Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18451 – 18475
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  738  739  740  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 12-21-2010
Nice tools

Very basic tools that save a lot of work. Used to dress my frets sideways to get the radius (almost) right; now it's much easier. I would go for the aluminum ones if you're doing lots of fret work though

Hudson Couto  Brasília, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 12-21-2010
Great Little add-ons

These Little guys should come stock in every guitar. Work specially well with audio taper pots to dial that exact tone/volume settings. I use the tone knob all the time for some jazz tones and these indicators help a lot. Nice price also

Hudson Couto  Brasília, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 12-21-2010
Long legs

These are great. Just a heads up though, they have long legs. Not good for Strats without modding. Too bad I was dying to put it in to compliment my Golden age bridge pickup. My mistake, pickup is great. I may keep it for an import Paul if I buy one.

melodic1  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (2)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo
5 12-21-2010
Really good bridge

Very strong tremolo and easy to install. Works perfectly fine.

Thomas Jacquin  Whitehorse, canada
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 12-21-2010
Essential Fretting Kit

I bought it(very good and instructive book was included) and started my fret jobs. Caution, it will be obsessional :-)!
George.

George Horak  Czech Republic Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 12-21-2010
Easy job.

I am very satisfy, this tool made my job easier and fast.

iroliveira  Salvador/Brasil
P-90 Pickup Kit with Fiber Bobbin
P-90 Pickup Kit with Fiber Bobbin
5 12-21-2010
Now in Norway.

I bought the fiber bobbin kit, which I built for Hans, the guitarist of the Norwegian band, Skambankt. The quality was superb! When I want highest quality p90 sound, I buy from StewMac.

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
Humbucker Kit
Humbucker Kit
5 12-21-2010
first pickup I built

The StewMac humbucker kit was the first guitar pickup I built. After building over 150 pickups, mostly single coils, I have found that there is no higher quality pickup parts than StewMac. The instructions were very informative while I was learning. And again, they provide top quality products.
Pete

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 12-20-2010
Sunburst In A Can

Excellent results as long as you warm up the cans as directed!

joe sharp  north richland hills,tx
Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
4 12-20-2010
Spot on!

Straight to the point, no hassle! Easy to use, gives a quick and accurate neck relief measurement (with the tool properly calibrated, obviously).

Paulo Rui  Portugal
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 12-20-2010
The right wood binding makes all the difference

I've used both binding types and have had good results, for the most part. They are consistent and made from quality materials. The only problem I had was with the curly koa binding. Because of the nature of the wood, it can break at the more extreme curls. Buy a couple extra strips to accommodate this. Worth it if combined with the proper contrasting body woods.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 12-20-2010
Must have in your shop!

This jig makes life much easier! Very simple, easy to use and well worth the money!

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 12-20-2010
Best Tuners!!

These are the most consistent and well built tuners that I have used. Excellent gear ratio for accurate tuning. Will use on all future builds.

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 12-19-2010
Gibson Les Paul Studio

I love when my StewMac catalogs come in the mail because it is full of upgrades to spark my imagination. Gibson are the best guitars on the planet and I wish I could get a tortoise shell pick guard to dress it up.

FLJAY  Ormond Bch, FL
Herringbone Rosette
Herringbone Rosette
4 12-19-2010
Looks great

I put these on a buddy's Ovation. I guess they use rosette "stickers" on their celebrity models (the ones without the leaf motif). A buddy gave me his guitar to replace the broken nut, the missing rosette and giant crack in the finish was bothering me. I sanded down to bare wood and glued the new rosette onto the body. I know, not the "right" way to do it. But I built up new layers of black paint on the finish, sanded the rosette down to meet the paint, and then sealed the whole thing with nitro-cell finish. Looks like a new guitar. I'll use these rosettes again, no doubt.

txsmtlhd  Fairfield, ct Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 12-19-2010
Only stuff I'll use for nuts

Easy to carve, tone lasts for days. Most astonishing point is the fact that the fulcrum tremelo on my strat stays in tune better than the locking nut floyd rose ("Licensed") on my Dean ML. Vintage bone is the way to go and the blanks from Stew-Mac are now on 7 of my 8 (obviously not the Dean) guitars and basses.

txsmtlhd  Fairfield, ct Read my reviews (2)
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 12-19-2010
Works as advertised

The Preval made a job much easier than I expected by easily handing the gold lacquer recipe for a gold top Gibson. I was not looking forward to this job but once mixed, it was no more difficult than using a spray can.

John M. Swinney  Bella Vista, AR
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 12-19-2010
Nice 'n' Krunchy

To my ears, these pickups are tonally identical to some of the most sought after pickups out there. I put them on a Washburn Idol guitar and that sure phattened up the sound. They respond well to pick attack and give that rounded sound that was missing with the stock Korean made pickups. Just for fun, I tried them coil tapped and found them to be pretty thin sounding in that configuration, but that's not what I wanted them for anyway. Overall, well worth the money paid.

Moe  Potlatch, ID
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 12-19-2010
Christmas List

I have not had a chance to use the Fret Wire. It is a Christmas gift that I just have to wait and open. I did check the packaging to ensure every item was there. Good job on the packing. Everything was secure and all of the items were received without damage. I have a lot of plans to use it all and order more.

Kazz  Troutville, VA
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
4 12-19-2010
Correction

I commented earlier about this item. The fretboard I purchased from Stew-Mac was some time ago, but it WAS 24.75" scale exactly. The text in the ad for the item has changed since I purchased the item, so Stew-Mac probably figured out that Gibson scales are not exactly 24.75" and made a correction.

Murray Stefferud  Champlin, MN Read my reviews (2)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Ebony Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 12-19-2010
None Better

I have 4 resonator guitars and have Waverly's on 3 of them. Pricey and worth every cent.

wyattu  usa
TUSQ XL Nuts
TUSQ XL Nuts
5 12-19-2010
Great nuts

I've used these for years because they work just great, string slots have always been usable spacing, great tone, and a must for tremolo equipped guitars. I've had to add a shim at bottom sometimes to get the right height, but no big deal.

4suremann  USA Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
5 12-19-2010
Excellent Squire upgrade

If you're looking for sound upgrade of your Squire this will make a huge difference. Steel block (much larger than in old tremolo) was crucial for sustain, which is now longer, tone is clearer and brighter.

Installment can be tricky if the top plate screws holes are not in the same position like the old ones, but you can easily fix this thing up.

Vlaho  Dubrovnik, Croatia Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 12-19-2010
Pickguard screws

Excellent replacement screws.

Vlaho  Dubrovnik, Croatia Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
5 12-19-2010
Great Upgrade

This was my first attempt at guitar modification, but it came out great. I bought these tuners as a replacement for those which came stock on a Goldtone Weissenborn clone. They didn't exactly drop in, since their bushings and mounting screws were more robust than the stock ones, but the fitting was easily accomplished with tools I had on hand. I selected them because the mounting screw spacing was the same as the original tuners. Really transformed the guitar. Now it stays in tune and feels much more precise. Highly recommended.

RCE1  California Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 18451 – 18475
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  738  739  740  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce