Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18401 – 18425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  736  737  738  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Amp Corners
Amp Corners
5 12-26-2010
corners

Used these amp corners on a speaker cabinet i built. They worked great. Thanks for your good products

maddog  ooltewah,tn Read my reviews (2)
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 12-26-2010
Carbon Fiber rods

As an update to my review of 09/08/2010, the addition of the C.F. rods seems to have changed the sound of the guitar for the better. It now sounds more like a "classic strat" with all the chime and quack that one would expect from an old strat. Highly recommended!

Dave C.  Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
4 12-26-2010
Orange is sweet

I used this on a guitar that had a top made of pyjinma wood, an asian wood. It's naturally a brown color, so staining could be problematic. Plus, the wood is very hard and dense. I wiped the stain on and it covered very well. One bad thing doing this - the lacquer reacts with the stain and caused large areas of finish crazing, which had to be sanded off and restained and repainted.

the wizard of az  Tucson, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Mounting Ferrules
Neck Mounting Ferrules
5 12-26-2010
1001 uses for old neck plates

I recently built a bcustom Hot-Rod for a friend's son for Christmas. StewMac's neck ferrules went on in place of the neck plate. This went so well, I'm incorporating them into the building of all future bcustom instruments. I did find out something the hard way. The 5/8" bit appears to me to be too big. I did mine with a 9/16" spade bit and hogged out the rest with my trusty Dremel 395 and the large sanding drum.
This makes the ferrules a press fit. They don't fall out of the body if the neck is removed. The 5/8" hole allows them to shift around, and looks loose to me. But, it's a huge difference. I learned something else. A small hole in the body from the factory, gets covered by a neck plate. I plugged it with ash dowel and sanded it flush. Hole is now undetectable. So I've got neck plates for sale if anyone wants one.

the axeman  Texas Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 12-26-2010
Hot little Pickups

I installed a neck and bridge Golden Age Overwound on a 3 pickup guitar (single coil middle). I coil cut the neck and left the bridge as a humbucker. Also added a switch to turn the neck pickup on to make more pickup combination options. The guitar also has a 5-way Strat style switch. This way I can get the neck and bridge pickup on together for that "fat" sound. I am ecstatic over the sound.

The pickups are warm, but with enough edge they sound good with a high gain amp. They sound great for blues, rock and country. I did have the bridge pickup coil cut, but agree with the another reviewer that this sounded thin. But, coil cutting the neck and pairing that with the bridge humbucker, I get a nice country/rock sound. They are well worth the price and I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking to upgrade their axe.

nwalton  Virginia
Schaller Bridge/Tailpiece
Schaller Bridge/Tailpiece
5 12-26-2010
Schaller Bridge / Tailpiece

Purchased this for an upgrade to a Les Paul Jr. that had the factory bridge and intonation issues. This unit is solid. It's easy to adjust. The guitar is now capable (for the first time) of really being in tune the full range of the neck. The unit looks great. For an LP Jr., you won't be able to use the included splined inserts but the threaded studs that come with the bridge have the same thread pattern as the originals. Just leave the original inserts in the guitar. You can replace the bridge in about 1 additional minute when you replace strings. The ability to set overall spacing of the bridge is great. Really nice plating job and craftsmanship.

NoHoliday  Georgia
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 12-26-2010
fastest way to target the real culprit if you have fret buzz

One of the hardest jobs a luthier faces after all the neck building, fretting, leveling, and setting is finished is the "final tweak". One renegade fret can end up being a game of tag as one fret clears and another becomes a new culprit. This really simple tool makes the whole process more direct and straight forward with a level of precision you have to respect. I checked instruments I had believed to be "perfect" and found that I could measurably reduce my string heights when I'd finished.

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 12-26-2010
like getting micrometer eyeballs

This is so easy to use and much easier to read than any traditional measuring tool. String height/action is a unique and critical specification for set up. This tool is specific and unique for the task.

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 12-26-2010
nice switch

Good quality, terminals take solder readliy. Good positive feel to the switch once installed.

jmars  Austin, Texas, USA Read my reviews (4)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 12-26-2010
how did I ever do without this tool?

I'll never have to hold my breath while tightening the ring on a Les Paul toggle switch again ! The fit between wrench and knurled nut is perfect. Well worth having in the tool box !

jmars  Austin, Texas, USA Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 12-26-2010
gauged nut files work right on !

These cut perfect string slots. Nice profile, good grit. They cut fast, so be careful and take your time. They do a great job!

jmars  Austin, Texas, USA Read my reviews (4)
Strat Pickguard
Strat Pickguard
5 12-26-2010
Simple & Simply Perfect

This pickguard fits perfectly, is well made and looks great.

Elwood  Rhinebeck, NY
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 12-26-2010
Great Screws

It's always nice to find a high quality screws...and you guys got 'em.

Dean...Soul Cat Guitars  Seattle Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 12-26-2010
They've been needed for a long time

I've been fixing up old mandolins for a while now, these are the only "new", "off the shelf" tuners I have found that will replace pre 1925 tuners. The lower gearing is a bonus. Well done.

Geoff Bobbitt  Australia
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 12-25-2010
Noisy toggle

Bought this to replace a noisy switch on my Epiphone LP. Excellent product.

Chuck  Sagamore Beach, Ma Read my reviews (5)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 12-25-2010
Excellent quality and price

The screws are good quality and the size was right on.

Chuck  Sagamore Beach, Ma Read my reviews (5)
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
1 12-25-2010
Wrong hole diameter

I bought these for use with the Stewmac standard pots, but they were larger than the pot mounting bushing diameter.

Chuck  Sagamore Beach, Ma Read my reviews (5)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 12-24-2010
perfect

I got the 2" role and was able to cover 2 guitars(strat and double cutaway nonamer) and 1 bass and still have some left. It applied easily, was conductive all the way around and the finished product looks awesome.

Robh  USA Read my reviews (4)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 12-24-2010
great

I tried screws from other suppliers for my strat and they were either cheap soft metaled junk or wrong size. These worked perfect.

Robh  USA Read my reviews (4)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
4 12-24-2010
Strap buttons

These strap buttons are solid with a good screw. They are nicely machined, not cast. They have a nice simple stlye for vintage or modern guitars. I just use a gold pair on a new project. If it's a new guitar with out strap button holes, just pre drill some pilot holes of the appropriate size and depth and hand tighten the screw firmly. Don't over tighten the screw and strip the wood or break the screw.

If it's an old guitar and the strap button hole is stripped, cut a small dowel and glue it in the hole, let it dry, and drill a new pilot hole and the new screw should hold good.

Rodrigo  CT Read my reviews (2)
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
5 12-24-2010
Archtop guitar bridge

I have bought several of these bridges over the last couple of years. They are top quality and great value for money. Even after paying for delivery, they are better value than anything I can buy in the UK.

Jim Wright  Yorkshire, England
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 12-24-2010
Need ID Marks

I have items 4542 and 4543 and like them but have a hard time deciding which side goes with which size. They need arrows or something to show you which is which.

Old Tucson Jack  Seward, NE Read my reviews (3)
Strat Pickguard with Humbucker
Strat Pickguard with Humbucker
3 12-24-2010
could have been better

I stated this in my other review. This is the first time in my 6 years of ordering from this company that I've received a less than stellar product. I ordered 2 pickguards and the HSS replacement was warped badly. Almost unusable. I put it under some heavy books to try to straighten it out...thank God that worked. Was a little disappointed.

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
5 12-24-2010
great product

Just installed this on my acoustic. Tone and projection are improved! Thanks for a great product!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 12-24-2010
great upgrade

Just installed these into my acoustics. Very impressed with the fit and finish of these products. They needed very minor sanding to fit but fit like a glove. Tone is much improved! thanks stew-mac and tusq!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Displaying 18401 – 18425
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  736  737  738  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce