Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18476 – 18500
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  739  740  741  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 12-21-2010
first pickup I built

The StewMac humbucker kit was the first guitar pickup I built. After building over 150 pickups, mostly single coils, I have found that there is no higher quality pickup parts than StewMac. The instructions were very informative while I was learning. And again, they provide top quality products.
Pete

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 12-20-2010
Sunburst In A Can

Excellent results as long as you warm up the cans as directed!

joe sharp  north richland hills,tx
Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
4 12-20-2010
Spot on!

Straight to the point, no hassle! Easy to use, gives a quick and accurate neck relief measurement (with the tool properly calibrated, obviously).

Paulo Rui  Portugal
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 12-20-2010
The right wood binding makes all the difference

I've used both binding types and have had good results, for the most part. They are consistent and made from quality materials. The only problem I had was with the curly koa binding. Because of the nature of the wood, it can break at the more extreme curls. Buy a couple extra strips to accommodate this. Worth it if combined with the proper contrasting body woods.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 12-20-2010
Must have in your shop!

This jig makes life much easier! Very simple, easy to use and well worth the money!

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 12-20-2010
Best Tuners!!

These are the most consistent and well built tuners that I have used. Excellent gear ratio for accurate tuning. Will use on all future builds.

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 12-19-2010
Gibson Les Paul Studio

I love when my StewMac catalogs come in the mail because it is full of upgrades to spark my imagination. Gibson are the best guitars on the planet and I wish I could get a tortoise shell pick guard to dress it up.

FLJAY  Ormond Bch, FL
Herringbone Rosette
Herringbone Rosette
4 12-19-2010
Looks great

I put these on a buddy's Ovation. I guess they use rosette "stickers" on their celebrity models (the ones without the leaf motif). A buddy gave me his guitar to replace the broken nut, the missing rosette and giant crack in the finish was bothering me. I sanded down to bare wood and glued the new rosette onto the body. I know, not the "right" way to do it. But I built up new layers of black paint on the finish, sanded the rosette down to meet the paint, and then sealed the whole thing with nitro-cell finish. Looks like a new guitar. I'll use these rosettes again, no doubt.

txsmtlhd  Fairfield, ct Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 12-19-2010
Only stuff I'll use for nuts

Easy to carve, tone lasts for days. Most astonishing point is the fact that the fulcrum tremelo on my strat stays in tune better than the locking nut floyd rose ("Licensed") on my Dean ML. Vintage bone is the way to go and the blanks from Stew-Mac are now on 7 of my 8 (obviously not the Dean) guitars and basses.

txsmtlhd  Fairfield, ct Read my reviews (2)
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 12-19-2010
Works as advertised

The Preval made a job much easier than I expected by easily handing the gold lacquer recipe for a gold top Gibson. I was not looking forward to this job but once mixed, it was no more difficult than using a spray can.

John M. Swinney  Bella Vista, AR
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 12-19-2010
Nice 'n' Krunchy

To my ears, these pickups are tonally identical to some of the most sought after pickups out there. I put them on a Washburn Idol guitar and that sure phattened up the sound. They respond well to pick attack and give that rounded sound that was missing with the stock Korean made pickups. Just for fun, I tried them coil tapped and found them to be pretty thin sounding in that configuration, but that's not what I wanted them for anyway. Overall, well worth the money paid.

Moe  Potlatch, ID
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 12-19-2010
Christmas List

I have not had a chance to use the Fret Wire. It is a Christmas gift that I just have to wait and open. I did check the packaging to ensure every item was there. Good job on the packing. Everything was secure and all of the items were received without damage. I have a lot of plans to use it all and order more.

Kazz  Troutville, VA
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
4 12-19-2010
Correction

I commented earlier about this item. The fretboard I purchased from Stew-Mac was some time ago, but it WAS 24.75" scale exactly. The text in the ad for the item has changed since I purchased the item, so Stew-Mac probably figured out that Gibson scales are not exactly 24.75" and made a correction.

Murray Stefferud  Champlin, MN Read my reviews (2)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 12-19-2010
None Better

I have 4 resonator guitars and have Waverly's on 3 of them. Pricey and worth every cent.

wyattu  usa
TUSQ XL Nuts
TUSQ XL Nuts
5 12-19-2010
Great nuts

I've used these for years because they work just great, string slots have always been usable spacing, great tone, and a must for tremolo equipped guitars. I've had to add a shim at bottom sometimes to get the right height, but no big deal.

4suremann  USA Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
5 12-19-2010
Excellent Squire upgrade

If you're looking for sound upgrade of your Squire this will make a huge difference. Steel block (much larger than in old tremolo) was crucial for sustain, which is now longer, tone is clearer and brighter.

Installment can be tricky if the top plate screws holes are not in the same position like the old ones, but you can easily fix this thing up.

Vlaho  Dubrovnik, Croatia Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 12-19-2010
Pickguard screws

Excellent replacement screws.

Vlaho  Dubrovnik, Croatia Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
5 12-19-2010
Great Upgrade

This was my first attempt at guitar modification, but it came out great. I bought these tuners as a replacement for those which came stock on a Goldtone Weissenborn clone. They didn't exactly drop in, since their bushings and mounting screws were more robust than the stock ones, but the fitting was easily accomplished with tools I had on hand. I selected them because the mounting screw spacing was the same as the original tuners. Really transformed the guitar. Now it stays in tune and feels much more precise. Highly recommended.

RCE1  California Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 12-19-2010
OFR replacement arm

I purchased this bar to replace the bar that came with my Floyd Rose Original, and it is an exact match. If you need a replacement for your Floyd Original trem arm, this is the one.

Neil  Ontario
The Key
The Key
1 12-19-2010
The Key ? to what ?

This is a knob, a screw, a spring and 2 pieces of bent metal. Overpriced is the 1st word that comes to mind but after using it a few more come to mind also !

If you're adjusting your intonation on the last screw inward on a Floyd Rose, you CANNOT get the key out without taking out the string locking screw. It's a lot easier just loosening the string, moving the saddle, tightening it, and re-tune or at least for me. Save yourself $15 and do it the way I said or I'll sell you mine, cheap !

Dr. LaRrY  Winston-Salem,N.C. Read my reviews (5)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
5 12-19-2010
Great stuff

Nice and thin, goes on flat with no bubbles, tenaciously holds on pickguard. Much thinner than the usual 2mm stuff you find elsewhere which is awesome.

BrianH  NJ Read my reviews (2)
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
4 12-19-2010
Great.

Easy to work with, clear instructions.
I need (5)Knobs strings machines and (10) steels strings set for the "Puertorican Cuatro". Thanks,Tunito.

Tunito  Florida
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
5 12-19-2010
Only The Best

I use Waverly machine heads because I want only the best. Not only are they very rich and elegant looking they are precise. I have them on 3 of my guitars. No other brand comes close.

Jim Du Beau  River Falls , WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Violin Soundpost Gauge
Soundpost Gauge
5 12-18-2010
Makes the job so much easier!

If you have ever tried to set the sound post for a violin the old way you will not believe how much faster and easier it can be done. Just reach through the treble side f hole with the gauge, align it where you want the post to be placed, set the gauge and tighten the screw and pull it out. Leave just a hair more length to your post than the gauge indicates (for carving room), shape the top and the bottom of the post to match the curve of the body and you are there! Never will be without one again!

Shawn Gregory  NY
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 12-18-2010
OK, one more

These tuners are also perfect for 3 string Cigar box guitars. One set is good for two instruments. The picture shows another simple way to slot the headstock.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18476 – 18500
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  739  740  741  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce