Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18526 – 18550
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  741  742  743  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 12-16-2010
BAM!

You wanna glue wood? This is what you need to use. I watered this down and injected it into a cracked neck, clamped and waited. Super neck fix. I could even wash away dry runoff with a warm soapy cloth. That neck is compressed and tight. With the touch up pen, it looks and plays like brand new. This is safe and easy to manage, water soluble, and it dries like cement. Don't doubt it! If you want to glue wood to wood for any application, it just doesn't get any better.

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
Ebony Dome Knob
Ebony Dome Knob
5 12-16-2010
Great Knob!

Feels great, looks great, price beats the competition. Wood knobs are just classier than metal knobs.

Gorilla Salsa  Texas Read my reviews (3)
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
4 12-16-2010
Must have, if you must have it.

You'll know if you need this because it's basically for sealing a crack with glue. If you just split a portion of your neck, this and watered down wood glue are your silver bullet.

These syringes are too expensive to my estimation (-1 star), but they work great. The needle is small enough to get into cracks, but big enough to pass water/glue. The syringe and plunger are good quality. I fixed a cracked neck on my LP Studio with this and watered down wood glue (also offered at Stew-Mac). If you gotta have it, you gotta have it!

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
4 12-16-2010
A little goes a long way

Good stuff for serious cleaning. You don't need much, and it should be used as a last result.

I mostly got this as a general purpose cleaner. It's good for things like my oldest axe, where some generous person dumped Coke all over it at a dorm party. I am planning to use it carefully on some corroded frets on my old acoustic.

I have to take away a star for this because it is really not a killer general purpose guitar cleaner. It's for the rough stuff only, and it is probably a little bit of a too big purchase for the hobbyist like myself. Better to just get your soapy water good and hot, and you shouldn't have to resort to naptha for anything.

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 12-16-2010
Good Fretboard Finishing Product

I have used this on two of my fretboards now. One was about 10 years old, the other brand new. Both of them are rosewood boards.

I have to say I liked the results. It's a bit like 'ebonizing' your fretboard except it's good for the wood, and you maintain your natural wood grain. The old fretboard was very parched and pale. The new fretboard was fine as it was. Applying the compound changed the old fretboard drastically. The change on the new board was more subtle.

The end result was similar for both, a dark, slightly shiny, slightly hard finish. It also really enhances the grain of the rosewood. If you like ebony or just a faster harder board, the feel of this treatment is great.

There are some things you might find questionable. Nowhere does it tell me exactly what is in here. It does not feel like linseed or any other oil. It does have a solvent-like property. It won't hurt your wood, but it does clean as you apply and buff it. I believe it is something like naptha or acetone in there, and you should not use it on maple or gloss finish.

Overall a great product. Perfect for people like me who have several guitars with rosewood to maintain. Preferable to linseed oil if you like a harder, dryer, shinier finish on your fretboard.

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 12-16-2010
The best trem arm design ever!

If your a serious whammy bar, vibrato arm, or tremolo user and not just a casual or occasional user then you will certainly appreciate the quality, precision, and design of this item. I have tried many styles of replacement and original arms in my 30 years of playing but this one is the best. I still have a soft spot for the vintage Fender style tremolo bridge but the tuning problems and hassle of the arm installation and removal,along with keeping it in convenient position for use, make it less than desirable for my trem arm needs.

When the cheap cast metal arm of my 1985 Ibanez Roadstar II series guitar broke, I found this Floyd arm to be a perfect fit and a 200% improvement over the stock arm. This replacement arm is quick and easy to install and use. It stays where I put it when playing and does not flop around every where. This is a tribute to the high quality of manufacture and the superb design of this arm. If you use a Floyd Rose tremolo and this arm fits the dimensions, then you will not regret this purchase.

One note about my install on the Ibanez Edge tremolo is that I had to purchase a longer screw for the bottom of the arm at my local hardware store because the Edge tremolo's base plate is a little thicker than the original Floyd Rose. A minor detail for such an improvement in functionality of my tremolo.

Richard N.  Charlotte, NC, USA
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
4 12-16-2010
Fingerboard band clamp

Works alright. Not expensive.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 12-16-2010
Guitar repair magnets

Useful and impressively powerful. Wont break the bank either.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 12-16-2010
Push Pull Pots

These pots are always used in guitars that I modify. Sturdy and simple to wire. Another reviewer said that once you push pull, you never go back. I agree.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Quarter-round Fret File
Quarter-round Fret File
4 12-16-2010
Quarter-round fret file

This file wont mark the fingerboard unless your are careless. I feel it works best when used in conjunction with the double edge fret file.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Tremolo Spring Installer
Tremolo Spring Installer
5 12-16-2010
Spring installer.

Avoid scratches and use this tool! For the price, speed of use and avoiding accidents, it is nearly mandatory to get one of these.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 12-16-2010
Radii gauges

Perfect for the job and durable. I recommend this product.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
2 12-16-2010
String trees

Make sure the screw pilot holes are drilled to a generous size. The quality is not high, but neither is the price. Looks alright when installed.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
4 12-16-2010
Pickguard material

Sturdy and not brittle. Looks good and easy to work with.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Spring Cavity Cover
Spring Cavity Cover
3 12-16-2010
Spring Cavity Cover

I got one in black. The pitch spacing of the holes did not match that on the underside of the Gotoh Strat Bridge. I simply made all the holes into a large slot. The cover looks ok and is a cheap price. Just note that the boundary edges are not chamfered.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 12-16-2010
Best selling for a reason.

Unless you go to diamond at much greater price, I cannot imagine a more effective file than this for removing fret material to a good profile.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
4 12-16-2010
Magnetic Polarity Tester

Effective and small. I assume that white up and visible is north and not white down and attracted to the coil. Just a little ambiguous for me! Still, you can tell one pickup from another in an instant.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 12-16-2010
Micro-mesh pads

Very good product. The colors for identifying one from another are sometimes a little similar. The pads are very useful and leave a very nice finish.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
String Lifter
String Lifter
4 12-16-2010
String lifter

Small, simple, cheap and effective. Worth getting.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
2 12-16-2010
Three in one fret file

Good idea in theory. The problem is that the burrs dull quickly. I suggest spending more on the diamond version or buying the excellent double edged file.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
4 12-16-2010
Good to know where to buy them!

I have a Charvel from the early 90's with a black Schaller whammy bridge. The arm after all of those years was getting sloppy. To get an official replacement arm that is tight fitting and for a good price, is a very good find.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
3 12-16-2010
Neck Caul

Lightweight but takes the hammer blows without marking the neck.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 12-16-2010
This switch is super!

This switch is the most versatile. The feel is great and the build quality is good. The way I like to wire the switch took a lot of thinking, but the rewards are fantastic. I would use this for all the guitars I possibly can.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
5 12-16-2010
Deadblow Hammer

This tool, which after using engineering deadblow hammers, surprises you with its small size but is very effective. The price is not too bad and the feel is nice. Just let the weight of the hammer do the work instead of swinging with force!

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
3 12-16-2010
An ok product and effective

The tool is effective but it can easily get damage on the puller edges. The real annoyance with the product is the spring mechanism to return the puller to open. The two halves keep slipping out of alignment.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Displaying 18526 – 18550
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  741  742  743  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce