Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18376 – 18400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  735  736  737  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 12-28-2010
Keeps the tune and good looking!

Bought these new tuning gear as the original ones on my Lanikai. Did not keep the tone properly. The difference is really great, and the looks of my little travel uke is also much improved. They look and feel very good, it's a bargain!

Klas Alander  Gothenburg, Sweden
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 12-28-2010
Rescue Equipment

I'm a beginner with luthiery, and I get my experience with abused and neglected guitars I find at garage sales and estate sales. Fret grooves are common problems, and the Double-edge Fret File is a great piece of rescue equipment for this problem. In most cases, you can quickly remove grooves, restore a proper fret profile and produce noticeably better sounding notes from what used to be a "trouble spot" or "dead spot".

If you like rescuing old beaters and giving them another shot at life, this is standard rescue equipment. Highly recommended.

ScottD  Knoxville, TN USA
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 12-28-2010
Pickup height screws

First class service

Malcolm  Northern Ireland
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
5 12-28-2010
To fit any Project.

This is the Truss Rod you want to buy to fit any project. It requires more work than a Hot-Rod truss rod as well as more maintenance, but you can easily cut it to fit any desired length and it will seat nicely in virtually any kind of neck.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 12-28-2010
Flexible Versatility

Get a set(#6046) of 3M Flexible Polishing Papers and you'll be armed for any stages of your projects.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 12-28-2010
What you're looking for.

If you're looking for a Bone nut that is easy to carve, good tonality and enhance your instrument esthetically, you found it.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
Collet for Dremel
Collet for Dremel
5 12-28-2010
Not a Stewmac...

This is a Dremel product, not a Stewmac built. Nothing special, but something any Dremel user would want to consider adding to their accessories.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
Black Plastic Dots
Black Plastic Dots
5 12-28-2010
Straight Forward

Nothing special here. Plain plastic dots. What you need for standard inlay jobs.

Well priced.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 12-28-2010
Great Value!!

I recently bought the 8" and have been using it quite more than I thought I would. Perfect for fine sanding an existing radius or to shape a full radius from a flat surface. Easy to use for small areas adjustment or/and to level your fret job. Really a good value tool to have around the workshop.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 12-28-2010
Not as versatile as the traditional ones

The Hot Rod is not adjustable. You will need to modify some neck designs in order to fit the truss rod. For a 1 piece tele maple neck for example, you'll have to route a longer channel covering the entire length of the heel in order to fit the rod. The channel will have to go further towards the head as well, altering the design.

If covering with a fingerboard, the alterations aren't esthetically noticeable. Otherwise, the Hot Rod is pretty well built and installs easily on a straight channel. It also requires less maintenance than a single action. Just make sure it fits your project's specs and you're good to go!

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
Mini Cam Clamp
Mini Cam Clamp
5 12-27-2010
Mini Cam Clamps

These clamps are exactly what I need and are beautifully made. The 1st job they`ll be used on is a little tenor guitar I`m building, attaching the bridge. Thanks for your excellent service

Bill Arnold  Waihi, New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
3 12-27-2010
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines

The tuners perform great. Would love them, but they come way to high out of the Gibson headstock. The cover photo on the Stewmac site is kind of misleading. Do check the specs before buying!

mis  Slovenia
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 12-27-2010
For Christmas

Great information, this is a must have have for any guitar nut. It wasn't suppose to arrive before Christmas but to my surprise it did. Also, it was signed by Mr. Erlemine, VERY COOL!!

metal6string  Navarre, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 12-27-2010
great product.

this copper tape saved my life! amazing quality and easy to apply.

Rista  Greece Read my reviews (2)
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
Wilkinson Adjustable Compensated Bridge for Tele
3 12-27-2010
Finish was sub-par

The bridge itself appears to be of great quality, but the finish on what I received was terrible. For not being what is considered a cheap bridge, only a small portion of the chrome plating was up to the standards one would expect.

Poor Finish  Detroit, MI
Archtop Back/Side Set
Archtop Back/Side Set
5 12-27-2010
Do be careful

The timber for the arch top was of excellent quality with a good even highly figured pattern.
However whilest grading somebody had marked out in blue crayon the rough shape of a cutaway arch top, presumably to see if any small knots or blemishes would fall outside of this perimeter.
Nothing wrong at all in that, but I was making an arched back, and like a pratt (Australian for idiot!) I marked my accurate shape over the top of the blue line and cut it out back to front!!
So now I have to make a left handed one!

Ged  Noosa, Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Vintage-style Tuner Bushings
Vintage-style Tuner Bushings
5 12-27-2010
Vintage Tuner Bushings

The bushings worked great. I thought they were a little tight, but it didn't take much scraping or cleaning the sockets to get a proper fit. I had one of the Stu Mac reamers that worked well. These bushings have splines full length and would make good replacements for the Martin Vintage re-issue models. The ones I've seen had just a short spline near the top and many of them are loose enough to fall out when the string tension is off. Like when you are changing a string on the back of the stage in poor lighting and, well, you can guess the rest.

Marshall  Louisville Read my reviews (3)
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
Pearloid-top Dome Knob
5 12-26-2010
Caution: Drilling to fit 1/4" shaft

To whomever chooses to open up these, or any, knobs to fit a 1/4" pot shaft: Do not use a power drill. You will only need the drill bit and a couple drops of oil. Using a power drill adds complication in securing the knob and potential danger if the knob goes flying. Just twist the drill bit using hand power. It's only a brass insert and should take less than a minute to open up the hole to enable sliding the knob onto the shaft. Don't forget to remove the set screw too.

Brian  Florida
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 12-26-2010
Super Strong

These will de-magnetize your pickups easily.

Mounted on a clamp they are super easy to work with

Steve in Melbourne  Australia Read my reviews (8)
Strat Pickup Flatwork
Strat Pickup Flatwork
5 12-26-2010
Vintage specs

Dimensions are very consistent across the batches I've had. Easy to work with and my 0.191" mags fit nicely. Does NOT have the laser cut residue that other brands do, so that's nice :)

Steve in Melbourne  Australia Read my reviews (8)
Strat Pickguard
Strat Pickguard
4 12-26-2010
Looks as good as the one on my Squire

Using the 0071-Whites as test beds for swapping home-wound pickups in and out of a 2010 Fender Squire Bullet Strat.

Note that the bridge cutaway section and the screw hole placements for the pickgaurd do NOT match the China made el-cheapo strats.

The pots and switches fit nicely though.

Steve in Melbourne  Australia Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
5 12-26-2010
nice kit

great quality kit, parts fit together well & wood was good quality. I used a old piece of red cedar i had for the top. The uke sounds better than i expected. I am going to buy another one.

Terry C.  Fort Bragg,CA.
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 12-26-2010
Great product.

This worked out wonderfully. I put about six or seven coats throughout the interior of the guitar. You also will want to put in a screw with a wire attached to it, and paint over that. This wire will lead to the ground of the guitar. You won't be shielding properly if you don't provide a way for the interference to lead to ground, so be aware of that. You can also later sand down with some fine and very fine grit sandpaper, which makes for a more pleasant look.

If it's not a vintage instrument, I would probably recommend this instead of the copper tape. It's very easy to use, but once it's on, it's staying on.

L Mollard  Saint Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
5 12-26-2010
Good upgrade.

I used these on a Japanese made Jazzmaster as part of an overall rebuild, they're a lot better than the previous tuners. They have both a better feel to them and will make changing strings easier, and probably hold the tune a little better. Good buy!

L Mollard  Saint Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
Amp Handle
Amp Handle
5 12-26-2010
handle

Used this handle as replacement. It worked perfectly. Highly recommend these products.

maddog  ooltewah,tn Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 18376 – 18400
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  735  736  737  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce