Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18476 – 18500
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  739  740  741  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 12-24-2010
old faithful

Included in every upgrade to my personal guitars. These tuners are rock solid!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
2 12-23-2010
fiddle kit

I built this fiddle as a gift for someone. I was very unimpressed by the quality of the premade parts. Some of the smaller problems were a gouge from a chisel in the headstock which needed to be carved out, and there was a chip taken out of the back of the neck that needed to be carved out. Those were just minor issues though.

The big problem i had was the pre-assembled back and sides (after the top and neck were glued on) were not glued well and as a result the glue joint had failed and split along a quarter of the seam. So I ended up removing the back and re gluing it because I didn't trust the existing glue. The only thing that i believe was of good quality was the spruce top which has a very strait and tight grain. The instructions were okay but it would be helpful if they included some shop drawings or diagrams.

I.F Guitars  canada
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 12-23-2010
Right tools for the job

The right tools made replacing the nut and saddle on my old Martin a breeze.

Dean  Martinsville IN
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 12-23-2010
Brilliant!

This thing works great. What a simple, brilliant idea. It takes the guesswork out of string spacing.

Pat  Cumberland, MD Read my reviews (5)
Alpha Blend Pots
Alpha Blend Pots
3 12-23-2010
Good idea but be aware

I am writing this review as a way to supply you with additional information regarding bled pots in general. That is why I have rated this item with only three stars, to get your attention. As far as blend pots go these are good quality at the right price. Now, here is the BE AWARE part....

These blend pots work as described as long as you are an electrical engineer, otherwise you need to talk with StewMac's tech department first. What I am talking about is that there are electrical consequences to installing blend pots in general.

First, the tone of your guitar will change and you may need to change your volume and tone pots to recover your original tone characteristics. That is if you can calculate the correct electrical formula that will determine the required value of the replacement volume and tone pots.

Second, if the DC resistance value (k ohms) of your pickups is different the center detent position will have less volume than to just either side of the detent position. So.... as you are smoothly blending from the one pickup to the other there will be a very unpleasant drop in volume at the center detent position which is suppose to be full on for both pickups.

After building four guitars with blend pots I have come to the conclusion that the small advantage blend pots offer is no where near the difficulties encountered with their use. Now you have been informed, proceed with caution.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 12-23-2010
the closest to boutique without the high dollars

Hello Everyone: I acquired a set of these pickups recently off an auction site for a MIM Fender Mustang Edition Telecaster.
I read the reviews for the pickups on stew mac's website and based on that I purchased them.
The telecaster got rewired to vintage specs with paper in oil capacitors, and correct cts pots.
I plugged the guitar into my Carvin Nomad amplifier and I was blown away, it had that vintage tone without the vintage or boutique price tag.
There is a lot of pickups out there for the telecaster, but too many of them are either over-powering or over-hyped.
These pickups are a great value and they have that vintage tone, you can get some early Jimmy Page tones with these babies, thanks again Stew Mac

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
Brazilwood Violin Bow
Brazilwood Violin Bow
4 12-23-2010
From Ecuador

The best relationship quality - price.

Thanks

Carlos Cueva  Loja, Ecuador
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 12-23-2010
string action gauge

After using a pocket clip style ruler to set up guitars and dealing with the shadows,hold it straight,wobble it to find your height, this tool is nothing short of perfect and fast. Critical measurements are a breeze. Of all the tools I bought to do neck and fretboard work this gave the biggest bang for the least bucks. Now that I'm used to the .010 bar graph, measurements are super quick. You will love this tool.

hbgb  New Braunfels,Texas Read my reviews (6)
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 12-23-2010
Excellent material

I used this to make a new control plate for the Kramer XKB-10 bass I'm restoring. The material was perfect for that project and I've still got plenty left. I only wish it was available in smaller pieces.

Ron Neely II  Bloomington, IN
Customer supplied image for review
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Slotted Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Snakewood Knobs, for Slotted Pegheads
4 12-23-2010
Beautiful tuners but pricey

I purchased 5 sets to install them on three 10 string guitars from Puerto Rico (Puerto Rican Cuatro). The tuners are definitely of high craftmanship and their operation is very smooth. I guess my only issue is the price, they are way to expensive in comparison with similar horizontal tuners.

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 12-23-2010
Best Fret slotting saw blade I've used

I have three table saw blades all from different manufacturers. Of all three, by far this one is the best. I not only use it for fretting, but I use it to cut purfling as well as it leaves a nice clean cut.

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
4 12-23-2010
Great little tool

After nipping the fret tangs using other plier types not necessarily for the job, this fret tang nipper, while a little pricey, it did a great job. I was able to quickly complete the job. Even as good as this nipper is, you still have to grind or file down the remaining bur to have a nice flat surface underneath the fret.

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 12-23-2010
great product

Great choice for those seeking a quality modern-style Tele bridge.

c lewis  hong kong
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 12-23-2010
Holy Schlamoly

I don't think i can live without this tool anymore. Its made refretting so fast that i can now refret in 2 1/2 hours instead of 2 days, by sanding by hand. PIECE OF ADVICE, works better on radiused fretwire, instead of straight. Straight fretwires leaves a tiny bit of leftover.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 12-23-2010
Excelleeeeeeent

Just what i needed, right size and makes for great fretboard binding.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 12-23-2010
Perfect size

Absolutely what I needed after a couple of idiots my brother calls a band did with a guitar that had a black floyd rose and parts. Fits perfectly and keeps everything in tune. Solid work.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
Archtop Tops
Archtop Tops
2 12-22-2010
when in doubt use the return option.

I had chosen to spend the money on a AAA top. The top-wood arrived with a blue stain on one half. I suppose I could have packaged it up with all the hassle of packing, mailing,waiting for another to arrive or chance it that the mold stain would be carved out when done. My mistake.

Gonna be hard to sell with the asymmetrical pattern on the book-matched front. I must say however that stew mac did rectify another mistake when I got a non compound radiused fret board in the post. They sent me the right one right away and allowed me to keep the other one as well.

Luke Skywalker  Cairo, Egypt Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 12-22-2010
Good but with a couple of issues

My first issue is they are not well marked as to which edge is which, so I spend some time examining them to make sure I have the wider or skinnier one. There is probably a pattern to the marking on the handle and the file, but I'm not sure what it is. If they stamped the numbers over one another there would be no ambiguity.

The other issue is the taper. It works fine on any six string nut or on a twelve string with a bone nut or a graphite or softer plastic nut but with really hard plastic on a 12 it will crack the nut sometimes because of the taper getting in a slight bind. These are a great way, however, to get a full set of files. I really didn't need the bass sized ones though, and would have been happier to buy a set without those and saved some money.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 12-22-2010
Simple time saver

You can't beat the price and the amount of work and time and frustration it will save you when adjusting nuts.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
Off-the-Wall Guitar Hanger
Off-the-Wall Guitar Hanger
4 12-22-2010
Well designed

I went for four stars just because of price. I think it's a bit expensive, but I love everything else about it. It's well designed, pivots, holds the guitar away so it's not rubbing the wall and it looks nice. If it's any indication of how well I like them, I have seven of them.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 12-22-2010
The most precise way to adjust strings

I've adjusted strings with feeler gauges and guesswork before but this takes all the guesswork out of it. It rests on the string. You zero it. You press down and you have the distance. It couldn't be easier. They do seem to have designed it to work the other way around, which would mean you'd have to zero it while you hold down the string and the let up to read it, but it's not that hard to read backwards and easier to set to zero while not having to hold it down as well.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 12-22-2010
I love ebony pins

I love the look of them and the sound of them. These are well made. I might have made them less shiny to better differentiate them from plastic, but they are very nice.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
Schaller Bass Machines
Schaller Bass Machines
5 12-22-2010
Very Nice!!

Easy installation,work perfectly.
What else could you as for?

Chris N  Sparks, NV
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 12-22-2010
Yeah, these are pretty much amazing

Finally broke down and bought a proper set of nut slotting files. I'm impressed by how fast and straight they can slot bone nuts. Even you, tiny little 0.010" file! You're tougher than you look.

MicCheckOne  Long Beach, California, USA Read my reviews (8)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 12-22-2010
Perfect strips of wood

I ordered the plain bloodwood bindings. These strips are perfectly cut, with beautiful coloring.

MicCheckOne  Long Beach, California, USA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 18476 – 18500
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  739  740  741  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce