Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18276 – 18300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  731  732  733  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier
4 1-05-2011
Best when used with activation solution

Just what I needed for maintaining humidity on an older ovation. I prefer using with an activation solution to maintain longer moisture retention.

Patrick McMahon  USA Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 1-05-2011
Great product

Same positive thoughts as others have shared. Driver has deep sockets for dealing with peg head and knob posts. Must have for doing basic guitar work.

Patrick McMahon  USA Read my reviews (3)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 1-05-2011
Turbo Tune

Great for quickly winding strings. Best for use on a cordless driver as the handle width between the winder and the handle is a bit short for quick winding by hand.

Patrick McMahon  USA Read my reviews (3)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
5 1-05-2011
wally

i used it for lp refit the best tone and sound back

wally  australia
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
4 1-05-2011
Gibson style toggle switch plate

Right color, stamping, gold printing (on cream), thanks. Could be a little thinner and/or more flexible. Had to do some sanding on the back to get it to conform to the contours of the guitar top.

Karl  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Cream Pickguard Material
Cream Pickguard Material
2 1-05-2011
"Cream" pickguard material

This material was the right thickness; had a peel-off layer to protect the surface; and was well packaged. Unfortunately, the color was WAY too red/orange--certainly not the "cream" color I was expecting. It doesn't match the "cream" knobs & pickup brackets on my Les Paul guitar (or any other similar guitars I've seen).

Karl  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Battery Box
Battery Box
1 1-05-2011
OVERPRICED!!! & cheaply constructed

Have installed all 3 models numerous times, and every time I think "there's got to be something better out there." I've had problems with some being too difficult to open, others that just plain fell open on their own, a couple I had no choice but to toss into the trash.

If you're going to design a battery box for a solid body guitar why wouldn't you build it to a accommodate a 9v laying on its side? In other words, with a shallower profile? I love StewMac, but in this case there are better and cheaper available, just not from them.

bruceleerose  WI Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
4 1-05-2011
Good Keys

I was skeptical about buying Gotoh compared to schaller tuning keys. My bass is an average bass and Gotoh tuning keys are built so much better then Ping or economy products. These are holding up quite well, they're smooth when tuning and they keep in-tune. The only flaw I had was when I put them on there was a little slippage via the contact on the back of the headstock even though I tighten/torqued the keys. Overall its doing its job and its not slipping from what i can tell. It's still in-tune

Bdabrowa  Portage, IN
5-String Banjo Bridges
5-String Banjo Bridges
4 1-05-2011
Reliable Bridges

I've purchased over 200 of these in varied sizes. Sizes are quite consistent, quality is good, bottoms are almost always sanded to a usable angle. We use them in our light weight practice/travel banjo and banjo kits.

David Cross, Backyard Music  New Haven, CT
Customer supplied image for review
Fishman Ellipse Matrix Blend
Fishman Ellipse Matrix Blend
5 1-05-2011
Fishman Ellipse Matrix Blend

Amazing sound quality, easy installation

CHW GUITARS  MCMINNVILLE,OR
Clear Pickguard Materials
Clear Pickguard Materials
5 1-05-2011
Good stuff

These mylar sheets cut easily, adhere very well and provide a tough protective layer that almost disappears. Worked out great on a classical for flamenco style playing. The four sheets will make large pick guards for at least eight guitars, maybe more.

Ken  Boise, Idaho Read my reviews (7)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 1-05-2011
Grover Tuners

I bought a Sigma DR9 in 1979, these tuners fit exactly. It took about an hour to remove the old, and install these. Great price too

Joe D Maxwell  Shreveport, La
Schaller Bass Machines
Schaller Bass Machines
5 1-05-2011
Excellent Machine Heads

Easy install and works perfectly for many years, because Made in Germany not China.
S.Gökhan Pekkaya

Seref Gökhan Pekkaya  Turkey Read my reviews (3)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 1-05-2011
Very handy

This router base is quite sturdy and has worked well so far.

Two improvements I can see adding are marks on the thumbwheels so that number of turns can be more easily gauged and center lines on the baseplate indicating the center of the mounting hole (I've added both of these to my router base).

mschuler  Seattle, WA
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-05-2011
Easy and useful

This router set is perfect to finish works and is perfect to a Dremel tool. It's easy to use and I recommend it for anyone who works with wood.

Geraldo Xavier  Brazil
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 1-05-2011
Better than expected!

In a recent project to mod my Epi LP Jr I replaced both volume and tone pots with these 500K pots. They are both super-noiseless and do what they are supposed to...guitar sounds great!

BassOasis  Billerica, MA Read my reviews (2)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
4 1-05-2011
So far so good!

I used this jack in my Epiphone LP Jr. in a recent project. It's solid and noiseless...so far so good!

BassOasis  Billerica, MA Read my reviews (2)
Binding Laminator
Binding Laminator
5 1-05-2011
Slick easy to use jig

Normally I use mostly wood binding but for Mandolins the ivoroid plastic stuff is kind of expected. I buy the binding bulk, some pre-laminated, but some is not quite what I want so I need to put it together. This can be done by hand in a vise with wood jaws but it is messy.

The jig from StewMac is only about twenty bucks so it was worth a try an it works slicker than goose ...ahem... on linoleum.

The only thing I did that was different was make it so it could be just bolted down to my bench top. I drilled and tapped another hole near the back end to take a 1/4-20 bolt and that attaches through a hole in the bench I use for many jigs I have. This allows you to lay out the long strips of binding on the bench and they feed through without twisting or hanging on the jig. They suggest this doodad with pieces of pipe to clamp in the vise but that seems like a lot of bother to me.

Anyway, if you do any laminating of plastic binding this is a good cheap tool.

Alan D.  Colorado
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 1-05-2011
Tape of 1000 Uses

I have to echo what others have said - now that I have this tape I use it everywhere. Buy a roll and you'll wonder how you ever got by without it. One caution - it can damage already compromised finishes on vintage guitars.

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
4 1-05-2011
Reamer

Expensive - but I would not attempt an endpin installation without it.

steves  Australia
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 1-04-2011
Amazing!

Possibly the best sandpaper I've used. It doesn't clog easily, and puts a nice uniform surface on the instrument. Highly recommended

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
4 1-04-2011
Good with a few setbacks.

Bought 1 can of sealer and 4 cans of clear gloss for a guitar I built. The sealer went on very well with just one spit because of the cold on the cans (in southern new york where i live its around 35 degrees). However, after sanding I sprayed 4 coats of clear gloss, and it goes on pretty good. It spits a ton though. After I was finished with the coat I had lacquer running down my glove and it spit a good 4 or 5 times on the instrument. I mean its not difficult to remove a spit but its annoying when that happens.

But, the photo to your right shows that it makes a great finish (it'll get glossier when i buff it)

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
Bobbin Flatwork Material
Bobbin Flatwork Material
5 1-04-2011
Good stuff, easy to work with.

I use a lot of this fiberboard, especially the .094 for bobbin flatwork pieces for Charlie Christian style pickups I make. I cut and shape the fiberboard using hand tools, but it is pretty easy to work with. Great product.

Travis  Tennessee Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 1-04-2011
just right

Like the other reviewers, I'm very happy Stew-Mac put these out. Work great on my '22 A4 and am currently modifying a set for a '15 F2. Thanks guys.

Jacob Hawkins  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 1-04-2011
Golden Age Tele Pickups

I bought these based upon the description on the Stew-Mac website, figuring that if they fell short I could replace them. Well, that will not be happening. I just installed them on my latest project guitar and am extremely satisfied with their performance. Use the recommended wiring. These are great pickups!!

MK  Sterling Heights, Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18276 – 18300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  731  732  733  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce