Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18526 – 18550
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  741  742  743  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
5 12-19-2010
Great Upgrade

This was my first attempt at guitar modification, but it came out great. I bought these tuners as a replacement for those which came stock on a Goldtone Weissenborn clone. They didn't exactly drop in, since their bushings and mounting screws were more robust than the stock ones, but the fitting was easily accomplished with tools I had on hand. I selected them because the mounting screw spacing was the same as the original tuners. Really transformed the guitar. Now it stays in tune and feels much more precise. Highly recommended.

RCE1  California Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 12-19-2010
OFR replacement arm

I purchased this bar to replace the bar that came with my Floyd Rose Original, and it is an exact match. If you need a replacement for your Floyd Original trem arm, this is the one.

Neil  Ontario
The Key
The Key
1 12-19-2010
The Key ? to what ?

This is a knob, a screw, a spring and 2 pieces of bent metal. Overpriced is the 1st word that comes to mind but after using it a few more come to mind also !

If you're adjusting your intonation on the last screw inward on a Floyd Rose, you CANNOT get the key out without taking out the string locking screw. It's a lot easier just loosening the string, moving the saddle, tightening it, and re-tune or at least for me. Save yourself $15 and do it the way I said or I'll sell you mine, cheap !

Dr. LaRrY  Winston-Salem,N.C. Read my reviews (5)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
5 12-19-2010
Great stuff

Nice and thin, goes on flat with no bubbles, tenaciously holds on pickguard. Much thinner than the usual 2mm stuff you find elsewhere which is awesome.

BrianH  NJ Read my reviews (2)
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
4 12-19-2010
Great.

Easy to work with, clear instructions.
I need (5)Knobs strings machines and (10) steels strings set for the "Puertorican Cuatro". Thanks,Tunito.

Tunito  Florida
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
5 12-19-2010
Only The Best

I use Waverly machine heads because I want only the best. Not only are they very rich and elegant looking they are precise. I have them on 3 of my guitars. No other brand comes close.

Jim Du Beau  River Falls , WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Violin Soundpost Gauge
Soundpost Gauge
5 12-18-2010
Makes the job so much easier!

If you have ever tried to set the sound post for a violin the old way you will not believe how much faster and easier it can be done. Just reach through the treble side f hole with the gauge, align it where you want the post to be placed, set the gauge and tighten the screw and pull it out. Leave just a hair more length to your post than the gauge indicates (for carving room), shape the top and the bottom of the post to match the curve of the body and you are there! Never will be without one again!

Shawn Gregory  NY
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 12-18-2010
OK, one more

These tuners are also perfect for 3 string Cigar box guitars. One set is good for two instruments. The picture shows another simple way to slot the headstock.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 12-18-2010
Using square tube instead of adjustable truss rod

I'm building another Cigar box guitar and this time I would like to try the non adjustable truss rod, because it simplifies some of the operations on the neck.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 12-18-2010
Fret saw and depth stop

Being an avid woodworker/guitar maker/player, I have come up with some custom guitars for myself. Until recently, I just ordered the preslotted FB. Now,I decided to go into some custom ukele styles and because it is difficult to order FB with smaller scales. I decided to get the saw and depth stop and made my own miter box.

First use was for a Cigar Box guitar, using a S-M preslotted FB as a reference with a blank rosewood FB that I can get locally. Next I'm cutting fret slots for a 15 inch scale uke.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge
Acoustic Bridge
5 12-18-2010
D18 Bridge

Well, I just got my '71 D18 back from my Luthier. He installed the beautiful bridge that I purchased from you, what a perfect match and fit. Nice work Ian! Thank you Stewart MacDonald so much for helping us keep these beautiful vintage instruments sounding and looking so beautify.

Gene Minasi
Musician/Producer/Photographer

Gene Minasi  New Milford, CT Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 12-18-2010
Great Screw

'nuff said

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 12-18-2010
sonic dressup

flat ones make great "top" for existing plastic rings, clamp tight for tone

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
5 12-18-2010
Just Get some!!

Have been making my own "home brew" for years, not any more. This is a better consistency than the old Petroleum and graphite mix, firmer and way less messy. Perfect on any points of sting contact (saddles, nuts etc). With the amount I use ( nightly string changes, 2 x electrics and 1 x Accstc) I will easily get a year out of this jar. Grab some with your next order to reduce postage; at this price it's a no-brainer.

Birko  Land Down Under Read my reviews (2)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 12-18-2010
The "Must Have" bit of kit, Period!!

As a performer and part - time repairer of about 15 yrs, I have had my fair share of tuners. After years of stomps in dodgy loop paths or dubiously balanced on top of my tilted amps, finally decided to try a clip on. Tried out a few offerings, some from highly respected brands b/f having a punt on this. I have never experienced a more accurate tuner in my life. When checking my old intonation setups with this I found that I was up to 5 hz out!! No wonder they were so hit and miss.

The sweetening temperings quickly make my guitars sing in a way that my previous tweakings could only rarely achieve. Great to use on stage. This little guy is the go - Buy It !!

Ps: Fast delivery. Got it at a fraction of the cost I could get it here in oz, cheers :0)

Birko  Land Down Under Read my reviews (2)
9-Volt Battery Connector
9-Volt Battery Connector
5 12-18-2010
9V NEEDED!

If you have a custom effects pedal to build or an older pedal that needs a replacement connector, you should put in one of these 9V battery connectors. These connectors are high quality and don't crack and break like the hard plastic ones do. They seem to be a little wimpy at first look and feel. But, I haven't had a complaint yet when used on custom pedal builds or just a plain replacement on older pedals that no longer have their 9V battery connector!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 12-18-2010
SWEET neck plates.

When I do a custom build or upgrade on a guitar, I like to put a neck plate on that has what ever my customer wants on it! I bought some of these and had them engraved at my local engravers shop. The chrome ones turned out SWEET! Had my shop name put on them.

What makes these from Stewmac nice is they come with the bolts. Many other places sell just the plate and you end up having to buy the bolts too. Thanks Stewmac for a complete package!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 12-18-2010
GREAT little gripper!

This is one tool that gets used daily in my shop! Every setup gets the output jack tightened. This tool makes it so easy and quick! If you don't own one now do yourself a favor and buy it now. You'll wonder how you ever got by without it in the past!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 12-17-2010
Essential Fretting Kit

All the tools are high quality and make set-up jobs much faster, and easier. Received the kit 3 days after being ordered. Very happy.

Gtec409  DeRidder, LA
Individual Inlay Blanks
Individual Inlay Blanks
5 12-17-2010
Top Quality Material

Stew Mac has top quality inlay blanks. Very consistent in thickness and color. Some of the best I've used, and very stable too. No chipping of the edges like other inferior materials. Highly recommended for custom inlay projects.

JZ Guitars  Edison, NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 12-17-2010
Bridge Doctor

I recently bought a bridge doctor to sort out an old 60's epiphone acoustic, which had bellied and sunk near the soundhole. It was the first time I had tried one and it worked great. Much better now with no adverse effect to the tone. I have bought another one for a 50,s gibson LG0, which has the same problem. I highly recommend fitting one to rectify this or similar problems.

Trevor Rowley  Shropshire England Read my reviews (2)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
4 12-17-2010
Good product

This is my first use of the Seagrave product and it seems to apply well.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Pyramid Guitar Bridge
'Pyramid' Guitar Bridge
5 12-17-2010
Nothing like it for the vintage vibe

I used one of the un-slotted and drilled bridges for my custom OO build. Combined with the Golden Age Restoration tuners, it had a real old time look and feel.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
5 12-17-2010
A great kit for the beginner

This is great for people who may have not done a lot of electrical/solder work in the past. Easy to follow diagram and everything you need for the project in one kit

JML  Kansas City
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 12-17-2010
Fret Dressing File

Good quality file that I was able to achieve the results I was looking for.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 18526 – 18550
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  741  742  743  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce