2010
Base Plate

Would be nice to have a humbucker base plate with screw holes on both sides, so it could be made like a TV Jones pickup. Other than that it works great.

T. C. Tyler  Portland, OR Read my reviews (6)
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
5 12-08-2010
cuts fast

This file is just great!
I worked for long time with the medium file,and since I got this one, my work become faster and easier.

Yair guitars  ISRAEL , HAIFA , Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 12-08-2010
saving time tool

Very good tool. Cuts easily and smooth. It is a time saving tool.
I use it for frets only.

Yair guitars  ISRAEL , HAIFA , Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 12-08-2010
Decent for the money

They work fine, and had the exact shaft length that I needed. They are a bit noisy though, which gives it a cheap feel. It would have been nice if Stew-Mac offered a higher-quality version of the same part.

Greg C  Clarkston, MI
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
Tele Bridge Pickup Flatwork
5 12-08-2010
Just right

Good quality were else you going to find it

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 12-08-2010
Vintage in a can

Excellent just make sure to warm the can and keep them inside if it freezes outside or in your garage

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Vintage-Style String Retainer
Vintage-Style String Retainer
5 12-08-2010
Perfect

top notch

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
4 12-08-2010
Stick stuff

very good quality but had to buy enough to last a life time

Ericsin  Ca. Read my reviews (5)
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 12-08-2010
Many thanks from Russia 2.

It makes me happy to look at it.
Working process is heavenly gift.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 12-08-2010
High quality, predictable performance.

I have a 5- or 6-year-old, dual-humbucker Fender whose volume and tone pots started scratching at an early age. These 500k-ohm potentiometers soldered in without any undue troubles. They're smooth and silent. I highly recommend them.

AOlmstead  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
3PDT Stomp Switch
3PDT Stomp Switch
5 12-08-2010
Good

This was a great switch. Good Price too!

Evan Bovee  Springfield, MO
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 12-08-2010
Franklin Titebond Glue

Magnificent glue. Very fast. Sometimes it happens inconveniently. I add at portion gluing some drops of the cooled down boiled water when it is necessary to prolong time. It appears it it is possible to buy and in Russia! The small bottle on a photo is bought in Russia. Deliveries in my region happen are changeable however. It is much more reliable to buy at StewMac. Here this glue is always.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
5 12-08-2010
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer

These reamers are fine tools! It is possible to have from them an additional benefit.
For example to insert qualitatively any lonely file into a handle. Process them an input in handle preparation. Use epoxy for file fixing. On a photo ready handles are painted by a grey waterproof paint.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 12-08-2010
Good quality pearl...

While you can buy a half pound of pearl from Vietnam for the same price as a Stewmac ounce the consistant quality and thickness make it the better value.

Eric Holland  Spring Hill, Ks. Read my reviews (2)
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
4 12-08-2010
Warning: Tight fit!

Bought the 5/16" set, which wouldn't fit in the 5/16" holes in my Tele body without more hammering than I'd be comfortable with. I routed the holes out to 11/32", and the ferrules still fit tightly. Good product, but beware of potential fit concerns.

SoundGuyRyan  NC, USA
Gripper Strap Buttons
Gripper Strap Buttons
5 12-08-2010
I use these on everything now...

They're cheap, they look good and they do a good job keeping your strap on so I use a lot of them.

Eric Holland  Spring Hill, Ks. Read my reviews (2)
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 12-08-2010
Saved a lot of work!

I recently went back to the original Kluson three-on-a-strip tuners on my 1962 Gibson J-45. There had been some Grover Rotomatics installed with larger shaft holes. These bushings did the job they were designed to do with no additional modifications needed. Slick! Thank you!

jimbo eastbay  Panama City, FL Read my reviews (2)
Wiring Kit for Gibson SG
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
5 12-08-2010
SG Wiring kit-used in '74 Guild bass "restore"

I used the kit for a beat to death Guild bass. It was an SG style bass so the kit was perfect. The Alternate wiring for independent volume and tone for each pickup was easy and sounds great! Great Kit,Great Price-What else could you want?

Pat Reilly  Agawam, Mass.
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
5 12-08-2010
Brush on Super Glue

This is a great product.
Super glue is super glue,right? But those little tubes that dry out between uses drive me crazy!
The Stew Mac packaging (Bottle and brush) keep the glue from drying out between uses. I love it.

MikeS  Allen, Tx Read my reviews (2)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 12-08-2010
razor sharp

These are worth the money gang, they will cruise though your wood of choice with ease. The extra bearing is also nice for the extra deep routes

Kerry's Guitar Shop  Bedford Tex.
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
4 12-08-2010
Looks like nice binding

I bought this material to replace the neck binding on an old banjo, and then ended up just gluing the old brittle binding back in place. But this stuff is nice and flexible, was the right color, and seems pretty good. I'll save it for my next project. You'd definitely want to make sure you order the right thickness for this stuff, as I think it would be hard to thin down. The width probably isn't as critical, because you can always glue it in place and then file away whatever sticks above your fret board.

onemanband  Virginia Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 18676 – 18700
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  747  748  749  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce