Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18376 – 18400
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  735  736  737  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
4 1-02-2011
Roller String Trees

Really works!!rolling when playing....

albertprio  Jakarta, Indonesia Read my reviews (2)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 1-01-2011
get your knobs

Replaced my old archtop's white-ish, crusty raisin tuner knobs with new black beauties. Cleaned, oiled and polished the Klusons. After wire brushing the posts, I heated the posts with a small torch, and just hammered 'em on with a plastic hammer...took 10 minutes for all 6.

justified blues  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 1-01-2011
Just what I needed!

I have 3 electric guitars and have never felt comfortable with their "playability." After setting up my Strat and Tele with Fender's recommended measurements for a light attack I fell back in love with them!

If you are as sensitive as I am when it comes to your setup this is more then worth the price. The metric action gauge is a god send. I set up 2 guitars in less then 15 minutes.

BUY IT!

Jesus Saucedo  Chicago, Illinois
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 1-01-2011
Shot in the dark

I'm not a fan of ordering wood parts with out seeing or hearing them first. Its really a shot in the dark, but time and time again stew mac delivers the best looking wood products. I can rest easy knowing the product is going to be as good as or better than one i would hand pick at a lumber yard or wood store.

zombie squirrel guitars  new lebanon, ohio Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 1-01-2011
superglue

I use it EVERY DAY for many different tasks, and find new ways to use it all the time and couldn't even think of a world without it! Rick Mullen

thomasgotmusic  ny
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
4 1-01-2011
Saves damage and hassle

Had this a while now and would not be without it. Its handy for removing stubborn control knobs but where its really great is for removing bridge post bushes.
A great tool

Glenn Newton  London, England
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 1-01-2011
Great size, durable quality

These are great bits, perfectly suited to the daily chores of pickup cavity routing, etc. They have suffered much use without significant dulling of their cutting edges and are the perfect size that is hard to find elsewhere.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
Acoustic Bridge Bolts
5 1-01-2011
Very handy

These are just the thing for certain bridge repair and gluing operations. I smiled recently when I read on some forum that Stew Mac mostly sells "gadgets that hobbyists like to fill their shops with." I have found that items such as these bolts improve my work, both in speed and quality. All the R&D has been done for us by Stew Mac and I have saved a ton of time just buying what is already available instead of trying to reinvent the wheel myself.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Dan Erlewines Bridge Repairs
Dan Erlewine's Bridge Repairs
5 1-01-2011
Excellent video!

I used the information in these videos to perform a rather advanced repair on an old Gibson Hummingbird that had been damaged from previous poorly done work. The guitar needed very similar work to the old SJ that Dan repairs in the second video. I would not have had the confidence to save the Hummingbird if not for the clear and detailed instruction that Dan gives. A real home run!

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Behkol Solvent
Behlen Behkol Solvent
5 1-01-2011
Works great

I purchased some of this after watching Bryan Galloup use it to remove blushing from a guitar body after steaming off the neck. I was pleased to find that the Behkol removed the blushing just like in the video.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
Grover Super Rotomatics
Grover Super Rotomatics
5 1-01-2011
Great look

Straight changeover into an Eastwood Delta 6. Rock solid. These tuners were far cheaper here than anywhere else, and was how I found this great site. (Stewmac's price is so much cheaper compared to other local retailers that I originally thought the price here was per tuning machine). Well done Stewmac.

Justin W  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 1-01-2011
Kala switchover

Had no problem with the sealed nickel originals on a Kala uke, but I could see the gold/black open geared giving a better look.
Almost a straight changeover, just needed to file out the holes slightly.

Looks much better than the originals on the dark finish.

Low cost fast makeover - thanks again Stewmac.

Justin W  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Bigsby B5 Vibrato
Bigsby B5 Vibrato
5 12-31-2010
Thinline tele installation

Trouble-free installation in a CIJ TN-SPL thinline tele.
The strings glide over the saddle grooves no problem with a bit of 6B pencil on them (and I didn't need to file so much away on the bridge plate as I thought I would).

Looks and plays great.
Thanks again for top shelf products at low prices.

Justin W  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Vibramate V5 Adapter for Bigsby B5
Vibramate V5 Adapter for Bigsby B5
5 12-31-2010
Great Product

The Vibramate was the only option for me to install a Bigsby on my Gibson SG Faded with my limited experience working on guitars.

This product made adding a Bigsby no harder than changing a set of strings. All the provided hardware was great and everything fit with the B5. It is truly as simple as six screws and you are ready to rock.

I would only recommend this product for flat top guitars like the SG or flat top Les Paul. I think you would be asking for trouble to try this with any carve top guitar.

Bob A  Chicago, IL
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 12-31-2010
Binding Tape

Once you use it - you don't how you did without it. I find a dozen things a day to use it on.

C.Cavuoto.  Roch. N.Y. Read my reviews (2)
Respirator Mask
Respirator Mask
5 12-31-2010
Respirator Mask

This mask works when sanding - painting - and using chemicals.

C.Cavuoto.  Roch. N.Y. Read my reviews (2)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 12-31-2010
Rule of strings

Man am I glad I found this thing. I have made several nuts and bridges before and had to always calculate the spacings. This tool is so simple and easy, plus a time saver. Basically for a 6 string guitar, all you need to know is how far you want the 1st and 6th strings,(the E strings) to set from the edge of the fret board. Line the string rule up and mark the other string placement and groove them out. When I used to calculate the spacings, I never even thought to consider the string thickness. The string rule does that as well. If you make many nuts and bridges this is a great tool to have, a must. Thanks StewMac

Tinkering picker  Pomeroy, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 12-31-2010
Making a nut

I found these white bone nuts very useful. They are hard enough to transfer string vibration but yet are very toolable. Can be finished to your liking from dull to a nice shine.

Tinkering picker  Pomeroy, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
2 12-31-2010
Bummed

Did not fit 1/4" holes. Also, one came damaged(I ordered 8 for a mandolin). Wish you guys stocked more varieties, as these didn't work for me.

Stirl  NY, NY
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 12-31-2010
Great tool.

I almost didn't buy this tool as I figured I could use the principle and make something equivalent (sometimes being both cheap and industrious can be dangerous). However, in the end I decided not to compound the screw-up that put me in the position of needing the tool in the first place (tip - the gold coloring on tuner bushings will buff off)so I ordered both it and new tuner bushings. Now I'm very glad I did. The old bushings came out perfectly with no damage to the Brazilian faceplate. I suppose no operation like this can ever be totally risk free however, I can't think of a way of making this any safer. The tool fits close around the bushing being removed so the faceplate is supported as much as possible which should minimize chip-out, if there is any. As I said, I had none.

Pat Hawley  Ottawa, Canada
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 12-30-2010
The Precision Router Base

Overall this is a fine addition to my shop. I would like to see small handles or knobs on both sides for better control. I'm not a guitar maker but I am a carver and do highly detailed and intricate engraving and inlay and the handles would be helpful to me.

Russ DeVerniero  Coeur d'Alene, Idaho Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Work Step-By-Step
Fret Work Step-By-Step
1 12-30-2010
Step by Step on how to sell StewMac tools

I got this with the "Essential Fretting Kit". As usual, the StewMac tools are the bomb! The book however, is nothing more than a shameless $34 ad for all the other tools that aren't included in the fretting kit. Thank goodness it's free in this kit.

There isn't detailed step by step instruction from beginning to end on how to fret a guitar. It's just superficial information you can download for free here and elsewhere. I'm very disappointed in this book. I was excited to fret a neck that I bought and I still don't know where to begin, unless I begin by buying 10 other tools they sell (for a minimum of 30-40 bucks). Also don't forget the $10 shipping gouge regardless of size/weight.

So I will have to get on the forums and glean the information elsewhere so I can use my shiny new tools on my neck without goofing it up (or spending 300-400 on new tools to do it "right")

DougM  Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
5 12-30-2010
Great new gears

Just put a set of the gold Schertler Classical guitar tuning machines on a '63 Goya G30. The Goya was originally supplied with well designed and made single machines that still work fine. But I thought I'd try these newly designed Schertler machines...and I am so glad I did.

The mounting screw holes are close,but not close enough and new holes need to be made. But these tuners are beautifully built, very smooth, very easy to turn with absolutely no binding because of the excellent design of the tuners and because the individual tuner design does not force a connection between tuners, as on the three on a plate design.

Really worth trying...and I've tried a lot of really good tuning machines. I highly recommend these Schertler machines. M Scott

m scott  usa
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
5 12-30-2010
works like magic

A friend just bought an ibenez acustic and one of her students cracked the neck at the head. I took it home and was going to try some slow curing epoxy, then i went to your archives and found a crack repair just like the one i was facing. So i followed the repair in your archive and ordered some hide glue. The repair went perfect. You can't tell there was ever a crack. The ooze wiped right off with a damp rag. I felt guilty it was so easy.

Your information you provide for free is second to none and so you will always have my business.

smokinaces  Soddy Daisy, TN Read my reviews (6)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 12-30-2010
Excelente!!!!!!

Sinceramente, es genial, es a prueba de boludos. funciona excelentemente bien. Verdaderamente esta gente de StewMac, ofrecen soluciones de calidad.
Les mando una Foto de mi guitarra. La "STG-1". saludos!!!

Pablo A. Villanueva  Remedios de Escalada, Buenos Aires, Argentina Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18376 – 18400
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  735  736  737  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce