Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18601 – 18625
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  744  745  746  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 12-13-2010
Excellent tuners with a great look!

I put these on two of my guitars and they not only look great, they are very good tuners. Absolutely no play or wobble in the shaft on these. I replaced some Rotomatics with these mainly for cosmetics and I haven't regretted a day. Stewmac is the best price I have found on these and they dropped right in the 10mm hole.

Les Paul Guy  Michigan
Hipshot Ultralite Bass Tuner with Schaller-style Knob
Hipshot Ultralite Bass Tuner with Schaller-style Knob
5 12-13-2010
The best tuner on the planet

These tuners are one of the most stable ones that exist, I can say even better than the tuners with locking ability. Alloy used is outstanding for this use, more rigid than conventional tuners and really light as the name says. When installed and not tuned for a while they kinda "lock" themselves and when you want to tune again you can feel and sometimes hear little "tack" when adjusting on the first move. That's very good, chances are way lower to accidentally detune the bass when storing or transporting. Gear ratio is standard and works very good and is really really smooth (they have factory grease to improve smoothness and to reduce friction so gears would have longer life). Personally, I'm blown away the way they look: simple, recognizable and open so you know what are you dealing with. I don't think I'll use another tuners for bass again. These are literally different than the others.

Maylo  Kumanovo, Macedonia Read my reviews (2)
Truss Rod Cover Screws
Truss Rod Cover Screws
3 12-13-2010
Yeah - how about black?

I, too, need black screws for my truss-rod cover. The chrome looks really strange on this guitar...a Washburn WI320 Pro electric.

Kojo27  KY
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
2 12-13-2010
Quality not up to par

When I received the dome knobs the pearloid tops were seperate from the chrome knobs. I had to glue them on the knobs. The knobs are also considerably smaller than standard Telecaster knobs and did not fit the pot shafts. I know the description of the knobs recommends measuring the knobs before ordering them, but wouldn't it be more customer friendly to mention they do not fit Fender pots? Also, a mention of the overall physical size would be nice. I am going to drill the holes so they will fit the Fender pots. Sending them back is not an option due to the cost factor involved, not worth the trouble. Buyer beware.

Gary Klinger  Lakeland, Florida Read my reviews (3)
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
Schaller 4-String Roller Bass Bridge
5 12-13-2010
Schaller 4 string roller bass bridge

Over the past 30 odd years I've tried many different bridges on my basses. Results varied. The Schaller roller bass bridge, in my humble opinion, is the best one out there. Let me explain.

Installation: There are no string grooves to cut. Just locate and center, drill some holes and you're done. The optional riser plate locks into the bridge, so it doesn't move during installation. You can even lock your bridge ground wire between the bridge and the baseplate if you're not inclined to remove the finish and solder it.

Intonation: Properly located this bridge adjusts in minutes. The groove design, the location of the fine thread adjusting screws and the quality of the workmanship makes this bridge one of the easiest user friendly bridges around.

Adjustability: No matter that your neck dimensions or pole spacings this bridge will accommodate you perfectly. The rollers adjust with just a finger touch. TIP: Using a pencil eraser allows you an unobstructed view and moves the roller quicker.

Tone: Here's what impressed me. Unlike the massive block of brass bridges this one seems to meld with your bass body improving tone, sustain and clarity. Subtle changes in your attack translate perfectly.

Overall: This is the only bridge I use on my basses. I have two guitars with the six string version as well.

If you think you need a new bridge...well, you're probably right. Try this one and you can stop looking.

Happy Trails Cynical One

cynical1  USA
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 12-13-2010
Not bad overall, but can be better with some mods

I've installed this Hot Rod in carbon fiber bass neck 4 string, phenolic fretboard. Strength 8/10, I wasn't able to do more than 1/3 of a turn in each direction starting from 0 for each direction, but it was enough to fine tune this neck. I would probably do more with finer threading or in wood.

As this is a truss rod and is not meant to be adjusted everyday, more welcome would be a "slow" instead of "fast" tuning, in terms of turns and they depend of the threading on the rod. So finer is better choice for this instead of current one.

finer threading = more turns = more accurate tunning = less force to adjust
(just what's needed for rigid necks + better used strength of the rod)

Other than that, the rod is susceptible to temperature (shrinkage) and because of it's length the results are pretty noticeable (this is effective in more drastic temp change). So no matter how stable neck you have it will react because of the rod, therefore better alloy for this use is more than welcome.

Final thoughts, good truss rod but definitely better alloy and finer threading in next production (whether it is for wooden or non wooden necks).

Best

Maylo  Kumanovo, Macedonia Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 12-13-2010
Happy Camper

I am a professional bassist and have been for over 40 years. My prized bass a 1970 Hohner fretless (one of the first fretless basses ever produced) had the E tuning head self destruct about a month ago. This was a personally devastating event. The bass and I are like best friends It broke my heart when it happened. I had no luck with Hohner or any other source. I dug out an old Bass Player magazine and started to search for a source on the back pages. I found Stewart McDonald and e mailed them. I explained the situation and actually was talking to a person who realized the urgency of the situation. We went over sizes and all the other key points that would require accuracy in matching such an old vintage instrument.

I ordered a whole set of heads and waited with great anxiety for the US mail package to arrive. They came in. Worked perfectly and the bass and I are quite happy. Thanks to all for the great follow through by SMc and for saving my bass. Also Smc sent me a really great catalog which I passed on to a friend of mine in Fort Lauderdale who recently opened a small guitar sale and repair shop. He is already using the catalog to find really rare and hard to find repair items. All is great and I thank yo very much. The whole experience proved to be quite refreshing Have a fine day
jim kelley

James Kelley  Miami Florida
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 12-13-2010
Great product!! A must have!

Very nice product to determine polarity of pickups!! Very handy! Long live Stewmac!! A+++

Björn  Flanders/Belgium/Europe Read my reviews (2)
Pickup Coil Tape
Pickup Coil Tape
5 12-13-2010
Excellent product! Great service! A+

Very pleased with my purchase and the service that Stewmac offers! A+++

Björn  Flanders/Belgium/Europe Read my reviews (2)
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
5 12-13-2010
Simple, effective.

Perfect fit and finish. Looks just as it is pictured.

Wasn't thinking when I bought it though. My instrument's tail ends in a rounded point, where this requires a relatively flat surface to mount.

uke-n-banjo  Ulsan, South Korea
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 12-12-2010
Genius Idea

Recently fixed a completely separated back seam on a Taylor 314 with these little beauties. Not sure how I would have done it otherwise. My customer is VERY happy!

Scott "scOOter" Davis  St. Petersburg, FL Read my reviews (2)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 12-12-2010
Bone Saddle Material

I build archtop mandolin-family instruments and do some repairs on the side. I like to stick with traditional materials, and Stewart MacDonald always provides quality options. In this case the customer's Gibson SJ-200's saddle slot was slightly over-sized, and the larger saddle blank fit the bill perfectly. I really appreciate the fact the material is always shipped quickly. In the 50 plus orders I've received, I have never experienced a mistake in the delivery.

Dave Carroll  Las Vegas, NV
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
3 12-12-2010
Tips over too easily

I find this product very useful. However, the width is too narrow. If the body of the guitar is bumped, the Neck Rest tips over and the headstock strikes the bench.

A wider base should solve this problem.

Flatiron Frets  Boulder CO
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 12-12-2010
Fret Arbor Press.

I've always set frets with a soft hammer, but when my fret arbor press arrived I had three 24 fret necks ready to go with frets radiused and notched.

I knew the factories used arbor presses and now I know why. What a wonderful easy to learn tool. I had all three necks fretted perfectly inside an hour and a half, including cleaning the slots. There is no bounce, you never get a loose end, and all radiuses are perfect, especially when the "fret bender" is used.

The arbor press itself is off shore manufactured and as such there are a few small issues with quality control and finish but these are things I can fix or deal with in trade for having an affordable system. The table, neck support and cauls are all first rate as I've come to expect from StewMac.

Tim Johnson
New Star Guitars.

feetup  Vancouver Island, Canada
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
1 12-12-2010
Maple Strat Replacement Neck

I was first very satisfied with this neck as it arrived. It looked and felt quite good, especially taking into account the price. But, unfortunately, after six months I noticed that all the frets began to stick out along the edges of the fretboard (quite painfully scratching fingers). I have to say that the neck was not exposed to any extreme conditions such as temperature changes or low humidity. The reason, I guess, might be that the neck and the frets 'set in' this way. Also I surmise that the frets might have been installed without glue. Alas, in my particular case Mighty Mite is really poor quality. I wish I'd paid more but had a better quality product.

Wilbury  Russia
StewMac responds

Wilbury,
We're sorry to hear you're having problems with the fret ends on this neck. Humidity conditions can wreak havoc on many guitar necks. Here's a great Trade Secret article, Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather covering this very topic. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup
5 12-12-2010
What a difference

I replaced the Hofner Diamond pickup on a Hofner Jazzica with this Benedetto Jazz pickup. With the Benedetto Jazz pickup, this beautiful instrument finally produces the sound and tone color it should have produced from the start.

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 12-12-2010
14-1/4" truss rod

After trying out a few brands of other truss rods, I've used this type on all of my guitars. Excellent stuff!

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 12-12-2010
Excellent abrasive

I've used all grits for quite some time now. They are excellent. Just stick them to a sanding block of any shape or your fingers and they'll do the job faster and easier than any other sanding paper. Don't forget to let the abrasive do the work. So sand light and don't try to speed up things by adding force or pressure.

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
5 12-12-2010
Mini Cam Clamp

Very convenient tools, help me constantly.
Easy weight and the durability is good.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
4 12-12-2010
Sprayer with jar

Practice, practice, practice! First timers need to realize that they are going use up spray much faster than experienced users. Watch the videos, mix up more paint than you would need and practice. I am refinishing a 1938 tenor guitar for my daughter. It has taken more product than expected. Would use again.

Pete c  Salisbury, MD USA
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 12-12-2010
Holds up just fine

I went with these push pulls to save some money over more expensive name brand ones, and I lucked out. It takes abuse in stride and still works just fine. I have mine set up to be a coil splitter, and it gets turned off before some pretty crazy parts in a song, so I don't have time to gently push it in, it usually gets fist mashed back in. I've been using mine for about a year now and it still works great.

Gene F.  PA Read my reviews (2)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
4 12-12-2010
Not a lot to say.

I bought a short black ring for a guitar I built. It's not a bad ring, just a few things to keep in mind. 1. This is for flat top guitars, there is no arch for archtop guitars. 2. It does not come with mounting screws to hold it to the body, you have to buy those separately.

Gene F.  PA Read my reviews (2)
Neck Removal Jig
Neck Removal Jig
5 12-12-2010
Excellent equipment from StewMac. Once Again

Received their neck jig and was amazed at the quality and value. It's perfect, Thanks StewMac.

Willie N  Kanesatake, Qc. Canada Read my reviews (3)
Flush-mount Output Jack
Flush-mount Output Jack
3 12-12-2010
Good but these need a little modification to make perfect

Overall these jacks are great because they limit EM interference but they have one flaw: they're not adjustable. When they get tired, they start acting up with intermittent connectivity. I solve that problem by drilling a small hole in the casing over the tip tab and then use a piece of used guitar string to push the contact back into place.

Deuce Guitars  Gatineau, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Shielded Push-back Wire - 16 inches
Shielded Push-back Wire - 16 inches
5 12-12-2010
When you build your own pickups....this is a must!

Having a few production lines, I always try to find ways to limit labor costs. Pre-cut pickup wire is a time saver!! These are great for rewinds or replacing pickup wires that have been hacked to short.

Deuce Guitars  Gatineau, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 18601 – 18625
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  744  745  746  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce