Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18576 – 18600
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  743  744  745  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 12-16-2010
Convenient and cheap

These are a great thing to add to any order. They're really helpful and simple to use.

Barnaby  Tokyo, Japan Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 12-16-2010
Really worth it!

I bought the medium and fine polishing compounds to get a good finish on my first ever guitar. It has a nitro lacquer finish that I wet sanded to 2000, then started with the medium. It is easy to use and doesn't take that much elbow grease. Afterward, I buffed it out with a clean cloth, then used the fine. That's when the magic happened - it seemed to smooth, harden and polish somehow, so I wound up with a great finish.

I completed the job by rubbing everything hard with a lint-free cloth and that really brought out a luster and depth that I thought I could never manage using only rattle cans and hand polishing. It not only looks professional, but high-end.

Barnaby  Tokyo, Japan Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 12-15-2010
One flaw

In my opinion this is a great saw. It cuts fast and effortlessly. Only problem I have is the cut ends up being wider than the fret tangs. So if you buy this saw you will also need a fret fitter.(under pliers, nippers, etc.)

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 12-15-2010
Fantastic!!!

This makes a quick, very accurate job out of any leveling. Every shop should have one.

Ricky Hendrix  Russellville Arkansas Read my reviews (8)
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
3 12-15-2010
Inexpensive but not Cheap

These tuners are certainly not Waverlys but for the money they deliver good value.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Dreadnought Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 12-15-2010
good quality for very little outlay

AA sitka Spruce. The cheapest that Stewmac sells. And to me, it's just great! I like a bit of color. I like the occasional irregular bearclaw squiggle. Also, I can easily get two flat top mandolin tops out of a single dread top. Couldn't be better!!

Martin Edwards  Northern Ireland
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 12-15-2010
Golden Age Tele Pickups

I put 'em in a great-feeling Squier tele and it sounds like the top-shelf model. Smooth and mellow at the neck, twangy-not-shrill at the bridge, chimey in the middle. Fantastic!

scottkro  Florida
Humbucker Baseplate
Humbucker Baseplate
4 12-15-2010
Baseplate 101

I used the Baseplate to repair a very old DiMarzio SDPH that, through 28+ years of neglect, had the mounting ears broken off. The Stew Mac Baseplate was not a perfect replacement, but I was fully able to employ it after Dremelizing it very slightly. The plate is made of very high quality materials and is quite rigid and strong. My only complaint is that the holes for the pickup height adjusting screws are punched and threaded, rather than having had a small brass nut soldered into place. This is nit-picking, as the current system does work. Another thing: I looked for a long time before finding ANY baseplate, and Stewart MacDonald has them. I saved a great 'vintage' pickup from the scrap pile, and am using it in my PRS.

Philfixit  minnesota
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 12-15-2010
String Spacing Rule

Terrific,I have done what every one else has done. Pencil rubbing out re-correcting,now a quick mark and I'm there. Multiple strings not a problem.

John.R  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 12-15-2010
Double-edge Nut Files

Thanks again for the prompt service and a quality product. Good tools make life a whole lot easier.

John.R  Australia Read my reviews (2)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
4 12-15-2010
Handy

Nothing special but handy. Does not work on all stop tail pieces Nor o all jacks, but is a handy tool to have around for sure.

jukinjimmy  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
4 12-15-2010
good for what it is

Have only used it a few times, but seems to be good. Have nothing to compare it with however. I believe if you have a need, it is worth the purchase.

jukinjimmy  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
Archtop Guitar Design and Construction
5 12-15-2010
Very good.

This is an excellent place to go to learn to build an archtop. I purchased it with the video, together they are an excellent resource.

jukinjimmy  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
1 12-15-2010
Not worth the money

You can get a dozen different readings on each try as the feet do not rest flat, even on a totally flat surface. The unit rocks, so you have no idea when it is flat. Very inaccurate readings. Save your money. For $100 bucks you would think it would read the same each time on the same guitar with no adjustments. Ranges madly. Bad.

jukinjimmy  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 12-15-2010
Best bone ever!

For years I worked with a collection of rough cut, bleached bone I inherited from a repair shop I renovated. When that stash ran out, I ordered these Vintage Bone Nuts. Night and day! These are beautifully clean and clear, even-textured, dense and quite "musical" (giving off an appealing "ping" when dropped). A pleasure to cut and shape, and beautiful to the eye.

Douglas Baldwin, Coyote Music  Sound Beach NY
Economy Banjo Tuners
Economy Banjo Tuners
4 12-15-2010
Econ banjo tuners

Inexpensive. Fit perfectly. Work fine. Saved me a bundle and did the same job. They are not for Stellings or Gibsons, but for Asian trading stock banjos, PERFECT.

nobanjotom  Clinton, NC Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
Pickguard Screws for Gibson
5 12-15-2010
Always prompt, always professional quality

Stewart- MacDonald... Always prompt, always professional quality ... you have everything I need to improve my instrument's tone and appearance. Thanks!

William  U.S.A.
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 12-15-2010
Functional enough for me

I used this product when I built my first mandolin because I didn't want to invest in spray equipment. All nozzles are not created equal here, so I coveted those that produced a nice pattern. Dried very fast, even though the temp in my garage was always below 70. All in all a pretty decent product that I will buy again.

CRMandomaker  Castle Rock, WA Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
4 12-15-2010
Opaque Super Glue

Used for many things in the shop. I've always got a bottle of the black on hand to detail fretboards. Keep this product in a plastic zip lock with a dessicant packet and it will last longer. Can't be beat for speed and effectiveness when used with the accelerator. Sands well too.

Roy Bullis, Onyx Forge Custom Guitars  Laguna Hills, CA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Polishing Cloth
Polishing Cloth
5 12-15-2010
Stew-Mac Polishing Cloth

One of these polishing cloths has been shipped with every Onyx Forge custom guitar built. Soft, durable and well priced.

Roy Bullis, Onyx Forge Custom Guitars  Laguna Hills, CA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Nitrocellulose Lacquer Reducer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Lacquer Reducer
5 12-15-2010
Excellent Reducer

I use this reducer with Behlen Nitro Lacquer and they produce an excellent finish.

Merle, NC  Read my reviews (6)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 12-15-2010
Excellent FInish

I have used Behlem Nitro in refinishing gutars and where I have repaired guitars. I use Behlem reducer and mix the color material I need to match the wood I am repairing. With proper buffing it gives an excellent finish. The lacquer is not so hard it scratches easly, but is not too soft.
A lot of the work I do is on Epiphone and Gibson guitars; repairing broken necks and broken heads.
I conclude my finish with 6 coats of clear Lacquer mixed 50/50 with Behlen reducer.

Merle, NC  Read my reviews (6)
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
4 12-15-2010
Opaque Super Glue

Opaque super glue is used in the shop for a number of applications. When used in conjunction with the accelerator, it can't be beat for saving time and getting the job done, got to have it.

Roy Bullis, Onyx Forge Custom Guitars  Laguna Hills, CA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 12-15-2010
Great kit.

This is a great kit. All the pieces supplied, the result is all in the winding.

Pole spacing is the Gibs*n neck pickup.

Future options please:
1. gold pole-piece screws
3. AlNiCo II magnet option
2. bridge pole spacing

Quintin  Georgetown, PEI Read my reviews (10)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
4 12-15-2010
String Action Gauge

Used at Onyx Forge Custom Guitars for a variety of uses. The conversion chart on the back comes in handy too. I would rate this little guy a 5 if it had come with a small hole punched in it for hanging.

Roy Bullis, Onyx Forge Custom Guitars  Laguna Hills, CA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18576 – 18600
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  743  744  745  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce