Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18226 – 18250
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  729  730  731  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Larry Robinsons Inlay Techniques
Larry Robinson's Inlay Techniques
5 1-06-2011
great stuff

I feel that Larry did a great job with this DVD. Really good for beginners like me, shows you everything you need to know to get started in this art form

George B  Australia Read my reviews (4)
African Mahogany Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
5 1-06-2011
Great piece to start my guitar!

This Mahogany blank arrived as scheduled, and was of very good quality. Both faces were cut and sanded to be smooth and flat. The edges, cut exactly to the dimensions listed, were still in rough cut but straight and square. Over all, a good piece for my first scratch build. I can't argue with the price either. After searching several websites I'm happy with StewMac's Mahogany blanks and will definitely be a returning customer. Thanks StewMac!!!

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
5 1-06-2011
entertaining & informative

Like one of the other reviewers wrote, they present like a scrap book and i think that was a great way to do these sort of books, very clever. What's wrong with a bit of repetition? My wife has to repeat an order at least 3 times,they gave me pause for thought. cheers

George B  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 1-06-2011
Trem Parts

I have rebuilt a lot of neglected Floyd Rose systems and couldn't have done it without the invaluable help I receive from StewMac. If I order the wrong part they are always willing to work with me on getting it right.

David Kaman  Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 1-06-2011
Great Investment

This is by far the best guitar cleaner/polish I've used. I purchased a used 12 string that had been well worn and caked with layers of cigarette film and grime. After a few polishes the guitar finish came out beautiful and the neck is smooth as silk.

Chard  Walla Walla, Wa. Read my reviews (2)
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
Shaped Dreadnought Brace Sets
4 1-06-2011
Great product

A really great timesaver but like Capu, I would like to see the x-braces squared at the intersection. I would still use them though.

Gerry A.  Australia Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 1-06-2011
Optivisor Headlamp

I have found this product to be excellent. I used to use a magnifying lamp - ok while you want to stand still, but the optivisor allows me to work in any position. I would like to see a full range of lenses with the product as they are difficult to source in Australia.

Frank Lowes  Ipswich,Australia
Individual Inlay Blanks
Individual Inlay Blanks
5 1-06-2011
Perfect for custom truss rod cover

I needed to make a truss-rod cover to match the fretboard on a 28.5" custom length strat neck. I had used abalone dots on the ebony fretboard, and a piece of this little 1x1 blank fit the bill for my logo perfectly. I even have enough left over for a few more!

Stephen Brozovich  Auburn, WA
Customer supplied image for review
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 1-06-2011
Awesome Tuners

A little pricy, but, totally worth it in looks and functionality. These are all I use now, and have been for 3 years, and several guitars. Highly recommended.

Jonathan Durey  USA
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 1-06-2011
Bone

Excellent material, excellent service! Thanks!

Viktor  Moscow, Russia
Customer supplied image for review
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
1 1-06-2011
Product did not perform

I used the product on an old Kay guitar that I am restoring. I had the channel freshly routed for a clean start, applied the glue, and used rubber bands (30+) to hold in place. After 48 hours - in 72 degree room with low humidity - I removed the rubber bands and the binding sprung off the guitar. There was only one area on the binding where a little bit of wood came off indicating that there was at least some adheasion in that one two inch area. Not sure why, but this was a product failure in my book.

Steve K  Dripping Springs, Tx
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 1-06-2011
Great PUPs

These PUPs are great. I've used the overwounds in three builds with very good results. I coil-cut both PUPs in one build and can really get some pretty good single-coil sounds. Uncut, the tone is smooth and somewhat thick, but it fits my preferences well. These PUPs compete very well with some of the overpriced "name brands" that are commonly sold.

Everett  Alachua, Florida Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 1-06-2011
Another Strat Completed

This is the 4th replacement StewMac neck I have purchased and used for my guitar building projects. This latest neck is for an active pre-amp outfitted strat. Fits perfectly with good clean action. I do augment the neck finish with antique maple finish for a more golden color.

Uel  Scotland
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
4 1-06-2011
Get's the Job Done

I've used several of these kits because of the convenience of having everything together. They get the job done, although the lengths of wire supplied are somewhat stingy--particularly the braided wire.

Everett  Alachua, Florida Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Micarta Saddle
Micarta Saddle
5 1-06-2011
very easy to work

I had to adjust the saddle on thickness and shape, but with absolutely no problem and the result with an undersadle pickup is fantastic!!!( I've also flattened the bridge saddle slot with a router from SMD too, and it was OK too !! thank you !!! I've never had problems with you, despite I'm from France, very far from you !!!

Alain BERTRAND  france Read my reviews (2)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 1-06-2011
very good !!

If the DREMEL turns well...........

Alain BERTRAND  france Read my reviews (2)
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
5 1-06-2011
Great Stuff

One of the best attributes was that they didn't load up like standard papers and were easy to clean off.

JDE  East Coast
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
2 1-06-2011
engineering problems

I purchased these based on their unusual looks. They are really cool looking; unfortunately, the ebony on the knobs is oriented with the grain going in exactly the wrong direction. Four of the six tuners had cracked knobs before they even got out of the box. The mechanism looked good, but I returned them before trying them on an instrument. They need to re-engineer this product.

Mr. Noble  Denver, CO
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
2 1-05-2011
Template sucks

While it is true that this template is finely cut, and the center line and holes are most useful, what would REALLY be nice is if they did NOT cut the thing .040 over. Following the instructions, I put .020 worth of heavy duty masking tape over the bearing. The tape came off, in the process ruining the template AND destroying the body. Cost me $103 bucks and that is money I could use elsewhere. Needless to say I am rather angry.

Gar  Wheat Ridge, Colorado
StewMac responds

Gar,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you've had with our Neck Joint Router Template. Your review inspired us to take a second look at how we can make this template more "user friendly". We've also edited our instructions and added an online video that addresses some of the problems you described. We take customer feedback very seriously and we'll continue to work hard to provide our customers with high quality, easy to use tools they can depend on.

L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
5 1-05-2011
excellent pickup

I have installed several undersaddle pu's. I believe this was the easiest ever. I had the strap hole already bored and I had to fill in the saddle slot and re cut because of a depth problem. I cut a new saddle and fitted put new strings on and the pickup is highly responsive.

In the past I have used fishman,martin, barcus-berry, schatten, peizo pickups. This one seems to me to be less fragile than any of the others and the sound hole volume control is a great plus.

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Violin Tuning Peg
Violin Tuning Peg
5 1-05-2011
pegs of renown

I have been using these pegs for several years and have always found them to always be consistent in shape and dimension. 2 thumbs up

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Inlay Filler Colors
Inlay Filler Colors
5 1-05-2011
Burnt Umber

This was a great match. I couldn't expect a better result. Easy to use and one bottle will go a long way.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 1-05-2011
Downcut Router Bit

This is a must for inlay work. No tear-out with this bit.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
4 1-05-2011
White Plastic Binding

Easy to work with. Did not take on dust too badly when sanded, but there was a little discoloration. Probably user error.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 1-05-2011
Quality Rosewood

The piece was machined with precision. The wood quality was good, nice looking too.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 18226 – 18250
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  729  730  731  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce