Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18651 – 18675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  746  747  748  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 12-10-2010
Daily use tool

Just an excellent idea and execution. Simple to use and makes me faster and more accurate, everything a tool ought to be! Thanks guys.

Jacob Hawkins  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
1 12-09-2010
Please stick to the plan

These are NOT 3/8" bushings. And how are you inserting a 3/8" bushing in a 5/16 hole?????

Styphy  Litlta, PA
StewMac responds

Styphy,
Allow us to clarify: 3/8" is the HEIGHT of the threaded portion. Its diameter is slightly smaller than the 5/16"-diameter we suggest for the mounting hole. Hope this helps and answers your question! Please contact us if you would like further assistance

String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 12-09-2010
A very handy set up tool.

I've set up a lot of instruments, I've made various string action gauges of my own. They all work well enough, but I decided to try this since there is a metric version now. I really like using it. It is not essential, but it does work very well and makes set up easier, faster, and more precise. Putting an end to the ruler wobbles is well worth the price. Now that I have this it will probably be all that I use from now on.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 12-09-2010
Fretwire

Great product. It will take some practice to master the art of installing on a compound radius fretboard, if like me you have never done this before. Buy extra to compensate for any mistakes. It also helps to notch the tang to assist in bending to the curve of the fretboard unless you want to spend almost a $100 for the FretBender.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 12-09-2010
Really like these.

I debated buying these but I'm really happy I did. I like all 4 cutting surfaces, the narrow width and long length give a lot of options as to how you can use these. I feel the files leave a nice surface if you are careful, but you can always smooth the nut or saddle with fine sandpaper if you want more polish. Considering that you essentially get 4 files out of this pair, they are also a great value.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 12-09-2010
Bone Pins

I installed these pins in my Collings D-2 Brazilian. It was already a wonderful instrument but there was an incredible gain over the original ebony pins. The sound is unbelievable. I wish I had done this from the moment I bought it. Thank you Stew-Mac.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 12-09-2010
Bridge Pins

Installed these slotted pins in a 1976 Martin HD-28. It had the factory PLASTIC pins. After re-stringing and tuning it was impressive the amount of sustain and brightness that was gained from such a simple upgrade. Bone is a superior material for this part of a guitar. Great product.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Mandolin Fingerboard
Mandolin Fingerboard
4 12-09-2010
Compound Radius Fretboard

Beautiful wood. Consistent radius. Have ordered more than one. I did have one that had a slanted cut on the nut end of the fertboard. Informed Stew-Mac and they sent a new one immediately. Wonderful customer service. Wonderful product.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 12-09-2010
Grover Mandolin Tuners.

These are excellent tuners that perform just as good as the $400 and up tuners. Great product.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Bracket Hex Wrench
Bracket Hex Wrench
5 12-09-2010
Both work great - fit exactly the way they are supposed to.

I have both, not much to say except you can not find a much better value for an essential banjo tool.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 12-09-2010
Peghead Bushing Reamer

Very useful. Friendly to the new luthier. Would recommend to anyone needing a quality finished product. The only issue is that there needs to be a size for the grover mandolin bushing, its smaller than the smallest size offered by about.004"

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 12-09-2010
These gauged nut files are great.

I just bought an assortment of these, and did the set up on an 1890's S.S. Stewart banjo as soon as I got them. I've always used Grobet nut files and I love them, but they are getting harder to find, getting more expensive with current exchange rates, and there are a lot more sizes of these gauged nut slotting files than Grobet offers.

It was hard to make the plunge and cross over from what I was used to, but so far I am very happy with these. I can not yet say how well they hold up in the long term, but as far as using them I am very happy and it was great having more precise sizes to choose from (important when using Aquila nylgut strings). I will add that (as with any nut file) a little wax on the sides makes using them very smooth.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 12-09-2010
Great for more than just frets

This is a great tool for spot checking frets, but I have a lot of other uses for it as well, whenever I need a small straight edge. One of my favorite uses it to keep it in my pocket while hunting for antique tools at flea markets, to quickly check chisel backs and plane soles without packing a full straightedge. I use it so often I'm tempted to buy a second one.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
1 12-09-2010
Dangerous screws

If using a Gibson Les Paul, be aware that the small black (despite I bought 5 nickel set and I got black screws!) screws included does NOT grab like they should. If you're not alert the guitar might bang to the floor. I had to replace them with coarser screws.

Buy the original Schaller strap buttons instead and get decent screws that match. Who wants black screws with nickel straps?

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 12-09-2010
This vice is awesome!

I built one guitar without it. Never again! Great addition to any shop.

Jameslee Guitars  Missouri Read my reviews (2)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
3 12-09-2010
Nice guard, but has issues

The guard is too thick. The fingerboard overhang hit the guard and the neck wouldn't site flush in the pocket. I had to rout out the top layer of plastic for the neck to sit flush in the pocket. Plus there are screw holes for the neck pickup. I have my neck pickup mounted in the traditional fashion. So now there are two dummy screws there, and it doesn't have that traditional Tele look, which I really, REALLY like.

So in my case, it's a good thing I can work on my own guitars. Some folks cannot, and this would have been a show-stopper for them.

All that said, once I got the guard on the guitar, it looks fine and there are no static issues as with another reviewer.

Dave Skowron  Ely, NV USA
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
5 12-09-2010
Perfect for Classical Guitar!!

MOST sound hole pick-ups will NOT work on a nylon stringed instrument, because they use magnets, that will only "pick-up" vibrations from metallic strings! I put this in my friends guitar & we played our first electric gig. I think his guitar sounded better than my stock undersaddle p.u. & we play the same brand of guitar! We plugged it directly into my board,w/out a di or pre-amp! I did use the XLR cable though. I didn't have any problems w/feedback at all!! EZ2 install!! GR8 tone! Highly recommended!!!

R King  StL
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 12-09-2010
Shine Shine Shine

Just simply awesome stuff!

Heifer1  Rogers, AR Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
3 12-09-2010
Spitting Spray

The spray nozzle needs better technology to eliminate spitting. Just finished a guitar body and it left a crater the size of a dime. Shaking the can as directed does not work. Other than that great toner that gives even color.

Heifer1  Rogers, AR Read my reviews (2)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 12-09-2010
Great file!

Until buying this file (300 grit) I had never crowned a fret. I found it very easy to use and, when combined with polishing the frets with 400, 600 and 1500 grit black wet/dry sandpaper, my frets were super smooth. Bends are much, much easier --- even on my PRS that is only a year old. I noticed that after the crowning and polishing that all my guitars have more of a ring to them. I've since done five other guitars for people and each one notices better sustain and more of a ring from their guitars.

I highly recommend this easy-to-use and (to me) indispensable tool!

TAC  Toronto
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 12-09-2010
Great part for a great price

I have ordered two Schaller Floyd Rose tremolo bars from StewMac, and both work great. I purchased both because the original bars had a slight bit of play when screwed into the arm holders. Interestingly enough, both original bars were from Original Floyd Rose trems, so it was strange that I had those problems in the first place. The Schaller replacements removed all the wobble. Thanks, StewMac!

Spitfire75  Southern California
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 12-09-2010
Just what the ol' LP needed

I have a stripped Les Paul studio that needed some dressing up, and this baby did the trick. While the installation was a bit tricky, the free telephone tech support talked me off the ledge and I had the switch plate installed in just under 4 hours (not including the trip to the emergency room). My workhorse LP now looks better, sounds better, and I think it has even improved my playing! (Watch out, Steve Lukather!) Now I can't wait to play out with this looker, and once the skin grafts heal completely I'll be rockin' out in style. Thanks, StewMac!

JW  Athens, OH
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
Nashville Tune-o-matic Saddles
5 12-09-2010
Perfect solution!

I searched for weeks because I had one saddle on my LP STD that had corroded. These were a perfect fit and easy to notch and setup. Every bit as good as the Gibson parts they replaced!

flarocks  port charlotte, fla.
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 12-09-2010
Wide fretwire 0150

Very good.

Fabiano shumurani  Angra dos reis -Brasil
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
5 12-09-2010
Great product

I used this to build my custom guitar and it worked excellent. I am very pleased with the results

Thomas Miller  Saint Clair, MO
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18651 – 18675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  746  747  748  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce