Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18351 – 18375
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  734  735  736  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 12-31-2010
Rule of strings

Man am I glad I found this thing. I have made several nuts and bridges before and had to always calculate the spacings. This tool is so simple and easy, plus a time saver. Basically for a 6 string guitar, all you need to know is how far you want the 1st and 6th strings,(the E strings) to set from the edge of the fret board. Line the string rule up and mark the other string placement and groove them out. When I used to calculate the spacings, I never even thought to consider the string thickness. The string rule does that as well. If you make many nuts and bridges this is a great tool to have, a must. Thanks StewMac

Tinkering picker  Pomeroy, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 12-31-2010
Making a nut

I found these white bone nuts very useful. They are hard enough to transfer string vibration but yet are very toolable. Can be finished to your liking from dull to a nice shine.

Tinkering picker  Pomeroy, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
1920s-style Tuner Bushings
2 12-31-2010
Bummed

Did not fit 1/4" holes. Also, one came damaged(I ordered 8 for a mandolin). Wish you guys stocked more varieties, as these didn't work for me.

Stirl  NY, NY
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
5 12-31-2010
Great tool.

I almost didn't buy this tool as I figured I could use the principle and make something equivalent (sometimes being both cheap and industrious can be dangerous). However, in the end I decided not to compound the screw-up that put me in the position of needing the tool in the first place (tip - the gold coloring on tuner bushings will buff off)so I ordered both it and new tuner bushings. Now I'm very glad I did. The old bushings came out perfectly with no damage to the Brazilian faceplate. I suppose no operation like this can ever be totally risk free however, I can't think of a way of making this any safer. The tool fits close around the bushing being removed so the faceplate is supported as much as possible which should minimize chip-out, if there is any. As I said, I had none.

Pat Hawley  Ottawa, Canada
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 12-30-2010
The Precision Router Base

Overall this is a fine addition to my shop. I would like to see small handles or knobs on both sides for better control. I'm not a guitar maker but I am a carver and do highly detailed and intricate engraving and inlay and the handles would be helpful to me.

Russ DeVerniero  Coeur d'Alene, Idaho Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Work Step-By-Step
Fret Work Step-By-Step
1 12-30-2010
Step by Step on how to sell StewMac tools

I got this with the "Essential Fretting Kit". As usual, the StewMac tools are the bomb! The book however, is nothing more than a shameless $34 ad for all the other tools that aren't included in the fretting kit. Thank goodness it's free in this kit.

There isn't detailed step by step instruction from beginning to end on how to fret a guitar. It's just superficial information you can download for free here and elsewhere. I'm very disappointed in this book. I was excited to fret a neck that I bought and I still don't know where to begin, unless I begin by buying 10 other tools they sell (for a minimum of 30-40 bucks). Also don't forget the $10 shipping gouge regardless of size/weight.

So I will have to get on the forums and glean the information elsewhere so I can use my shiny new tools on my neck without goofing it up (or spending 300-400 on new tools to do it "right")

DougM  Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
5 12-30-2010
Great new gears

Just put a set of the gold Schertler Classical guitar tuning machines on a '63 Goya G30. The Goya was originally supplied with well designed and made single machines that still work fine. But I thought I'd try these newly designed Schertler machines...and I am so glad I did.

The mounting screw holes are close,but not close enough and new holes need to be made. But these tuners are beautifully built, very smooth, very easy to turn with absolutely no binding because of the excellent design of the tuners and because the individual tuner design does not force a connection between tuners, as on the three on a plate design.

Really worth trying...and I've tried a lot of really good tuning machines. I highly recommend these Schertler machines. M Scott

m scott  usa
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
5 12-30-2010
works like magic

A friend just bought an ibenez acustic and one of her students cracked the neck at the head. I took it home and was going to try some slow curing epoxy, then i went to your archives and found a crack repair just like the one i was facing. So i followed the repair in your archive and ordered some hide glue. The repair went perfect. You can't tell there was ever a crack. The ooze wiped right off with a damp rag. I felt guilty it was so easy.

Your information you provide for free is second to none and so you will always have my business.

smokinaces  Soddy Daisy, TN Read my reviews (6)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 12-30-2010
Excelente!!!!!!

Sinceramente, es genial, es a prueba de boludos. funciona excelentemente bien. Verdaderamente esta gente de StewMac, ofrecen soluciones de calidad.
Les mando una Foto de mi guitarra. La "STG-1". saludos!!!

Pablo A. Villanueva  Remedios de Escalada, Buenos Aires, Argentina Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
3 12-30-2010
500 K ohm mini pots

These are ok, low noise and seem to be pretty sturdy. I only gave them 3 starts because at first they seem a little cheaply made. They work fine and all I'm just curious to see how long it will be before i have to replace them.

jhwilliams  Raleigh, NC
Grover Ukulele Friction Pegs
Grover Ukulele Friction Pegs
5 12-30-2010
Good Deal

Purchased these uke tuners for a repair and was not sure about them. They were the perfect replacement. Stew/Mac had enough info to allow me to select the right parts. Thanks SM

Spyder  Pt. Arena, Ca
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
5 12-30-2010
A real time saver!!

Finally bought this tool and used it last week. It was quick and did a superb job...love it!!

Keith R  New York Read my reviews (3)
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
5 12-30-2010
Go with the best

After years of offering a variety of pegs as options on my dulcimers, I now only use your Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs. With all the work that goes into making the instrument, why use anything but the best for tuners ?

Dick Gilman  Fredonia, NY
Customer supplied image for review
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 12-30-2010
Fretting saw & miter box

Miter Box is a must. Great. On my third saw, they dull easily, can sharpen only once. Next time will get the Jap saw.

Robert Smith  Spring Grove, PA Read my reviews (2)
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
5 12-30-2010
Tailpiece

Works great on my guitar. I had a belly-bow from over 20 years of string-through the bridge pressures. This allowed me to get the strings down to the fretboard with the correct clearance and allowed the belly to "relax" and come closer to correct shape. Good buy!!

Daniel Weisner  Neptune Beach, FL
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
5 12-30-2010
Reamed to perfection

Well made. Sharp Effective. Perfect taper, and no tear out. Even on flamed Red gum. Highly recommended.

S Jericho Custom Instruments  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Herringbone Guitar Plan
Herringbone Guitar Plan
5 12-29-2010
Guitar Plan

Useful for my upcoming week at guitar building class.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (4)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 12-29-2010
TOM

Excellent transaction

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (4)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 12-29-2010
Bone Saddle

Haven't used them yet. I expect them to be fine.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (4)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 12-29-2010
Great non tremolo system

These bridges are Rock solid, and are built to last the life of your guitar.

ned  Australia
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 12-29-2010
Makes life a little easier.

When used with the templates, it's very accurate. I was able to slot my first board in just a few minutes.

RT Basses  Willow Street, PA Read my reviews (3)
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 12-29-2010
Essential Fretting Kit.. For Real

This kit has everything you need to install frets. I got both this and the fret press caul to use with my drill press, and tried both out while learning how to use the tools. It's a really enjoyable process, and this kit makes every step ALOT easier without having to search in more than one place for the necessary tools. Buy the kit and you have everything you need.

RT Basses  Willow Street, PA Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 12-29-2010
I love it

I use it everyday and it´s really easy to use. The same tool for checking the radius on the frets and setting the correct radius on the saddles. Sweet!

DeepBayGuitarShop  Piteå, Sweden
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 12-29-2010
Great purchase!

Just wish to express that I was completely satisfied with the purchase of the 0940-G for my Rodriguez Caballero 11 guitar. These tuners fit perfectly according to the specs and they look better on the guitar than the original ones. Good that I was able to see the specs! It was very important!

Fabi  Kissimmee, Fl, USA
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
1 12-28-2010
Cheap and ugly.

We ordered it for an unusual shaped pickguard replacement on a customers guitar. It was very flimsy. It gets unusably thin about 1/3 of an inch from the edge all around. The colors were weak and way off what the photos show. The underside of the pg is heavily scratched all over from them scraping it up off whatever they pour the resin on to make the thing. Its so bad you can clearly see it through the top. The only way to fix that would be to sand and polish it out. That is total BS for something that costs $30. I would pay $5 for this at most.

Judd H.  Knoxville, TN
Displaying 18351 – 18375
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  734  735  736  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce