Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18351 – 18375
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  734  735  736  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
4 1-05-2011
Reamer

Expensive - but I would not attempt an endpin installation without it.

steves  Australia
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 1-04-2011
Amazing!

Possibly the best sandpaper I've used. It doesn't clog easily, and puts a nice uniform surface on the instrument. Highly recommended

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 1-04-2011
Good with a few setbacks.

Bought 1 can of sealer and 4 cans of clear gloss for a guitar I built. The sealer went on very well with just one spit because of the cold on the cans (in southern new york where i live its around 35 degrees). However, after sanding I sprayed 4 coats of clear gloss, and it goes on pretty good. It spits a ton though. After I was finished with the coat I had lacquer running down my glove and it spit a good 4 or 5 times on the instrument. I mean its not difficult to remove a spit but its annoying when that happens.

But, the photo to your right shows that it makes a great finish (it'll get glossier when i buff it)

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
Bobbin Flatwork Material
Bobbin Flatwork Material
5 1-04-2011
Good stuff, easy to work with.

I use a lot of this fiberboard, especially the .094 for bobbin flatwork pieces for Charlie Christian style pickups I make. I cut and shape the fiberboard using hand tools, but it is pretty easy to work with. Great product.

Travis  Tennessee Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 1-04-2011
just right

Like the other reviewers, I'm very happy Stew-Mac put these out. Work great on my '22 A4 and am currently modifying a set for a '15 F2. Thanks guys.

Jacob Hawkins  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 1-04-2011
Golden Age Tele Pickups

I bought these based upon the description on the Stew-Mac website, figuring that if they fell short I could replace them. Well, that will not be happening. I just installed them on my latest project guitar and am extremely satisfied with their performance. Use the recommended wiring. These are great pickups!!

MK  Sterling Heights, Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Martin Guitar
5 1-04-2011
Life saver

What can I say. After messing up my bridge placement, this slightly shorter scale f/board was a life saver. And great quality to!!!

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
000 Guitar Plan
000 Guitar Plan
4 1-04-2011
Great plan

Great plan. But would be easier to use if on two sheets. I have to lay it out on our king-size bed!

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Replacement Tuner Screws
Replacement Tuner Screws
5 1-04-2011
Nice screws

How can such nice screws ever get a bad review?

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Seam Separation Knife
Seam Separation Knife
5 1-04-2011
Great tool

Great tool. First time I used it was to remove head veneer on a warped neck. Did such a great job I was able to reuse original veneer.

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Surface Thermometer
Surface Thermometer
2 1-04-2011
A bit disappointing.

A bit flimsy and a bit pricey. Good job it comes in a plastic box to protect it. I expected better quality, but it does work ok.

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
5 1-04-2011
It works

The last guitar I built I routed by hand. The results were adequate. I just used this routing jig on my next guitar and the results were great. The only warning I have is that the router bit has to fit up inside the mouth of the jig and the bit I had was too big so I eventually had to buy the Stewart McDonald one.

Rex Shurtleff  Pagosa Springs, CO Read my reviews (3)
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
4 1-04-2011
Cheap but cheerful.

Don’t understand earlier posts.
The ones I got fit perfectly.
I even ordered some more.

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar
5 1-04-2011
Nice wood

Very good quality. Nicely book matched. Bent beautifully straight out the box!! Having a cupboard full of rosewood backs, it’s great that Stewmac sell sides and backs separately.

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
5 1-04-2011
Great value!!

The only tuners I use on my steel string guitars.
Never had any problems. Great value for money.

Ronnie Rafter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 1-04-2011
Good Vise

This little vise works absolutely fantastic. I need it every day in my shop. It´s a must have for every professional luthier.

Christian Doerr Master-Luthier  Neustadt an der Weinstrasse Germany Read my reviews (2)

4" Radius Blocks Essential Set
5 1-04-2011
4" Wooden Radius-sanding Blocks

It´s necessary for all jobs with fretboards and fretjobs.I bought set and saved money. It´s made from good wood, with very good accuracy.

George Horak  Czech Republic Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

A simple little tool that's worth its weight in GOLD

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

This is just the greatest little tool,so simple yet so easy,

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

We all need these,well made and makes any job faster and easier

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

Why didn't I invent these saws? Makes the job of nut replacement fast and easy. A pleasure to use.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

Everyone who works on guitars needs this rule,spot on nuts every time. So easy to use thanks Dan and Stewmac

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-04-2011
Awesome!

One of my "desert island" tools!

DM  NS Read my reviews (2)
Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
3 1-04-2011
Would be better with one change...

The earlier versions were plastic, and weren't as reflective when you put them on the strings, so they were easier to look at. Bring back those, and you've got a winner!

DM  NS Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 1-03-2011
Les Paul pick guard , item #1126.

I don't know why Ibanez doesn't put pick guards on their 335 style guitars, but this Les Paul one fit perfect on my AS73B Artcore.

John A.  Tulsa
Displaying 18351 – 18375
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  734  735  736  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce