Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18501 – 18525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  740  741  742  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Non-adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 12-18-2010
Using square tube instead of adjustable truss rod

I'm building another Cigar box guitar and this time I would like to try the non adjustable truss rod, because it simplifies some of the operations on the neck.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 12-18-2010
Fret saw and depth stop

Being an avid woodworker/guitar maker/player, I have come up with some custom guitars for myself. Until recently, I just ordered the preslotted FB. Now,I decided to go into some custom ukele styles and because it is difficult to order FB with smaller scales. I decided to get the saw and depth stop and made my own miter box.

First use was for a Cigar Box guitar, using a S-M preslotted FB as a reference with a blank rosewood FB that I can get locally. Next I'm cutting fret slots for a 15 inch scale uke.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge
Acoustic Bridge
5 12-18-2010
D18 Bridge

Well, I just got my '71 D18 back from my Luthier. He installed the beautiful bridge that I purchased from you, what a perfect match and fit. Nice work Ian! Thank you Stewart MacDonald so much for helping us keep these beautiful vintage instruments sounding and looking so beautify.

Gene Minasi
Musician/Producer/Photographer

Gene Minasi  New Milford, CT Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 12-18-2010
Great Screw

'nuff said

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 12-18-2010
sonic dressup

flat ones make great "top" for existing plastic rings, clamp tight for tone

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
5 12-18-2010
Just Get some!!

Have been making my own "home brew" for years, not any more. This is a better consistency than the old Petroleum and graphite mix, firmer and way less messy. Perfect on any points of sting contact (saddles, nuts etc). With the amount I use ( nightly string changes, 2 x electrics and 1 x Accstc) I will easily get a year out of this jar. Grab some with your next order to reduce postage; at this price it's a no-brainer.

Birko  Land Down Under Read my reviews (2)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
5 12-18-2010
The "Must Have" bit of kit, Period!!

As a performer and part - time repairer of about 15 yrs, I have had my fair share of tuners. After years of stomps in dodgy loop paths or dubiously balanced on top of my tilted amps, finally decided to try a clip on. Tried out a few offerings, some from highly respected brands b/f having a punt on this. I have never experienced a more accurate tuner in my life. When checking my old intonation setups with this I found that I was up to 5 hz out!! No wonder they were so hit and miss.

The sweetening temperings quickly make my guitars sing in a way that my previous tweakings could only rarely achieve. Great to use on stage. This little guy is the go - Buy It !!

Ps: Fast delivery. Got it at a fraction of the cost I could get it here in oz, cheers :0)

Birko  Land Down Under Read my reviews (2)
9-Volt Battery Connector
9-Volt Battery Connector
5 12-18-2010
9V NEEDED!

If you have a custom effects pedal to build or an older pedal that needs a replacement connector, you should put in one of these 9V battery connectors. These connectors are high quality and don't crack and break like the hard plastic ones do. They seem to be a little wimpy at first look and feel. But, I haven't had a complaint yet when used on custom pedal builds or just a plain replacement on older pedals that no longer have their 9V battery connector!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 12-18-2010
SWEET neck plates.

When I do a custom build or upgrade on a guitar, I like to put a neck plate on that has what ever my customer wants on it! I bought some of these and had them engraved at my local engravers shop. The chrome ones turned out SWEET! Had my shop name put on them.

What makes these from Stewmac nice is they come with the bolts. Many other places sell just the plate and you end up having to buy the bolts too. Thanks Stewmac for a complete package!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 12-18-2010
GREAT little gripper!

This is one tool that gets used daily in my shop! Every setup gets the output jack tightened. This tool makes it so easy and quick! If you don't own one now do yourself a favor and buy it now. You'll wonder how you ever got by without it in the past!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 12-17-2010
Essential Fretting Kit

All the tools are high quality and make set-up jobs much faster, and easier. Received the kit 3 days after being ordered. Very happy.

Gtec409  DeRidder, LA
Individual Inlay Blanks
Individual Inlay Blanks
5 12-17-2010
Top Quality Material

Stew Mac has top quality inlay blanks. Very consistent in thickness and color. Some of the best I've used, and very stable too. No chipping of the edges like other inferior materials. Highly recommended for custom inlay projects.

JZ Guitars  Edison, NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 12-17-2010
Bridge Doctor

I recently bought a bridge doctor to sort out an old 60's epiphone acoustic, which had bellied and sunk near the soundhole. It was the first time I had tried one and it worked great. Much better now with no adverse effect to the tone. I have bought another one for a 50,s gibson LG0, which has the same problem. I highly recommend fitting one to rectify this or similar problems.

Trevor Rowley  Shropshire England Read my reviews (2)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
4 12-17-2010
Good product

This is my first use of the Seagrave product and it seems to apply well.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Pyramid Guitar Bridge
'Pyramid' Guitar Bridge
5 12-17-2010
Nothing like it for the vintage vibe

I used one of the un-slotted and drilled bridges for my custom OO build. Combined with the Golden Age Restoration tuners, it had a real old time look and feel.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
5 12-17-2010
A great kit for the beginner

This is great for people who may have not done a lot of electrical/solder work in the past. Easy to follow diagram and everything you need for the project in one kit

JML  Kansas City
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 12-17-2010
Fret Dressing File

Good quality file that I was able to achieve the results I was looking for.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 12-17-2010
Finishing Pads

Fantastic touch-up abrasives! Adding a bit of silver polish from Mom's cabinet, and a touch of polish (shoe polish works well), and the scratch never happened! An impressive item, worth ten times the cost, for what it can do for a damaged guitar.

Dr. P.  Portland and Tampa
Side Bending Practice Wood
Side Bending Practice Wood
5 12-16-2010
Awesome Practice Wood

The wood arrived in excellent condition. Stew-Mac doesn't say what kind of wood it is, but I think it is maple. My set had a slight curl to it. Excellent value if you want to make low cost sides for an acoustic.

R Anthony  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (3)
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
4 12-16-2010
Good Electrical Bender

This wood bender performs very good, but beginners need a lot of practice to get a decent bend.

R Anthony  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
5 12-16-2010
Wonderful stuff!

I recently did a neck/headstock repair on a Les Paul Custom, and mixed some 5361 Black with some ColorTone clear. It sprayed well through my airbrush, laid down nicely, and blended with the existing finish well. Nice!

Jim Haught  Germantown, Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 12-16-2010
Oil dye

Loved this stuff it worked some well. I was restoring an really old guitar. I had the non rose wood fret board sanded down and I apply about three layers of this oil dye it. Works great and easy to apply with a tiny paint brush

Donny  lock haven, pa, USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Barrel Switch Knobs for Tele
Barrel Switch Knobs for Tele
5 12-16-2010
It's a knob.

Knob works well. You have to put a little force behind it to get it onto an import switch.

Gorilla Salsa  Texas Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
4 12-16-2010
Overpriced but Effective

Can't say it any truer. I used this to touch up a neck repair on my LP Studio. The guitar has a flat black low gloss (Satin Matte I think) paint. It is basically perfect for this touch up marker, almost indistinguishable.

On the con side, this marker is expensive. And it only works on black. And a high gloss finish would show the touch up a lot more than a flatter finish.

Not an exceptional product, but perfect for what I was using it for. It's useless to touch up any of my other guitars though, and it's a little too expensive for what it does.

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 12-16-2010
Nice Switch!

I installed this into an Eastman AC120, and hardwired a Seymour Duncan Woody Humbucker to it. It works well, and does what it's supposed to. Very glad to have purchased it.

Gorilla Salsa  Texas Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 18501 – 18525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  740  741  742  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce